Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,058 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments

problem #12

Jun 162016

Acadia

  • 101,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed that when driving on an expressway and would attempt to pass a slower moving vehicle, as I would move into the passing lane and attempt to accelerate, the car would hesitate for a few seconds, lose speed, then suddenly downshift and accelerate at an unexpected rate. I also noticed that the car would unexpectedly accelerate or decelerate under normal driving conditions. I bought the vehicle to the dealer for repair, they responded that they could find nothing wrong, but the what I was experiencing was characteristic of the 6-speed transmission on the vehicle. The problem continued and I found it dangerous. I returned the vehicle and the dealer's remedy was to "reset the transmission computer." During this time, I also noticed that the "service stabilitrac and traction control" warning would come on. It dosen't matter if your driving or idle or in park these warnings and problems still exist.the dealer fixed one wheel sensor but the problem still occurs. The service airbag warning lights still comes on there was a recall for that I had it fixed but warning still comes on. This vehicle has had so many recalls automatic lift gate, air bag warnings, power steering pump and hose. The rack & pinion will need to be replaced in the vehicles short life span, all of the suspension parts bushings will have to be replaced at some point so this means control arm, sway bar sway, sway bar links toe links of course with these issues you will have to replace struts and shocks, etc...how can government/General Motors sell a vehicle this expensive and have so many problems these vehicles are unsafe to drive something needs to be done about this before someone gets seriously hurt.my 08 GMC Acadia is pure garbage someone needs to be held accountable because these vehicles have major mechanical and electrical issues, recalls and are unsafe to be driving

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #11

Nov 302015

Acadia

  • 80,000 miles
Received notice from GM re power steering, do not take to vehicle for service unless problem is known. I took vehicle for tire rotation and mechanic noticed power steering fluid leaking, caused damage to rack, pinion, etc. (estimate attached). Called GM dealer and GM cust service, will only cover defective power steering pump not the damage caused by defective pump. Since GM advised not to get fixed until issue occurs (I still have power steering, was not aware of the issue until tires were rotated) why should I be liable for the additional damage caused? also, this morning 12/08/15, while taking my daughter to school, the car buckled and stabiltrak, check engine light came on with a message "power reduced", only able to drive 20-25 miles. The same issue occurred appx. A year ago and I filed a complaint. The light goes and off just like a year ago. After reading several bulletins for the 2008 GMC Acadia, all the above issues are a known issue. I should not have to pay for vehicle defects that are common in all of the vehicles.

- Shillington, PA, USA

problem #10

Oct 092015

Acadia

  • miles
Re: dissatisfied customer experience from a loyal customer. Beginning in 2014, after narrowly avoiding serious from the collapse of the rear lift gate while loading the vehicle, suffering minor scraps and bruising. I brought my vehicle to the nearest GMC service center and received a quote for replacement struts. I later had them replaced in 2015 at my own expense, only more recently becoming aware that it was due to a part failure and subject to recall and replacement. Of which I will follow up with a reimbursement request. Following that incident my steering column tightened during turns forcing me to exert extreme pressure in slow speed turns, creating a hazard to both myself and others. After several trips to the service department and the performing of stated remedies prescribed by the GMC service mechanic, the problem still persist and more recently it being suggested that the problem was related to suspension struts and possibly transmission issues since the 'check engine' light was on with for codes related to the transmission control module were present. Through my own research I found out that all of these issues are related to either recalled items or items listed in technical service bulletins, yet now I'm being told that my cost would be $1900 for repairs and an additional $1500 to replace a faulty navigation/entertainment system, due to a suck disc. Collectively, I find these events, the mechanical failures and the fact that the burden for these failures and events are being placed on the customer as being absurd and egregious. I choose to purchase this vehicle to support american companies such as yours and drive american made vehicles out of loyalty to you, but if this is the reward I receive from my loyalty I think it is about time I begin rethinking things.

- Inglewood, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 092014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 81,199 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Started car air bag light on now it won't go off. GMC said my 2008 is not on the recall list. Rt rear spring also broke tire pressure light also stays on.

- Kinsman, OH, USA

problem #8

Jul 012013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Bought this life altering mess of a vehicle in June 2013 with 77K miles. Since that time a wide spectrum of issues have arose and cost me for than just money. Windshield wiper quit working and needed to be fixed (I now see that was a recall) constant electric issues in using beeping, lighting up at inappropriate times, not registering a grown adult in passenger seat. Also, leaking transmission fluid. GM did cover that charge which was no help with the rear end that had to be replaced at a cost of nearly $3000. Transmission still (before leak "fixed") and after will read idle transmission hot at many times. Leaking water when we receive heavy rains. Leaking comes from drivers side airbag "label") I have been financially strapped because of this vehicle I had worked and saved so hard for just trying to keep my job! I need my vehicle to work and my life is at risk when I'm forced to get behind the wheel because of these issues that GM is aware of. With the money I've spent (I'm a single working mother with two young sons) because of GM turning a blind eye I am in dire need of the proper resolution to this year long devastation of preventable events. Please assist me in this fore I'm unable to go further with continuing to fix problems that thousands of other owners are having with the same vehicle. Thank you. In 2011 my children and myself lost our home to a devastating flood that rocked our city and as of Feb 2014 we were finally able to move out of the camper and get a home. I cannot prevent a flood and all the pain it caused myself and my children but I will not cease to fight for what it right. That is replacing my vehicle with equal, reliable safe vehicle immediately! after all, this was completely preventable and should've been fixed before now. Please help me. Thank you for your time.

- Burlington, ND, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Mar 152013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
Transmission started slipping. I would pull out onto a street and it would slip and I almost got his by a car. I took it in repeatedly to dealer and they couldn't duplicate and after repeatedly taking it back and them keeping it for a month they finally replaced the transmission. Repeated steering issues. I took it in constantly and was told nothing wrong but after looking at it myself I found melted bushing and after being told all that had been replaced already. Steering problems from day 1. 4 times of having power steering replaced and steering column and every time I got the vehicle back the vibration was worse, today I found the problem on my own. The rack and pinion has a major leak. Not sure how repeated trips to the dealership and they couldn't see this. My steering also locks up while driving almost hit a car..and the dealership never has loaners so im stuck driving an unsafe vehicle while I wait because I was told I can only go where I bought my vehicle because of the extended warranty. This vehicle goes in to the shop and as soon as it is picked up it needs to go right back the same day. Worst vehicle and most unsafe of anything I've ever owned.

- La Porte, TX, USA

problem #6

Dec 062008

Acadia

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had problems with this car for the last 5 years. First the airbag light came on when we were going on vacation I took it to the dealer and was told it was fixed but it kept coming on and off took it again and same thing happened it kept doing that so I took it to the dealer and they said they had to reroute the airbag harness to fix the problem. Again it only lasted for a few weeks and it came back on. By that time the car was over 60,000 miles and it was past the extended warranty so I'm stuck with that problem. The transmission had to be repaired a few months ago and it needs to be repaired again but don't have money to fix it and GMC won't recall the 2007 and 2008 Acadias knowing that the Acadias of those 2 years were made with a faulty transmission and a lot of people are having problems with them. They fixed the problem for the 2009 and later models but won't do anything about the 2007 and 2008 models and a lot of people don't have money to pay for a very expensive repair that is GM's fault. My Acadia is sitting on my driveway because I don't have money to fix itand I'm stuck using a 16 year old car that is more reliable that our new car. I have had the following problems since a few months after I purchased what I thought it was a good and reliable family vehicle. Air bags light on and never got fixed suspension repaired about 3 years ago lighting problems a couple of times and now there is a recall for that transmission problems for the last 6 months the car has only 70,000 miles and it should not be having all this issues please look in to this I know there is a lot of people having the same problem and GM won't do anything to fix the problem. They knew they had a problem with the transmission's the 2007 and 2008 models that's why they fixed the problem for the 2009 and later models. Please do something about it. Thanks.

- Northlake, IL, USA

problem #5

Jul 152013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 55,001 miles
Fluid leaked from master cylinder to power booster no visible leaks repaired at my expense about a week later a bulletin from GM that was to extend my warranty to 10 year 120000 miles. There is a process in place to return my money. No safety recall ! both front struts have gone out. The air conditioner is causing problems because of off and on cooling. All of this is with in 55000 miles, the car has 55055miles as of this dated. There seems to be a process of no safety recalls but to issue extended warranty. We all know what recalls do to sales.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #4

Jun 102013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
We purchased our 2008 Acadia in 2011, it had approximately 30,000 miles on it at the time of purchase. Less than thirty days after purchase we had to replace the front rotors. At 40,000 miles we had to replace the front brakes; the air conditioner backed up, which required maintenance to the blower motor; and the head lights went out, which required replacement. At 45,000 miles the rear struts went out, which required replacement; and we had to replace two tires. At 60,000 miles the water pump went out and needed to be replaced. At 55,000 miles the front struts went out, which needed replacing, along with four new tires, and a new set of headlights. At 60,000 miles the rear brakes and rotors needed to be replaced. At 70,000 miles the transmission went out, which also required replacement. The final incident happened on 6/10/13 at 74,000 miles, while I was driving with all three of my children. I was going 50 miles an hour on a highway, and the entire car shut down. The steering console locked with the keys in the ignition, I had no ability to steer the vehicle, the brakes did not function either. I had to use the parking brake to slow the vehicle down, barely avoiding a collision with another vehicle.

- Ellsworth, KS, USA

problem #3

May 252009

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles
Multiple problems with this vehicle. It has been in the shop more than 10 times in the past 4 years that I have owned it, frustrating. List of repairs: Timing belt, head lights, steering, camshaft, oil leak, struts, brakes and this is what I can recall mostly.this vehicle has had multiple services especially for service stability track that never gets repaired, they can't find the problem. Also service air bag keeps coming on but dealership cannot do anything while the light is not on. Very frustrated with this vehicle. I have never experienced so many repairs and services with any other vehicle as I have the Acadia. I owned a galant car before the Acadia for 5 years and only had to do one repair in those 5 years I owned it. I regret purchasing this vehicle! I am a single mother of two and I need a dependable vehicle not one that is malfunctioned!

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #2

Jul 252012

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I bought my GMC Acadia in February and have had it at the dealership I know 15+ times. Everything is wrong with it. It started off that it was the stability track and stability control censors, then it went to both rear wheel bearings replace, bypassing the wiring (because GM) told the dealership to bypass the factory wiring and build a new harness for the wiring, several other things wrong, and now the transmission!!!! what will happen next!!! so many people are having major issues with the Acadia. Not dependable nor safe for me nor my family!!!!!

- Pulaski, TN, USA

problem #1

Jun 242012

Acadia

  • 41,250 miles
Rear coil spring had rusted about 30% through, snapped off pulling out of driveway.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?