Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
107,642 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Windstar AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Windstar Owner Comments

problem #6

Jul 132012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

7/21/2011 bought van from private party. Recall completed in March of 2011 regarding back axle. On 7/13/2012 8pm, my 18yr old son, while driving home from lacrosse practice, nearly killed. Upon pulling out onto the main road, he lost all controls, no steering, no brakes and no power. He coasted and prayed it would stop. I arrived, we called aaa. Flatbed to my home driver could not believe his eyes. The engine had fallen out. 7/16/12 called Ford in mich and spoke to rep. To be towed 13 miles away to route 23 auto at our expense. Really? route23 wanted nothing to do with me (they did recall). Went back and forth then per RT23 "it will be a month until we can look at it" getting know where. 7/18-22 borrowed friend car for tournament. 8/1/12 called magarino Ford and with great concern had a flatbed that night. This tow truck driver could not believe it. Fluids raced out and double stabilized for engine sliding during Transport. 8/2/12 magarino called 9am, pictures sent to Ford and awaiting reply. 8/5/12 T/C from M stating Ford refuses to buy back and sending a subframe. You mean a recalled one" magarino caught in middle I questioned whether he would put his children in this van. He softly replied, "no" what am I to do, out of work 2 years, single parent with no car to find work. 8/8/12 I questioned Ford why this van ever left rt 23 auto, according to researched paper a part was waiting on. You mean to tell me that upon this fixed axle nobody noticed the subframe was rotted from inside out causing the engine to fall out the next summer nearly killing my son! but they signed it was fine! really" now we have case # 1373091992 8/10/12 picked up van. Broke= A/C, R-window, heater engine, airbag, brake light on, runs hot steering= thumps makes noise (full fluid) skip gears, sways, barely can get up a hill. 11yr old scared to drive in

- Highland Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jul 062010

Windstar

  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. While having the vehicle serviced for unrelated issues at an independent repair facility, the contact was informed that the stabilizer bar on the front passenger side was corroding. The vehicle was then taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the air conditioning unit was leaking onto the stabilizer bar causing the rust and corrosion. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 119,000.

- Grand Island, NY, USA

problem #4

Sep 112008

Windstar

  • 130,000 miles
2001 Ford Windstar -brake light indicator, ABS light indicator, odometer inop, squealing brake noise during turns, air conditioning just stopped working.

- Phenix City, AL, USA

problem #3

Jun 252008

Windstar

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just recently brought my Ford Windstar (2001) to the repair shop due to some unexpected electrical malfunction. At first, both ABS and brake light on the dashboard turned on then the odometer counter went blank, O/D light was constantly blinking and the air conditioning compressor will not engage. My mechanic told me about what he discovered under the dashboard, the ABS mechanism damaged the electrical harness due to ABS control fluid leak. I decided to look for the replacement parts on the internet due to a very costly repair and discovered that there is a lot out there having the same issues I had experienced. Luckily my vehicle did not set on fire. I am surprised that Ford company never took action on this issue knowing that this could lead to a very serious accident. Kindly inform me if there is any recall from Ford company regarding this problem.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #2

Feb 012007

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The air conditioner, cruise control, and radio failed. The contact inspected the switch on the master cylinder and noticed that the switch for the cruise control was covered with fluid. The cruise control switch was replaced; however, the new switch also failed. He cut the wires to the switch in order to operate the vehicle. He then heard a knocking sound coming from the engine compartment. The lifters were replaced, but the knocking sound continued. The upper intake was replaced as well. The purchase date was unknown. The failure mileage was 98,000 and current mileage was 119,000.

- Hattiesburg , MS, USA

problem #1

Jun 192007

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,850 miles
Upon starting the 2001 Ford Windstar van Tuesday morning several of the warning lights stayed on, including the brake and ABS lights. The digital odometer display changed from numbers to dashes and the speedometer remained at "0" when driving. Also, the air conditioning (A/C ) stopped working. I took it to the Ford dealership for repair. It took them 2 days to find the problem which turned out to be a defective cruise control deactivation switch. The service dept. Manager said we were fortunate that the van did not catch on fire. He told us that the switch had completely melted and had charred the surrounding wires. This problem is very similar to the problem which caused the massive Ford recall in 2005, but Ford claims that this has never been a problem in their minivans. The Ford dealership did repair the damage at a cost of about $700. I did not think to ask at the time if I could have the burned switch. I would like this to go on record in case there are other vans out there with the same problem. Perhaps the Ford recall needs to be extended to include the Windstar as well. I contacted Ford by email and was told that there were currently no safety recalls involving this van.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?