If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,953 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 GMC Envoy electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 GMC Envoy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 GMC Envoy Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #100

Aug 052011

Envoy

  • 69,776 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

GMC Envoy shut down completely, with out warning, on the express way. Auto repair diagnosed the cause as a "faulty" ignition. Ignition was replaced. Another complaint has been submitted for the same vehicle. Two years later, the ignition switch was replaced, due to the same problem.

- Hudsonville, MI, USA

problem #99

Sep 152013

Envoy

  • 89,734 miles
GMC Envoy shut down while driving. All power lost. Vehicle came to a complete stop just a few feet before an intersection. Dealer replaced ignition switch, due to "multiple codes stored in the ECM." Ironically, almost 2 years prior, same issue with the vehicle happened on the express way. We were lucky to be able to get to the side of the road before the vehicle came to a stop. Ignition switch was replaced during that incident as well. Two ignition switches have been replaced in the same vehicle over the course of 2 years. I'm surprised that this vehicle isn't part of the GM ignition recall!

- Hudsonville, MI, USA

problem #98

Jan 162013

Envoy

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 GMC Envoy. The contact stated while driving, the speedometer failed to display the actual speed. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the entire instrument cluster needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000. The current mileage was 118,000.

- Sunman, IN, USA

problem #97

Dec 092013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 100,914 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At lees than 1/4 tank of fuel the gas gauge is close, after refueling, the fuel gauge goes way past full and will stay like that until fuel is below 1/4 tank. Last time the truck took $19.85 gallons in a 20 gallon tank until it started working correctly again. One tank it worked fine and next fill up it was way beyond full again. At the same time when fuel gauge is wrong, the speedometer will be off. Many times freezing at 35mph while traveling 65mph. After many resets of ignition, the speedometer will come back. Also when all of this is happening with the speedometer and fuel gauge, the radio has no audio. Every now and again, the radio will come back and work on one speaker. Most of the time it is out. When weather is warmer, all 3 functions seem to work regularly. Below 50 degrees, all malfunction.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #96

Dec 312012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
The fuel sensor on this vehicle fails prematurely.

- Brooten, MN, USA

problem #95

Aug 142012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • miles
Initially the amp gauge pegged out followed within a month by the speedometer giving up or sometimes reading 120 mph while sitting at a red light. I was told that this was a common problem and could be repaired at a cost of about $600. Not being able to afford that at the time, I installed a gps unit so I would have some type of speedometer. Within 2 mos. Time the car stalled upon takeoff from a light with ringing bells, the dash warning lights dimly lit and the tachometer bouncing from 500 to 2500 rpms while the engine was stopped. The car would not re-start until the key was turned off once or twice and the warning lights lit brightly. This problem has been recurring more and more frequently sometimes at highway speeds over 65mph. I'm told GM is well aware of the problem but refuses to issue a recall because it is not mandated as a "safety problem". I drive the interstates for a living and have nearly been rear ended numerous times already. How can this not be a safety issue and how can a company which took millions of taxpayer bailout money not be forced to deal with this issue.

- Churchton, MD, USA

problem #94

Jun 172013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A recall has just been issued for GMC Envoy. Driver side door panel shorts out and may cause a fire. Recall for 2006 and 2007 model years. My car is a 2005 and the driver door controls have been shorting out for about a year. I have not yet had a fire but why was my model year not recalled and what steps can I take to have this model year included in this recall?

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #93

Feb 202013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 GMC Envoy bought in February of 2011. A few months later the fuel gauge only registers as empty regardless of how much fuel was added to the tank.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #92

Apr 052011

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 79,032 miles
Fuel gauge stopped working in April 2011. Showing empty even when full. Took to dealer. Mentioned I heard trailblazers also having issue. Was told no recalls. Had to pay for repairs. Finally got notice can get portion of money back. It took months to get portion of money back. I had to keep following up even though they confirmed they had my paperwork. Strike 1. had car in for 100,000 mile service, 9/24 - 9/25/2012, only to go back later because of car seeming to now have issues accelerating and car was not reset after oil change. Told needed engine mounts. Disputed this as seems strange car was running and sounding fine before 100K mile service. Went back and forth with dealer.took car back to have master tech check and also because oil gauge stuck in one spot. Went in 12/31/2012. Was quoted repair price for oil sensor and now repair quote not only has engine mount replacement but also quoted trans mount replacement. Really....refused repair. Strike 2 and 3. btw, also needed new tires. I went to other dealer approximately 35 minutes away instead to get tires. On 3/5/2013, on way home notice speedometer showing about 90 miles even though gps says I'm only doing about 67. Exited interstate, shut car off and turned back on. No change. Got home, turned car off. Speedometer stuck at 20 miles. Morning of 3/6/13, started car, speedometer stuck at 7 miles. Worked full day. Got home and it was back to zero after turning car off. Current odometer is approximately 106,102. These people need to own up to their mistakes and errors. We spend enough money with them. Grass may not be greener with other make vehicle but customer service goes a long way!!!!! will take a lot to get me to buy another GMC or similar vehicle.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #91

Dec 212012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
In December of this past year (2012) my 2005 GMC Envoy began to have issues with the speedometer. I would be traveling down the a busy road at a traffic light barley moving and the speedometer would read 80mph. The needle would fluctuate anywhere from 20 mph all the way up to 120 mph and peg there. One occasion the speedometer would go back to normal 0 mph and work normally, but now that is an extremely rare occurrence.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #90

Apr 022011

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was driving on the highway, I noticed that the speedometer was no longer measuring my speed, and was stuck on 70mph. The needle remained there, occasionally lowering itself in 5mph increments after restarting the engine, but then getting stuck again when driving. The needle generally buries itself at 120+ and does not readjust even by small increments anymore. My fuel gauge is also not working, reads on E regardless of how much fuel is in the tank, I wonder if these two problems are connected?

- Mint Hill, NC, USA

problem #89

Jan 182013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
Electrical fire appear to have started under dash on the right side where thr blower motor is located.

- Camden, SC, USA

problem #88

Sep 092010

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Almost dusk, high beams were on. Thought I saw a flicker. Got behind another car and saw that it was my lights. Looked to my panel and my voltage was swinging between 9 volts up to 18-19 volts. Turned all power draw off except my low beams. Needle kept swinging and lights kept flashing. Was 6 miles from home. I made it. There was a discharge to my system instead of continueing to charge. Took to dealer. Nothing found. 11-6-2012 it happened again. Has happened inbetween also. Very intermittant. Had batttery & alternator checked at least 3 times. Always good. After incidents, works fine until next time. Never happened in summer. Always when cooler weather. Now that it is December, afraid to drive after dark. There must a bullentin or recall"?? too many complaints on this problem. Don't want to get rid of my car. Engine is good. Only 69,000 miles. Is dealer just acting dumb"

- Vale, NC, USA

problem #87

Nov 302011

Envoy

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the speedometer began to malfunction. After some time, several of the gauges on the dashboard malfunctioned as well. The head lights also began to flicker on and off independently. The vehicle was scheduled for diagnosis by an independent mechanic. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 94,000.

- Millville, MA, USA

problem #86

Aug 012012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 136,000 miles
Fuel gauge registers empty after filling tank. Light & sound sensors indicate low fuel level. Fuel must drain slowly into tank or gas pump shuts off. Electrical dash indicators do not work for a time after fueling so cannot set the trip indicator to gauge the mileage to a tank of gas. Fuel on occasion does not shut off at the gas pump when tank is full.

- Ewing, NE, USA

problem #85

Nov 012011

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
Service brake lights stay on even after repaired, gas gauge goes crazy, tachometer doesn't work properly lights dim and flash, windshield has recall needs replaced, gas gauge quit working electrical system keeps failing. Three recalls need to be replaced GMC admits fault to electrical problem, noted on website safercar.gov. Want to know what dealer to bring my car to for repairs. I am a cancer patient with metastatic liver cancer I have thousand of dollars worth of medical, I can't keep paying for this car to be repaired when GMC owns up to the fact that these defects are their fault please tell me where to take this Envoy for them to fix all these problems thank you

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #84

May 012012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Headlights began to dim, then brighten repeatedly, as to appear to be "flashing" other drivers. Shortly after, the oil pressure gauge malfunctioned. After the oil pressure gauge, a few days later the battery gauge malfunctioned. A few weeks later, the gas gauge stopped working right. Now, the engine continuously jerks, like it is missing due to lack of fuel. Contacted GMC on 11-09-2012. No solution.

- Eau Claire, WI, USA

problem #83

Jun 062012

Envoy

  • 139,000 miles
While driving on the highway noticed that the speedometer was pegged at over 120mph. When I stopped it was still pegged over 120 mph. I also had to have repairs to the gas gauge. I had just filled up and the low fuel light was on.

- Maryville, IL, USA

problem #82

Oct 122012

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • 119,224 miles
The contact owns a 2005 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that when driving at various speeds, the fuel level gauge would fluctuate abnormally and the contact was unaware of the exact level of gasoline in the vehicle. The contact also noticed that the check engine warning light was illuminated for some time. In addition, the speedometer also failed. The vehicle had not been inspected by a dealer or an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact that they would cover fifty percent of the repair costs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 119,224. The current mileage was unavailable. Updated 12/11/12

- Bernie, MO, USA

problem #81

Oct 012012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The gas gauge went crazy. I filled up my tank but the gas gauge is showing incorrect readings. It jumps left, and right at random times, and sometimes reports that the fuel tank is empty even though I know it's full.

- Eagan, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?