Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: While the 2004 GMC Canyon doesn't show any major complaint trends, it's mechanically-identical counterpart is the Chevy Colorado which has some engine problems.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,287 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 GMC Canyon electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 GMC Canyon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 GMC Canyon Owner Comments

problem #9

Apr 132015

Canyon 5-cyl

  • miles


Got recall notice in late 2014 early 2015 notice of recall on truck for ignition switch. I have owned the truck since I bought it in 2004. I got a recall notice in the time frame above to bring it in. I took it to then stanly GMC in sherman Texas, now parkway GMC. The parts manager said because I was outside the mileage there was nothing they could do. To day I saw an article in our newspaper about the poor recall percentage on your notices. I took mine in as the article said you would like me to do. The service manager at that time made me feel like I was a nuisance. I have had no problem yet and intend to keep the truck for another 10 years or so. If I do ever decide to trade for a new truck I'll keep this event in mind. I'm 72 and would like to know why you put a limit on the time before the recall expires. A problem can be a problem no matter how old the truck or car is as long as the original owner has it. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pottsboro, TX, USA

problem #8

Jan 072013


  • 85,000 miles
I just read a jalopnik article on a recall of the G3 Hummer and the question why the Canyon/Colorado was not included. A few years back the blower fan quit working on low settings. I found a tech tip that suggested I replace the fan resistor, which I did. I remember when I replaced it there was brown marks on the resistor and plug at the electrical connectors. While I did not suffer a fire like some others, this is a real problem with these rigs. Thought you should know...

- Sheridan, WY, USA

problem #7

May 052014

Canyon 4WD 5-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns 2004 GMC Canyon. The contact stated that the ignition failed to start. The contact mentioned that the ignition had to be turned lightly and released quickly in order to start the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 129,000. Updated 9/11/14 updated 1/20/2015

- Addis, LA, USA

problem #6

Aug 082013

Canyon 5-cyl

  • 118,766 miles


Reference recalls on report receipt date: Apr 27, 2006 NHTSA campaign number: 06V139000 component(s): Exterior lighting report receipt date: Jul 29, 2009 NHTSA campaign number: 09V310000 component(s): Exterior lighting my 2004 GMC Canyon brake light went out on me on 8/8/2013. The brake light out was a safety concern for tailgaters. So I took to mark christopher GMC dealer, Ontario ca for repair because of two same recalls on the vehicle plus transmission oil change. Original estimation of cost was 305. The dealer decided to charge me 155 for transmission oil change and labor, $16.75 for a defective/malfunction brake switch and $200 on labor. They told me the recalls was done already on the vehicle and there is no warranty on the second attempt. The final estimation of cost was $377. I don't recall the date that it was serviced. How can GMC assures that the vehicle recalls was done properly? I'm very disappointed with GMC and it recalls. I felt like I got rip off by the dealer. Beside, I don't know if they ever change my transmission oil filter and casket along with the transmission oil change.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #5

May 202013

Canyon 5-cyl

  • 136,000 miles
I went to work this morning and my 2004 GMC Canyon truck was running fine, about 2 hours later I ran an errand, still no issues with the truck. Around 2:00pm I went to run another errand and smelt something like burning plastic, I opened my truck to find that my front passenger side door was smoldering. The truck was full of smoke and there is now a hole in the side of my door from where the plastic melted! I have no idea how this could have happened, but this is my only source of transportation and I often take my granddaughters on trips with me. I plan to take it to a GMC dealership and have them look at it so maybe they can tell me what caused this problem. Also, the back seats in this truck block a lot of the view out of the rear window causing major blind spots. Since I have only had this truck about 2 months I plan to address these issues and sell the darn truck!

- Milton, FL, USA

problem #4

Nov 012011


  • 71,220 miles
My 2004 GMC Canyon has, for the past year, quit starting due to anti theft passlock system installed on truck. I have on two separate occasions thus far been involved in an emergency situation that could have been further prevented but the anti theft passlock stopped me from starting the vehicle. This specifically is a widespread problem that GM is aware of and has made no recall to date on the issue. There are safety and emergency situations being caused by this defect. Please research and assist any way possible.

- Gaffney, SC, USA

problem #3

Sep 162008


  • 96,000 miles


2004 GMC Canyon, 113,000 miles. About a year ago started having starting problems. Changed fuel pump, out of my pocket, truck out of warranty. $400 later truck still had starting problems. Noticed when it won't start passlock light is on. Have to wait 10 minutes or so then it'll start. Happening more frequent now. Dealer wants $90 to diagnose plus cost of parts & labor. I've noticed quite a few other Canyon owners having same problem. How many vehicles will this have to effect before recall is done? this problem has been going on with my truck since 2008. I have just dealt with it since I don't have the money to dump into the dealers hands while they play the process of elimination game.

- Del Rio, TX, USA

problem #2

Sep 032010


  • 50,600 miles
I have a 2004 GMC Canyon, purchased new in Feb. 2004. It is equipped with the GM passkey II system. This is intended to act as a theft deterrent by shutting down the flow of gas to the fuel injectors if someone attempts to start the vehicle with a key which does not properly register electronically with a starting module in the vehicle. The customers key has an embedded chip which sends an electronic signal to the starting module. If the signal received is misread the vehicle will not start. The problem is that after about 5-7 years the system starts to fail and does not properly read this electronic signal, thereby shutting down the flow of fuel to the fuel injectors. As a result, the consumer, using an original key, cannot start the vehicle without first resorting to a ten minute procedure to insert the key in the ignition, turn it to the accessory position and waiting until the module re-registers the key. Instead of acting as a theft deterrent, it acts as a consumer deterrent! an internet search, using the phrase "GM passkey II problems" will turn up hundreds of disgruntled consumer complaints. This is an inherent design flaw in all GM vehicles produced since approximately 2000. Consumers report going to their GM dealerships and being charged $450-700 to replace either the starting module or the ignition switch, only to have the problem re-occur moths later. A private auto mechanic will refuse to work on the problem to by-pass the passkey II system for fear of lawsuits by insurance companies if the vehicle is subsequently stolen. I spoke with a GM representative today after filing an internet complaint with GM. I was told GM would not do anything unless I first took my vehicle to a GM dealer for a diagnostic check (at my expense) since the vehicles warranty has expired. In light of the nationwide magnitude of this problem, and the impotency of the consumer (other than boycotting GM products in the future), I feel a nationwide recall of all GM vehicle.

- Carbondale, IL, USA

problem #1

Feb 012007


  • miles
Climate control fan only works in position 4. took vehicle to dealership. They said it was a resistor on circuit board. They swapped it out. Less than six months later same thing. Took it in and didn't have them replace it. They did however disconnect connector to motor, it was burnt and slightly melted. Why are they not investigating this. I assume that the condensing camber doesn't drain properly, thus impinging on squirrel cage blower, thus higher starter amps required and that is how you overcurrent this connector and resistor.

- Summerville, SC, USA

Not what you are looking for?