Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,373 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Windstar brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Jan 012007

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. While driving at various speeds the contact stated that if she drove over any road bump, the ABS and brake warning lights would illuminate intermittently. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V399000 (vehicle speed control) and had the vehicle repaired June 2010. The contact stated that the failure persisted after the recall work was performed and that the dealer did not replace the ABS control modular. The manufacturer and dealer was contacted and advised that they only had to repair the fuse wiring harness and not the ABS control modular, which was not covered under the recall. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 160,000. Updated 3/21/11 updated 04/25/11

- North Glen, CO, USA

problem #28

Jan 062010

Windstar

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the ABS and brake warning lights would illuminate on the dashboard whenever she entered the vehicle. The vehicle had not yet been taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The current and failure mileages were approximately 150,000.

- Charlotte , NC, USA

problem #27

May 152009

Windstar

  • 40,000 miles
ABS and brake lights illuminate on dashboard. The lights are not on when vehicle is started but comes on shortly after vehicle is driven. This problem occurred after the first brake job. The mechanic said it would cost around $400 to fix. I consider this a safety hazard because my anti-lock brake system is not functional. I still have standard brake function.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #26

May 312009

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 131,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The ABS and service brake lights would illuminate intermittently on the instrument control panel. He installed new brakes shoes, which did not remedy the failure. He took the vehicle to the dealer, and a technician concluded that the control module failed. The repairs cost $1200. Also the latch on the second row bucket seats have fractured. No repairs were made. The manufacturer was notified but no assistance was provided. The failure mileage was approximately 131,000. The current mileage was approximately 133,000. Updated 11/10/09 updated 11/13/09

- Collinsville, IL, USA

problem #25

May 222009

Windstar

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the vehicle burst into flames due to a leak in the brake pressure switch. The ABS had to be disconnected by the dealer. The contact wants the ABS module reconnected because it will make the vehicle safer to drive. She feels that the manufacturer should be responsible for the repairs since the ABS module was replaced four years ago by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 55,000.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #24

Jun 182004

Windstar

  • 52,000 miles
Anti-lock brake (ABS) warning light comes on during warm summer months and ABS system is disabled. Light goes off starting in the fall and stays mainly off until late spring.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #23

Jun 152008

Windstar

  • 76,171 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2001 Ford Windstar van. It is used by my wife. Last weekend, she came home from a local shopping trip and told me the A/C was not blowing cold anymore and the ABS and brake light was illuminated. Also the odometer and speedometer were not working. Also the O/D light was blinking on and off. Later in the evening I went and checked my fuses on the van and found the #10 fuse (15amp was burnt). I replaced the fuse with a new one and started the van. The A/C was now blowing very cold and the ABS and brake light now was off. After leaving the van running for about 2 minutes, I noticed heavy smoke coming from the engine. I immediately turned off the engine and got a flashlight to see what was burning. I noticed near the master cylinder, a group of wires that had burned near the deactivation switch. I then came inside and searched the internet for this issue and came across a few blogs that stated the same problem. I then brought my vehicle in the next day to an authorized Ford dealership that confirmed the problem as a faulty deactivation switch. I am very lucky that my van did not catch on fire while my wife has been using the van to bring my children to many different places. This is totally an unsafe matter and Ford should be looking into a recall. What more can I do to make this happen??

- Schriever, LA, USA

problem #22

Jul 152007

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
ABS control module heats up and causes the anti-lock brakes not to function. I have see through research that this is a very common problem with these vehicles. I sent an email to Ford with my finding and was told that there were no recalls for this problem. I can not believe with the number of people affected that Ford continues to ignore this problem.

- Waukee, IA, USA

problem #21

Dec 082007

Windstar

  • miles
2001 Ford Windstar, shortly after purchase in 2006, ABS light and brake lights would come on intermittently. In 2006 Windstar suffered front end damage, then ABS and brake lights always on. Mechanic said after incident, oh we had a problem getting the ABS to work. My son and daughter in law have a 2000 Windstar that is having the same problem. On Dec 8, 2007 I was traveling between oxnard and camarillo ca. Cars in front of me suddenly hit their brakes I did the same, the car started skidding out of control, pivoted on the front right tire, turned 180 degrees and rolled over.

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #20

Oct 032007

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The vehicle failed to stop when the brake pedal was depressed. At the time of the failure, the ABS and brake lights illuminated on the instrument panel. After constantly applying pressure to the brakes, the vehicle finally stopped. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that a new brake master cylinder and brake fluid were needed. The dealer repaired the vehicle; however, the failure recurred two weeks later. The manufacturer did not provide any assistance. The speed was unknown. The failure mileage was 98,000 and current mileage was 99,600.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #19

May 012007

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. While driving approximately 35 mph, the contact depressed the brake pedal and the ABS alarms and ABS light illuminated. The ABS disengaged and the vehicle skidded forward approximately 30 feet. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they performed a diagnostic. The dealer raised the ABS codes and the failure was corrected for 5 to 10 miles before it recurred. The contact will take the vehicle to another dealer. The current mileage was 62,000 and failure mileage was 60,000.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #18

Aug 202007

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the brake, ABS, and traction control lights illuminate intermittently. The vehicle has not been inspected by the dealer. The speed was unknown. The current mileage was 65,492 and failure mileage was 65,000.

- Mcguire Afb, NJ, USA

problem #17

Jul 102007

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
ABS and brake lights intermittently go on and off. After brakes were replaced the lights started this activity. After returning to the shop where brakes were replaced, they pulled the following codes off the computer, C1185,1194,1198,1210,1214,1242,1246,1250,1254 and U1262. A google search showed over 500 hits on one website for this activity. The shop says the brakes will work, but ABS may or may not work as intended to. This is a safety risk to the general public.

- Lavista, NE, USA

problem #16

Jun 192007

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,850 miles
Upon starting the 2001 Ford Windstar van Tuesday morning several of the warning lights stayed on, including the brake and ABS lights. The digital odometer display changed from numbers to dashes and the speedometer remained at "0" when driving. Also, the air conditioning (A/C ) stopped working. I took it to the Ford dealership for repair. It took them 2 days to find the problem which turned out to be a defective cruise control deactivation switch. The service dept. Manager said we were fortunate that the van did not catch on fire. He told us that the switch had completely melted and had charred the surrounding wires. This problem is very similar to the problem which caused the massive Ford recall in 2005, but Ford claims that this has never been a problem in their minivans. The Ford dealership did repair the damage at a cost of about $700. I did not think to ask at the time if I could have the burned switch. I would like this to go on record in case there are other vans out there with the same problem. Perhaps the Ford recall needs to be extended to include the Windstar as well. I contacted Ford by email and was told that there were currently no safety recalls involving this van.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #15

Sep 012005

Windstar 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. While parking the vehicle it surged forward when the brake pedal was depressed. The mechanic stated that the ABS sensor needed to be replaced and performed the repair. Approximately two weeks later the problem recurred. The dealer stated that the ABS sensor needed to be adjusted and performed the repair. Approximately a week later the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to two dealers, and both were unable to locate any failure. The current mileage is 90,000, and failure mileage was unknown.

- Grand Island, NY, USA

problem #14

Sep 052005

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
We purchased a 2001 Ford Windstar 04/2005, in 09/2005 while pulling into a parking spot the brakes failed & engine surged. Summer of 2006, it happened a number of times with my wife driving, very similar to the first incident. We took it to our local repair shop who replaces a brake sensor. It happened again & they replaced another brake sensor. It happened again this time we took it to dealer in 07/2006 where the said they had to adjust the brake sensors and that everything was safe. It happened again, we took it back to dealer in August 2006 where they had it until 11/2006 telling us there was nothing wrong with the van. Not feeling safe with the van took to another dealer who has had it 11/2006 till present 03/2007. I have talked with a number of mechanics out side Ford who have seen the same thing including a Ford sales woman who had it happen to her vehicle. I have been told it probably is something in the ABS system & that it would be over $2000 to replace but no guarantee that this would correct the problem ( I don't have that kind of money to waste). I also see a lot of similar complaints on this web site. This problem is a life safety issue & should be resolved by Ford. We are paying & insuring a vehicle, for 9 months that is not safe to drive. Help please!!!!!

- Grand Island, NY, USA

problem #13

Aug 202006

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,789 miles
: the contact stated the ABS light intermittently illuminated. The vehicle was driven to the dealer who determined the whole system needed to be replaced. Updated 10/03/06.

- West Lawn, PA, USA

problem #12

Aug 312005

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
2001 Ford Windstar, 80,000 miles. The ABS and brake warning lights come on intermittently. The dealer says a technical bulletin has been issued regarding moisture entering and corroding the ABS system. $2,845 to repair. This problem has been reported in many Windstar; the vehicle should be recalled for this problem and the damage repaired at no cost to the consumer.

- Du Quoin, IL, USA

problem #11

Feb 062005

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
This is a 2001 vehicle. After warrnaty expired we have invested almost $2000 in repairs and things continue to break.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #10

Apr 082005

Windstar

  • miles
While driving my 2001 Ford Windstar the entire dashboard lit up. Then the ABS, odometer, and engine light remained on. Speedometer stopped working, and the odometer went blank. The van was taken to apple valley Ford, where we were told that ABS system had been leaking for sometime with no warning indication, and shorted out the entire electrical system. The repair bill was $4500 as the front electrical module was shot due to the leakage. Dealer and Ford corporation could not explain cause of leak, why warning system did not work, why the extreme damage or why the front electrical module was located so close to the ABS system, that allowed this to happen. I questioned if this was a manufacturing or latent defect. Repair was being done at this time.

- Hastings, MN, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?