Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,888 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 GMC Acadia steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 GMC Acadia Owner Comments

problem #13

Aug 202016


  • 33,000 miles


During the last year or so, my steering goes out when I'm making a turn after driving through a puddle. It kicks back in after 15-30 seconds. I took it to the dealer last year, they just blew it off, said it was a dirty sensor or something, but didn't fix it, nor did they document it. It kept happening. I took it back to the dealer last week (after my warranty expired) and they did $1800 worth of work to the car (new steering pump and steering hose). My extended warranty covered some of it. Last night it stormed again, there were a lot of puddles on the roads and now it's worse than ever!!! the steering is going out even when I'm driving straight through a puddle and it's lasting longer. The battery warning light also flashed on, but then it went off when the steering kicked back in. I'm petrified to drive the car!

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

Jul 062016


  • 86,000 miles
In 2015, the GM dealer replaced the power steering pump due to failure under a recall. On July 7, 2016, I took by car back to the dealer and now the rack is leaking power steering fluid. This continues to be an issue with these vehicle. Very unsafe to operate when the steering system keeps failing. This issue has made the vehicle difficult to steer.

- Jonesborough, TN, USA

problem #11

Apr 262016


  • 50,800 miles
I have had some issues with this vehicle including a failed brake booster and my rack and pinion steering mechanism is currently being replaced due to leaking and probable failure, which I understand is a common problem with these vehicles. I was hearing noise coming out of the steering column when turning for sometime now. I was told that the hydraulic mechanism may fail and cause sudden more difficult turning without replacement. I have also owned another 2007 Acadia and had to have a power steering pump replaced 4 times.

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #10

Jan 172016


  • 97,000 miles


Purchased a GMC Acadia denali in Sep 2015. Had to have transmission repaired, struts replaced in Nov 2015. Began having problems with steering locking up when turning wheel hard and making a loud whining sound as well as burning fluid smell in Jan 2016. Took vehicle to dealer and was advised by service department that the power steering pump/motor was leaking and requires replacement, and the rack and pinion is bad and has to be replaced. Further research indicates this is a very common issue with this vehicle and GM is aware of the defective power steering pump/motor and rack and pinion. Even dealer service techs advised it is a very well known and documented problem with this model vehicle yet the repair is not covered by the manufacturer. This is a very dangerous condition to the driver of the vehicle as well as to the driving public and pedestrians in general. There is an open class action lawsuit as well. NHTSA should require GM to recall these vehicles and make the required repairs as to prevent a clear danger to the public.

- Siloam Springs, AR, USA

problem #9

Dec 212015


  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 GMC Acadia. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel began to make a loud abnormal noise and the vehicle steered to the left without warning. The failure was consistent. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 72,000.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #8

Nov 172015


  • 38,000 miles
While driving either in the rain, or if hit a doesn't have to be a big puddle either. I hear this god awful screeching noise. I then loose all control of the steering after a few seconds it catches and works. The battery warning light will come on. This happens w every time it rains or I just hit a puddle. Luckily I was able to get off the road and out of the way of traffic. First time it happened was November 17, 2015 and has happened 4 times since. Was wondering if there have been any recalls or information on this. This is very dangerous and scary!

- Austin, AR, USA

problem #7

Mar 012014


  • miles


The first thing that I want to say is that some of the recalls are not for the 2012 model but mine has had the issues with the fuel moduler not reading correctly as in one recall and also the shifter clip causing the vehicle to not be in the correct gear. What do I do? also the second thing is the A/C broke within the 3rd year of having it. The third thing to go wrong is the power steering. It comes and goes but as long as I push on the gas I have power steering. I'm very concerned about the fuel moduler because my daughter drives this vehicle also traveling the interstate to work and also a very populated secondary road.

- Fairmont, WV, USA

problem #6

Nov 142014


  • 73,113 miles
Difficulty in turning, along with a grinding noise when turning right. Vehicle mileage was 73,113. Taken to GMC dealer in brighton, mi on Nov. 14, 2014 and power steering pump and rack and pinion were replaced for $2,100. The car was then driven approx. 650 miles. The next morning, when backing out of drive, the steering was locked-up and the vehicle went off the driveway. Tow truck was required to take the vehicle to GMC dealer in inver grove heights, mn where the same exact parts were replaced again! I have all receipts.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #5

Dec 122014


  • miles
6/18/15 liftgate came crashing down on my head so the struts were replaced at dealership for $116.72 plus tax. There is a recall #15240 for this repair. But my car was built on 3/8/2012 which is 9 days after the recall dates you submitted. This date needs to be extended. More investigation needs to be looked into this and obviously my car in within the parameters of this recall. Are they waiting for someone to get hit so hard in the head and be killed. I would hope not. On Dec 12, 2014 secondly there is a problem that at 46000 miles the steering pump went out dealership told me to keep the receipt that they are seeing more of this type of repair. This repair cost me $2000. Can this be looked into also. No steering pump should go out with such low mileage. While steering you could hear a whining noise.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #4

Aug 272015


  • 56,650 miles
The contact owns a 2012 GMC Acadia. While driving at a high rate of speed, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. In addition, while driving at a low speed, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the power steering pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V415000 (structure). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The failure mileage was 56,650.

- Towanda, PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 012015


  • 44,000 miles


Acadia was traveling at 55 mph when heard/felt a pop/bump. Steering wheel started spinning to left then right. Steering wheel straightened out. While steering wheel was still facing straight, the car started veering sharply to the right. The Acadia hit a culver then flipped 4 times, coming to a stop over 160 feet from where it left the road

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #2

Oct 272014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 71,986 miles
Intermittent loss of power steering. Especially at low speeds. GMC knows this is a problem. Extended warranty on 2008 - 2011's but, of course, not for 2012's ("let's see how many people complain before we fix the issue."). forced to replace power steering pump, rack and alignment.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #1

Sep 262012


  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 GMC Acadia sle (lambda platform SUV). The steering system is hazardous. It defaults into steering/pulling the vehicle to the left, steering the vehicle into oncoming traffic. The dealer has attempted to repair the unsafe steering multiple (4) times (once keeping the vehicle for a week), none of which has been successful. The attempted repair has included alignments, tire rotations, tire replacement, steering gear assembly replacement and front strut modification. All unsuccessful. Unable to repair the steering, GM has offered to replace the vehicle with a 2013 vehicle (with a charge: The price difference between a 2012 and a 2013 vehicle). The offer has been declined, the state lemon law being utilized to effect a buy-back/refund.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?