NHTSA — Engine Problems

2010 GMC Acadia (Page 1 of 2)

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,010 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 GMC Acadia engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Dec 072016

Acadia

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine light came on and I took the vehicle to the local dealership. The service representative informed me this was a stretched timing chain issue - a common issue with GMC Acadias. Upon searching the internet for error code P0008 it pulls up loads of information regarding the Acadia timing chain issue. In fact, model years 2007 through 2009 had an extended warranty issued for them up to 120,000 miles for this exact same issue. My vehicle is a 2010 and is experiencing the same issue that was recalled, and my vehicle was most likely manufactured during the time they were experiencing timing chain issues. My timing chain failed at only 71,000 miles, well below the recommended timeline. I called GMC to file a claim and see if they would cover this under some warranty. I was told by the representative that they were aware of these problems but since I purchased the vehicle used, there was nothing they would do for me. I have performed all maintenance on the vehicle at the recommended intervals and still experienced a failure. This was an extremely expensive fix that was unacceptable since it should not have happened in the first place. GMC should stand by their products when they are aware of issues like this.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #33

Nov 292016

Acadia

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 GMC Acadia. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was able to restart on the third attempt; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was determined that the timing chain fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was approximately 91,000.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #32

Nov 282016

Acadia

  • 149,000 miles
My wife's GMC Acadia shut down while driving down expressway and lost all power and threw a cel. The diagnosis from the dealer mechanics was a stretched timing chain. I was told this is common and a scheduled maintenance part but nowhere in my manual does it state this. Also I contacted GM corporate to see if I could get help it being a safety issue for the shut down and was told it was out of warranty and there was nothing they could do. My vehicle has approximately 149,000 miles now I have to pay over $2000 to fix a known issue but the real problem was the unexpected shutdown and loss of control in the middle of rush hour traffic in a rain storm. Fortunately my wife's quick thinking got her to safety but could have been much worse if she would have lost power in the middle of a busy intersection or an on ramp she could have been severely injured. I would like to see these problems resolved.

- Butler, KY, USA

problem #31

Nov 212016

Acadia

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine light: Timing chains stretched. Check engine light came on. I took the vehicle to the local dealership where I have service performed. The service representative informed me this was a stretched timing chain issue - a common issue with GMC Acadias. I was informed that if/when it "breaks", I can lose power to the vehicle while driving. I asked another repair center for a second opinion and while informing the service technician of having a timing chain problem on my vehicle (without providing make/model of vehicle), the service technician guessed that I had a GMC Acadia as this was a common problem with them. I checked my warranties as I currently have 103,000 miles. None of my active warranties cover it. I called GMC directly and was informed by the customer service representative that they are aware this is an issue but it has not reached a level to which GMC will extend any type of special coverage for vehicles when this fails. Since this is an extremely expensive fix, I am stuck with deciding if I should go in debt fixing a 6 year old vehicle or risking it and driving it until it fails, potentially leaving myself at risk for an accident. This is ridiculous that it is a common issue that was addressed in 2007 and 2009 models but hasn't been addressed yet for the 2010 model.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #30

Oct 232016

Acadia

  • 167,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 GMC Acadia. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 167,000.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #29

Sep 012016

Acadia

  • 130,000 miles
Just purchased a 2010 GMC Acadia. 130,000 miles and has stretched timing chains. P0008 comes up when attached to reader. Sound like this has been a problem on the 3.6 motor for years and GM still has not fixed the issues. Thought with the 2010 and newer I would of been safe, guess I should have dug a bit deeper while researching my new purchase.

- South Amana, IA, USA

problem #28

Sep 112016

Acadia

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have hade it in shop several time but has not been fixed. They keep saying it somethings else ever time. Removed remote started didn't help. Took radio fuse out didn't help. Car will not start when it sits for a day or two something is draining the battery when it sits. An the dealer always say its somethings else its somethings. I'm tired of dealing with these people about my GMC Acadia.. the dvds player went out warranty won't cover it radio won't turn off warranty won't cover it warranty didn't cover removing the remote starter. Will not buy another GMC at all. Would like to know where I can sue the company an GMC warranty place. If anyone can help me please let me know who to contact to sue the company. Ms skeens. Had the problem for a 1 1/2 now

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #27

Dec 252015

Acadia

  • 84,000 miles
Timing chain failure on the engine around 84,000 miles. Dealer and GM recommended a full engine replacement (initially, all costs to replace on me). Replacement engine (rebuild/ re manufacture) was then recalled in April 2016 for faulty piston rings. This engine was replaced at no cost. Please investigate this engine / model years!

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #26

Jul 292016

Acadia

  • miles
Having the same check engine light/timing chain stretch issue. After researching I found that these models oil change cycle were to be set at 3000 miles. I also know that this is an issue on models through at least 2012 but GM still has not issued a recall on these models.

- Bellevue, IA, USA

problem #25

Jul 222016

Acadia

  • 80,000 miles
At 80,000 miles, after pulling out of parking, when I applied brakes the car started making rumbling noise from the engine and lurched forward despite pressing on brakes to stop. Pulled into a parking spot, while continuing to fight lurching of vehicle and turned car off to check engine oil, transmission oil, and power steering oil levels. All were fine. When attempted restart of vehicle, loud rumbling noise from engine, check engine light flickered and the car failed to start. Required a tow home from 100 miles away and $400. Hooked up obd, and received the following faults P0008, P0303, P0305, P0017, P0300, P0301. After researching on-line, common faults for timing chain issue estimate $3-4 thousand repair. Also, found 2007-2009 Acadia received extended warranty for same issue. However, 2010 not covered despite finding approximately 15 identical 2010 GMC Acadia on NHTSA site. I will be calling dealership first workday, however expect to be told timing chain issue based on codes and that GMC will not cover the repair since I am outside of the 5 year warranty, despite less than their 100,000 mile coverage.

- Yelm, WA, USA

problem #24

Jun 242016

Acadia

  • 97,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 GMC Acadia possible timing chain stretch issue. Purchased vehicle used 2 yrs ago now have 96K miles on it. Yesterday car wouldn't start after being drive 10 minutes earlier. Pulled codes and all pointed to the 1,3, and 5 cylinder ignition issue. Cleared codes and seemed to be fine, drove 20 miles with deep resonate sound at cruise that went away when accelerating and decelerating. Drive back home sound remained the same and check engine light came back on. Pulled codes once again and different set came up with P0008, P0016, and P0017 signifying timing issues which makes me believe timing chain stretch. I think I might be in for an expensive fix but most I want this reported to manufacturer to maybe be the last straw to include my year vehicle recall. Any info would be appreciated.

- Dunkirk, MD, USA

problem #23

Jun 192016

Acadia

  • 87,000 miles
Having the same check engine light/timing chain stretch issue. After researching I found that these models oil change cycle were to be set at 3000 miles. Ours has been 5000 miles since we bought it brand new in March 2010. I also know that this is an issue on models through at least 2012 but GM still has not extended the warranty to the same 10 years/120,000 miles as the 2007-2009 models. Our Acadia has only 87,000 miles. This is a $3000 fix for an issue that GM knows is a problem.

- Wentzville, MO, USA

problem #22

Jun 032016

Acadia

  • 93,000 miles
While driving the check engine light came on. The dealership read the code and diagnosed that the timing chains needed to be replaced. Unsafe condition that can cause the engine to stop running while being driven at highway speeds. My research showed GM extended warranty and covers costs for timing chain replacement on the 3.6 engines for the 2007-2009 model years, but not the 2010. The problem with the 2007-2009 models were the car's computer alerting the engine oil needed to be changed too late and dirty oil was restricted from going to lubricate the timing chains and resulted in the timing chains stretching and wearing prematurely. I have contacted GM and they will not provide any coverage for the 2010 models. Same problem in the 2007-2009 models is covered.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #21

Dec 302015

Acadia

  • 117,000 miles
Just bought my arcadia July 2015 back in December the engine came on had it checked out and error code P00008 was detected GMC doesn't have a recall on this it obvious that this problem isn't resolved I'm paying $16000 for a vehicle that I have to invest more into money into that I haven't even a year yet every where I look about details about this problem I keep finding the same answers it would be great if they would fix this problem because I really like my vehicle but I will not invest $3000 + in a vehicle that I still owe on and it's the manufacturer liability to replace!!!

- Monticello, IN, USA

problem #20

Apr 092016

Acadia

  • 118,467 miles
On 9 Apr 2016 on the way to a church function, our 2010 Acadia told us it was reducing engine power and started missing and smoking a little. Thankfully we were just blocks from the house, so we turned around and limped it home. Later I moved it from the driveway to the street. This time, while still missing, the vehicle put out a dense fog of white smoke that smelled of gasoline. Thankfully no one lite a match. I used my obd II code reader to get failure codes P0087 and P0089 indicating low fuel rail pressure and injector issues. Subsequent research on-line led me to tsb pip4924D (NHTSA# 100419330). I now am of the opinion that the issue is likely a fuel injector that is stuck open likely due to a fuel injector control line that is shorting to ground due to bad manufacturer design or improper maintenance by dealers fixing other issues. I view this issue as a huge safety problem. I can think of all sorts of scenarios where this could cause danger to the vehicle driver and passengers. A little about me... I've been working on cars for the last 48 years and hold a bs in electrical engineering. Anyone is welcome to contact me at 903-457-4582. (unrelated... I was also disappointed to learn from one dealer when fixing an A/C issue that my brake booster drum was contaminated with brake fluid due to a bad seal I guess. That fix was costly and likely should have been on the manufacturer also).

- Greenville, TX, USA

problem #19

Mar 162016

Acadia

  • 72,000 miles
2010 GMC Acadia with check engine light indicating a timing chain problem. Recall exists from GMC for this problem for earlier model years but does not include 2010 models. The repair requires the engine and transmission to be pulled from the vehicle and extensive disassembly. Repair cost is over $3,000. Numerous reports of this defect have been reported and GMC refuses to expand it's recall warranty to include 2010 models.

- Newton, IA, USA

problem #18

Mar 302015

Acadia

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced stalling. In addition, the exterior headlamps melted the wires and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the timing chain fractured and the wires needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN and failure mileage were not provided.

- Morehead, KY, USA

problem #17

Sep 012015

Acadia

  • 63,000 miles
The cam shaft engine correlation code indicated stretched timing and chain guides. Extended warrantees up to 10 years and 120,000 miles have been offered for 2007 and 2009 GMC Acadias with the same problem. To date they have not been offered for the 2010 model even though it's the same issue. Mine failed at $63,000 miles. Had to have the timing chains replaced. Dealership repaired with GM paying half. This should be a recall due to the fact my car was manufactured in 2009 and should fall under the above mentioned recall as the failure is for the same reason.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #16

Oct 062015

Acadia

  • 127,681 miles
The contact owns a 2010 GMC Acadia. After the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 15V415000 (structure), the hatchback collapsed on the contact. No injuries were sustained. The failure was recurring. The contact stated that a loud abnormal noise could be heard coming from the hatchback motor. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the throttle body control module needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 127,681.

- Perryville, MO, USA

problem #15

Jan 192016

Acadia

  • miles
The cam shaft engine correlation code indicated stretched timing and chain guides. Extended warrantees up to 10 years and 120,000 miles have been offered for 2007 and 2009 GMC Acadias with the same problem. To date they have not been offered for the 2010 model even though it's the same issue.

- Boone, NC, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?