Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
66,662 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Windstar wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Windstar Owner Comments

problem #8

Sep 052013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles


Goodyear assurance touring tires dot lot identifier: Mdxo jd1R 4109 size: P225 60 R16 purchased at sam's club, December 2010. I got four (4) of these tires on my 2002 Ford Windstar van, on December 23, 2010. Early in 2011, Ford had my van for six (6) months (fixing several Ford recalls with axles and suspension) so the tires didn't get much mileage until later in 2011. In 2012, I had one of the tires separate into chunks on the highway. There was no other damage, except the tire was history. I had it replaced with another tire of the same type/model. In July of 2013, I had two (2) more of the tires replaced because they were "cupping" and out of round. I had the van checked for camber, caster, and toe-in, and it was up to factory specs. No alignment necessary and tires were maintained with correct pressure. Today, (09/05/2013) I am having the 4th tire replaced, because it is becoming "out of round" and "cupping" (I believe). This failure causes a vibration that you would not believe. The last time sam's club replaced the tires (just two months ago in July 2013) the installer said that they "have had a lot of these tires spontaneously destroy themselves", and they opted to put Goodyear assurance "fuel max" tires on, in lieu of the discontinued "touring" model. I checked Goodyear's website, and the "touring" model is in fact, not discontinued. Maybe sam's club just stopped getting them because they're tired of replacing them? if sam's club has no confidence in the touring model (and is opting to replace them with the fuel max model) I am beginning to think that the last touring model tire (replaced in 2012) may destroy itself, as well.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #7

Aug 152008


  • 70,000 miles
My 2002 Ford Windstar started riding really rough. The tires were checked and seemed to be fine. The back end of the van seemed to be riding very rough and my mechanic though it might be a strut issue. As it turns out, the rear axle broke completely in half while my father in law drove my two young children on the highway. What a scary experience. I've checked on the internet for similar experiences. Others have had this happen to them as well. This issue needs to be addressed by Ford and should be a recall issued.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #6

Jun 292008


  • miles
My wife has a minivan that I had the tires replaced on within the past two years. I purchased a set of 4 high quality Michelin tires with 75K warranty from sears at fair oaks mall in fairfax, va. Earlier this year my wife had a blow out and I took the vehicle back to sears for them to inspect the tire. Once they removed the tire there was no indication of a puncture anywhere on the tread or sidewall - I was a tire repair technician back when I was in college. I asked the technician why the tire would have blown if there was not a puncture, he didn't have an explanation. I asked if that should be covered under the manufacturer warrant and they seemed unwilling to help. I ended up buying another tire for $150. Then just this weekend as I was driving I heard a hissing sound coming from the left front tire. When I got out of the vehicle I noticed the tire was leaking air from the valve stem. I took the tire in to have the valve stem replaced and they mentioned to us there has been a recall on valve stems. I believe the previous incident was also caused by a valve stem issue since there was no other indication of a puncture. I'm planning to have all of the valve stems replaced on the remaining tires so that my wife will not suffer a blow out with our 3 children in the van. I think there needs to be a greater campaign on this issue to increase awareness as it could potentially impact all 4 tires on a vehicle.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #5

Jun 032008


  • 180,000 miles


ABS light and tire pressure light are constantly coming on. This has all been checked and there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with either. Cruise stopped working while driving with it on. I have now read many reports from consumers with the same Ford winstar with the same problems. The cruise control concerns me because of the recall of the cruise control switch on one of their trucks and the incidence of fires started because of the cruise control switch in the Ford winstar vans.

- Drayton, AL, USA

problem #4

Mar 312007

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
1. driving in good conditions, on highway 25 going North, 2 miles North of highway 5. Saturday the March 31, 2007 at 2:00 pm. 2. suspension spring failure, front driver's side with busted tire. 3. parts replaced and repairs made at my cost.

- Oakville, 00, USA

problem #3

Nov 202006


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Blowout on highway on (Goodyear viva touring )purchased at walmart Washington Missouri. Incurred $377 bill, new tire and towing bill. Neither Goodyear or wal mart will take responsibility. Wife and daughter in vehicle thank god nobody was hurt. Blowout in 2002 Ford Windstar, less than 15,000 on tire. Thank you

- Union, MO, USA

problem #2

Feb 102005

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
Transmission in our 2002 Ford Windstar mini van made abnormal noises for about 2 months. Vehicle was taken to dealership of purchase for inspection, and they attributed the problem to tire and wheel alignment. All four tires were replaced with alignment. Also, transmission noise persisted, and vehicle was returned to dealership. Again nothing wa S found wrong on inspection with instructions to return later for more complete examination. On February 10, 2005 transmission malfunctioned accelerating the engine to 3200 rpms with a speed of 70 mph. Vehicle suddenly lost control and veered to the left into a left turn lane, resulting in a collision with an illegally parked truck and trailer. Subsequent investigations revealed the driver was unable to stop the vehicle by braking. The driver, my son, was trapped in the Windstar mini van due to a complete collapse of the front frame. After a difficult extraction by the city fire department my son was pronounced dead at the scene of the accident.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 202003


  • 6,300 miles
While driving my 2002 Ford Windstar I noticed that there was some vibration coming from the front of the car. Once I pulled into our hotel I notice a rattling coming from the left front hub cap. When I pulled the hubcap off three of the lug nut suds were sheared off. Ford fixed the problem but could not tell me why this happened. Thier theory is that the tire was not properly put back on. The only time the tire was off was in July of 2002. My feeling is that if the wheel was not put on properly it would not take a year to notice. I may be wrong but I want to bring this to your attention in case there any other instances of this happening. Thank you.

- Horsham, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?