Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,643 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Ford Windstar brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 8 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #69

Aug 112009

Windstar

  • 60,040 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our brake & ABS lights came on and we took it to the Ford dealership to be repaired. They said it was the front brakes and replaced them. We drove it off the lot and the brake & ABS lights came back on. Now they say it's the ABS module (the problem Ford needs a recall on). Dealership now wants to charge us over $600 to repair this problem, after they already got over $200 out of us to replace the brakes they said were the cause of the brake & ABS lights coming on in the first place.

- Ada, OK, USA

problem #68

Aug 112009

Windstar

  • 97,000 miles
2003 Ford Windstar sel - ABS/brake light stays illuminated. The shop technician says this is a common problem among Ford Windstar and that taking no action could result in a fire hazard. The ABS brake module needs to be replaced but the problem could still occur. The answer I was given was to remove the brake deactivation switch and replace it with a plug. This will disable the ABS and prevent any brake fluid from leaking which could cause fires.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #67

Jul 012009

Windstar

  • 80,000 miles
The brake pressure differential deactivation switch leaks. This causes brake fluid to wick down two wires to the ABS brake module. The brake and ABS lights come on. The failure occurs on every day driving, especially warmer days.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #66

Jun 012009

Windstar

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My ABS and brake light go on at various times, but is more and more frequent. One place, munro muffler and brake said brakes are fine. H & L dealership said I need 2 things replaced that will cost me a minimum of $1250 of which I do not have.( I just returned to a job after being out of a job for almost a year. Just catching up and now this.) I may loose my van because I cannot afford repairs on a problem I am seeing as a continued problem in a Ford Windstar 2003 van. I need immediate help. I did have a auto accident in January 2007 and January 2008, both not my fault. Problem started a few months after January 2008 crash....I do not know if could be related.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #65

Jan 142009

Windstar

  • 79,000 miles
Driving down the road, ABS and trac off and brake lights on...since brake light came on, my wife would not drive it... had brakes checked said they were fine. Took it for a scan test and wow codes from C1145 to C1410. Said it was related to ECM module. Very expensive...2003 Windstar 79,000 miles.

- San German, PR, USA

problem #64

Jul 142009

Windstar

  • miles
Bought the car used with 69000 miles from used car dealer. The next morning the ABS light and the red brake light went on. Dealer says the anti lock break control module needs to be repaired.

- West Chicago, IL, USA

problem #63

Jun 252009

Windstar

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Ford Windstar. ABS and brake warning lights on. New pads and rotors. Lights still come on. Problem began happening in June 2009.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #62

Jun 122009

Windstar

  • 39,000 miles
ABS and brake lights intermittently on. Possible brake fluid leak.

- Sharpsburg, GA, USA

problem #61

Jul 012009

Windstar

  • 78,000 miles
Bad ABS module is a problem that very many Windstar owners have. So you think you have ABS and you do not also alot of Windstar have burned. This is a danger to owners.

- Newburgh, IN, USA

problem #60

May 202007

Windstar

  • 96,000 miles
I have a 2003 Ford Windstar that the ABS and brake light have been coming on for years. I had to the Ford garage when it was still under warranty and the lights didn't come on. I had the sensor replaced a month ago and the lights still come on. I'm now advised that I need to replace the ABS module (upwards or $700 dollars as it has to be done by a Ford garage. I'm furious. This should have been repaired when it was under warranty.

- Elliston, VA, USA

problem #59

Jul 032009

Windstar

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2003 Ford Windstar and have had problems with the ABS and the brake light coming on intermittently soon after buying my van new. I took it to the dealer and it would go out for a few months at a time, but I am a women and know nothing about cars and trusted them. Over the years I did my part and had pads, shoes ect. Replaced and no one could ever see any problem with my brakes, I tossed it up to a "computer error" until now. Both ABS and brake light stay on all the time, they squeak, and sometimes feel funny when I am trying to stop my van, so I took it to a garage. The garage put it on the machine to print out problem codes and it gave 10 problem codes having to do with the brakes. The man at the garage was acting funny (maybe he knew about the fire issue) and told me I had to take it to the dealership. It sounded suspicious, so I checked for recalls. I have had no fires as of yet. I don't want to wait until I do have one, and frankly can afford to sink thousands of dollars into a car, when Ford made faulty equipment in the first place.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #58

Mar 202007

Windstar

  • 52,000 miles
ABS light comes on intermittent. Being station in europe, it is very important to have my automobile 100% with the autobahns. My Windstar is a 2003 with only 60,000 miles. It has been doing this for the past two years. Also the transmission went completely out. While driving it lost all forward gears and reverse. I had to pay to have transmission rebuilt. This happen Feb 2009.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #57

May 152009

Windstar

  • 74,000 miles
Brake light and ABS light intermittent illumination. Occurs without warning. May be accompanied by a brake 'squeal' noise. Dealership inspected and could not find a problem. No computer codes stored. No codes present when lights are illuminated. Brake fluid level, pads, shoes within specification.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #56

May 152009

Windstar

  • 47,000 miles
ABS and brake light come on dash because my son-in-law said there is brake fluid leak toward the back right side of the engine. When it is hot weather or the engine gets hot the ABS light comes on. This has been a problem before. It has happened two times since I bought the van. My dealer closed for business and I need to get this fixed.

- Stewart, TN, USA

problem #55

May 152009

Windstar

  • 85,000 miles
During warm weather, the amber ABS indicator and the red brake light on the instrument panel are illuminated intermittently. When these lights are displayed, they remain on until the engine is turned off. When restarted, the ABS and brake lights do not display immediately. They typically return within 15 minutes of driving time in warm/hot weather. Seldom does this occur during cold weather. No repairs have been made to the braking system other than routine brake pad/rotor service. The brakes appear to function normally during the times when the ABS and brake lights are illuminated, although we've never needed to "panic brake" during these times so we cannot attest to the functionality of the ABS system's functionality.

- Kennewick, WA, USA

problem #54

Apr 132009

Windstar

  • 56,000 miles
I own a 2003 Ford Windstar. Approximately two months ago the ABS and brake lights came on while I was driving. When I restarted the engine the lights turned off; but while driving they came back on again. This now happens almost every time I drive the vehicle. When my mechanic examined it he said that the module was shot. While I was deciding the best way to handle the necessary repair I decided to research the problem. My research shows that this is a very common and dangerous issue with Windstar. I hesitate to replace the part only to have the same issue in the near future.

- Clarksburg, MA, USA

problem #53

Apr 012009

Windstar

  • 55,000 miles
2003 Ford Windstar ABS brake failure. System has intermittent failure, smell something hot when it happens.

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #52

May 122009

Windstar

  • 122,000 miles
Brake light and ABS light comes on after a few minutes of driving our 2003 Ford Windstar. Started happening intermittently in July 2008 but now just about every day. Ford dealer inspected the vehicle on 5/13/09 and found hydraulic control and electronic control units need to be replaced. Est cost nearly $1,300.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #51

Mar 282009

Windstar

  • miles
My 2003 Ford Windstar is leaking brake fluid from the connector under the reservoir.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #50

Mar 262008

Windstar

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Windstar. The contact noticed that the ABS warning indicator would sporadically illuminate on the instrument panel. She took the vehicle to the dealer and they cleaned the wheel speed sensor. Three weeks later, the failure resurfaced. Currently, the failure still persists. The failure mileage was 63,000 and current mileage was 70,000.

- New Bedford, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?