Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,576 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 GMC Envoy XL fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 GMC Envoy XL:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 GMC Envoy XL Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #60

Apr 262012

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 24,856 miles


Noticed that the fuel gauge for the past week has been acting very strange. I had a half tank of gas and drive very little daily (maybe 10 miles) and in 3 days it went from 1/2 tank to empty. I actually thought my gas was leaking out, but no gas spots or leaks. Now, it was on empty, light came on, and started to bing, and the engine light is on also. I filled the car up and fuel light is still on and so is the engine light. Indicating a problem at the fuel gage. I love this car, I have never loved a car more...but, now reading all the huge number of people having the same problems...and the cost to have it fixed is wayyyyyyyyy more than I can pay or afford. I have been trying to figure out how I am going to pay the first half of my re taxes and my home owners insurance, I used to work for years with auto dealers and with this amount of complaints, the manufacture normally does a recall and fixes this problem. My concern is, if I keep driving it without getting it fixed will I create more problems and the bigger problem is how do I know when I am on empty since it is now always on empty"????"

- Algonquin, IL, USA

problem #59

Nov 112010

Envoy XL

  • 46,500 miles
Gas gauge failed to read the correct fuel level in the tank. Thankfully, we noticed before running out of gas on the highway. Fuel gauge would float between 1/4 and 3/4 tank so you couldn't tell how much gas you had.

- Natick, MA, USA

problem #58

Dec 142011

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 108,690 miles
Fuel gauge fluctuates between full and empty. Gauge does not show fuel levels.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #57

Jul 292011

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • miles


Filled my gas tank up and the fuel gauge went to empty after filling. Every time I fill the tank, it goes to empty and then after driving a bit the gauge starts re-registering. I have no idea if it is accurate anymore. Evaporator purge solenoid has also went out causing the check engine light to come on. The lack of an accurate gas gauge is a safety issue. Please recall this vehicle.

- Pace, FL, USA

problem #56

Nov 152010

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Gas gauge bounced around intermittently for weeks regardless of fuel level. Now it just reads empty. Air compressor hasn't worked since last November. Fuel pump went out last night. Remote keyless entry has never worked. Check engine light is always on. What a lemon. Will never buy GMC ever again.

- Andover, ME, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #55

Mar 012008

Envoy XL

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy XL. The contacted stated that after refueling, the fuel gauge displayed an empty reading. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was refueled. The vehicle was never taken for failure diagnostics. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 81,000.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #54

Apr 202011

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,240 miles


The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy XL. The contact stated that after refueling the fuel tank, the fuel gauge would fluctuate and provide erroneous fuel level readings. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic and they advised him to replace the fuel pump. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 61,240. Updated 12/12/11 updated 01/18/12

- Amsterdam, NY, USA

problem #53

May 252011

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I have a 2006 GMC Envoy and I noticed when I fill the gas tank the gauge shows that I'm completely empty and my engine light goes on. My alarm for low fuel keeps going off. The car has died in the middle of traffic several times because of this. After I drive and use approx. 2 gallons of gas the gauge resets. I noticed on the internet that many people been having the same problem.

- Johnsburg, IL, USA

problem #52

May 072011

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
I am having a problem with my gas gauge. After filling up my vehicle with fuel, the gas gauge stayed on empty and the low fuel light stayed on. Sometimes the gas gauge would go up a little bit and the low fuel light will go out but normally it stays close to empty with the low fuel indicator on whether the cars fuel tank is full or half empty. I heard on the news that NHTSA was looking into the GM SUV's having gas gauge problems 2 days after I first started having problems. Good timing. I took my car to a repair facility and they said it is a bad sensor in the gas tank. They charged me $90 just to do the diagnostic on the problem and it would cost $600 to replace the sensor because they would have to pull the gas tank off the car. I declined to have it repair. Now I have to drive a car that is close to empty all the time and have to rely on the mileage to determine when I will run our of gas. Also, the dic (driver information center) audible warning bell goes "ding, ding, ding, ding" every so often while driving to warn us we are almost out of fuel, even though we are not. This can be alarming and distracting driver to look down and see what the dic is saying. It says low fuel. The repair facility I took it to have it diagnosed said there is no way to turn off the audible warning. The consumer E-mailed additional information. The consumer added additional information. I also opened a complaint directly with GMC (service request: 71-954554686) and GM offered to pay 10% to fix my gas gauge issue. Since the cost is over $600 and still would have cost us $540 to fix so we declined. My wife was driving the car a few weeks ago in columbus oh and as she began to accelerate on to a freeway entrance ramp and the car turned off because it ran out of fuel. Her and our 7 year old daughter were able to coast over to the side of the road but were forced to sit on the side of the highway on a narrow shoulder with cars flying past till help arrived. They were stuck there for an hour. Not a safe situation. Status update. 10/06/11

- Athens, OH, USA

problem #51

Mar 152011

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Fuel system/gas gauge sensor failed while driving the vehicle. The failure is ongoing, as a result I have run out of gas 3 times with my small children...once in the left lane of a very busy road where I was almost rear-ended several times (speed limit on road was 55 mph). There is no warning when you are getting ready to run out of gas I.e. the low gas light is on constantly and the reminder signal does not go off. I try to gauge when I need to get gas based on miles I have driven but mileage varies depending on the type of driving that you are doing so the number of miles you get per gallon can vary greatly. All 3 times that I have run out of gas I was on my way to get gas. I have not replaced this part because it is a costly repair. In addition, I believe that this is a GMC/Chevrolet faulty system. I had a 1997 Chevrolet Blazer and the same thing happened with the gas gauge. I also know of at least 4 other people who have GMC/Chevrolet SUVS and have had this same system failure.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #50

Feb 192011

Envoy XL

  • 79,500 miles


After filling the vehicle tank with gasoline, I started the vehicle and the gas gage immediately went to empty and the alarm sounded. The gage recovered after the level dropped to about 1/3 and operated correctly for the rest of the tank. Then the gage became more erratic and has no indication of the amount in the tank. I understand that this has been a common issue with the 2006 Envoy and is very expensive to repair as they must replace the fuel pump and sending unit in the tank.

- Stevensville, MI, USA

problem #49

Mar 102010

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Fuel level erratic then was on empty replaced sensor -out of warranty.

- Sandwich, MA, USA

problem #48

Apr 012011

Envoy XL

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy XL. The contact stated that the fuel gauge was inoperable and she was unable to determine how much gas was actually in the vehicle causing her to run out of gas intermittently. The dealer informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and no repairs were performed. The current mileage was 95,100 and the failure mileage was 94,000.

- Morristown, NJ, USA

problem #47

Sep 232010

Envoy XL

  • 70,000 miles
Gas gauge does not function correctly.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #46

Jan 012011

Envoy XL

  • 92,000 miles
Our fuel gauge on our 2006 GMC Envoy XL stopped working a few months ago. The gauge will fluctuate between empty and a full tank. The estimated repair cost is over $850.

- Danville, NH, USA

problem #45

Feb 112011

Envoy XL

  • 112,500 miles
Fuel gauge is not working properly, it will continously move from empty to full. ** 2nd complaint- I have had the engine rebuilt because of" intake manifold assembly failure" the part # is GM 12571609 and has failed twice. The last repair was 4-29-2011 the first repair was 9-15-2010 same part same problem. This repair cost was $3500

- Cairo, GA, USA

problem #44

Sep 202010

Envoy XL

  • 52,000 miles
After exiting interstate and pulling into parking lot of our child care provider, car ran out of gas and came to a stop. Fuel gauge indicated that there was approx 1/4 tank of gas. Walked to gas station with my two children to buy a gas can and fill tank up. Gas gauge has continued to be inaccurate. When gas tank is full, the "low gas light" turns on. After driving approx 50 miles, light goes off and gauge indicated car has approx 3/4 tank, although the gas gauge fluctuates between 3/4 tank full and 1/4 tank full. We now have to set the "trip" button to 0 every time we fill the Envoy with a full tank of gas and we refill when milage is at approx 250 miles. There have been times that we have added 23 gallons of gas (almost a completely empty tank) and gas gauge indicates there is still a 1/4 tank of gas left. We have not had the gas gauge fixed at this time. Have been quoted by one GMC dealer ship that cost would be $600-800.

- Prairie Village, KS, USA

problem #43

May 302010

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 GMC Envoy XL. The contact stated that the fuel gauge would read empty when she refueled the fuel tank to capacity. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed a faulty fuel gauge and advised that the fuel system would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 25,000 and current mileage was 36,000. Updated 07/26/11 updated 08/03/11

- Roanoke , VA, USA

problem #42

Apr 102010

Envoy XL 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Approximately one year ago, the fuel gauge started reading inaccurately and showing either a full tank or an empty tank. Finally it just went to the empty side of the gauge. I used the odometer to estimate gas usage and never let it go over 300 miles w/O a fill up. When I took it in for service, the repair shop dropped the fuel tank and replaced the fuel sending unit, the bill was approximately $400.

- Holland, MI, USA

problem #41

Dec 242010

Envoy XL 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The gas gauge is reading empty although just filled with gas. It started fluctuating but now it just remains on empty despite gas tank being full. This is the second time, I have had the same problem. The first time it was changed free of change because car was still under warranty. There is something obviously defective with the gas gauge of this car and it is certainly a safety hazard of not knowing when you need to refill, vehicle stalled in the middle of the road with my three little children in it and costly repairs. GMC must be held accountable for this defect and a recall should be done immediately.

- Bowie, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?