Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,618 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Windstar seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jan 102015

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 116,967 miles


During inspection inspecter 38573 reported a diagnostic fault as airbag control module. After failed inspection. I looked for part with the avail. Current part on vehicle is 1F2A-14B321-ee. I cannot find a part number matching. I took it to a second mechanic to verify if he infact was right. And I looked at the diagnostic and the airbag did not show up however what did show up after airbag light came on after a full memory clear was code B234 which points to driver safety belt buckle switch short circuit to ground. Or in lames terms safety belt buckle switch. This should never in a cars life ever happen. If this happened before a accident this could cause death to the consumer. Im the second owner of this vehicle I believe so im not sure if there's a recall for this particular issue as I do know there's one similar. My reinspection is due within 6 days. I feel I shouldn't have to pay for a repair for a part on something that should never need to replaced. Especially when lives are at stake.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #20

Oct 252013


  • 146,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle crashed into a guard rail and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. There were no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed to a impound lot. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure and current mileage was 146,000. The VIN was not available.

- Leicester, NC, USA

problem #19

Sep 022013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 168,800 miles
Airbag light comes on/off, took vehicle to Ford dealership, , they said there are no recalls, however I have two recall numbers 00V270000 and 00V412000 concerning the rcm-restraint control module-they want to charge me to inspect the vehicle, I don't feel I should have to pay a fee for them to inspect my vehicle if a recall exist for the problem I identified already called the fort customer support number they are the ones who said no recalls exist for this vehicle.

- Capitol Heights, MD, USA

problem #18

Aug 012005

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


Problems encountered: Rear windows not working, had motors replaced worked for about 6 months then intermittent then quit working within 6 months. ABS and brake light on dash goes on and off. A/C stops blowing for about 20 seconds then resumes blowing. Keyless entry works sometimes, sometimes it don't. speedometer slower than it reads and mileage may not be correct. Windshield wipers not working properly. Intermittent settings on wipers quit working and when you turn off wipers they stop in middle of windshield. I have an 88 year old father with no legs and this is the vehicle I have to drive him around in. Do not feel safe!!

- Pearl River, LA, USA

problem #17

Jul 132012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles
7/21/2011 bought van from private party. Recall completed in March of 2011 regarding back axle. On 7/13/2012 8pm, my 18yr old son, while driving home from lacrosse practice, nearly killed. Upon pulling out onto the main road, he lost all controls, no steering, no brakes and no power. He coasted and prayed it would stop. I arrived, we called aaa. Flatbed to my home driver could not believe his eyes. The engine had fallen out. 7/16/12 called Ford in mich and spoke to rep. To be towed 13 miles away to route 23 auto at our expense. Really? route23 wanted nothing to do with me (they did recall). Went back and forth then per RT23 "it will be a month until we can look at it" getting know where. 7/18-22 borrowed friend car for tournament. 8/1/12 called magarino Ford and with great concern had a flatbed that night. This tow truck driver could not believe it. Fluids raced out and double stabilized for engine sliding during Transport. 8/2/12 magarino called 9am, pictures sent to Ford and awaiting reply. 8/5/12 T/C from M stating Ford refuses to buy back and sending a subframe. You mean a recalled one" magarino caught in middle I questioned whether he would put his children in this van. He softly replied, "no" what am I to do, out of work 2 years, single parent with no car to find work. 8/8/12 I questioned Ford why this van ever left rt 23 auto, according to researched paper a part was waiting on. You mean to tell me that upon this fixed axle nobody noticed the subframe was rotted from inside out causing the engine to fall out the next summer nearly killing my son! but they signed it was fine! really" now we have case # 1373091992 8/10/12 picked up van. Broke= A/C, R-window, heater engine, airbag, brake light on, runs hot steering= thumps makes noise (full fluid) skip gears, sways, barely can get up a hill. 11yr old scared to drive in

- Highland Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #16

Sep 022011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 119,180 miles
I was driving in residential area when I heard loud noise like a gun. When I pulled over, looked at my windows etc. They were all intact. I then noticed that the air bag on side of passenger seat had gone off, and blew that area of the passenger seat out. I took my vehicle to the nearest Ford dealer the next working day, which was yesterday. Today they called me and said that Ford Motor Company would not cover it. I called Ford customer service # 1-800-392-3673. I was again told they would not cover it. I told them that I had gone on line and there were 2 air bag recalls on that model of car. They told me that Ford did not have a recall on this. I had entered 2001 Ford Windstar recalls. It gave me NHTSA campaign id number 00V412000 dated 12/06/2000 and NHTSA campaign number 00V270000 dated 09/13/2000 I do believe this is a safety issue and it is Ford Motor Company's responsibility, not mine.

- Great Falls , MT, USA

problem #15

Dec 052005


  • miles


I was driving on a snow/ice covered road on my way home from work. The road was not plowed. I lost my brakes and started to slide sideways down a hill. I tried to steer the 2001 Ford Windstar to the side of the road. I was not going very fast. I was petrified. I finally came to a stop my bumper hit a drain pipe. All axles were bent. Smoke was coming from the hood. The Windstar was totaled. I received 18 stitches in my mouth. My top teeth bit through my bottom lip. I have a scar. The airbags did not deploy. I filed complaints at several different places and as all these other people are saying I never received an answer. I would like to be included in the class action lawsuit.

- Falls Creek, PA, USA

problem #14

Jan 202010


  • miles
I took my 2001 Ford Windstar in for the recall, and still my ABS light and brake light are on. I researched online that many people are still having the same problem.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 182009


  • 78,000 miles
Our ABS light turns on after driving the van for 30 minutes or more. If the car is shut off the light goes off and does not come on again when restarted until the van is driven more (I.e. heats up). We noticed this first during a severe rain storm on a long trip during August of 2009.

- Broookhaven, PA, USA

problem #12

Jul 282009

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. When the contact started the ignition, the seat belts failed to operate. The air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel and remained lit until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection and they stated that the restraint control module (rcm) failed. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 00V270000 (air bags), although the failures were identical. The part for the repair was ordered and the vehicle will be repaired once it arrives. The failure and current mileages were 81,000. Updated 8/27/09 updated 09/04/09.

- Fancy Zap, VA, USA

problem #11

Jan 082007

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,634 miles


I was comikng home from work traveling 45 mph, had a green light, as I entered the intersection a police car ran the red light and I stuck him in the passenger side of his car. My veiw was blocked in the next lane so I never saw him until it was too late. I slammed my brakes and tried to turn to the right to avoid him but at 45 mph it was not enough, I braced my self waiting for the air bags to deploy but neither the drivers or passenger worked. I sustained major injuries to my cervical spine and I am unable to work. When I reported it to Ford they sent me a list of items they needed and put a 45 day time limit on the complaint and requested I guess we will see what they do for me, thank god I was wearing my seat belt or I would be dead!

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #10

Apr 292006

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
I was heading South coming to a green light and a car heading West run a red light and I hit her in the side going about 45 mph. After hitting the car I continued through intersection and hit steel gutter and went over that and hit head on into a drainage ditch and my airbags did not deploy.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #9

Mar 022006

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,900 miles
: the contact stated that the air bag warning light continuously illuminated. Also, the driver's side seat belt was not clicking closed. The contact researched the vehicle online, and was concerned at the air bag recall information that was discovered. There were two NHTSA recalls, #00V270000 and # 00V412000, however the vehicle was not included in either recall due to the VIN. The vehicle has not been taken to a service dealer or an independent mechanic for inspection.

- Davenport, FL, USA

problem #8

Jan 202006

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,500 miles
: the contact rear ended another vehicle at 25 mph. Upon impact the passenger's air bag deployed but the driver's air bag did not. There was no occupant in the passenger seat. The driver sustained minor injuries as a result of the air bag not deploying. The contact was wearing a seat belt. Extensive damage was sustained to the right side of the vehicle. The police were contacted and a report was taken. The vehicle was seen by an independent repair shop for the body damage. The mechanic suggested replacing the left front seat belt retractor because the seat belt would not retract properly after the accident. They did not inspect the air bags. Updated 3/17/2006 - the consumer didn't have the funds to repair the airbag so the technician at the body shop removed the driver's side air bag fuse.

- West Van Lear, KY, USA

problem #7

Dec 082005

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
I was driving home from work and it was snowing. I started to slide on ice. I repeatedly tried to brake but the vehicle would not stop. I slid off the road onto the shoulder and impacted with a drain pipe into a ditch. Neither of my dual airbags deployed and as a result my mouth hit the steering wheel. I received 18 stitches. I was wearing my seat belt. The vehicle was claimed a total loss.

- Falls Creek, PA, USA

problem #6

Jan 122005


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was recently involved in a car accident and was hit directly in the driver side door. I was driving a 2001 Ford Windstar that had side airbags. The airbag did not deploy and my head hit the driver window and busted it. Thankfully, I only received a concussion. Ford is now saying too bad. They tried to test it but said due to some computer inf. Being lost that they were only able to say that the airbag was working right now. We have tried to contact them for 3 weeks now and they have just been giving us the run around. I just would like to know if my hit wasn't hard enough what would it have taken. My van was totaled.

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #5

Nov 012004


  • miles
Complaint received via E-mail. My husband had an accident in which our car was totaled. The air bags never deployed, and the seat belts didn't hold him in place. His chest is real sore, and he got whip lash. He is going to the doctor. On the vehicle that hit him the air bags deployed.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #4

Oct 032004

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Air bag warning light came on while driving. Dealership performed diagnostic test, failure code 2290 was found. Air bag control module/some wires, and sensor needed to be replaced. Failure was similar to the defect described in recall 00V270000 air bag deployment. VIN number was not included.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #3

Mar 092003


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was in a car accident. After I slammed on the brakes, the seat belt popped off. I hit the steering wheel. The passenger air bag deployed but the driver's side air bag did not deploy. Although the car was drivable, the seat belt remained locked and unusable after the accident. RQ04011.

- Massapequa, NY, USA

problem #2

Oct 012001


  • miles
Upon impact both seat belts did not lock, and air bags did not deploy for the driver or the passenger.

- Dinuba, CA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?