Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
105,555 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Ford Windstar suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Jun 012012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 91,007 miles


Brought the car to a repair facility today to diagnose a recurring front end noise today and was shown by mechanic that both front coil springs are severely rusted and were sheared/broken and have been for quite some time, possibly as long as a year. He said that we were very fortunate that the springs hadn't slipped and pierced a tire; especially on the highway. Another serious concern is that the Ford dealership to which we normally bring the vehicle for service had and had failed to notice the broken springs in when most recently they replaced more front-end parts, some links, 3.5 months ago that was part of a series of related repair work in the effort to stop the ongoing front-end clunking noise. After the noise failed to go away and after this latest repair by Ford service, we decided to get a second opinion from different auto repair facility. This latest mechanic, not a Ford facility, said that broken coil springs appear to be a common problem for the Ford Taurus and mini-vans.

- Wyoming, MI, USA

problem #21

Jan 122011


  • 66,081 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V195000 (suspension: Rear: Axle: Non-powered axle assembly). The rear axle later became cracked and separated from the vehicle (which was replaced under the recall) due to corrosion. The manufacturer was contacted but denied any assistance with the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 66,081 and the current mileage was 86,000.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #20

Apr 092012


  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Windstar. The contact stated while driving 25 mph, the sub frame fractured and the axle disconnected, causing the transmission to fail. The vehicle was merged onto the shoulder and was not driveable. The vehicle was towed home and then to the dealer. The dealer stated that they would replace the sub frame and rear axle, but not the transmission. The manufacturer was notified and stated the same thing. No further assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 109,000.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #19

Mar 222012


  • 68,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V385000 (suspension:rear:axle:non-powered axle assembly). While driving over bumps in the road, the contact heard noises being emitted from the rear. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the rear axle was fractured. The contact was also informed that the vehicle was not safe to be driven. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Hanover Township, PA, USA

problem #18

Mar 102012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 74,500 miles
Driving 45 mph when something snapped under front of the vehicle lost steering completely hit the curb got pushed back to the middle of the 4-line road and came to a stop very lucky. Later found out that lower subframe control arm broke of the frame due to rust and pulled out axle snapped sway bar and damaged ball joints, towed it to a dealer and they are willing to fix frame but want me to pay for all the other expense sway bar, ball joints, tires, steering arm totaling over a 1000 $. can not believe that Ford would not at least replace all needed part considering that I made it out alive and with out a crush. And all this after they have performed rear axle repair and checked the front and was informed that front was safe a year ago.about 10,000 miles and a year later I had this happened. The vehicle has 74,000 miles only.

- Hanover Park, IL, USA

problem #17

Jan 282012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
While driving my Ford Windstar 2003 minivan the rear axle beam cracked. The back of the vehicle dropped down, and I had difficulty controlling the vehicle to get to the side of the road. Vehicle was not driveable and had to be towed. I was driving at normal speeds of 20 mph. A cracking of the rear axle beam posed a significant safety threat to myself, and family.

- Glen Head, NY, USA

problem #16

Sep 262011


  • 120,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Ford Windstar. While parked at an independent mechanic for unrelated repairs the technician noticed fluid leaking near the front drive side tire and stated it was coming from a fracture in the front axle. The technician stated that an axle would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 202011


  • 84,000 miles
Our 2003 Ford minivan passed front subframe inspection and "cleaning" on 3/14/2011 when vehicle was in for rear axle recall repairs. It was taken back to the dealership for front subframe recall on 7/11/2011 and recall repairs were made. In addition, other repairs were sold to us after a thorough inspection by mechanic. Nine days later, while driving on the highway, a clunk noise was heard from the front of the vehicle. On 8/1/11, the dealership mechanic found a broken right sway bar due to excessive rust at the subframe attachment. Service manager was told by Ford that this failure is unrelated to the recall issue and that subframe replacement would not be provided by Ford. We then had the mini van put up on a lift at an independent garage where repair of subframe was observed and pictures were taken of the subframe which was literally separated into sheets of rust under the repair brackets. Any force to put bolts into the repair brackets could easily have hastened the corroded sway bar failure. We were told the mini van is safe to drive even without repair, however, we have no confidence in that and live in an area where there are lots of small children, joggers and pedestrians. We greatly fear that any further failure in the front end could result in serious injury or death to someone. Vehicle has 84,000 miles. Ford denies any assistance or responsibility for our issue.

- Wauwatosa, WI, USA

problem #14

Jul 052011


  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id numbers: 10V385000( suspension:rear:axle:non-powered axle assembly) and 11V030000 (structure: Frame and members:underbody shields). The vehicle was later taken for routine maintenance when the technician advised that the brackets that were installed on the vehicle from the recall were not steady and unsafe. The manufacturer was not contacted nor was the vehicle further repaired. The failure and current mileage was approximately 82,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Cleveland Heights, OH, USA

problem #13

May 022011


  • 92,773 miles
Ford Windstar. Dealer stated the left rear axle cracked and the front sub frame brackets were defective. Dealer kept van on their premises. No date given for possible repair. The van had extensive repairs on 12/08/10 but no mention of recall and possible dangerous condition advised by dealer to owner. Updated 06/08/11

- Brookfield, WI, USA

problem #12

Mar 012011


  • miles


Dealer performed rear axle safety recall. "vehicle passed sub frame inspection". the vehicle's front sub frame where it attaches to the chassis on the left side is rusted through. I have pictures.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #11

Mar 012011

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Ford Windstar. Consumer writes in regards to the performance of the Ford Motor Company and two safety recalls the consumer stated the inspections and repairs were not conducted in a timely, efficient, and responsible manner. The consumer stated when he finally received an appointment for the axle inspection, it was determined the axle was cracked in three places. The dealer did not have the replacement parts and the vehicle was deemed unsafe to drive, and therefore, it was left at the dealer for over a month. The consumer stated he then received another recall relating to the subframe. The consumer contacted the dealer regarding the second recall and was informed they were aware of it and he would be contacted when the repairs for the second recall had been completed. The consumer received a voice mail from the dealer stating the parts for the axle had arrived. However, it was discovered the engine had an oil leak, the sway bar link was broken in the front, the right front tire was badly worn on the inside and the left rear shock was completely blown out.

- Merrimac, MA, USA

problem #10

Mar 012011


  • 92,000 miles
Ford Windstar that has had 2 recalls for front and rear axles. Interior lights flash on and off randomly while driving. Doors lock and unlock randomly while driving. Very distracting and dangerous!

- Cutchogue, NY, USA

problem #9

Aug 142008


  • 98,000 miles
The front suspension on the driver's side collapsed while we were driving. The wheel well ended up right on top of the tire and we ground to a halt.

- Juneau, WI, USA

problem #8

Jan 052005


  • miles
Electrical problems that required the replacement of the main electrical harness 3 times, which were under warranty. The interior lights continue to flash and flicker to this day, both day and night, creating a hazard to safe operation of the vehicle. There are also false aleerts of the tire warning system, and other intermittant electrical problems in the vehicle. There is also a noise coming from the front end, which is in the area of the sub frame assembly.

- Ocean, NJ, USA

problem #7

Oct 192010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • miles
Sit down, get a coffee, because you will be reading a book. I purchased a 2003 Ford Windstar, with 20,000 miles, in 2005. I've had nothing but major problems. In 12/2008 with 87,205 miles the transmission went, that was $2013, then in 3-2009 check engine light, had to replace gaskets, that cost $500, . then in 10/15/2010 I had to bring van in for different sensors, and ABS light, and emergency brake light kept coming on. That was. That was $232. Then on 10/19/2010 brought van in to the Ford dealer, because none of my gauges work, letting me know how fast I'm going, or how much gas I have. They say it is the gauge cluster, that's $500 alone not including labor, they inform me I have a hole in the left rear axle, and I have to leave the van there, and I may also need a new alternator, and it may takes weeks for the part to come in. That's not including other miner repairs along the way. The best part of all. I still have 6 payments left. What rights do I have? I can't believe all the major issues. They should take this van, and give me a different one. Not a Ford. I told you, that you were reading a book.

- Westhampton, MA, USA

problem #6

Aug 242010


  • 208,000 miles
The right front sub frame on my 2003 Windstar corroded causing the lower control arm to separate and wheel to pull out. Lost steering. Also axles shaft pulled from transmission and fluid ran out. Fortunately at slow speed so no accident, but what if I were on a freeway running fast?

- Charing Cross, On, Canada , 00, USA

problem #5

Jun 052010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
I have a Ford 2003 Windstar, 83,000 miles, my car's rear axel beam broke in the middle of the road, it cost me to repair it $497 for the part and $275 for labor.

- Albertson, NY, USA

problem #4

Sep 162009


  • 124,000 miles
2003 Ford Windstar SE brake and ABS lights on intermittently. The following codes are present: C1226;C1235;C1185;C1198;C1194;C1254;C1246;C1250; and C1242. The mechanic said it appears the ABS control module is going bad or is bad at a cost of $700. I replaced both rotors, drums, right wheel bearing, left inner tie rod and my brakes work just fine. The lights coming on are an annoyance and could possibly cause a fire??

- Eagle Lake, MN, USA

problem #3

Nov 132003

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We purchased the 2003 Ford Windstar in October of 2003. Since that time, the van has been in and out of the shop 5 times because of a loud screeching in the power steering, interior lights flickering on and off (which they told me that they couldn't find a reason for that and that I should just turn the interior lights off so that it dosen't happen), and a thumping in the front end when the wheels are turned sharply. They told me that I should bring the van to the shop whenever any of these things happen since they couldn't figure out what was causing these problems and I have done that. I am currently driving a loaner car from the dealership because the van is back in the shop. I called Ford Motor Company and filed a complaint with them. I need to know why this is happening and what can be done to fix this van.

- Demorest, GA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?