Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
107,005 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Ford Windstar wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Ford Windstar Owner Comments

problem #12

Aug 292016


  • 119,863 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the front passenger wheel separated from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the contact was informed that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V030000 (structure). The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the failure was included in the recall; however, the dealer refused to perform the repair due to the manufacturer's refusal to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 119,863.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #11

May 042015

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
I learned of a front axle recall and when I called the dealership to schedule repairs, they informed me of a rear axle recall, so "repairs" were made to both front and rear axles at the same time. However, this morning on my way to work (luckily traveling at 25 mph vs 75 on the interstate last night) the rear axle broke midway between where the bracket, which was supposed to reinforce the axle, was attached.

- Beloit, WI, USA

problem #10

Jul 192014


  • 139,900 miles
Sidewall split on Bridgestone insignia SE 200, size 215X70R15, dot # wbm3 E20 0210. Mileage on tire 39K, still good tread depth. I still have tire if any Agency would like to inspect. Didn't take it back to Bridgestone B/C from what I have read, they would do nothing about it.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 282014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles


Ford came out and tool my car to [xxx] cunningham to fix my call on a safety recall dated 2/28/2014 then refuse to fix my car state Ford refuse to pay home for the recall repair he said I have to pay out of pocket. All repair are free of charge my car still at the shop at the shop because the front wheel cause by the power train axle assembly NHTSA 12V193000 and 11V030000 11S16 and 10S13 3/11/2014. Can I get a copy of these recall mail to me thanks my car is still at [xxx] for 3 weeks now please help no renter was given to me as part of the recall. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Decatur , GA, USA

problem #8

Oct 152013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 49,593 miles
Purchased a 2003 Ford Windstar on 10/14/13, drove vehicle to South Carolina from New Jersey on 10/15/13, about halfway there noticed a loud clunking while braking, or turning vehicle left or right.had vehicle looked at by mechanic on 10/24/ was diagnosed as having a completely rotted subframe and motor mounts.I looked into recalls on the vehicle and found one for the subframe, number 11S16.I called Ford Motor Corporation on oct30, and 31st about the recall.I was told it was repaired back in apr18,2011.repairs done were an inspection of subframe, and all looked well.subframe was never replaced, now 2 years later, Ford has wiped it's hands clean of the recall saying it was satisfied on apr18,2011, by a mechanic claiming the subframe looked ok at the does a faulty part that could cause a major accident, become ok because it looked good at the time of inspection"I am appalled and dishearten that a major corporation such as Ford would take the easy way out and say it's not responsible for a part that they recalled initially, and now say that because it was inspected, it now is fine.I thought a recall was in place for public safety, and if so, how does it expire"

- Cape May Court House, NJ, USA

problem #7

Oct 182013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 47,200 miles
My 2003 Ford Windstar was taken in for the rear axle recall and was repaired. The axle has cracked again we took it to the dealer who said that they contacted Ford about the problem and were told they would not repair or replace the axle the van only has 47000 miles on it we would like to have it repaired or replaced at Ford expense.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #6

Jun 112013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles


I was starting to get a clunking noise from the rear end of my 2003 Windstar minivan which continued to become worse. I took the van into a reputable shop to have it checked. I witnessed the inspection and it was difficult to figure out what was wrong but it was discovered that corrosion caused cracks in the axel and it needed to be replaced. There was a recall on the axel but when I contacted Ford (both a dealer a Ford recall information line) I was told my it was not valid for my. The recall was for issued for states that use salt and I when I bought the van I lived in Ohio but moved to miami Florida in miami 2007 ( now in central fl) no road salt but still a salt environment. There repair was $663 and I believe that this recall should extend to all vans that have this type of risk with a refund due from Ford.

- Palm Bay , FL, USA

problem #5

Mar 102012

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 74,500 miles
Driving 45 mph when something snapped under front of the vehicle lost steering completely hit the curb got pushed back to the middle of the 4-line road and came to a stop very lucky. Later found out that lower subframe control arm broke of the frame due to rust and pulled out axle snapped sway bar and damaged ball joints, towed it to a dealer and they are willing to fix frame but want me to pay for all the other expense sway bar, ball joints, tires, steering arm totaling over a 1000 $. can not believe that Ford would not at least replace all needed part considering that I made it out alive and with out a crush. And all this after they have performed rear axle repair and checked the front and was informed that front was safe a year ago.about 10,000 miles and a year later I had this happened. The vehicle has 74,000 miles only.

- Hanover Park, IL, USA

problem #4

Jan 072010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Windstar. While driving approximately 35 mph the tire pressure illuminated on the dashboard. The contact pulled over to check the tire pressure and noticed that the pressure was low. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technicians stated that the rim was cracked and they needed to weld it together again or replace it. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 02/23/11 the consumer stated a new rim was purchased and installed. Updated 03/08/11

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #3

Dec 282010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
I understand there is a recall on certain Ford Windstar models in the northern states due to a defective rear axle. I have a 2003 Ford Windstar van VIN: [xxx] which we purchased used in July 2004. From what we were told when we bought it, the vehicle came from Ohio. On 12/28/10, I called a local Ford dealer who ran my VIN through their database and I was told my vehicle is not part of the recall. I was told it would cost $95 for their service dept. To check my rear axle for the defect since it isn't under the recall. I want to make sure my vehicle is or is not part of the recall. I saw a abc news report on Dec. 20th which makes it sound like the recall may be extended to certain vehicles. If my vehicle originated in Ohio, it should be part of the recall. Please help me with this situation. Thanks! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Austell, GA, USA

problem #2

Oct 182010


  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Windstar. While driving approximately 65 mph she heard a rubbing noise and the vehicle began to lose control. The vehicle was pulled over and shut off. She noticed that the front passenger side wheel had fractured from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where she was informed that the lug nuts sheered off of the wheel. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 170,000. The current mileage was 171,000.

- Hershey, PA, USA

problem #1

May 232010

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 190,000 miles
2003 Ford Windstar driving on highway approximately 65mph. Loud bang and immediately car started to sway and pull to the side. Had trouble maintaining control of the vehicle until I was able to slow down and pull off to the shoulder. Had axle repaired (welded) - couldn't afford new axle (~$1000).

- Glen Rock, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?