Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,573 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 GMC Envoy XL accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 GMC Envoy XL:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 GMC Envoy XL Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Dec 012014

Envoy XL 8-cyl

  • miles


2004 GMC Envoy XL. Consumer states recently began experiencing problems with instrumental panel. The consumer stated the gauges on the instrument panel began to malfunction one after another and ultimately all but one are no longer working. Only the temperature gauge worked.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #36

Apr 052010

Envoy XL

  • miles
Not sure when as it has been a while. The odometer stopped working and I have filed this online a couple of times but never heard back and I have contacted GMC several times and they said they are fully aware of it as they have had several calls regarding it and it is anywhere from $300 to $600 to fix it and it could take a couple of days. To me that is not ok. As much as I paid for my vehicle it should not do this. If GMC is aware of it they should have contacted you guys and a notice should have been sent as I have been researching online and I see several complaints about this issue with peoples Envoy and they get the same uncaring response from GMC. To me that is a problem, .

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #35

Mar 012012

Envoy XL 8-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
Speedometer and tachometer quit working.

- Corinth, TX, USA

problem #34

May 022011

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • miles


The speedometer on my 2004 Envoy XL began acting erratically ( going from 0 to 120 ) a earlier 2011 and continues. The gas gauge does not register properly either. The dealer wanted to change my speedometer first to see if this would fix both problems (over $600 in cost) and if that didn't fix it, then they would have to change a module in the fuel tank (another $600 in cost). My research on the internet indicates this is a faulty part and needs to be recall. I've read different makes of GMC and mileage have complained about this issue.

- Accokeek, MD, USA

problem #33

Oct 032011

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • miles
The cluster instrument panel flashes on and off guages are all incorrect from time to time and do not work some times.

- Miami Gardens , FL, USA

problem #32

Jan 132010

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • miles
The speedometer quit working around 40,000 miles. Checked with dealer and found out there is no recall and it would cost around $700 to fix.

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #31

Aug 082011

Envoy XL

  • 42,000 miles


Speedometer works sporatically. Even when the truck is stopped its reading that I'm doing 50 miles per hour. 2004 GMC Envoy.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #30

Apr 012009

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Envoy XL. The contact stated that the fuel gauge and speedometer would fluctuate abnormally when driving over 60 mph. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they were unable determine the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. Updated 06/17/11 updated 06/27/11

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #29

Feb 222011

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • 93,097 miles
2004 GMC Envoy XL speedometer and tachometer inaccurate readings. Speedometer readings some as high as 115-120. Have no idea the actual speed at which I am traveling. Terrified to think of using cruise control when traveling interstates many times each year. Have reviewed online comments and I am not the only person experiencing this problem. GM/GMC appears to know about the problem based on the comments and dealer/service responses. Stands to reason that a faulty instrument panel could affect other functions of car. Not knowing speed at which I am traveling is dire safety issue. What has NHTSA done to address this issue with GM/GMC?

- Mechanicsville, MD, USA

problem #28

Sep 012009

Envoy XL

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Envoy. The speedometer read 35 mph while driving at 70 mph. The vehicle was taken to a local garage. Diagnostic testing located failure at the transmission shifter cable, which was replaced.other unknown parts were also replaced.the instrumental control panel sensor was replaced, but the failure was not corrected, the transmission failed again. The manufacturer took a report, but they would not assist with the repair. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 93,000.

- Phoenix City , AL, USA

problem #27

Aug 012009

Envoy XL

  • 64,000 miles


2004 GMC Envoy XL speedometer and tachometer no longer function.... this happen about 1 year ago and it continues to this day... I am reading online that there are other similar issues with the instrument panel. In my opinion this is without a doubt a safety related issue.... I should be traveling 35 miles an hour and the car registers 75 mph. Its never correct and the tach just stopped working.

- Rocky Point, NY, USA

problem #26

Jan 212010

Envoy XL

  • 89 miles
Hi, I'm a owner of a GMC Envoy XL. I have had many problems with the gauges altogether. 1st it was the fuel gauge and then now all the instruments are out. You cant tell how fast your going, if your vehicle is overheating nothing! I have done quiet a bit of research and it looks as if this is a very known issue. Its not that its the most costly part to fix but I dont feel the consumer should be responsible if ust about everyone that owns this type of vehicle has the same issue. Its also very dangerous not knowing what is going on while your on the road as well thats what the gauges are for. Please help!!!! the approx date entered is the date I filed this complaint I have had the issue for well over 6 months now.

- Gibsonton, FL, USA

problem #25

Jul 102009

Envoy XL

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Envoy XL. The instrument panel malfunctioned and the speedometer displayed the incorrect mileage. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the repairs would not be covered under the warranty. There were no related recalls. No repairs were made to date. The current and failure mileages were under 38,000.

- Roslyn, NY, USA

problem #24

Oct 182008

Envoy XL

  • 90,000 miles
My car's speedometer started to give me the wrong speed and eventually just quit and is now stuck on 0. a little while after, the radiator gauge does not work either. It seems that the instrument cluster is slowing going out. We haven't fixed the instrument cluster yet because we have been trying to talk with the dealer and GMC about the problem, but they refused to fix it because we were just one person.

- Marina, CA, USA

problem #23

Oct 042008

Envoy XL

  • 48,000 miles
I have a 2004 GMC Envoy that the instrument cluster went bad on and the dealer want $900 to repair. On the internet that there are alot of GMC SUV's with the same problem. I, as well, have been fighting with GM for replacement of the instrument panel on my 2004 Envoy. The car had 48K miles on it when the problem started, but it had 56K when it was taken to the dealership. It was required that I have the problem officially diagnosed, which cost me $85. I was assured that I would get that amount credited toward the fix. Scheduled to get yet another update call from GM tomorrow. Shortly after I paid out the $85 and sent them my information, I received both an email and a phone call saying "sorry, we can't offer any assistance". I called them right back to escalate it further. I'm pushing it as far as I can. The representative told me that there haven't been enough complaints with the Envoy yet, although she admitted that there have been a lot, and because of this obvious problem, the cases would be handled on an individual basis at this point. What more proof do we need?

- Reidsville, NC, USA

problem #22

Jan 112009

Envoy XL

  • 64,328 miles
The speedometer quit working correctly, when I first noticed it my speedometer said I was going 120mph and I was in town in a 35mph zone. I had my gps device on and it showed that I was actually going 35mph. After stopping at a stop light the speedometer stated that I was still traveling at a speed of 75 mph, and that was incorrect because I was sitting still at the light. Also, after turning off the vehicle it still registered a rate of speed of 75 mph. There are some days that the speedometer works for a while and then it goes crazy. Another example, it sometimes shows that I am going at a rate of speed of 0 mph and I know that I am at least going 55 mph. This is completely unsafe. Upon contacting the GM service center they stated they thought it might be the instrument cluster needing replaced, but if that would be the case the other gauges would not work properly. So far the only thing that is messed up is the speedometer. I have not been able to correct the failure as the service center told me over the phone that it would cost me around $300 or more and they want to replace the entire instrument panel, which in my opinion does not need replaced....only the speedometer needs replaced/repaired.

- Gallipolis Ferry, WV, USA

problem #21

Jan 072009

Envoy XL

  • 64,890 miles
Erratic speedometer operation, we took it in to in to be checked and they said it needed a new cluster, also while it was there I had them check the 4WD service light which came on erratically and they said it also needed a new module. This is for a 2004 GMC Envoy with 64,984 miles. No extended warranty so we had to pay for the all the work done. The day I had it checked out the service rep did say there were problems with a certain year and if we had the right year and vehicle and if it was under 70,000 miles they would replace it for free. When we came back a couple days later to have the work done he said after I asked him it was for a Silverado not sure if he said 2003 or 2004 but not for our vehicle..... I am very disappointed after 40 years of buying GM vehicles that GM didn't take care or help take care of the cost of these problems.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #20

Nov 052008

Envoy XL

  • 41,320 miles
Approximately 1 1/2 months ago my speedometer went out on my GMC 2004 Envoy. I went to the dealership and the person helping me said that they get alot of repair requests for the speedometers going out on the GMC's. so I stated if this is an often occurrence it appears to me that it should be a national recall being that this seems to occur alot. When I got home I went on line to pull the reviews and to see what others were talking about. That is when I noticed that a I was not the only customer with this problem. Also, when I went onto my iphone application to see if I could find anything that could assist me being that I was going out of town I found an application and one of the people posting a review was a guy who was out of town and his speedometer went out and he too was able to find the same speedometer that I had to use in order for him to get back to where he was going. As a customer I feel that if this is a problem that is occurring at the 35,000-45,000 mark of these vehicles then it should be the responsibility of the manufacturer to make good on this malfunction. My car is not quite 5 years and I only have approximately 42,500 miles on my truck.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #19

Nov 032008

Envoy XL

  • 69,000 miles
Faulty tach and speedometer on my 2004 GMC Envoy XL. I have no way of knowing my actual driving speed. Sitting still it will show 100+ mph. I traveled down an off ramp today doing 120 mph. My wife can't handle the vehicle any more. My local GMC dealer wants $500 to fix it. He stated many 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006 GM vehicle have the same problem. GM needs to step up and fix this. This is very unsafe. I nearly received a speeding ticket and the cop did not believe me when I told him my speedometer said I was only doing 60.

- Yardley, PA, USA

problem #18

Aug 232008

Envoy XL

  • 53,549 miles
This past weekend 08-23-08 and 08-24-08. The analog dash cluster went out on my 2004 gms Envoy. When it went out I mean completely out no tach, speed or and or the gauges worked. This happened while I was driving. I took the vehicle to the dealership right away. It was checked and confirmed that the dash cluster was not getting any power. This can be a safety hazard for the reason being if it where to happen while driving like it did to me. It could be a contributing factor in an accident. Not know how fast one is going can be very dangerous. There is a new dash cluster on order which should be installed by Wednesday 08-27-08.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?