Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
115,124 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Windstar body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #120

Feb 222011


  • 74,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact took the vehicle in for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 11V030000 (structure: Frame and members:underbody shields). The contact stated that the vehicle sat idle on the dealers lot for approximately three months before the contact was informed that the vehicle could not be repaired due to excessive corrosion of the front part of the sub frame. The contact was advised to have the sub frame repaired before recall repairs could be performed. The contact stated that the front and rear of the sub frame was one whole part and if the front was replaced, the entire frame would have to be replaced. The frame was not repaired. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle was also repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V399000 (vehicle speed control) and as a result, the entire cruise control system became inoperable after recall repairs. The contact was concerned with the potential of the vehicle catching fire. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Monessen, PA, USA

problem #119

Apr 202011


  • 167,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The vehicle was included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 11V030000 (structure: Frame and members:underbody shields and was taken to an authorized dealer for repairs. After the repairs were completed, the contact noticed that the front frame was unstable and he could easily shift it using his hands. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop where the contact was told that the vehicle was unsafe to drive and would not pass inspection. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure and current mileage was 167,000.

- Marydel, MD, USA

problem #118

Aug 312010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Product recall made on personal vehicle in February 2011 ( notification sent ) however vehicle was turned in for repair because hood and engine was smoking and overheating ! I was informed then that the car could be potential danger and could relate in vehicle detachment. I turned car into Ford dealership and check engine light still appears and car can not pass inspection. I feel very unsafe.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #117

Mar 072011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 148,320 miles


2001 Ford Windstar limited. Subframe and frame needs repair due to salt corrosion in Ohio. There should be a recall to repair these items as Ford co. Should have used salt resistant materials to take care of this problem. Updated IVOQ 03/17/11

- Milledgeville , GA, USA

problem #116

Mar 042011


  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar le. The contact was driving approximately 65 mph when the right front sub-frame separated and fractured the engine cradle. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed off road. The contact was uninjured and the vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where they advised him that the right sub-frame was completely rusted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure and current mileage was approximately 127,000.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #115

Dec 042008

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 85,491 miles
In 2008, I experienced a failure of the subframe on my 2001 Ford Windstar cargo van. I do mostly small-town driving - I.e. not over 45 mph, with occasional trips on the nys thruway. I purchased the van used at 57,000 miles from johnson Ford, kingston, NY. The failure occurred at 85,419 miles. I drove my van to a local business at about 45 mph, a distance of 4-5 miles. That day or the day previous I had heard a funny noise as I turned the wheel, but it was not repeated. (I realized afterward that this was the sound of the subframe cracking, but it was not loud enough to really raise any concern when I heard it.) on the day of the failure, I arrived at my destination, parked my car, and a few minutes later, when I came out of the store, I discovered that my tires had apparently broken off and were leaning inward, the car was undrivable. I had it towed to my local mechanic and he was able to find me a used subframe to replace the one that broke. There was. Of course, no information from Ford at that time regarding this defect. I have now (Feb. 2011) received a recall and had my subframe checked by the dealer and am waiting for the call about a "reinforcement kit", while still being expected to drive this vehicle. I do not consider this a safe vehicle, with or without the "reinforcement". I believe that Ford should be compelled to buy back all Windstar still on the road as they were improperly engineered and therefore violated NHTSA law as to merchantability. I want a vehicle whose parts are all safe, not a vehicle patched together with epoxy and baling wire. My life and everybody else's lives are at risk from any of these vehicles that are left on the roads. I am unwilling to drive this vehicle anymore, and I am now compelled to purchase a new vehicle, which I cannot afford. For the present I am borrowing a vehicle from a family member, which is ok in the short-term, but it doesn't address my long-term needs.

- New Paltz, NY, USA

problem #114

Feb 162011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


Today I was driving my 2001 Ford Windstar from yonkers NY to white plains NY when the rear axle cracked. It was a clear, dry day. This axle had cracked before - in August 2010, prior to the recall being issued. At that time, as there was no repair being offered by Ford, I had the axle welded. Welding the axle was a 'fix' reported by other Windstar owners so I was not too bothered. Until today I had no problems with the rear axle. The new crack is approximately an inch from where the first one had been. The van had to be towed to my usual mechanic. I am trying to find out if Ford has the part to fix this. My mechanic called but said they did not have a replacement. I am not sure what I can do now - this really leaves me in a bad spot as I use my car daily. Others I know who have this same vehicle and trying to have the recalled part taken care of have been having problems because of lack of parts and/or problems getting appointments.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #113

Dec 012010


  • miles
Front end steering, disturbing front end frame sound, ABS lights noticed ABS braking problem, brake light, od light, interior lights flash on and off intermittently when driving. Have to cut the van off and restart for to stop that only last awhile..took into dealer for recalls still dealing with electrical problem so forth. I never been so scared of an vehicle in my life.

- Mi, MI, USA

problem #112

Feb 102011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
Disturbing sounds from right side front end of my 2001 form Windstar. Steering wheel became off center. Problem diagnosed as subframe corrosion.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #111

Jan 292010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 160,723 miles
I just got off the expressway and made a left turn when the front wheels of my 2001 Windstar both turned out in opposite directions. I had it towed and found out the frame broke. I had the frame replaced with a used one. Cost $1,187.15 plus tow $105.10. Now I hear this is a common problem and I am concerned it could happen again. At highway speeds I worry about loss of control.

- Milwaukee, Wi (Mke), WI, USA

problem #110

Oct 302006

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles


Front sub frame rusted through front end collapsed while driving 25 mph.

- Pinehurst, MA, USA

problem #109

Jun 242008

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
ABS brake light comes on and disables the ABS brake feature.

- Hooksett, NH, USA

problem #108

Sep 092010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 194,500 miles
My 2001 Windstar had been making a scrunching noise each time I went off a curb. I took it to a tire place as that's when I found the crack in the axle in August 2010. The tire dealer didn't make that kind of repair so I call Ford dealership who told me to bring the car in and that a recall had just been issued. My car sat for six months. On 1/26/2011 the dealer called and said my axle had been repaired and that I could pick the car up. I couldn't pick it up that day. On 1/27/11 I heard the news state a new recall and I looked it up. Turns out my car is involved in that recall too. I went to the dealer and I communicated to them that I do not want that vehicle back under any circumstances. The ABS light has been malfunctioning for three years or more. Since I got the vehicle I had many problems with sensors and I have had to replace the transmission after having only around 78,000 miles on the vehicle. I completed all maintenance on my vehicle as suggested by Ford, yet I have had so many problems. I called Ford on 1/27 and told them I do not want the vehicle back. They said a buy back isn't being offered for this recall at this time. It may be offered when the letter is distributed. I still do not want this vehicle back. I have three children and I cannot trust that this vehicle is safe.

- Canal Winchester, OH, USA

problem #107

Dec 172010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
My 2001 Windstar has severe corrosion on the subframe. The corrosion is located on the right side of the vehicle near the front wheel. The vehicle is currently being held by a dealership for the axle recall, I have made them aware of the corrosion but it seems they have no intention of repairing it since it is not a recall.

- Marshfield, MA, USA

problem #106

Jan 252011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 124,246 miles
My wife's 2001 Ford Windstar has had a persistant clunk in the front passenger side. While doing some work on the vehicle this evening I discovered severe rust on the rear body mount of the front subframe. The area to the rear of the bushing is corroded through and cracked. I have good digital pictures and will provide them to you if you desire. This problem has been described repeatedly by many Windstar owners. Frankly, I find Ford's claim that this doesn't present "an unreasonable risk" infuriating. I am calling on you to recall this vehicle before someone gets killed.

- Forestville, NY, USA

problem #105

Jan 232011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 138,585 miles
1/23/11 while driving to baptism van all of a sudden started to clunk in the right front suspension. While driving home clunking kept happening on right hand turns. Got home, jacked up van, pulled passenger front tire, found excessive rust and sway bar completely broken from subframe. Also noticed front a arm excessive rust not safe to drive. Vehicle will be parked and only 10 years old. Don't know what to do next"??? wife and kids are not safe to drive in. Van is super clean and well maintained and no rust elsewhere. Now what do we do??? " please help!!!!

- Scandia, MN, USA

problem #104

Jan 122011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
This complaint is related to your NHTSA action # EA10007 January 12, 2011, my wife was driving our Ford Windstar on hwy 155 North of saint germain, wi. Without warning the front end right wheel dislodged and the car swerved violently all over the highway. Luckily, no other cars were near. The roadside ditches where the failure occurred are more than 12' deep, so there could also have been injuries and or damage if she had not reacted as quickly and forcibly as she did. She was able to wrestle the car onto the shoulder and call for help. Upon towing to the nearest Ford dealership, it has been determined that the undercarriage failed, the front right axle dislodged from the transmission, and various other damage can also have occurred. Updated IVOQ 02/16/11

- Saint Germain, WI, USA

problem #103

Oct 012010

Windstar 4WD 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Vehicle began to pull dramatically when operated and could not be aligned properly. Makes a loud thumping sound when driven. The front right sub frame has corroded such that it has nearly broken off. I have spoken to several mechanics and there is no repair that can be done short of a replacement of the front sub frame. It is to the point where the engine will drop out of the vehicle and the right front wheel will no longer be attached to the vehicle. While I have had the vehicle in for alignment, it can not be aligned again and I have been advised that the condition is extremely dangerous. I brought the vehicle in to a Ford dealer for other recall work and was advised that there is no recall for this dangerous condition.

- Mundelein, IL, USA

problem #102

Jan 042011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
My 2001 Windstar failed the yearly state saftey inspection because of frame rotting at the passenger side rear frame mount. I trust my mechanic and he strongly suggested that I do not drive this car ! he would not put a sticker on the car. His estimate for repair was over $2000.

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #101

Jun 222010

Windstar 4WD 6-cyl

  • 66,458 miles
2001 Windstar [xxx] sel sub frame snapped while driving almost causing a serious accident. Tow company said this was very rare that the subframe had rusted through. Repaired at a cost of $1058.03 total parts (used subframe) and labor. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Northville, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?