Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,641 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 GMC Acadia engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 GMC Acadia Owner Comments

problem #18

Sep 122016


  • 85,000 miles


Stopped at stop sign making right turn excellerate to 10-15 mph notice gargling sound or like a muffler explodes power reducted...with in a hundred yards or so engine light go on power (engine) failure not breaks or stearing available coast to curb try to start vehicle again...dead as a door nail. Flat bedded to kerbeck GMC dealership by 1:00pm 09/12/16...service mgr. Call at 6pm no news still being diagnosed, will call in the am...later that day called to tell me that it sucked a valve and has broken rocker assembly and seems to be damage in the lower end of the motor! need new engine...vehicle is in the hands of the dealer! no written report has be given to me, just verbal! passange in vehicle at time of occurance...

- Collingswood, NJ, USA

problem #17

Nov 152015


  • miles
"tamara recall". I received several notices. Initially auto dealership denied recall existed. Now claims it doesn't apply to my car. Original owner and live in South Florida. What engine the heck is going on" do we have to have a fatal injury to get their attention? engine mounts keep breaking, 16,000 mile intervals. First time dealership replaced. Now at 33,000 miles my phone problem? guess we need catastrophic failure before manufacturer engineers better engine mounts"! low mileage vehicle, careful driver on good roads. Please send feedback.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #16

Feb 132016


  • 106,345 miles
Can started to smoke. Panel stated reduce engine. Couldn't go over 20mph. Car broke down with two kids in car.

- Rock Hill, SC, USA

problem #15

Feb 092016


  • 89,000 miles


While driving this morning I had a series of messages appear : "traction control off", then "service stabilitrak" and then very soon after "reduced engine power". the car would still run, but would not go above approximately 20mph and struggled to maintain speed. At one point had to pull over and turn engine off to almost "reset" car to be able to continue driving to destination. This is the third time that this has happened and have had to take to the shop. I have small children that are typically in the vehicle when this happens and am concerned for their safety if this issue cannot be resolved.

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #14

Jan 202016


  • 67,000 miles
While driving this morning this message appeared : "traction control off", then "service stabilitrak". very soon after message "reduced engine power" appeared. The car was still running, but would not go above approximately 2K RPM's or 15mph. This is the second time that this has happened and have had to take to shop and have throtle body inspected and recalibrated. This is my wifes car and I have a small child that was in car when this happened. This happened in an area that is heavily traveled to include school buses.

- Graniteville, SC, USA

problem #13

Oct 272015


  • 68,887 miles
The car would not speed up. I was driving on a heavily trafficked road (pendleton pike) in indianapolis, in. After passing sunnyside road, it went from 40 mph to 25 mph in a matter of seconds. I hit the accelerator multiple times, but it would not speed up. I turned my hazard lights on. I panicked! I was barely able to pull into a starbucks parking lot and shut the car off. I waited ten seconds exactly, and then turned it back on. It was fine after that procedure.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #12

Sep 172015


  • 113,000 miles


When traveling at about 35 mph, all systems failed -- steering, braking, electrical. The dealer indicates that this is a "catastrophic engine failure."

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #11

Sep 022014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
While driving at speeds ranging from 30 mph to 60 mph, the engine begins to miss, especially uphill. The vehicle begins to shake terribly. When I contacted the dealership regarding the issue, I was asked if the check engine light was on. It was not but the dealership had me bring it in anyway. This vehicle has been in the shop three or four times now. I have paid to have the fuel system cleaned as well as the spark plugs and plug coils replaced. These are expensive processes not covered by extended warranties. In the end, I have been told by the dealership that unless a check engine light comes on to 'map' the problem, they can't help me.

- Coushatta, LA, USA

problem #10

Jun 032014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the passenger side running lights malfunctioned and the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The contact was informed that the headlight assembly melted and cracked, which causing the running light to malfunction. The light bulbs were replaced but the same failure recurred on the driver side light assembly. While driving in the rain, the vehicle suddenly began to hydroplane and the traction control light and check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that water was present inside the engine and the number five coil was damaged. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000....updated 05/14/15

- Piedmont, MO, USA

problem #9

Dec 302014


  • 51,100 miles
Ses light came on, trac control light came on/ vehicle lost power. Traveling southbound on state route 83 near wooster, Ohio two lane highway with nearly no pull offs. Lost power going up hill. Went from 55mph to barely 20 mph within seconds.

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

problem #8

Oct 302014


  • 79,880 miles


I'm the 2nd owner and so far I've had to have a motor mount & 2 catalytic converters replaced. The ac started having issues with the controls not working & then the ac completely broke and leaked all the refrigerant which made a huge mess. There's a horrible oil leak that can't seem to be stopped. The brake pedel makes a loud squeaking noise. And now there is some strange noise coming from behind the dash, uncertain if it's the radio, cd player or ac/heat. All these problems at under 80,000 miles!!!

- Bethlehem , GA, USA

problem #7

Sep 272014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
June 11th 2014, it was a Wednesday. I drove over a set of railroad tracks and all of a sudden my car starts beeping and flashing all of these lights at me. The park assist off, the traction control off, the service stabilitrak" and the ?check engine? lights all come on. We are in town and not going very fast so I don?T notice the car driving any differently at first. I stop and still everything seems fine, except for all these lights flashing at me. When I try to go again is when I realized that there is a problem. My car will not accelerate. I have the gas pushed all the way to the ground and my car is moving at like snail speed, I?M trying to make a left hand turn, up a hill, to get to the parking lot but my car literally will not move! vehicles are swerving to avoid crashing into us, I call a tow truck and my finance. When we do hear back from the GMC dealership they basically tell us that we?re idiots. They test drove the car and looked it over and hooked it up to their fancy machines and there?S nothing wrong with it. August 16th. My fiancÉ is driving, on a highway at 65 all of those same lights come on and my fiancÉ announces, ?omg samantha, I think it?S happening again. ? sure enough he is unable to accelerate and the vehicle stalls out in the middle of the road. Luckily for us this time we are on flat terrain and we are able to coast into my mother"S driveway. Because it is so late we decided to just go to bed and deal with it in the morning. In the morning, though, we get into the car and it drives perfectly fine. We drive 6 hours back to rapid city, with no issues, although we are sick to our stomachs. Saturday, September 27, 2014 the exact same thing happens. Dash reeds as this traction control off park assist off service traction control service stabilitrak

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #6

Jun 172014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 43,595 miles
The contact owns 2011 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the stalled without warning. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road and was restarted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 43,595. Updated 09/02/14 updated 09/11/14

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #5

Jun 292014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 78,780 miles
My son in law was driving, I was in passenger seat, all of a sudden engine raced, tack needle went very high and vehicle began slowing down all at the same time. Son in law remove foot from gas peddle and vehicle acted normal. This has happen to me approximately 20 times prior to this. Two or three times I took it to dealer who stated the computer didn't 'register' anything. It has happened on interstate when I attempt to pass 18 wheeler in heavy traffic, very scary.

- Washington, MO, USA

problem #4

Jun 062014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Driving vehicle, temp gauge got over 240 degrees stopped and found water pouring out of from the front of the engine.after further inspection found the water pump to be leaking badly.

- Rochester , NY, USA

problem #3

Mar 272014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 35,950 miles
For two weeks leading up to the 3/27/14 incident, every time we started the car the air would not come on and we would have to manually turn the air on. When we turned the car off, the air would stay on. Two weeks later, when I was operating the vehicle, the gauges on the instrument panel started going haywire displaying dozens of messages, and the all of the gauges would shoot up, then bottom out at 0, then shoot up again, etc.. I turned the car off, and when I came back later to start it, the car wouldn't start but the electrical stuff came on. After several attempts to get the car to start, I roll down my windows and then try it again, and the car started. I drove it straight to the dealership. The dealership replaced the body control module and some wires and said they fixed the problem. Less than 48 hours later, the same thing with the gauges and warning lights happened. We immediately sent an email to the service department since it was the weekend and they were closed. On Monday, the car died again, but the radio kept coming on/off....I fiddled with the radio and the car started. I drove it straight to the dealership. They can't get the car to "mess up" again, and are waiting for it to do the same thing it did for me, so they can figure out how to fix it. I am concerned that the car is showing significant electrical problems that include safety equipment, yet GMC is ready to turn the car back on the road. Note: All recalls are up to date and the dealer has been in communication with GMC.

- Fort Smith, AR, USA

problem #2

Feb 282014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Service stabilitrak, and the engine power low warning lamps illuminated followed by the vehicle slowing to 20 mph. Vehicle taken to the repair facility where the technician diagnosed that the throttle body was defective and needed to be replaced. This same incident occurred several times previously. Engine reverting to low power is a hazard and safety issue.

- Margate, NJ, USA

problem #1

Mar 202012

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the motor needed to be replaced. On a separate occasion, the vehicle was taken to the dealer for the same failure and was diagnosed that the fuel injector needed to be replaced. Also, the technician mentioned that the ECM needed to be updated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000 and the current mileage was 40,000.

- Greenbrier, AR, USA

Not what you are looking for?