Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,909 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Sierra 3500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Sierra 3500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Sierra 3500 Owner Comments

problem #11

Nov 152014

Sierra 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 GMC Silverado 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pembrooke Pines, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 082016

Sierra 3500

  • miles
Takata airbag recall: I had sent complaint #10821862 but no response. I received a letter about the recall in July 2015. Recall has been in effect since May 2015. I called the GMC dealer here in January 2016 and was told no parts available. I called the dealer again today (Nov 2016) and was told the same thing. No part available. And was told to call back between 2-3 months. Complaint: Too long for a recall. Safety issue.

- Angleton, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 252016

Sierra 3500

  • 202,000 miles
Takata recall. This recall is taking an excessively long time. I have contacted GMC product support at 8004628782 to submit a tier 1 escalation on July 27th. As of August 25th, they still fail to expedite the parts to complete a safety recall. Since my wife is pregnant she cannot sit in the front seat. Once our second child arrives in mid September we will not be able to ride in this vehicle together. I am unclear how to resolve this issue.

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #8

Jun 032015

Sierra 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 GMC Sierra 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #7

Jul 012015

Sierra 3500

  • 50,000 miles
Takata recall for passenger side air bag inflator issued July 2015. I have contacted dealership and GMC repeatedly since receiving this recall and as of today they have no idea when parts will be available. Their suggestion was to not let anyone ride in the front passenger seat. I want something else to drive until issue resolved.

- Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #6

Jul 102015

Sierra 3500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 GMC Sierra 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Poplar Bluff, MO, USA

problem #5

Jul 212015

Sierra 3500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 GMC Sierra 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Indio, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 062015

Sierra 3500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 GMC Sierra 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was not available.

- Verndale, MN, USA

problem #3

Mar 142016

Sierra 3500 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 GMC Sierra 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 05/06/16 updated 05/09/16.

- Rocky Point, NY, USA

problem #2

May 282015

Sierra 3500

  • miles
Report receipt date: May 28, 2015 NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 component(s): Air bags GM safety recall: 15438 complaint: This recall has been in effect since May 2015. Received a letter in July 2015 stating their are no parts available. No action as of today, January 2016. Safety issue should vehicle be in an accident, etc.

- Angleton, TX, USA

problem #1

Jul 062015

Sierra 3500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 GMC Sierra 3500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V324000 (air bags); however, the remedy was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?