Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,613 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Windstar brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Aug 042014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Approx., a year ago my ABS module went bad and I had it checked by a mechanic to verify that fact. Just recently my speed control deactivation switch went bad and leaked, . now I found out there is a connection between both the switch and the ABS bad module. Ford does not have a recall on the ABS system, but they do on the above switch. Very possibly the high cost of the module has kept them from having a recall!!! I have read complaints about the same problem from another Ford van owner. Also the switch was changed approx. 5 years ago and it went bad again.( per a Ford recall then) there should be a definite recall on Windstar van ABS systems and as a safety issue---Ford should replace the switch and wire harness again!..updated 08/12/14

- Charles City, IA, USA

problem #28

Jan 052012

Windstar

  • 90,000 miles
Anti-lock brake light comes on intermittently, and while on, the anti-lock brakes do not work. Often the light just comes on for just a short period, then goes back out. Repair shop can't identify problem unless the light is on. I'm told this is a common problem with this make and model, probably the anti-lock brake sensor. Typically, when starting the car, the anti-lock brake light is not on, and the brakes work correctly. The light will come on and the anti-lock feature of the brakes will not work suddenly as you're driving. Bad situation in cleveland, Ohio in the winter.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #27

Aug 202012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 152,196 miles
False ABS activation; seemed to have no brakes for a bit. Ford dealership replaced wheel sensor. Also, ABS and brake light on at times. Comes on for awhile, then off for days. Then comes back on. May be issue with ABS unit, hydraulic control unit.

- Spofford, NH, USA

problem #26

Jul 092012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At times when is col, D the ABS and brake light is off while driving, when it gets hot the ABS and brake light turns on and the ABS fails to work. Code C1185 ABS power relay output circuit failure. I got to a stop sign and the road was wet and the van skidded, the ABS did not work. No one was hurt and I have seen all the complaints that Ford owners are having. I don't know if my 2002 Ford Windstar had all the other recalls done, like the brake pressure differential deactivation switch (scds) and the rear frame welds that are breaking up on the chassis of many Ford owners. I would like to verify what has been done to my Ford Windstar that I bought two months ago. I just had the inner and outer tie rod ends done along with the sway bar links at the front suspension.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #25

Mar 082010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the vehicle was experiencing an increased stopping distance whenever the brakes were applied. This failure occurred after the vehicle was repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V399000 (vehicle speed control). The contact also stated that the anti-lock brake and brake lights were illuminated on the instrument panel. The speed control deactivation switch was not leaking and there were no brake fluid leaks either, but the consumer was experiencing braking issues. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage is 115,000. Updated 9/13/11 updated 09/28/11

- Kane, PA, USA

problem #24

Jan 062011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
My wife's 2002 Ford Windstar has had the ABS & brake light on, on our dashboard for a few months now. Ford dealerships seem to think it a non issue or a brake issue. All of my brakes have been replaced and the problem still exists. I have narrowed it to the ABS ECM module.

- Wa, WA, USA

problem #23

Jul 012008

Windstar

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the brake and anti lock braking system lights would constantly illuminate on the instrument panel. The contact also stated that the ignition light and cruise control switch did not function. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure milege was 100,000 and the current mileage was 140,000.

- Roy , UT, USA

problem #22

Jan 102011

Windstar

  • 161,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated NHTSA campaign id number 09V399000 vehicle speed control was performed on the vehicle; however, the repair did not correct the failure to the ABS. The speedometer warning light remained illuminated and the odometer failed making it impossible for the contact to see the current miles on the vehicle. The dealership stated the failure was not caused by the repair. The manufacturer filed report 378860041 and advised that they would not assist with the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure miles was 161,000 and the current miles were not available.

- Kingsburg , NJ, USA

problem #21

Dec 012010

Windstar

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Ford Windstar LX. Consumer states problem with brake system the consumer stated the front wheel bearings, engine gasket and fuel injector needed to be replaced. The ABS light illuminated.

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #20

May 012010

Windstar

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact was driving 25 mph when the anti-lock braking system (ABS) warning light illuminated. The dealer was contacted and the contact was advised to check the brake fluid levels. The contact was able to restart the vehicle as it resumed normal operation. The failure persisted intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where the contact was advised that the computer could possibly the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 74,000 and the current mileage was 76,807.

- Marysville, CA, USA

problem #19

Jun 232010

Windstar

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. While driving approximately 40 mph the ABS and brake warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the computer system for the ABS brake system may have failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer stated that her vehicle was not included in any related recalls. The service lights have continued to illuminate on the instrument panel. The failure and current mileages were 115,000.

- Hainesport, NJ, USA

problem #18

Nov 262009

Windstar

  • 89,000 miles
The computer for our antilock brake system on our 2002 Ford Windstar keeps going out, rendering our antilock brakes useless. This is, of course, a serious safety concern. This problem has been diagnosed by both an independent mechanic and a Ford service technician. Although this problem has been frequently reported by consumers as being related to a Ford recall on the cruise control system, and the Ford service technician expressed his opinion that the problem was related to the recalled problem, Ford refuses to replace or even subsidize this 850 dollar part.

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #17

Sep 302009

Windstar

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. While driving the ABS and service brake warning lights illuminated on the instrument control panel. The brake fluid reservoir was leaking fluid onto the cable, which caused the vehicle speed cruise control and the ABS to fail. Brake fluid was added to the reservoir by the contact. The dealer was notified and a technician stated that the ABS cable needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, there was a fire under the hood after the vehicle was repaired. The current and failure mileages were 86,000.

- Fort Sill, OK, USA

problem #16

Aug 202009

Windstar

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. While driving 30 mph, he noticed that the antilock brake light illuminated. The dealer state that the speed sensor and the ABS module failed. The estimated cost for repair was $900. The manufacturer will be notified of the failure. The current and the failure mileages were 130,000.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #15

May 052004

Windstar

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. While driving approximately between 35-40 mph on normal road conditions; pressure was applied to the brake pedal the front btakes locked and the driver was unable to turn the steering wheel. The vehicle also skidded without warning. The failure continued to occur intemittently. The "brake" and "ABS" warning light indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was shut off by the driver. The contact was able to drive the vehicle with caution; however, there was an increase in the engine rpms. An authorized dealer replaced the intake manifold gasket and the alternator. On a separate occasion, the the air bag system failed to deploy with a level of impact to the rear of the vehicle. There were no personal injuries. The contact had concerns of the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 119,336. The VIN number was rejected from the system which will be updated upon receipt of the safety complaint form.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #14

Jul 242009

Windstar

  • 140,000 miles
Both the yellow and red brake light comes on. Bad anti-lock brake control unit.

- North Kingstown, RI, USA

problem #13

Jun 032009

Windstar

  • 85,000 miles
Anti locking brake system intermittent due to ABS system control module defective.

- Groveport, OH, USA

problem #12

Jun 132008

Windstar

  • miles
I have a 2002 Ford Windstar. The ABS brake light and brake light keeps coming on. The only way to get if off is to restart the van I have had it in the shop twice now. The garage ( fiive star Ford) in warner robins told me not to worry about it. They replaced the master cylinder last week. That cost me $490. It still didn't fix the problem with the lights.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #11

Jun 032008

Windstar

  • 180,000 miles
ABS light and tire pressure light are constantly coming on. This has all been checked and there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with either. Cruise stopped working while driving with it on. I have now read many reports from consumers with the same Ford winstar with the same problems. The cruise control concerns me because of the recall of the cruise control switch on one of their trucks and the incidence of fires started because of the cruise control switch in the Ford winstar vans.

- Drayton, AL, USA

problem #10

May 202008

Windstar

  • 97,000 miles
The ABS and brake lights are intermittenly coming on and going off on my 2002 Ford Windstar sel. This started in May 2008 at 97,000 miles.

- Granite City, IL, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?