Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,329 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 GMC Envoy transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 GMC Envoy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 GMC Envoy Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

May 132006

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles


Went to back out of neighbor's driveway & there was no reverse gear; just like it was in neutral. After pushing the GMC Envoy out of driveway, it would go forward, but was very "strained" to get into gear. I am the owner of his Envoy since it was new; it has only highway miles; has always been serviced by the dealer from which it was purchased.

- Hingham, MA, USA

problem #28

Sep 152005

Envoy 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
We own a 2002 GMC Envoy sle, which was purchased new December 2001 by us. In September 2004 at approximately 65,000 miles the transmission went out. My wife was driving the vehicle at the time. The Envoy has a automatic transmission and 2nd gear and reverse went out. My wife was able to pull over and we took it to the GM dealership where we purchased it. They would only pay 50% for the repair to the transmission and we had to pay the other 50%. less than 25,000 the transmission has went out again, having the exact same problem 2nd gear and reverse went out. Again, my wife was on her way to work and was able to control the vehicle and safely get it stopped. We took the vehicle back to the GM dealership and they are now willing to replace the transmission, however we have to pay 50% of that amount. My question is why was it not replaced the first time" I paid approximately $576 for the first repair and now they want me to pay another $1500, which is over $2,000. Why is another repair now not good enough to fix the problem? why should we have to pay for a defective transmission" I have been doing some research on the internet and have found at least 119 complaints for the exact same problem as we are having, with GM settling with others on a 50/50 basis. I am just thankful that both times my wife was uninjured and I believe strongly that someone really needs to investigate this problem. Any assistance you might be willing to provide us would be most appreciated.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #27

Sep 252005


  • 70,000 miles
I own a 2002 GMC Envoy with 70,000 miles on it. Went to drive to the store and the truck would not move. There is a wining/ spinning sound coming from the transmission. Reverse works, but all others do not. I have read quite a few forums on this topic and found this problem happens often. Please let me know want I could do about this.

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #26

Mar 162005

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles


Drove vehicle as normal without warning and after I stopped (shutdown the vehicle and restarted it) there was no reverse gear or forward gear. Vehicle was towed to the dealer where I was later told that the reverse gear had blown apart. Damaged parts were replaced and transmission was flushed and refilled. I'm concerned now because the vehicle is out of warranty and it is sluggish or slipping when it makes a 1st to 2nd shift. Will it require additional transmission work in the near future and huge $$ to repair?

- Mars, PA, USA

problem #25

May 242005

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,920 miles
I own a 2002 GMC Envoy that I purchased new in February 2002. On 24 May 2005, the transmission failed with 68,920 miles on the odometer. There was no reverse or drive. The vehicle operated marginally in gears 3,2, and 1---enough to limp into the dealer. Luckily, it didn't fail on the highway...or I might not be here writing this complaint! after tearing down/checking out the transmission, the technician found a damaged sun reaction shell and sun gear. The parts were replaced, along with new gaskets and seals, the transmission cleaned and power flushed. The total cost of this effort was $2277. :-( :-( in doing a bit of research on this particular failure, I've discovered other GMC Envoy, Oldsmobile Bravada, and trail Blazer owners have been victims too. According to one of them, who works in the service department of a GM dealer, the repair instructions state the material used in the sun shell of the 02 Blazer, Envoy, and olds Bravada wasn't able to withstand the heat in the transmission, causing it to strip (which is exactly what happened in my vehicle). He goes on to state. That in vehicles from 2003 on, GM used a "more heat resistant material" in the transmission that reduces the likelihood of the sun gear failure. I'm writing this complaint because I believe the root cause of my transmission failure...and those experienced by other owners... was due to faulty material...which the manufacturer knew about...yet didn't inform the consumer about. I've never owned a vehicle, GM or otherwise, where the transmission failed at a young 68,000 miles! help please!

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #24

Aug 022005

Envoy 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,250 miles
Driving down a 4 lane interstate at 65 with cruise on, the transmission starts to wine and loses acceleration. Moved over to slow lane proceeded to get the next 35 miles home in 3rd gear (noise was make in "D"). upon arrival home-found out that the Envoy no longer has reverse. Dealer believes there is a problem with the "sun plate" in the transmission. This Envoy only has 48,300 miles. Dealer believes this is the problem because he has seen this before and knows there is a problem. Why is there not a recall on this part or problem?? this should not be happening with any vehicle that has such low miles.

- Shawano, WI, USA

problem #23

Sep 072004

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,415 miles


Contact stated transmission went out at around 29,415 miles. Transmission failed while driving at 20 mph, and leaving him stranded. Transmission has been repaired. The service dealer replace the sun gear, and stated this was a known problem within the GMC Envoy.

- West Sand Lake, NY, USA

problem #22

Jun 252005

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,894 miles
Backing up my driveway and heard a "clunk" followed by a high pitched whining noise. Following this, I had no reverse and the transmission failed.

- Ruthven, IA, USA

problem #21

Jun 202005

Envoy 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,866 miles
While taking off from a complete stop, the transmission lunged and suddenly I had no drive or third gear. I was able to coast to the side of the road put the truck in park but the gear would not re-engage. The truck was turned off and cranked again, still no difference. However, I did have second and first gear. While driving in second gear at a very low speed the vehicle was transported to dealership. Service personnel advised the transmission was gone and would cost $3400 to replace. He stated the gears were broken off inside the transmission and the oil was burnt. He advised the vehicle only has 36,000 miles / 3 years warranty on the power train - transmission, which ever came first. I have less than 74,000 miles on my truck.

- Foestville, MD, USA

problem #20

Jun 102005

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,563 miles
Was hearing a clunking noise when shifting from park into drive. Eventually went to shift into drive and it felt like I ran over something, but nothing was there. Then the truck would not shift into second or fourth and lost reverse all together. Was told the transmission is blown.

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #19

May 282005

Envoy 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,044 miles


While driving the vehicle, I stepped on the gas and it only increased the RPM and did not provide any acceleration while chaging lanes. It then later kicked in and I got acceleration. When I parked the vehicle to see check things out, I was unable to use reverse to get out of the parking space, reverse no longer worked. After the incident occured, I checked out owner forums online to find that many owners have had similar problems.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #18

Jun 092005

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,100 miles
While cruising at highway speed (65 mph) my 2002 GMC Envoy suddenly made a loud crunching noise and lost forward motion. The engine revved up, then down, then turned off (while multiple dash warning lights came on simultaneously). I managed to get the vehicle off the road without the help of power steering or brakes, and after a few minutes I started it back up and found I could drive off only at low speed on the shoulder, though there was continued noise from the underside of the car and it was erratically performing. I immediately brought the car to a mechanic who discovered that internal parts in the transmission had failed. The mechanic also informed me that there is a GMC technical service bulletin about this and it is a common/frequent problem. The tsb recommends replacing the internal transmission parts. The mechanic says that replacing the transmission is the only safe thing to do. The local GMC dealer service department says that despite this being a known issue with these transmissions, if you are out of warranty (I am) GMC will not address the issue. Catastrophic transmission failure is bad anywhere, but on the interstate can be deadly. If anyone had been following me more closely we would have certainly caused a pile-up.

- Cary, IL, USA

problem #17

Jan 032004

Envoy 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
On Dec. 3, 2003, I took my 2002 Envoy into the dealership because I was experiencing serious shifting issues. Repeatedly my car would shift while I was driving between 2wd and 4 wd hi. The car would also would make chugging noises. Furthermore, the vehicle shifted between gears on its own while I would be making sharp turns such as into a parking space. While in park, if I did not have my foot on the brake petal, the car would jump forward. The car almost jumped through a store front window. The dealer could find nothing wrong with my car. I told them to keep it another day, that there was something seriously wrong with the car. The dealer kept the car another day, and still found nothing. On December 31, 2003, I continued to experience the aforementioned problems. Knowing that it was new year's eve and that the odds of there being any competent staff at the dealer was slim, I held onto my car and planned to take it to the dealer after the holiday. On January 3, 2003, I was driving and my car died for no reason. I was not accelerating nor braking. Thank goodness the road I was on was not very busy as I would have created an accident. The situation was very dangerous and very frightening. I called roadside assistance to tow my car to the very dealer that could not find anything wrong with hopes that they would find something wrong. Roadside assistance, by the way, told me I needed a flatbed truck to tow my truck to prevent damage as did the dealer. Roadside assistance showed up without a flatbed - so I made them leave and bring back a truck with a flatbed. Two hours later, my car was finally at the dealership. The dealer flat out told me "I don't know if we are going to find anything wrong with your car." Apparently cars that stall in the middle of the road is perfectly acceptable for this dealership. The dealer told me he could not get me a rent-A-car for two days. The car is still at the dealership.

- Burr Ridge, IL, USA

problem #16

Sep 282003

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,800 miles
I have had multiple electrical and transmission problems with my 2002 GMC Envoy. Yesterday my family and I were driving on interstate 80, while on cruise control, the SUV shut off. I barely was able to get to the side of the road. I almost hit a vehicle getting off the highway since I lost power steering. After 15 minutes of not starting, it finally started. I took the vehicle to the dealership and they couldnt find anything. I have written many letters and tried to convince GMC that this SUV is not safe.

- Painted Post, NY, USA

problem #15

Sep 022003

(reported on)


  • miles
Transmission slips gears while driving. Dealer will repair the transmission, but has not informed the consumer exactly what component failed.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #14

Jun 082003

Envoy 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
My 2002 Envoy exhibits the same symptoms as my previous GMC jimmy. It has a hesitation on acceleration that fails to shift from 1-2 properly. This only occurs when the car is cold and only for a mile or two. However, it causes severe loss of power and acceleration capability. Obviously other people have this problem but it does not appear that there is a solution. It always works by the time it gets to the dealer, of course.

- Superior, CO, USA

problem #13

Feb 052003

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
Transmission does not work properly. Have had it repaired twice, but still vibrates, and fails to move vehicle forward at times, from a dead stop. Is very dangerous at intersections where moving quickly is imperative. Also wiring problems which operate various remote instruments (mirrors, seats, etc.) fear of fire. Rear door latch was replaced - clicks "locked/unlocked" while driving. Seats move on their own while driving.

- Pomona, MO, USA

problem #12

Feb 122003

(reported on)


  • miles
Consumer was unable to shift the gear from park to drive.

- Saugerties, NY, USA

problem #11

Feb 092003

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,100 miles
Complaint is for 2002 GMC Envoy. On three occasions, this truck stalled out while in motion, the last time at 55 mph on an interstate highway. On three occasions, the transmission in this vehicle switched, of its own Accord, from 2 wd to 4 wd (low) nearly casusing accidents on two occasions. I listed the most recent occurrences of these problems below.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #10

Nov 182002

Envoy 4WD

  • miles
Transmission on cold start stays in first gear. Left rear brake appear to have hung up and is burning.

- Nashua, NH, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?