Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
167,348 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 5 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Jan 192012

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought our GMC Acadia Dec. 2011 had no issues till Jan 2012. Since then it has been back to the dealership repeatedly for seemingly linked problems. Started with just a dead battery upon further investigation found that the wiring harness was submerged in water, causing battery to short out, replaced the battery and fixed the apparent point of entry. Not two weeks later back in the shop, water pouring from the head liner (around the interior lights, sunroof moldings, and seat belt joints). Our Acadia remained at the dealership for three days with no luck of finding a leak (checked all drain lines and ran the vehicle through the water machine). Here we are again vehicle has been at the shop for a week with no luck of finding the point of intrusion; this time the water leak shorted out the entire fuse panel. After trying to find the leak for over a week, sending the vehicle to another shop to "get a fresh set of eyes on it", and contacting GM for advise (which was no help) the dealership still has been unsuccessful in locating the water leak. Not sure what to do next. All I know is we bought a $30,000 car so we wouldn't have problems and here we are with problems, expensive problems.

- Sandy, OR, USA

problem #13

Jan 282012

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 48,500 miles
Car will not shut off after removing key from ignition takes a minute for car to shut off car would not start next morning intrunent panel shows multipal problems have read online consumers with same problems who is responsible for this issue.need help have had vehicle fpr three weeks was not told by dealer abought problems with electrical have printed all other complaints on line and will show to dealer I would hope that GMC does not approve with these actions.also have problem with sreering it makes a loud clunking sound when turning steering wheel this coul be a serious safety issue to my family.

- Kearns , UT, USA

problem #12

Aug 252010

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Repeated (at least 5 times) leak along the airbag driver and passenger side. Dealer says they fix it and the problem reappears on the next rain event. Causing electrical problems and mold problem in the car.

- Montpelier, VA, USA

problem #11

Dec 162011

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased used Acadia 10/6/11 and in December 2011 had to have battery replaced because would not start. Two weeks later car would not start again. Took to dealership who discovered sunroof drain had been plugged and caused the whole undercarriage to flood and shut all electrical power down. I hear from people that there had been a recall on the sunroof drain for exactly this problem. How can a dealership sell a car that has had a recall not taken care of??

- Moline, IL, USA

problem #10

Oct 112011

Acadia

  • 69,000 miles
The vehicle was leased new in 2008 and had water leaking around sunroof. The leak was repaired however between 08-11 there were numerous documented issues with electrical problems on this car relating to the water leak. On October 11, 2011 I was driving to work in the vehicle and all the electrical components shut off- radio, directionals, gages, lights. The car remained running and within seconds the electrical was restored. It has continued to shut on and off intermittently since then. I brought the car to the dealer and was told they were unable to diagnose the problem and that I should bring it back if it happened again. On the way home it happened again. I brought it back on Oct. 12 and the same thing happened the whole drive to the dealer. They have since had the car and tell me they do not know what the problem is or how to fix it. I am being left to drive an unsafe vehicle and am told my only option is to trade it in.

- Farmington, CT, USA

problem #9

Jun 012011

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Air cond turns on but will not blow. Mechanic removes cover and my blower motor is standing in 3 inches of water. Any more water would have leaked onto the floor of my car. Water in an electrical component is not safe. If I get water inside, I will also have mold or mildew. This is not safe for us to breathe. I do not feel this should be my cost. This is manufacturing or engineering negligence. It is not normal wear and tear.

- Ohio, OH, USA

problem #8

Jun 102010

Acadia

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the vehicle would not shut off once the key was turned to the off position. The contact could remove the key from the ignition, but the vehicle continued to run until the battery died. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the engine continued to run due to an electrical shortage caused by a water leak. The dealer replaced the molding around the sun roof where the water was leaking in from. The failure continued, as water continued to leak into the vehicle and the engine continued to run when the key was removed from the ignition. The contact also stated the headlights were malfunctioning as well. The failure mileage was 27,000.

- Silver City, NM, USA

problem #7

May 202011

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 73,259 miles
2008 GMC Acadia slt has severe water leakage inside the cabin that cause significant damage to interior carpeting and panels. Electrical problems also begin to happen such as back up assist disabled, air bag light flashing, rear windshield wipers not shutting off and more I am sure will happen as water enters the cabin and areas that you cannot see. This is a potentially dangerous condition that needs to be recalled and addressed by General Motors. Fire hazards and injuries due to malfunctioning equipment might occur. There are videos and plenty of complaints from other owners on the internet of this same issue and I am shocked that no actions have been made by GM.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #6

Aug 052010

Acadia

  • 64,373 miles
I own a 2008 GMC Acadia with melting headlights. The plastic housing is melting and the bulbs are melting into the sockets. I have had problems for many months with the electrical system including replacing 3 batteries in 1 1/2 years. I have had the vehicle checked by the dealer which finds "no problem" with the electrical system, and no explanation for the battery life. With intense heat that would be necessary to cause this socket to melt, metal and all, is of great concern, and is a potential fire hazard. This vehicle also was involved in a recent recall for possible fire with heated windshield wipers (now disconnected). Hopefully, this can be investigated, so that no one gets hurt.

- Lansing, IL, USA

problem #5

Jul 212010

(reported on)

Acadia

  • miles
2008 GMC Acadia. Consumer expresses discontent regarding vehicle recall the consumer stated he contacted GM about having the problem with the heated washer fluid system repaired rather than permanently disabled. The representative informed the consumer there was no option of having the hwfs repaired.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #4

Mar 042009

Acadia

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Existing ODI id number references for 2007 Acadias: 10255735, 10254149, 10248331, 10211267, 10210839, 10210533. Existing ODI id number references for 2008 Acadias: 10246694, 10243591, 10241649, 10230134, 10229896, 10212682. The above ODI id numbers signify existing complaints identifying water leaks and resulting damage in 07 & 08 GMC Acadias. GM instituted recall campaign #08207: Customer satisfaction - sunroof water leak-install drain tube extensions dated: Aug 27, 2008. Campaign was preceded by numerous tsbs linked to the same type of water leak. *** purchased certified vehicle on 3/4/09. Tsb #08027 performed prior to certification and sale. Service manager stated water was present in the rear dome lamps and headliner. Returned to dealer 3/5/09 for water in the passenger floor area. Tsb # 080857003A was performed. Prior title owned by a commercial entity and most likely never responded to these issues. Picked up vehicle on 3/6/09. Still taking in rain water. Took back to dealer on 3/9/09. Door seals replaced and returned on 3/11/09. Has not rained since this posting but concern is for electrical integrity on vehicle as water leakage was concentrated near main fuse block near kick panel and main wiring harness under passenger floor area. Mold is also a concern as dealer has not replaced carpeting or headliner but only cleaned affected area. Vehicle is used for Transport of family over long distances and an electrical failure during on road use can be catastrophic.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #3

Nov 192007

Acadia

  • 80 miles
Turned down a road and felt something pop and then the transmission would not shift out of 2nd. Gear. Since then have had several issues with the transmission shifting to excessively. That some issues with extremely excessive shifting. Once my wife pulled out into traffic and the transmission would not shift causing a man in a truck to slid off of the road to avoid hitting her because the vehicle would not shift and go down the road. And also with the battery dying for no reason. This has happened 4 different times.

- Pardeeville, WI, USA

problem #2

Aug 182008

Acadia

  • 6,783 miles
Water leaking in into passenger area and on instrument panel body electrical centre causing fuse block to become wet and short out. All dash display went out and came back on with the "service air bag "service tire maintenance system" illuminated. Purchased car on 7/16/08 and leaking occurred approx 1 month later on 8/18/08. Have had to take car back to dealer several times. It has been at dealer 2 of the 6 weeks I have owned it. I am concerned that air bag will deploy. Have contacted GMC and they are very un-helpful.

- Onley, VA, USA

problem #1

Jan 062008

Acadia 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,876 miles
My complaint concerns my 2008 Acadia delivered Sept.2007. Currently with less than 5,900 miles on it. It is now in the shop for failure to start for the third time. The battery is somehow being dischanged. Other than replacing the original battery, on the first occurance, the dealer service can not seem to track down the source of the problem. They say that the charging system checks out ok. It does seem to start fine for a while, several weeks, then all of a sudden it will have a dead battery over night. Nothing is ever left on. I check that each time the garage door is closed. The headlights always go out in one minute, if on. While driving I do notice the voltmeter on numerous occassions well stay at about +15 volt charging rate. I know that it should be no higher than about +13.5 volts, and sometimes it does, but most times, not. I am concerned about a possible fire danger and being stranded somwhere. I am an aircraft a&P. my trouble shooting thoughts point to a starter shorting. I could be wrong but I would start there and prove that not to be the problem. Easiest fix first, the air force way.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?