Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,747 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Windstar miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Nov 102016

Windstar

  • 196,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Yes I contacted Ford about the recall on the rear axle they said I dont have a recall on my van but my rear axle just split

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #37

Mar 152013

Windstar

  • miles
ABS modal failure bad soder connection ABS light and thus brake lights on dash stay

- Hood River, OR, USA

problem #36

Sep 262016

Windstar

  • miles
Re: nftsa safety recall 15V-608 we had to pay Ford $300 or else they were not going to perform the recall work. Why should we have to pay anything at all for a recall which is a fault of Ford and not us at the owner? we are not happy at all with this situation but felt forced to pay for the safety of the driver and passengers of this vehicle.

- Waynesboro, VA, USA

problem #35

Sep 092015

Windstar

  • 141,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

9-10-2015 after numerous attempt's to resolve recall I was driving to work on ritchie hwy and the rear axile which was one of the many recalls made me loose control of vehicle and once I gained control car was drivin to near supermarket parking lot and driver's side axile broke and car was disabled I later made it to work and was taken via ambulance to hospital onset panic attack. Contacted car ins and Ford customer service since 9-10-15 I was given case# cas7858636 not until 9/2016 I contacted Ford after numerous calls within 1 yr period spoke to christie and she explained me that customer service failed to contact me "sorry" then she contacted Ford bob bell service station and I towed car again with my money. And have yet to hear from them I almost died in this car and no one has made my experience good I know have anxiety and no car......no rental.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #34

Apr 142016

Windstar

  • miles
The air flow from air condition stops plwing whe the vehicle reachs the speed of 40 miles in motion

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #33

Jun 192016

Windstar

  • 160,000 miles
I recently had my Windstar front end worked on by a local Ford dealer, who was supposed to take care of all recall issues. They did a crappy job of that and now the vehicle is sitting my driveway with the axle snapped in half. Had it towed to my home when it broke on the highway. This is not a safe vehicle and we were very lucky no-one got hurt.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #32

Jul 302015

Windstar

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Between my March 2015 oil change and my July 30 2015 oil change the control arms broke and completely ruined a tire all the way around the tire. Chewed it up very badly putting me at risk for an accident from a blow out or loss of control. I don't know exactly when the problem occurred. The problem was found by the shop at the oil change. I am finding online where there is much concern about the control arms on these vehicles. Both front lower control arms were replaced by the shop. The brought one of the tires into the lobby for me to see and it was absolutely chewed up all the way around the tire. It is a wonder I did not have an accident.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #31

Jun 122015

Windstar

  • 126,000 miles
I was driving down the road about 35 mph when my gauges started to bounce back and forth like crazy until 1 of them broke off. I manage to fix the broken gauge and then about 5 days later it happened again. I manged to fix it once again and now it's doing it more often. I've had the altanator checked, battery checked, and I've had the codes pulled on it and there is no codes on it.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #30

May 082015

Windstar

  • 155,991 miles
The rear axle broke when our daughter was driving home from work at night. When she got home she told us that the van was not handling well at all. It turns out the rear axle had cracked which caused the driver's side rear wheel to push up into the wheel housing and start rubbing against the wheel well. Luckily this happened near our home and she didn't have much further to go as it became very difficult to handle. Also lucky the speed was only about 30 mph, because I'm not sure it would have made it safely home if it happened while driving at a higher speed. Our van was part of a recall that was done in 2011 where they installed brackets/clamps instead of replacing the rear axle. The break has occurred right under the clamping bracket. It also appears to be cracked on the rear passenger side as the tire is tilting into the wheel well on that side also. It appears Ford has left many Windstar drivers in a potential very dangerous situation.

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #29

May 112012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 105,899 miles
At a major intersection getting onto a highway our subframe gave out and we came to a screeching halt & a dead stop. The entire subframe under the passengers side of the van rotted and the wheel was up against the frame of the car. It could have caused a major accident. It cost us $1,500.

- Lynn, FL, USA

problem #28

Nov 302011

Windstar

  • 132,919 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was turning a corner and heard a loud bag, as if metal has snapped. I took the car to my Ford dealer who said that the font subframe where the sway bar was attached had rusted through and that the sway bar was now not attached to the subframe and was banging. Ford has fixed the frame on two different rust recalls under "recall 11S16", but said this was not covered and would cost $2085.75 for the subframe plus labor and hardware. I asked if the car was safe to drive and received a non specific answer! if Ford Windstar has this much problem with there frame rusting why is this not covered??

- Painted Post, NY, USA

problem #27

Nov 302011

Windstar

  • 132,919 miles
I was turning a corner and heard a loud bag, as if metal has snapped. I took the car to my Ford dealer who said that the font subframe where the sway bar was attached had rusted through and that the sway bar was now not attached to the subframe and was banging. Ford has fixed the frame on two different rust recalls under "recall 11S16", but said this was not covered and would cost $2085.75 for the subframe plus labor and hardware. I asked if the car was safe to drive and received a non specific answer! if Ford Windstar has this much problem with there frame rusting why is this not covered??

- Painted Post, NY, USA

problem #26

Jun 172001

Windstar

  • 161,000 miles
When I started my minivan it was an afternoon. I noticed that when I started driving the minivan it was like forcing it self then I would change the speed and it would sound different but it felt like it was heavy, I would change it to N and it still make this sound like if I was driving on a wet highway and engine was still loud. When I would speed more than 30 mph it just wouldn't respond as it did before. I purchased this minivan not to long ago -I would say close to a month-. when taking it for a test drive everything looked good, sounded ok -other than the shocks that needed to be replaced- and no lights were on. But after two days had gone by the previous owner said that the ABS light would "sometimes" turn on and would turn off on its own. So, I had a mechanic inspect the minivan for the replacement of the shock wondering if this might take care of the problem, but after the work was done the ABS and brake light started to turn on. Went back to the mechanic because it came making weird sound on the left side so he told me that brake pads also needed to be replaced, so I thought to myself this would take care of the problem which it didn't happen. Now after close to a month of owning this minivan and weather becoming much hotter I noticed this problem. I had a mechanic look at it again today and he suggested that a take it to a Ford dealership to have the minivan inspected since he was also aware of a recall done on these types of vehicles. I am just afraid to keep on driving it because I can tell something is just not right and I feel that it's just going to brake down on me anytime soon. And since I have a baby I prefer not to drive or drive a long distance or even on a high speed.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #25

Mar 212011

Windstar

  • 132,918 miles
I was driving my van down the road at about thirty five. Heard a loud thunk and realized I was not accelerating anymore. The van stopped almost immediately after. Called a tow truck because I thought it was the transmission. After evaluating the damage we realized that the frame had broken where the wheel stabilizer arm mounts to the frame on the passenger side. Also my passenger drive shaft pulled out from the transmission. So in this repair it is going to take a sub frame. And the half shafts from transmission to wheel.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #24

Mar 012011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Ford Windstar. Consumer writes in regards to recall letter and repairs the consumer did not specify which recall.

- Spencer, WV, USA

problem #23

Jun 182009

Windstar

  • 156,000 miles
On two occasions we have had to have our axel replaced. This happened 6/18/2009 and 7/13/2010. The mileage was 156,000 and 171,210 respectively. The amount with towing came to $1,473.37. Reimbursement check came 1/29/2011 for $978.80 with no explantion regarding the difference and both receipts returned. Brought Windstar to schultz Ford in nanuet, NY and was told there were no cracks in the axel and I would be notified when replacement part was in. This was October. It is now going to be February and still no parts at the schultz Ford in nanuet to ensure this axel doesn't crack. Please help. It seems as if they are delaying hoping your car will no longer be in service to require this recall. How very dangerous to place money over safety.

- Stony Point, NY, USA

problem #22

Jun 182009

Windstar

  • 156,000 miles
On two occasions we have had to have our axel replaced. This happened 6/18/2009 and 7/13/2010. The mileage was 156,000 and 171,210 respectively. The amount with towing came to $1,473.37. Reimbursement check came 1/29/2011 for $978.80 with no explantion regarding the difference and both receipts returned. Brought Windstar to schultz Ford in nanuet, NY and was told there were no cracks in the axel and I would be notified when replacement part was in. This was October. It is now going to be February and still no parts at the schultz Ford in nanuet to ensure this axel doesn't crack. Please help. It seems as if they are delaying hoping your car will no longer be in service to require this recall. How very dangerous to place money over safety.

- Stony Point, NY, USA

problem #21

Jan 242011

Windstar

  • 111,000 miles
Brought my van in for recall for rear axle. Dealer showed me how front passenger side subframe had rusted to a point where it is now unsafe to drive. This could have been a problem if I was driving at the time. I know Ford is now under investigation with the same vans and wanted to let you know I have one. The underside of my van is nearly rust free except for the subframe mounting point only on the passenger side.

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

problem #20

Jan 242011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
Investigation: PE 10-026 date opened: 07/20/2010 investigator: [xxx] reviewer: [xxx] approver: [xxx] subject: Front sub-frame corrosion found this after I had my 2001 Windstar at the Ford dealer and they showed me this problem my van at this time is unsafe to drive they are replacing the rear axle for a recall but the subframe is so rusted it unsafe to drive. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

problem #19

Jan 152011

Windstar

  • 89,000 miles
Vehicle was pulling away from a stop sign when there was a loud thunk. The engine ran away, the steering became unresponsive, and the brakes stopped working. Fortunately the vehicle was headed uphill and beached itself on a snow drift on the sidewalk. Both rear attachment points for the engine subframe had rusted out and given way. The engine dropped until it was supported by the remainder of the frame and exhaust system dragging the road. If this had not happened at such a low speed, this could easily have been a deadly failure. As a long time engineer in the auto industry, I find this type of failure within the service life of the vehicle to be totally inexcusable. This form does not even have a listing for a frame failure. On a final note, I called Ford about this failure. They informed me that the vehicle was out of warranty and they had no interest in investigating the failure - also inexcusable.

- New Palestine, IN, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?