Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,276 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 GMC Envoy fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 GMC Envoy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 GMC Envoy Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Mar 152015

Envoy 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 133,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 GMC Envoy. In March of 2015, the neck of the fuel tank fractured. The contact had the vehicle diagnosed by an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 133,000. Updated 11/09/15 updated 12/09/15.

- Lafyette, IN, USA

problem #21

Dec 092014

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
2004 GMC Envoy verified by sims Buick-GMC-Nissan Warren, Ohio, to have a leak in fuel tank around filler neck area. Smell of gas always around and inside of vehicle. Vehicle leaks gas when filled completely. Vehicle being repaired 12-17-14. GM will not provide any help due to vehicle being 10 years old and over 100,000 miles.

- Niles, OH, USA

problem #20

Jul 232012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
I have a 2004 GMC Envoy 4.2 that has been smelling of gas for a couple of years. My service light comes on. There is a crack in my fuel tank and gas literally leaks out of the tank and runs onto the ground, if I fill my tank up all the way. Originally, the recall didn't include 2004's, but now it says: "the expanded policy covers my 2002-2004 trailblazer ext, GMC Envoy XL, and GMC Envoy xuv vehicles". how do I go about getting this fuel tank replaced for free under the recall? I did not receive a recall letter in the mail, and when I put my VIN# in the search, it says there are no open recalls, but my vehicle obviously falls into the expanded recall policy. My vehicle info: VIN: [xxx] year: 2004 make: GMC model: Envoy XL 370 NHTSA action number : pe07014nhtsa recall campaign number : N/a information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #19

Jul 132013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 154,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I will cut the car on and reduced engine power light comes on and the car idols hard then cuts off while driving. I read on internet alit of GM vehicles have this problem just wondering is there a recall? also check engine light and reduced engine power light will not cut off.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #18

Mar 242014

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
Check engine light came on, took my truck to the mechanic to have it checked and testing showed codes of fuel evap leak. I had to get this fixed as I was due to get my registration renewed. Got the vehicle back went for emissions test and the"check engine light" popped up again just as emission test was being done!!!. I could not believe it! so not only did I incur cost of mechanic but the vehicle failed the emissions test. The tech at the emissions center said the codes showed "fuel evap leak" detected., while driving home from the emissions test I smelled a strong gas odor, pulled into my garage and looked under the vehicle and it was not leaking however my whole garage stunk of gas. My garage is attached to my house, let the dog out and the dog even sneezed!.... being a weekend and my only way of transportation I drove the car as little as possible. Monday took the car back to the shop and the tech noticed the strong odor, later the technician called me to tell me that the lines to fuel tank and the fuel tank needed to be replaced as they were leaking but only when the vehicle was mobile!!!!!. he also told me that the vehicle was a fire hazard and I could not drive the vehicle. Now what! I had to get this fixed as I need the vehicle to get to work. The additional cost was $960 not to mention the extension I had to pay the dmv to extend my renewal registration. Had the vehicle back a week now, no more gas smell but lord and behold the "check engine light" just popped up again! this vehicle only has 103K and very well taken care of..the mechanic says the code is still reading "fuel evap leak". somebody please help.!!!!!!! it seems as tho I am not the only Envoy owner with this problem!!!!!! I loved this vehicle but totally disgusted and disappointed in GMC.

- Hobart, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Apr 112014

Envoy 8-cyl

  • miles
GMC has refused to repair/replace a faulty fuel tank. Instead GMC has asked that I pay for the repair $1567. Apparently, several GMC Envoy owners have complained about cracks in the fuel tank. GMC has determined unless the crack occurred within 36,000 miles of purchasing the car, it is the owners responsibility to fix the vehicle. My vehicle has been ruled unsafe to drive by a GMC technician. My children are riding in a vehicle that was faulty from the date of purchase. I am so disappointed in GMC.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #16

Dec 012013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My service light came on during the summer of 2013 and diagnostics were completed stating that there was a pressure issue, then later in the fall, noticed fuel smell at time of fueling. Took car to shop to get checked, shop owner found recall for injuries demonstrated in my fuel system. Moved car to GMC dealer for official diagnostics, they stated that my car was actually a 2003, since it was sold in Dec of that year and would not be eligible. I then found a recall notice published in 2007 that included 2002 and 2003 vehicles with the initial recall. GMC told me that they did not have to cover warranty because it was a voluntary recall(they could not explain in a satisfactory way how this affected me as a consumer). The NHTSA action # is PE07014. At the time of the symptoms, my car had less than 130,000 miles on it (as it has just 130 K on it now) and was just under 10 years old.

- Harpswell, ME, USA

problem #15

Mar 112013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 83,661 miles
I have had an overwhelming smell of gasoline for weeks and my speedometer was only working intermittently. I took my car to an auto store and had them put it on the computer the code read small evap leak so I bought a new gas cap to attempt to resolve the issue. That didn't work so I took my car to the mechanic for it to be checked out as my check engine light came back on. On the first visit he scanned the computer and codes read po 442 & 445 " small/large emission leak, he checked all components and could find nothing. I took my car back as the speedometer issue was getting worse and the gas smell was still present the same code came up for the emission/evap leak and still nothing for the speedometer issue. He then did a smoke test and found that there was a crack in the filler neck of the plastic gas tank that cannot be repaired and must be replaced. He replaced the speedometer sender which still did not fix the issue. After much research I have found both of these issues to be a serious problem with other Envoy owners. I would like to know why there has not been a recall on these parts and why GMC is leaving the cost of repairs up to the owners. These are manufacture??S defects. This is supposed to be a reputable company. I have called into GMC support and they as well as staff at a GMC dealership stated that this was the same issue as was stated in a recall but my VIN number wasn't included so no financial help was given. $1,215.29 later I have a new gas tank and my speedometer still does not work. This is ridiculous... take ownership for your product malfunctions!!! how many complaints does there need to be before a recall is issued on these vehicle issues"

- Holiday, FL, USA

problem #14

Nov 162013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • miles
I went to get my vehicle smoged and the smog tech let me know I have a leak from a clamp. When I got home I went to replace the clamp and saw that the neck on the gas tank was completely broken and that was where the actually leak was coming from. Apparently this is a big problem with other peoples GMC Envoy's, it is very dangerous, and the neck is made out of plastic. Now I am at a loss of a car until I can afford to fix it. This defect should be replaced by the manufacturer not by the owners.

- Llano, CA, USA

problem #13

Oct 152012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Headlights stopped working, speedometer stopped working, fuel gauge stopped working, voltmeter gauge stopped working.

- Linden, NJ, USA

problem #12

Apr 112007

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Starting shortly after Envoy was bought I noticed that the fuel gauge would show quarter tank one, then after shutting off and starting again it was out of fuel and the light was on. In July 2011 the oil pressure gauge went high and it is now pegged and doesn't reset. I asked dealer about it and there was an outrageous price just to diagnose. Jan 2012 and now speedometer gauge does not reset, it is stuck at 30 mph and goes up to 85-90 when driving. After researching today I see a service bulletin about the instrument cluster, I never received the instrument cluster letter from GM, because Envoy wasn't included, but it is the same issues as other vehicle on the service bulletin. Please hold GM responsible for these defects.

- Greenfield , WI, USA

problem #11

Aug 172011

Envoy

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Envoy. The contact stated a fuel tank cracked causing the fuel to leak and the vehicle to stall. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic who replaced the fuel tank which corrected the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Schertz, TX, USA

problem #10

Nov 152011

Envoy

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that there was an overpowering gasoline odor inside the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who advised that the fuel tank exhibited a leak and needed to be replaced. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the fuel leak and the manufacturer suggested taking the vehicle to the dealer for repairs. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #9

May 152008

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The cluster gauge quit working. First the gas gauge stopped reading the amount of gas in the tank. Second, the speedometer and tachometer quit reading. About a month later the oil pressure gauge stopped working. Currently out of the entire cluster gauge system the battery meter is the only gauge that works.

- Lima, OH, USA

problem #8

Apr 292011

Envoy

  • 80,000 miles
2004 GMC Envoy. Faulty gas gauge. Car has a full tank but gas gauge reads 1/4 tank to empty.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #7

Oct 082010

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 172,000 miles
2004 GMC Envoy 6-cyl 2wd with ~172,000 miles. Check engine light was due to evap leak in the fuel system. Smoke check at the mechanics resulted in visible smoke exiting the filler neck of the fuel tank (not the filler neck from the gas line). New fuel tank (dealer part only!) is ~$900 from dealer to dealer. Plus labor.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 202010

Envoy

  • 88,546 miles
2004 GMC Envoy. Customer requested fuel sending unit to be replaced. Upon speaking with other Envoy owners this is a common occurrence in corrosion areas, namely nova scotia. The leak was found after owner smelled a constant gas odor around the back driver wheel well. When the gas tank was taken down for inspection the modular reservoir assembly, which contained the fuel pump, developed corrosion of the fuel fee/return pipes after an extended period of time. The modular reservoir assembly had to be entirely replaced on September 28, 2010. The vehicle only had 88,546km.

- Enfield, 00, USA

problem #5

Aug 102010

Envoy 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 GMC Envoy. Consumer requests reimbursement for fuel module replacement in October of 2008, the consumer received a notification that some 2004 model year GMC Envoy vehicles operated in one of the corrosion areas such as New York. The fuel tank modular reservoir assembly, which contained the fuel pump, could develop corrosion of the fuel fee/return pipes after an extended period of time. The consumer stated she kept the letter in case she had a problem in the future. On August 10, 2010, she started smelling a constant strong gas smell inside and outside of the vehicle. When the consumer went to the dealer for her scheduled appointment, the manager pointed out that the notice stated that GMC would only provide an extended coverage within 10 years of the date the vehicle was originally placed in service or up to 120,000 miles. The consumers vehicle had 124,979 miles on it at the date of service. The consumer contacted several managers at GMC to see if she would qualify for reimbursement for the known issue, but was denied on each call.

- Hamlin, NY, USA

problem #4

Aug 092010

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Envoy. When driving the vehicle at any speed the contact noticed an overpowering gasoline odor coming from interior and exterior the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the cpc and module kit where replaced. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileage was 124,000. Updated 11/19/10 updated 11/12/10

- Hamlin, NY, USA

problem #3

Mar 122010

Envoy

  • 67,800 miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Envoy. The contact was having routine repairs made to the vehicle when the dealer stated that there was a small leak in the fuel tank. Although there was a safety improvement campaign for the failure on his year, make and model, his VIN was not included in the campaign. The manufacturer would not offer any assistance. There were no repairs made to the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 67,800 and the current mileage was 67,800.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?