Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
132,088 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Windstar suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #43

Jan 252012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 168,000 miles


I am reporting my 2001 Ford Windstar limited for the same problems that have been recalled in the "salt belt states". I live in fauquier county, Virginia. This Windstar was originally bought at rick hunt Ford in warrenton, va and resided in the 20186 zip code until we bought it in 2005. It was traded into jerry's Lincoln/Mercury in manassas from whom we purchased it. We have lived in fauquier county the entire time we have owned this vehicle, in remington, va and now warrenton, va. I noticed in my regular maintenance that it appeared that the "front sub frame" was doing the same thing that others had complained of and ultimately was recalled in the "salt belt states". on 01/19/2012 what used to be rick hunt Ford and now is sheey Ford of warrenton, va looked at the "front sub frame". the service manager said that my concerns were correct about the "front sub frame", that it is doing what these vehicles were recalled for in the "salt belt states". he also said that the "rear axle" had a crack in it, also what they were recalled for in the "salt belt states". the results were that Ford would not take care of it even though it had the same problems that they recalled in other states. I contacted Ford customer service on 01/20/2012 and was told by the original person's supervisor that and I quote "Ford has agreed to add your vehicle to the recall list". I was to take the van back to sheehy so they could document everything and take care of it. I did so, dropped it off 01/23/2012. I called on 01/25/2012 to find out if it was ready that Ford would not take care of it since it had not been registered in a "salt belt state". I am requesting that the NHTSA look into these vehicles again and require Ford to recall the Windstar in all states. If you look around on the internet one can find people in almost every state who have the same problems. Thank you

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #42

Jan 162012


  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. While driving approximately 60 mph the contact noticed a slight shaking in the steering wheel. The contact stopped the vehicle at a gasoline station and noticed the rear drivers side tire was slanted inward. The contact inspected the vehicle and also noticed the rear axle had fractured. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technicians stated the rear axle fractured due to corrosion and had to be replaced. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V385000 (suspension:rear:axle:non-powered axle assembly) that may be related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 200,000.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #41

Dec 222011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 82,759 miles
Noticed that my front tires are worn out a lot in the inner edges. Took it for wheel alignment on Dec 22, 2011. Pep boys auto shop in Arizona avenue, chandler, AZ refused to do it saying that rear axel is bent. So it is not safe. I also took it to Ford dealership at 7300 w. orchid lane, AZ, 85226 (ph 480 940 4442) for "speed control system modification" recall. Service advisor [xxx] visually confirmed that wheels are bent outwardly. I am concerned for the safety of my family and me, and want this issue addressed. Thanks. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #40

Apr 142011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles


My 2001 Ford Windstar was repaired at valley Ford in valley view Ohio on 4/14/2011 under recall #20287. I had the van in for an unrelated matter on 12/07/2011 at that time I was informed by my mechanic that the sub-frame was rusted through. After contacting Ford's national service center I took the van to valley Ford. They inspected it and confirmed that the sub-frame was rusted through. They forwarded their finding to Ford Motor Co. And Ford Motor Co. Was not willing to address the issue with the sub-frame. I believe this issue should have been addressed under the initial recall. Since at least April of 2011 any time my children, myself, or anyone else rode in the vehicle it was subject to a catastrophic failure of the sub-frame which could have caused serious or fatal injury to the occupants or others.

- Garfield Heights, OH, USA

problem #39

Dec 012011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 125,607 miles
From one year back I was hearing a noise from rear axle of my Windstar. Finally, at December, the axle broke at 25mph. This is very dangerous because it can cause the death of someone. Please help people of puerto rico, we are american citizen too.

- Juana Diaz, PR, USA

problem #38

Dec 122011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
I was driving at 35mph when I heard a loud boom and my Windstar careened wildly back and forth and felt like I had slammed on the brakes. The Windstar could not even be driven to the shoulder. The tow truck driver said the subframe was broken and possibly the tie rods had broken as well. The front wheels were pointed outward in opposite directions.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #37

Dec 022011


  • 110,000 miles


I bought this car used 1 yr and 8 months ago.. haven't had any major problems with it. We received the recall for the rear axle, they checked it out was fine, we never received this last recall in 2011 but it may have helped if we did. On Dec 2 I was pulling out of a school, was at a complete stop then started pulling out to take a right only going about 5 mph we heard a bang (something fell in the front end) then the car just took over, there was no steering, the throttle stuck took us from 5 mph to about 30 mph in like 3 seconds crossing 4 lanes of traffic and just missing 2 vehicles, I crashed into a sign, 2 fences and a tree which made us stop, there was this awful sound that was getting faster and faster, we jumped out of the car because we thought it was going to blow up!!! everything that is in the front end is laying on the ground!! this is very dangerous and I am outraged that something like this could happen. If my husband and I hadn't gone anywhere that night, I would have had my 3 small children in it the next morning!! I am so thankful that we were not hurt (except for emotionally) and that we also didn't hurt anyone else.. if those cars were 1 second earlier we would have smashed into those cars that were going about 50 mph.. wouldn't have a been a very good outcome!!! now waiting to see what will happen with the van, if it is fixed I will not get in it ever again!!

- East Longmeadow , MA, USA

problem #36

Nov 302011


  • 132,919 miles
I was turning a corner and heard a loud bag, as if metal has snapped. I took the car to my Ford dealer who said that the font subframe where the sway bar was attached had rusted through and that the sway bar was now not attached to the subframe and was banging. Ford has fixed the frame on two different rust recalls under "recall 11S16", but said this was not covered and would cost $2085.75 for the subframe plus labor and hardware. I asked if the car was safe to drive and received a non specific answer! if Ford Windstar has this much problem with there frame rusting why is this not covered??

- Painted Post, NY, USA

problem #35

Apr 242009

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
Before Ford recalled for this problem, my rear axle broke in half at 65 mph on the highway resulting in loss of control and fumes filling the car from tires rubbing against wheel wells. In March of 2011 Ford recalled and reinforced the subframe. Inspection is now due on my vehicle and my mechanic will not pass it due to the installment of the recalled reinforcement. Reportedly the installation was performed and attached to an equally as corroded part and failure is once again imminent. I returned the vehicle to the Ford dealer that made the recall repair and was told that it is indeed safe. I am now stuck with a potential repair bill of $700 that will not fix the problem due to the model year parts having the same issues, or just driving the vehicle until failure occurs (again) and going back to Ford with a lawsuit as I cannot in good conscience sell this vehicle to anyone else.

- Avoca, NY, USA

problem #34

Sep 302011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 1,105,432 miles
Right side of vehicle underneath subframe broke. Heard nosie and vehicle quit could not control had someone look at it and underneath is rusted out and broke I was told it was the subframe.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #33

Jun 012011


  • 126,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The vehicle was included in the recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 11V030000 (structure: Frame and members:underbody shields) and the recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V385000 (suspension:rear:axle:non-powered axle assembly) and was taken to the dealer for repair. After the vehicle was repaired, the contact heard a grinding and a cracking sound in the front end of the vehicle while driving approximately 65 mph. The vehicle would also shake vigorously and the steering wheel began to turn on its own forcefully. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and referred the contact to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 126,000.

- Hagerstown1, MD, USA

problem #32

Jun 202011


  • 88,000 miles
Right front (passenger side) sway bar mounting bracket separated from vehicle, at front lower control arm rear attaching bracket, less than 30 days after recall ( NHTSA campaign id number: 11V030000) was performed. This has rendered the vehicle unsafe to drive and it will not pass New York state vehicle safety inspection. Ford dealership denies any responsibility and Ford, the manufacturer, will not repair as part of recall.

- Webster , NY, USA

problem #31

Mar 022011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Upon replacing shocks and struts on my 2001 Ford Windstar my mechanic noticed a crack on axel took it in to local dealership to verify sure enough crack had me set up with enterprise to receive small loaner of a family of 6 sad need bigger vehicle Ford not budging will wait for rep to further pursue.. Ford saying approx. 2mths before repair... sad situation all around I wish I would never bought this vehicle expect more problems after sitting for two months.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #30

Jan 252011


  • 133,000 miles
Vehicle is no longer drivable & is sitting at a Ford dealership service lot. Incident occurred on Tuesday, January 25, 2011 at approximately 4:30pm. Vehicle front subframe cracked and passenger side tire separated from car while driving resulting in loss of control of vehicle. Car would not steer or move, could not be pushed out of traffic.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #29

Sep 012010


  • miles
Our van has been in the garage since Sept. 2010 waiting on the replacement part for the axle recall, and now the front sub frames might also need to be replaced. I think both parts should be replaced while the dealers have everybody's vehicle..I don't really want to get our van out of the garage just to turn around and put it back in. But I will if I have to because I think that Ford should replace the ones that need it, before there is more accident and injuries. ///it would also be cheaper to them to fix the problem than to buy everyone's vehicle from them. We've had enough recalls on these. Let's just get them fixed right and get it over with.

- New Lexington, OH, USA

problem #28

Nov 162010


  • 128,932 miles
The bracket that holds the passenger side front suspension lower arm to the subframe failed while driving the car. This bracket that holds this arm to the subframe was completed corroded away, causing the failure. All that is left on the subframe is corrosion and weld marks. The arm is completely disconnected from the subframe. Without this lower arm, the wheel on the passenger side, toed out and had negative camber which popped out the drive shaft from the transmission. Fortunately, this happened at a low speed, 10 mph and there were no injuries. At a higher speed, I speculate that this was a very dangerous condition since the vehicle pulled very hard to the right and you didn't have adequate control over the steering. I have talked to a Ford representative and he indicated that they had no information on this type of failure, and that there isn't any recall. I understand that your department is looking into it.

- Arlington Hts, IL, USA

problem #27

Oct 012010


  • 97,800 miles
I was told by my mechanic in October 2010 that I have a crack in the front subframe on the passenger side of the vehicle.

- Enfield, CT, USA

problem #26

Jan 052008


  • 137,375 miles
Government has never answered odo 10252007 (life threatening Ford 2001 Windstar axle defect.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #25

Oct 262010


  • 87,160 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the right front passenger wheel assembly was corroded and rusted from the frame which caused the wheel to fall off. The vehicle was repaired at a local repair shop. The dealer stated that there were no related recalls. The contact filed a complaint with the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 87,160.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #24

Nov 302010


  • 93,000 miles
I am not a mechanic but will attempt to relay my best interpretation of what I believe happened. While my wife was driving a total loss of steering occurred. Very luckily she was not on a major highway travelling at high speed or in the process of navigating a turn. After inspection by our mechanic it was determined that the cradle that supports the front suspension fractured. This occurred on the front passenger side of the vehicle and the front axle connected to passenger side wheel was then disconnected from the transmission this was either caused by lower control arm disconnected or the vice/versa. The vehicle lost the ability to turn and luckily there was nobody tailgating as she was forced to park the vehicle stranded in the middle of the road. It is my opinion that an existing open defect investigation, PE10026, is an exact match to the problem encountered. I tried to resolve with Ford but at this time they do not consider the 100+ instances of this occurring as sufficient cause to warrant a recall and I guess that over the next year or two as this component of the vehicle continues to age we will see more incidents like this. I just had the vehicle serviced and my mechanic knew to check for the rear axle failure but had there been proper notification already in place they may have been able to check for this defect before the vehicle was put back on the road at risk of human life.

- Flanders, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?