Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
131,868 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Windstar suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 4 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #87

Apr 222014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 146,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear axle failed after recall repairs were made by dealer.

- Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #86

Apr 152014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
Had the 2011 rear axle recall performed by Ford in 2011. They inspected the rear axle and installed the support brackets. Now my rear axle is cracked. I contacted the dealership where I had the recall performed who confirmed they had performed the recall but denied any further responsibility and told me to contact Ford. I have contacted Ford and spoke with both a customer service rep and her supervisor who both advised Ford is only responsible for the first 12 months or 12,000 miles since the recall was performed. I feel the repair was not sufficient to prevent additional cracking of the axle and they should fix/replace the axle.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #85

Apr 032014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
Took in for a recall on subframe put on support brackets. Went to get it inspected. Subframe is rotted out. I was told another recall was done for those in cold weather climates. Ford recall computer is down. The consumer was informed the vehicle was unsafe to drive, as the frame was structurally unsound. No was willing to fix the other problems with the vehicle, due to the rusted out frame. Updated 05/12/14

- Hallowell, ME, USA

problem #84

Mar 122014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 141,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fortunately there was no accident, but my vehicle is very unsafe to drive. I took the vehicle to the dealer for safety recall 11S16. The dealer contacted Ford because sway bar bushings are completely rusted out and broken, leaving nothing to attach the sway bar to. Ford says the bracket is outside the scope and advises the dealer to perform the repair. The sway bar has broken off from the front sub-frame passenger side of the car. The dealer said the sub-frame is so rusted that the only way to reattach the sway bar is to replace the entire front sub-frame at a cost of $2900. The dealer deemed my car unsafe to drive, as I won't have control of my car on quick turns or be able to make fast maneuvers in the event of an accident or to avoid potential accidents. Another risk is that my engine may fall out the bottom of my car while driving (which I see has happened to others with my same problem), endangering my family and others on the road. I plan on parking this car in my driveway and waiting for Ford to be forced to recall these vehicles.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #83

Mar 172014

Windstar

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated while driving 20 mph, burning fumes started to emit into the vehicle and the vehicle started to shake violently. The contact stated when the driver inspected the vehicle he noticed the rear driver side tire had blown out. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed the axle had fractured. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but refused to provide any assistance, stating the vehicle had already been repaired under recall NHTSA campaign number: 10V385000 (suspension). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 130,000.

- Grand Island, NY, USA

problem #82

Feb 202014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 93,901 miles
I was driving down the road and there was a loud snap and grinding sound from the rear of the car. Both rear wheels were at an approximate 20 degree angle off center.

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #81

Jan 022014

Windstar

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that after having the vehicle serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V194000 (suspension) remedied on the vehicle, the rear axle became cracked. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer, who stated that they would not remedy the cracked axle because the manufacturer would only guarantee the bracket repair for one year. The failure mileage was 160,000. Updated 03/05/14

- North Field, NH, USA

problem #80

Apr 012013

Windstar

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that she contacted the manufacturer regarding NHTSA campaign number: 12V195000 (suspension) and stated that the VIN was not included. The contact also mentioned that the rear axle on the vehicle was cracked, corroded and would make loud banging noises when driving at various speeds. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 122,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #79

Oct 132013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 157,000 miles
Driving the vehicle became uncomfortable at both low and high speed; therefore, I started investigating to try to identify the cause. 1st I found one of the rear shocks was very bouncy, the rear tires were not straight and both rear tires were wearing on the inside. Replaced both rear shocks. That didn't solve the problem and the rear tires were still not straight. Next I went to mike naughton Ford dealership and talked with a service representative about the problem and asked if there was a recall. The technician said that I needed to bring the vehicle in for an alignment and have the rear cambers shimmied so that the wheels would be straight at a estimate cost of $200, that there were no recalls to have this work done. Last night (10-13-2013), I jacked the vehicle up to look under to see how difficult it would be to perform the work myself. I decided that I would take the vehicle to Ford and pay them to do the work. I was jacking the vehicle up to remove the jack stance and both tires fell almost to the floor. I look under the vehicle to identify what happened and found the axle housing bent/broken in half. It appears that it has been cracked/broken for some time because the initial break was rusty. Have not been able to follow-up with the Ford dealer yet - I believe that the service department might be closed today (columbus day) because I haven't been able to reach anyone by phone.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #78

Oct 072013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
My daughter was driving the Windstar at approximately 20 mph when she heard a noise and felt something break and she was unable to steer the vehicle and she was able to get the vehicle stopped. She exited the vehicle to see if she could see what the problem was. She noticed both front wheels were pointing in different directions. This vehicle was recalled in 2011 to have brackets placed to support the subframe. The vehicle was towed to a local garage. Upon inspection it was determined that the passengers side lower control arm had pulled out of the subframe.

- Waterford, VT, USA

problem #77

Aug 062013

Windstar

  • 201,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated while driving 30 mph, the rear suspension collapsed and caused the drivers side rear tire to blowout. The contact was able to drive to his residence where the vehicle was later towed to a dealer. The vehicle was not repaired nor was the failure diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure and current mileage was 201,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #76

Jul 222013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Had the vehicle serviced for 2 corrosion recalls. Was driving on the freeway approx. 60mph, heard a pop in the area of the right front tire. Took van to the shop I use, where I was told it was part of the frame and need to take it to the dealership(blackwell Ford, Plymouth, mi. 48170). Dealership said the van needed a subframe assy. And right sway bar bushing bracket, and possibly more. All was due to corrosion, combination poor design and inferior material. They contacted Ford motor, sent estimate, pictures and information. Fords response is that it wasn't part of any recall, even though there has been at least two for corrosion that I am aware of. This is clearly a design and/or a material issue with my Windstar. It is not safe to drive, and there is no way, with my conscious that I can try to sell it. This is an ongoing issue with the Windstar. I'm sure this is part of hundreds if not thousands of complaints on this issue, what can be done" how many injuries or deaths have there been because of corrosion issue with the Windstar" help!!!!

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #75

Jul 302013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 175,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the rear axle failed and became fractured. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis where it was stated that the driver's side rear axle needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 175,000. Updated 9/5/13 updated 09/13/2013

- Pleasant Praire, WI, USA

problem #74

Jun 262013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 173,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the subframe detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic who stated that the subframe was corroded. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V194000 (suspension). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated no further repair would be provided. The approximate failure mileage was 173,000.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #73

May 312013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
Cpsc#I1360214A. 2001 Ford Windstar. Consumer stated she took her car in for a recall on the axle and was told everything was fine. Three weeks later she was driving and the car started sounding odd. Consumer pulled over an her tire was leaning in, because the axle had snapped. The dealer informed the consumer they would not repair the vehicle under the recall, because they placed on brackets on the axle, two years prior. The dealer stated they had complied with the recall.

- Southgate, MI, USA

problem #72

Jul 062013

Windstar

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, a burning rubber smell came from the rear of the vehicle. The contact moved off the roadway to examine the vehicle and noticed that the rear driver's side tire was rubbing against the wheel well. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, who stated that the rear axle was broken. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V194000 (suspension) but was told by the dealer that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #71

May 312013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 158,657 miles
Ford=fix or repair daily!!!!!!!!!!! I am writing to try and get Ford to do the right thing. My mother's ex-husband told me to never buy a Ford and I did not listen. I bought a Windstar 2001. I took it in for the recall on the axle. They inspected and told me it was fine. I was unaware that they did anything to it. Three weeks ago, I was driving home from the gym when my car started sounding odd. I... pulled over and noticed my tires were leaning in. My axle had snapped. I called the Ford dealership and they said they would indeed fix it due to the recall. I had it towed to the dealership in taylor. That next Monday was memorial day so I did not hear anything from them until they called on Tuesday and stated they will not fix it because they had placed brackets on it 2 year ago. They said they had complied with the recall and they were not responsible for this repair. What I do not understand is how they believe this is acceptable. If Ford had fixed the problem in the first place this would not have been an issue. I could have been driving on the freeway or my kids could have been in the car. I have contacted Ford and asked for them to reconsider this to no avail. Thank you.

- Southgate, MI, USA

problem #70

May 242013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 158,657 miles
On 01/06/2011 I took my minivan in for the recall on the axle. They told me it was fine and sent me home. On Friday while driving on northline road in southgate Michigan, my axle snapped. I took it to the taylor Ford and they said it would be fixed by Ford. I was told today 05/28/2013that they would not cover the repair due to the fact they put brackets on it in 2011. I was not informed of the fact they put brackets on it in 2011. I was driving a vehicle that was dangerous on the freeway.

- Southgate, MI, USA

problem #69

May 192013

Windstar

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, she noticed smoke emitting from the vehicle as the vehicle became difficult to maneuver. The contact inspected the vehicle and discovered that the rear tires were awkwardly turned outward. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the rear axle was fractured. The contact was informed of a recall for the failure under NHTSA campaign number: 10V385000 (suspension). The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the recall had been performed on the vehicle more than a year prior to the recent failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure and current mileage was 136,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #68

Feb 192013

Windstar

  • 177,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the rear axle was fractured. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V195000 (suspension). The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the axle had failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 177,000.

- Harrington Park, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?