Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
22 / 2
Average Mileage:
38,044 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 GMC Envoy seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 GMC Envoy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 GMC Envoy Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jun 282014

Envoy

  • 131,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I and my passenger were in an accident about a year ago, a very hard front end impact, and none of the air bags deployed. We were both transported to the er by ambulance, I hit the steering wheel hard so hard that it bent inwards and broke my nose also had a concussion. He was in the front passenger seat and hit the front dash, where the air bag should have deployed, he broke his front teeth and also had a concussion. I've also had many of the same issues that every other 02 or 03 Envoy has yet my VIN pulls no recalls. This needs to be investigated!!! thanks.

- Florence, MS, USA

problem #22

Jul 072013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • miles
My son (17) was coming home and crashed into a light pole, we don't know what caused him to crash no alcohol or drugs were involved and the airbags did not deploy...he was trapped in the car and died from blunt force trauma to the head.

- Port Arthur, TX, USA

problem #21

Oct 042014

Envoy

  • 180,000 miles
The airbag light is on. Sometimes it will go off, but the light is on most of the time on the instrument panel. I spoke to the service department at our local dealer and they did not care and said we would have to bring it in another time to hook it up to their big machine. I want this issue resolved. I have had this vehicle serviced for recalls (wiper motor & cluster gauges). My wife drives this vehicle and I would like to make sure it is safe for her to continue driving it with this light on and no danger of the airbag deploying.

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #20

Jun 292006

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, a tire was on the road and the contact swerved to the left to avoid the object however, the power steering assist failed and the brakes failed to respond. As a result, the contact lost control of the vehicle and flipped approximately ten times and crashed into a guard rail. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact was taken to a hospital where there were injuries reported. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 09/05/14 the consumer stated the ignition switch may be the cause of the failure. Updated 12/16/2014

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #19

Nov 162011

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
Car had a head on collision with another car that jump from the opposite traffic. Both cars were totaled because of this accident, but my airbags did not deploy at the time of the accident.

- Pholadelphia, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Dec 052007

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 GMC Envoy. While driving 20 mph uphill in icy weather, the vehicle slid off the road. None of the air bags deployed and the vehicle was completely destroyed. The passenger was severely injured. The contact filed a formal complaint with the manufacturer. He has a copy of the police report. The current and failure mileages were 115,000. Updated 01/07/08 updated

- Mackeyville, PA, USA

problem #17

Feb 062006

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 GMC Envoy. The air bag light is constantly illuminated and only dims when the vehicle is turned off. While driving 55 mph, the contact attempted to use the 4 wheel drive, but it would not work. The indicator light remains illuminated; however, none of the 4 wheel drive levels work. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id numbers 01V283000 (power train:transfer case (4-wheel drive)) and 02V222000 (air bags). The current mileage was 127,000 and failure mileage was 95,000. Updated 01-14-08. The consumer stated the 4-wheel light only illuminated when the vehicle was started. Updated 12/12/07.

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #16

Sep 252007

Envoy 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
Road under construction hole in road overcorrected and went into air SUV rolled several times. Damage to front and rear. Drivers side of car damaged from front to rear. Air bags frontal or side did not deploy. GMC 2002 Envoy one owner with less than 46,000 miles. Car was totaled by insurance company.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #15

Jul 182005

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was travelling at approximately 35mph and as I was heading toward a signal light when a van turned left in the opposite direction of travel. My vehicle's front end struck the van's passenger side door. Air bags did not deploy upon impact although van's both frontal air bags did deploy.my face hit the steering wheel and knees hit the bottom of the dashboard. Passenger was also bruised on knees

- Parsippany, NJ, USA

problem #14

Jun 012004

Envoy

  • 500 miles
Consumer had all of the weather proofing on the vehicle replaced by the dealer as well as the clutch assembly. The fan clutch was replaced, the air bag indicator light came on. The consumer was told that nothing could be done if the light wasn't on at the time. The plastic trim from the seat belt broke, the seat belt failed again, the transmission would drag, the engine light was on and made a grinding noise, the drivers side tire was loosing pressure, the passenger inner door seal leaked, the clock on the radio would reset itself, the drivers side seat belt would lock up when the brakes were applied they would skid and pull to the right.

- Fort Gordon, GA, USA

problem #13

Mar 212004

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 GMC Envoy ser#[xxx] air bags did not deploy driver taken by lifestar to hartford hospital the whole left side of the vehicle was caved in all the way to the front seat. Updated 07/30/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- South Windsor, CT, USA

problem #12

Jan 142004

Envoy

  • 50,000 miles
While driving 30 mph the vehicle was impacted on it's passenger side. The vehicle flipped over three times before coming to a stop. The consumer was wearing a seat belt at the time, but none of the six air bags deployed. The consumer suffered cuts, bruises and blood loss. The manufacturer and the dealer have not been informed of the failure.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #11

Nov 162003

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
Rear end collision sent 2002 GMC Envoy into freeway center median, vehicle then rolled over onto passenger side. Front/side driver and passenger air bags failed to deploy. Approximate speed of vehicle at impact, 40-45 mph. Driver suffered minor injuries, passenger (14-yr old) rendered unconscious and suffered concussion and other minor injuries.

- Lake Forest, CA, USA

problem #10

Jul 152003

Envoy 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer stated while she and her husband were traveling on the highway at approximately 40-50 mph, the vehicle in front of them decided to make a quick turn, which caused her husband to hit the vehicle in the side. Upon impact, the air bags did not deploy. Both she and her husband sustained injuries. His knees went into the dash and he was sore from head to toe. This impact caused her head to snap back, resulting in a chest wall injury/a stiff neck, and back. This was a malfunction because the air bags should have deployed because of the rate of speed. The consumer also felt the seat belt did not really perform as designed.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #9

May 282003

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,512 miles
I was involved in an accident May 28, 2002 in which both vehicles made contact at their left front corners. Total vehicle speed was at least 40 mph at contact and maybe higher. The other vehicle's airbags both deployed while neither one of mine in a 2002 Envoy did. This was not a direct head on crash, but the angle of impact was such that both vehicles stopped immediately. The only movement after impact was a pivoting around with the rear of both vehicles. In other words, we stopped upon contact. Both vehicles were a total loss and there were injuries in my vehicle. They were not severe, but happened nonetheless. My 8 year old son had severe seat and shoulder belt markings as well as bruises from his leg hitting a phone holder. I received some neck injuries that are still being treated and at this date we do not know how long treatment will take. I have photos of both my vehicle and the injuries to my son. My question and complaint involves the reasons the airbags did not deploy. I believe that in an impact of this nature, they should have deployed. There was a recall for this model year for an airbag, and I received a notice in the mail, but when the dealer ran my VIN my vehicle did not show up as needing the fix. I do not believe the recall involved the deployment mechanism.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #8

Mar 242003

(reported on)

Envoy

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The vehicle experienced problems with the air bag. The dealer indicated that there was corrosion around the air bag.

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #7

Feb 212003

Envoy 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
Consumer lost control of vehicle and hit a ledge, and none of the air bags deployed. The dealer stated that if the vehicle hit 6 inches to the right, then the air bags would have deployed.

- E. Millinocket, ME, USA

problem #6

Jan 162003

Envoy

  • 2,000 miles
The vehicle was involved in a roll over accident, and the air bags failed to deploy.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #5

Jan 102003

(reported on)

Envoy

  • miles
While traveling at 70 mph another vehicle was traveling East bound crossed consumers path unexpectantly, causing consumer to hit a tree. Consumer states none of the airbags deployed.

- Belle Air, FL, USA

problem #4

Jan 142002

Envoy

  • miles
All of the eight (8) air bag equipped in the vehicle failed to deploy during frontal impact, althought properly restrained the consumer still sustained serious internal injuries, including a lacerated liver.(attorney on behalf of client0 nlm

- Bohemia, NY, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?