Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
101,949 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Windstar body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Aug 282016

Windstar

  • 146,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the front subframe was severely corroded and an abnormal noise was heard from the front passenger wheel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the vehicle was severely corroded and was previously inspected per NHTSA campaign number: 11V030000 (structure). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 146,000.

- Centerline, MI, USA

problem #33

Sep 112014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 96,859 miles
I am the original owner of this 2001 Ford Windstar SE minivan which now has a rusted, corroded and broken passenger side engine subframe which renders the vehicle unsafe to drive. I complied with the earlier Ford recalls with regard to this issue (11S16) and the service was completed (6/20/2012) at the Ford dealership. Now after 27 months and less than 16,000 miles later, the engine subframe breaks and the cost to repair of about $5,000 exceeds the kelley blue book values for the vehicle. Ford has refused any help and claims they have complied with the recall work and the matter is closed. I believe the recall support bracket that was installed was nothing more that a band-aid approach to correct a major safety issue with substandard engine subframe parts. I have asked Ford to buy my vehicle back, as that was an option under the recall(11S16) but they have refused again saying the matter was closed. It seems to me that the engine subframe parts should last much longer than 13 years or 97,000 miles. After all Ford suggests the 1st engine tune up for this vehicle at 100,000 miles. I guess I won't be worrying about that in the future. I have this vehicle now for a short while and I have pictures of the broken subframe. I will be getting rid of it probably to a junk yard for scrap value. I am worried about all the other Windstar owners driving around with this same potential condition on our roads and highways. I want you to initiate a follow up investigation into the effectiveness of the recall fix(11S16) as seen on my vehicle and others. As a result of this experience, I will never own another Ford in my life.

- Auburn Hills, MI, USA

problem #32

Jun 122014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 212,600 miles
While driving through an intersection I heard a loud bang underneath the car and I lost all steering control! I parked the car and called for a tow. When van was on the flatbed I observed the engine mounting had detached on both sides of the car. The engine and other components were hanging down. Had van towed home. Through my own research I found that my van was part of recall no. 11S16 for corrosion related fractures at the front lower control arm rear attaching brackets and body mount attachments at the rear of the front subframe. I was shocked that I had not been notified of this recall because I had been notified regarding recall no 11S13 for rear axle corrosion related cracking. Van was taken for inspection axle and we were told it passed and nothing else needed to be done. Had van towed again, this time to dealer. Dealer says subframe and rear axle need replaced and Ford wants to do the replacement. As a result of the frame detachment, the intermediate shaft needs replaced. There are other unknown components that may need repaired/replaced and they won't know until they do the work. The other repairs may or may not be paid for by Ford. Under Ford's own remedies, if brackets can not repair the original subframe, then a repurchase offer for the vehicle should be made. To date, Ford has refused this as a remedy. Instead, they want to replace the subframe and axle that would have to be attached to other corroded parts of the vehicle. My family's lives were already put in danger enough by these defective products. I was not notified regarding the subframe recall and the rear axle was improperly handled. The axle should have had reinforcement brackets attached even if it did pass inspection. This was not done nor were we told to bring it back in to be done. Ford should be forced to buy back my vehicle under it's own remedy instructions provided to the NHTSA.

- Pendleton, IN, USA

problem #31

Apr 032014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took in for a recall on subframe put on support brackets. Went to get it inspected. Subframe is rotted out. I was told another recall was done for those in cold weather climates. Ford recall computer is down. The consumer was informed the vehicle was unsafe to drive, as the frame was structurally unsound. No was willing to fix the other problems with the vehicle, due to the rusted out frame. Updated 05/12/14

- Hallowell, ME, USA

problem #30

Oct 052013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The steering wheel then independently turned in a complete circle. The sub frame detached from the vehicle and dropped to the ground. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer and repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 11V030000 (structure). The dealer refused to replace the other components that were damaged as a result of the failure. The affected parts were the clock spring, exhaust flex pipe, power steering belt and transmission bracket, which had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000. Updated 12/4/13

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #29

Jul 222013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Had the vehicle serviced for 2 corrosion recalls. Was driving on the freeway approx. 60mph, heard a pop in the area of the right front tire. Took van to the shop I use, where I was told it was part of the frame and need to take it to the dealership(blackwell Ford, Plymouth, mi. 48170). Dealership said the van needed a subframe assy. And right sway bar bushing bracket, and possibly more. All was due to corrosion, combination poor design and inferior material. They contacted Ford motor, sent estimate, pictures and information. Fords response is that it wasn't part of any recall, even though there has been at least two for corrosion that I am aware of. This is clearly a design and/or a material issue with my Windstar. It is not safe to drive, and there is no way, with my conscious that I can try to sell it. This is an ongoing issue with the Windstar. I'm sure this is part of hundreds if not thousands of complaints on this issue, what can be done" how many injuries or deaths have there been because of corrosion issue with the Windstar" help!!!!

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #28

Apr 112011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 178,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2001 Ford Windstar that was serviced for the safety recall 11S16, (11V030000 NHTSA campaign number) 04/11/2011. My vehicle was grounded do to significant subframe rot but it was deemed repairable by Ford. On February 2, 2013 I noticed a 2 inch long crack/perforation on the top part of the sub-frame where the repair bracket was attached when I was rotating the tires. I took it back to the Ford dealership and they said they were unable to help because it was repaired once and they wont pay to have it repaired again. Im not sure if they missed this the first time it was fixed or what. I do know that according to Ford's specs for determining if a subframe is repairable or not this crack would deem in non-repairable because its within the 2 inch mark from the tooling hole. Now im just waiting for the subframe to completely crack while im driving down the road. The repair bracket that was supposed to solve the problem to begin with will not hold the subframe together if it completely cracks at the spot at which its located in. I also believe that due to downward force on the subframe body mount and the fact where the U shaped bracket is sitting on the subframe that holds the bracket on the subframe, it is acting like a fulcrum point where the subframe is bending and cracking.

- Camby, IN, USA

problem #27

Mar 282012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V030000 (structure: Frame and members:underbody shields) and took the vehicle to the dealer for recall service. The contact stated that unbeknownst to him, the recall repair was not fully completed and the vehicle was still unsafe to drive due to the sub-frame being completely rusted. The president of the company and the board of directors were informed of the failure. A letter was mailed to the contact advising that they would not assist with the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 85,000. The consumer stated the dealer repaired only part of the front sub-frame, they did not replace it. The consumer later learned Ford's instruction was to perform cosmetic repair of the corrosive damage on the front sub-frame. Six months later, when the consumer took the vehicle to a local service station for an oil change, he was informed the sub-frame mount was completely rotted out. The consumer was informed by letter, after writing to Ford, they would not honor any new repairs. Updated 02/11/13

- Norwood, NJ, USA

problem #26

Nov 262010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
2001 Ford Windstar rear axle recall. I brought my van in for inspection for the rear axle recall (1os13) the Ford dealership condemned the vehicle and I was provided with a rental car. Ford has no parts to fix this concern and also has no timetable when this will be resolved. This is unacceptable to me and Ford needs to stand behind there products and show loyalty to there customers.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #25

Oct 312010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
2001 Ford Windstar SE: May 4, 2010, backing out of driveway, loud noise, could not drive car. Driver's side rear axle fractured, car towed to mechanic who repaired and reinforced said fracture by welding. August 2010, Ford announces recall of Windstar, issues letters to affected owners late September, 2010. Received Ford recall notice during the week of October 18, 2010. Sunday, October 31, 2010, while driving on side road (5 passengers, plus driver) same loud noise, car immobilized. Passenger side rear axle fractured. Passengers left stranded. Car towed first to residence then to dealership on Monday am. Told by dealer that car would not be repaired until January or February, 2011 (at the earliest) as no parts available.

- Rockland, MA, USA

problem #24

Jul 222010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2001 Ford Windstar that the front subframe failed on. I was sitting at a stop light waiting for it to turn green. When the light changed I took my foot off the brake and pushed on the gas. I heard a big clunk sound and the steering wheel began to spin freely. I slowly drove the vehicle into the center median and found that the front subframe had failed right under the floorboards. Had this occurred at a high speed the outcome could have been grave. I had no way to steer the vehicle. This failure needs to be addressed asap. The vehicle has been driven in the salt belt as they say all its life.

- Kankakee, IL, USA

problem #23

Nov 052010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 119,500 miles
The front sub-frame on the right side has severe rusting and corrosion where the sub-frame meets the control arm. I took it in for inspection and was notified by the mechanic that it would not pass without replacement and was not even safe to drive out of his shop. He also said that he was surprised the car passed inspection at the Ford dealership last year. Thankfully, it was discovered before the sub-frame detached.

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #22

Sep 152010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
2001 Ford Windstar with a cracked rear axle. No letter has been received to address this matter. Our van made creaking noises and we had heard through the media that a recall was beginning. The dealership and the Ford customer relations dept. Will not give us a definite answer as to when we can expect a resolution. We were given a 30 day rental and 14 days have passed and no answers. We are given $30 a day for a rental car by Ford but must pay taxes totaling $3.30 a day. The voucher is $38 daily with $8 used for insurance if needed. We pay through our private insurance company for such coverage. Why cannot Ford use the additional $8 a day to cover our taxes? the explanation for the recall was to be no expense to the owner for correcting the problem. We did not create this problem and bought our van in good faith of the Ford Motor Co. Reputation. This certainly doesn't make for good customer relations. No definite deadline for repairs and giving up the van to use a 4 door car has been very inconvenient. I am requesting a deadline be established and for Ford to use the additional $8 we are not using but was allocated for coverage of this problem to be covered for those customers who already have insurance for rental cars under their private insurance carrier.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #21

Oct 312009

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 154,731 miles
I was driving a 2001 Ford Windstar minivan with 154K miles on a rainy night at highway speed on a 3 lane interstate with 5 children aboard. I heard a loud noise from the vehicle and lost all control as the steering and braking wasn't working right. As I tried to get onto the shoulder, it kept swerving toward the left, back into the lanes. When it finally stopped moving, we were sticking out into traffic and I feared we would be hit. The tow truck driver showed me that the right tire wasn't even pointing straight ahead anymore and said that the axel probably broke. The mechanic told me that the frame cracked and in his opinion, he wouldn't recommend fixing the vehicle. The insurance company said the right front lower control arm mount rotted off which pulled out axel and broke tie rod end and so on, due to normal wear and tear. I received zero dollars for my auto claim and my family of seven had to use our 3 seater pickup truck as the family vehicle for months after the incident. I live in a snow belt state and I do not believe that normal wear and tear occurred in a mere 8 years. I have pictures of the vehicle after the incident as well. Thank you for the opportunity to provide information for open investigation #PE10-026. My hope is that my story is useful enough to help prevent this same thing from happening to other 2001 Ford Windstar owners.

- Mansfield, CT, USA

problem #20

Aug 272010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
Rear axle fractured while driving my Ford Windstar 2001. As a result I lost control of the vehicle.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #19

Aug 302010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 93,929 miles
Rear axle on 2001 Ford Windstar is cracked. Noticed a banging sound while going over bumps. Took it to a repair shop that identified the problem.

- Tiffin, OH, USA

problem #18

Aug 132010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
Driving along at minimal speed, +/- 30 mph, I heard and felt a "snap" in the rear of my Ford Windstar. Then an immediate dragging feeling and scraping of metal from the rear end followed. The car swerved and slowed to a stop. No additional vehicles were involved, but an easy collision could have resulted, if not for the fact I was approaching a left turn lane and was able to steer clear of traffic. I checked the back of the vehicle and the axle was cleanly broken in two, as if a seam had split. This could have been an extremely dangerous situation, life threatening in my opinion if I was driving at highway speeds.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #17

Aug 012010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. While driving at 70 mph, the contact heard a loud, unusual explosion. The contact was able to exit the vehicle and found that the front sub frame and axle had fractured from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the contact was awaiting repairs. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 110,000. Updated 11/19/10. Also, the oil pan gaskets was leaking. Updated 11/24/10

- Martinsville, IN, USA

problem #16

Sep 102009

Windstar

  • 98,000 miles
I was backing out of a driveway when the car began rocking and then I heard a grinding noise. When I looked at the rear end I realized the rear axle had snapped in half.

- Norwood, MA, USA

problem #15

Jun 292010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Rear axel cracked in two driving around 40 mph as of today do not have the money to fix it 07/01/2010. Also pass side door opens every once and awhile when driving.

- Fox Lake, IL, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?