NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2008 GMC Acadia (Page 2 of 5)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,612 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #63

Mar 072015

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle, and was told there were no active recalls and nothing wrong with vehicle, the dealership supposedly had took it through a hundred point inspection, immediately, the air bag light came on, it started losing anti-freeze and the check engine light came on, after several trips to the service dept at this Toyota dealership, I am still having issues, they fixed the small things like the water pump, the rear wiper blade, electrical but the engine light still comes on and I had it checked out and it is the transmission, it is going out, and the air bag (service air bag soon) is still on, but was supposedly fixed by a recall in 2011, either it was a bad part, or it was not serviced at all. I have been driving for 40 years and I have always been a loyal GM owner, especially the Buick lasabre which I drove for 15 years, but I am not happy with the quality of this vehicle and the dealership that I purchased it at, and they are rated by the BBB as a. I also do not like the fact that on GM commercials it states non GM owners, like come on in, we will take care of non GM owners but not the loyal ones. I think it very important to stick with american brands and love GM, just very dissatisfied with this one. I think GM should fix this car, the air bag and especially the transmission!!!!updated 11/10/15

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #62

May 022015

Acadia

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The vehicle of the contact's sister was rear ended by a drunk driver at a traffic light. The contact discovered that the driver seat was fractured and the seat detached from its springs and hinges. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained lower back and face injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a towing company and the insurance company had possession of the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Mccalen, TX, USA

problem #61

Jul 292013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 47,507 miles
Passenger air bag sensor in passenger seat non-functional. Intermittently, passenger air bag system will deactivate with adult passenger on seat. By 2013 was nearly continuously not functioning. Less than 50K miles. Recall was performed (wires soldered). No change after recall. Dealer states that sensor module defective ($800 repair). Currently in shop waiting for parts.

- Grand Island, NE, USA

problem #60

Sep 012014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It had rained the night before and I came out to start my car and noticed that my driver side airbag was leaking water and there was a puddle of water on the floor board and water was dripping from my emergency brake. It has done this several times since then and I'm afraid my airbag won't work properly if I was ever in a wreck.

- Murfreesboro , TN, USA

problem #59

Mar 152013

Acadia

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the service air bag warning light illuminated and was also displayed across the message board. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the air bag sensor underneath the front passenger seat needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Mobile, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #58

Feb 262015

Acadia

  • miles
My boyfriend was driving our vehicle I was sitting in the passenger seat with the seatbelt on. I turned around to help my daughter and the airbag light turned off. Contacted the dealer where I bought it 2/13/15 and they told me since they already did fixes on it they will not be fixing this. Contacted GMC and they off assistance to fix the sensor. Total cost to get fixed 810 dollars. Pretty pissed off. Haven't even had the vehicle a month yet.

- Winthrop, MN, USA

problem #57

Feb 022015

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 GMC Acadia. Consumer requests repairs for his airbag light and the steering. The consumer stated the power steering would go in and out, and the vehicle became difficult to steer. The consumer was informed the air bag recall, did not include his vehicle.

- Black River Falls, WI, USA

problem #56

Oct 272014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 55,612 miles
Safety recall notice received May 2014 for the air bags. Took car in to crest Chevrolet O 10/27/14 to fix air bags. The service air bag light stayed on after I got the car back. A month later, I received a letter from crest stating that some wiring was not done right and I was asked to bring the car back. I took the car in 11/14 to have the wiring fixed. I took the car in on 12/11/14 to fix the air bags because the service air bag light was on and to get the car smogged. When I got the car back, the service air bag light stayed on and now the check engine symbol was on. I took the car back in on 1/6/15 and was told that the air bag sensor on the passenger side was not working and it would cost approximately $800 to fix it!! I was also told that the check engine symbol was on because of a intake manifold tuning valve was the problem and "it didn't have anything to do with being smogged". funny, the obd symbol wasn't on when I took the car in to be smogged.

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #55

Jun 012012

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles
While driving with a passenger in the front seat the airbag light would say that it was on. Then after a few months it would go on and off as long as there was a passenger with me. Now, for about 8 months the airbag light is off completely. I had the issue supposedly fixed in 2011 under a recall, but now it is malfunctioning again. When I took it in to the dealership, I had to pay for a diagnostic test and then they said that it was the side airbags. Got it fixed for about $300. When I took it back and paid for another diagonstic test at the dealership, they told me that the issue was the passenger seat cushion which needs to be replace for a cost of $1,035. GMC please help.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #54

Nov 132014

Acadia

  • 159,000 miles
The contact owned a 2008 GMC Acadia. While driving approximately 35 mph, there was a deer in the road and the contact swerved to avoid a crash. As a result, the steering wheel seized and the contact crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a sprained neck and knee injury that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 159,000.

- Saint James, MO, USA

problem #53

Oct 172013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had a difficult time getting appt. To fix airbag which was recalled. When they fixed it, the airbag light was still on, so they said that I have to pay the $600 to repair the side airbag. I have read online about innumerable problems with the Acadia 2008 airbags, just like mine. You go in to have the recall fixed and there are problems with the other airbags. I am going to consult an attorney about a class action suit since there are so many of us with this exact problem. It's ridiculous to pay for something that is supposed to keep you safe but in actuality may harm you if it is not taken care of.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #52

Oct 272013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
Contacted local GMC dealership today (10/27/14) asking about recent airbag recall and why we haven't received a recall letter. I need to get this fixed as: Passenger airbag light goes on/off intermittently while adult male (180 lb)/adult female (140 lb)/teenage boy (120 lb) are sitting in the passenger seat. Now a service airbag message is also displayed. The GMC dealership stated my VIN is not part of the recent airbag safety recall, yet the symptoms my vehicle exhibit are the same as other vehicles covered within the scope of the recall. After research, it is evident that all 2008 GMC Acadias should be covered by the airbag system recall(s).

- Shallowater, TX, USA

problem #51

Apr 232014

Acadia

  • 85,000 miles
GMC stated my vehicle VIN is not part of the recent recall on the harness for the airbag and safety restraint system. My 2008 GMC Acadia began showing symptoms of the system. The passenger airbag light would go off intermittently when an adult was seated. I took the vehicle in and was told GM was recalling the vehicles for the issue. I took it to the GMC dealership in October to have the work done and was told that it was not my VIN was not in the recall. I told the dealership to fix the problem and tell me what was done to correct the issue. They stated that the recall was done and it fixed. I spoke with GMC for reimbursement and they said the vehicle is not subject. My concern is that they have not identified the vehicles that have the problem completely and they are not willing to take any action to identify the extent of this previously identified problem.

- Amelia, VA, USA

problem #50

Jan 012013

Acadia

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the instrument panel and the air bag warning light would shut off independently. Also, the contact mentioned that the vehicle would provide false readings like door ajar when all doors were closed. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Ferdinand, IN, USA

problem #49

Dec 182013

Acadia

  • 46,927 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the air bag indicator illuminated intermittently. The dealer stated that the passenger presence module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,927.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #48

Jul 132011

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles
The passenger sensing system is not working properly. Sometimes it will indicate that it is on and other times it will indicate that it is off even when someone who weighs over 140 pounds sits on the passenger seat. It won't indicate that the person doesn't have their seatbelt on. Even if driving and person has been sitting, it won't turn on. If an accident occurs the airbags will not deploy because it doesn't sense correctly. I have taken the vehicle into the local dealer while a passenger was in the seat and the service manager saw the problem. The vehicle has been worked on several times and the dealer has not been able to correct the problem. There is an active GM safety recall (14030, NHTSA campaign id: 14V11800), and the vehicle was serviced, but the problem still exists. The local dealer (flow GMC, fayetteville, nc) is telling me that I must pay $500 of the $568 to have the part replaced based on guidance from the general manager ([xxx]). I should not have to pay for a part replacement that I have complained about before the recall and pay for something that has an active recall on. This is bad business for a consumer and GMC should be held liable. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #47

Mar 012013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles
My service air bag light came on & has remained on. We took the car to our local dealership & paid to have it diagnosed. We were told that it is out or warranty & we would have to pay for it ourselves. The passenger presence module needed to be replaced. They also said that due to this, none of our airbags would deploy in the case of an accident. We spoke to the dealership and have written GMC in hopes that we would not have to pay close to $900 to fix this safety problem. No luck! have read many blogs with others having the same problem.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #46

Jun 102014

Acadia

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced for NHTSA campaign number: 14V118000 (air bags) but the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The dealer discovered that the passenger presence sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 109,000.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #45

Jul 152014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles
My vehicle was recalled in 2010 and the connector under the seat was checked. Now there is a new recall to remove the connector. Dealer states since I had the 2010 recall I must pay to have the 2014 recall done. The check air bag light has come on.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #44

Feb 122014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
I bought my 2008 Acadia in October 2013. In February, the check airbag light came on the dash. I took the Acadia to glynn smith, and they told me that I had a faulty driver side airbag and airbag switch. I paid $717.70 for the new airbag and new airbag switch. Soon after, GMC started doing the recalls on the airbags. My Acadia is not one of the listed recalled vehicles. I do not understand this. It is now the end of July, and the check airbag light is on again. I have been back to glynn smith and it is the same code this time. I have another faulty driver side airbag and airbag switch. GMC needs to recall every 2008 Acadia. I have also been dealing with problems with the power steering. One day driving, I started to make a turn, and the power steering went out. It was like turning a really old model car that had no power steering. This problem continues today. GMC tells me that there is nothing wrong with the power steering. They cannot find the problem, yet I know for sure something is wrong. The 2008 GMC Acadia is not a safe car. I have small children, and I do not feel safe driving with them and the check airbag light still on. My family is very upset with GMC as a company!! safety should be the main concern before selling any vehicle. I see that many other people have had the same problems with their Acadia. I think that GMC should do the right thing, the most ethical thing, and recall the entire line of the 2008 GMC Acadia. The 2008 Acadia is a piece of crap!!!!!!

- Opelika, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?