Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 2
Average Mileage:
51,582 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 GMC Envoy seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 GMC Envoy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 GMC Envoy Owner Comments

problem #14

Feb 022016


  • 120,000 miles


Service airbag light goes on and off randomly. While driving the speedometer reads 0 oil pressure guage reads no pressure, all guages read 0, then speedometer reads random speeds.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #13

Jan 192016


  • 120,000 miles
Takata recall, early morning, my power steering stopped working, so I filled it and it started working again, as I was driving down a busy road turning onto my own street, the power steering and brakes failed resulting in me crashing into a pole, and the air bags did not deploy and the seatbelt did not lock, so I flew into the steering wheel, breaking my hand. The damage was so severe it was considered totaled.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #12

Sep 162011

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • 102,507 miles
On September 16th, 2011, I was involved in an auto accident that was a head on crash. The air bags never deployed and I sustained back injuries. On site of the accident my back was hurting some but did not go to hospital until later that evening, after the adrenalin and the shock wore off. I now have sever back problems with a lot of pain and was declared disabled in 2012. At the time of doing research I was told by on-star, which never came on, that if my air bags didn't deploy they wouldn't come on.. but, the frame was bent so bad that they totaled the vehicle, with a lot of other damage. The whole front was damaged, the bumper was destroyed along with damage to the motor. And we could not understand why the air bags did not deploy.

- Hondo, TX, USA

problem #11

Mar 162008


  • miles


Single car accident with car running off road ran into ditch, overturned and hitting phone pole. Airbag did not deploy. Questionable seat belt issues.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #10

Feb 152013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician advised the contact that the passenger's side air bag sensor and driver's seat position sensor would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Washington, DC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Mar 282013

Envoy 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the air bags deployed without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the investigator that was deployed was unable to replicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 82,000.

- Zion, IL, USA

problem #8

Mar 152013

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 70,140 miles


The accident happened on 2-15-2013 on Pennsylvania avenue SE during rush hour the other car did not yield to ongoing traffic on Pennsylvania avenue and dodged out from a side street and hit my vehicle on the front side and my son who is 13 head hit the dashboard and my daughters dog flew from the back seat up to the front. The other vehicle airbag did deploy but mines did not.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #7

Jul 152011

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owned a 2005 GMC Envoy. The contact stated while driving 55 mph, he crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained minor tissue damage on the upper body from the impact. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop, where it was declared destroyed. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure; however, they provided no assistance. The current and failure mileage were unavailable. Updated 09/24/2012 the consumer stated the accident was initiated by a vehicle going West bound that crossed the solid double lines, ultimately causing a domino effect. The consumer's vehicle was damaged when he tried to avoid hitting the vehicle by swerving sideways and sliding into the grass. He tried stopping the vehicle while it was still on the pavement but he inevitably ran into the ditch and flew airborne into a tree, and the truck overturned. Updated 03/25/14 updated 01//22/15........updated 03/17/16 updated 09/06/16.

- Richmond , VA, USA

problem #6

Jan 282009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 GMC Envoy. The contact was involved in a head-on crash. The contact was severely injured and the entire front end of the vehicle was crushed. All four tires blew out and the frontal air bags failed to deploy. There were no other passengers in the vehicle and no maintenance was performed on the vehicle prior to the crash. The vehicle was destroyed and towed from the scene. A police report was filed. The mileages, speed, and VIN were unknown.

- Bensalen, PA, USA

problem #5

Nov 172008

Envoy 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
2005 GMC Envoy denali w/37,800 miles. On several occasions, while completely stopped, the vehicle would slightly lunge forward as if going to accelerate although the brake was engaged. When local GMC service dept. Was called by owner to inquire about problem, service tech said he had no reports of such situation. The surge happened again on 10/31/08 and there was a passenger in the vehicle who also experienced the sensation. On 11/17/08 while at a complete stop, after turning wheels sharply to the right to go around a road equipment vehicle in the parking lot, upon removing foot from brake, the denali lunged forward enough to bump the tire of the equipment vehicle and then it accelerated as if the cruise control was activated. There were no brakes when an effort was made to stop the vehicle. Steering of vehicle was hard due to power steering failure. Vehicle jumped upon a curb, driver forcefully turned steering wheel to avoid hitting a brick building as acceleration was still ongoing. Vehicle crashed through a steel garage door and continued until it crashed into a retaining column at which time the motor was turned off. The impact of the collision could be felt up to the second floor of the building. The driver was wearing a seat belt. The onstar services did not initiate response to driver despite the fact that the front bumper of the vehicle was no longer attached to the vehicle, nor did the driver airbag deploy upon impact. Vehicle was towed away from the scene. Driver was transported to hospital by ems for injury evaluation. Several witnesses described incident as "vehicle out of control". updated 10/29/10

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #4

Jan 212007

Envoy 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 GMC Envoy. While driving 40 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front middle of the contact's vehicle. The other vehicle was also traveling 40 mph. The driver was wearing a seat belt sustain injuries. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed. The vehicle sustained damage to the front end, radiator, and engine. The current and failure mileages were 29,000. Updated 02-19-08

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #3

Feb 132007

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 gms Envoy. In mid February 2007 the contact's vehicle was involved in a head on collision while driving at 35 mph. The contact drove into a tree due to icy road conditions. None of the air bags deployed. There were no passengers in the vehicle. The contact was wearing a seat belt. There were no warning indicator lights on the dashboard before or after the crash. The vehicle was towed to a the dealer, and the insurance company advised the contact that the vehicle was totaled. The contact had requested that the manufacturer issue a computer read out indicating why the air bags didn't deploy. The dealer sent the contact prior to the collision a diagnostic email stating the vehicle was operating normally. A police report was taken. The current and failure mileage were both 25000.

- Greensburg , PA, USA

problem #2

Apr 182005

Envoy 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
My son was killed in a rollover accident on 4/18/06. He was ejected through the driver's side door in which the top part of the door was pulled away from the roof of the car during the rollover. By looking at the tire tracks of the accident, he was just entering the on ramp of the road and the tracks show no skid marks, swerving, etc, just a straight line into the ditch as if he didnt have control of the steering or brakes, possible stalling ?? both tires on the driver's side were flattened. Air bags were never deployed.

- Orchard Park, NY, USA

problem #1

Apr 222005

Envoy 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,500 miles
Severe car crash with my leased 2005 GMC Envoy. Much side and front damage occured, but air bags did not deploy. GMC will be sending someone from the protection allegation department to perform a diagnostic test on the air bags within the next 14 days. The accident occured on 4/22/05. I do not want the vehicle repaired and given back to me for the following 2 reasons: The vehicle incurred (in my opinion, police report, allstate insurance co., sterling auto body repai shop) etc... extensive damage. The 2nd reason is the airbags, as stated, did not deploy. If anyone were to be seated in the passenger seat, they would have been seriously hurt. I have readily at my disposal any and all additional info. Which I will gladly submit when necessary.

- Duluth, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?