NHTSA — Engine Problems

2010 GMC Terrain (Page 2 of 3)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,347 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 GMC Terrain engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 GMC Terrain:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 GMC Terrain Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Feb 102015

Terrain

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2010 GMC Terrain. When I had an oil change done I noticed an abnormal ticking noise and the check engine light would not go off and brought my vehicle in for a diagnostic and was told the timing belt and chain had to be replaced the check engine warning light illuminated. In addition, I only had this vehicle for 2 yrs and for this kind of problem under 100,000 miles is crazy. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed the problem I went to other mechanics who would not touch the vehicle and said this was a dealer issue and was advised that he has had a few customers with the same problem and I am not paying 2,000 for a part that has been known to cause problems but is not covered under warrenty.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #26

Dec 292015

Terrain

  • 72,000 miles
I ordered this vehicle in 12/2009 and received it 2/2010. There have been several recalls and most recently I had to replace cam shaft accuators and high pressure fuel pump to the tune of $1800. My wife was driving home from work and the car was rattling and vibrating like it had two flat tires. Before that she informed that the service engine and stabilitrak lights had come on. There is a noise that rattles in the exhaust and I have had problems with the heater not working in the cold days of Wisconsin. I am highly disappointed in GMC, who received a "bail out" now owners of this vehicle need a "bail out" from this terrible design of a vehicle.

- Milwauke, WI, USA

problem #25

Oct 042015

Terrain

  • 78,000 miles
Takata recall - bought vehicle used, in past 2 years have gone to start truck an it stutters when trying to turn ignition over.all lights on dash flash and upon starting a 2nd time engine light comes on. I work in auto collision industry and read with my scan tool. Every time its listed as faulty start.didn't think any major wrong, till I rear ended someone at about 35 direct hit. I hit my chest hard on steering wheel & have wanted to get rid of truck since. I knew the bags should've deployed an felt unsafe since they did not. No recall listed, but then I saw cobalt major recall and it seems identical to my vehicles issue. Contacted GMC to fix, not covered. But since we do so much business and it seems connected they will be repairing tomorrow however cobalts recall requires. Unfortunately others might not be so lucky as I.

- Bellingham, MA, USA

problem #24

Aug 162013

Terrain

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 GMC Terrain. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the contact noticed an abnormal noise and noticed that the timing chain had fractured. The check engine warning light illuminated. In addition, the contact noticed fuel fumes emitting from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the timing chain, water pump, fuel pump, pistons, spark plugs, gasket and multiple unknown parts needed to be replaced. The vehicle repaired. However, the contact stated that while reversing at a low speed, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,000.

- Corning, NY, USA

problem #23

Dec 052015

Terrain

  • 90,000 miles
My car is idling when it suddenly begins to idle roughly then stalls. There is a "reduced engine power" warning that appears with the check engine light, and "service stabilitrak" with the stabilitrak light. This has happened 3 times, twice when the vehicle was stationary, another time in motion, driving on a city street, and I was able to pull over before it died. In reading other complaints, this seems to be a known safety issue for 2010 GMC Terrains and should be investigated as a recall issue.

- Hanford, CA, USA

problem #22

May 012015

Terrain

  • 0 miles
I have had my vehicle checked twice this year regarding the loud exhaust noise and the strong fuel smell coming from my vehicle. They said that it is not a concern and I get migraines from the smell as well. I take my little sister to school everyday and the the fumes are overwhelming.

- Sparks, NV, USA

problem #21

Sep 092015

Terrain

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving back from work, in a 2010 2.4L GMC Terrain purchased at star Buick GMC, the car was making a horrible rattling noise, which has occurred several times. Stopping at a red light caused the entire car to shut down. It would not turn over and I was in the middle of rush-hour traffic with a car that wouldn't respond. Several times over the years I have taken my car to the joycekoons GMC dealership for required maintenance and service, because the timing chain was damaged, and the car appears to be losing significant amounts of oil between oil changes. This time when having the vehicle towed to the dealership I'm told that the entire engine needs replacement because metal has gotten inside, and conveniently I'm 3 months outside of my powertrain warranty. This sort of issue puts lives at risk (engine failure in traffic) and I would like the govt. To investigate so that others do not suffer from this problem in the future.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #20

Sep 092015

Terrain

  • 79,678 miles
This happens every time I drive. It is like my car is not getting enough fuel. It will stall when we are driving slow and if I am on a hill it will completely loose power. When I loose power the engine is still running but I can't put it in gear. I the. Have to shut my car off start it again and put it in neutral to get off the hill. I am afraid that I will loose power or stall on the highway and I will get in an accident. My warranty ran out less than 2 months ago and I have been talking to the dealership for almost three months. They kept saying nothing was wrong now they are saying I have all these engine problems but now it's out of warranty.

- St Charles , MO, USA

problem #19

Aug 282015

Terrain

  • 77,000 miles
The car has been to the dealership 4 times for this problem only to have the dealership fix everything but the timing chain now we are not in "warranty" whatever that crap means. So we are responsible for $1400 bill on a timing chain for a car that has 77000 miles on it. We have a 2003 with 200000 miles on it and never had to repair all this engine stuff. I think GM is the worst car maker in the world. I am never buying another GM product.

- Davison, MI, USA

problem #18

Jul 222014

Terrain

  • 35,000 miles
I've had issues with this engine since I first leased the car brand new in 2010 and eventually bought it. The service stabilitrak warning light came on at various times, coupled with really rough idle. I didn't think much of it as it was so random I never thought I had a serious engine defect. In July of 2014 I was driving about 60 miles to work one way, and that is when the real trouble began. The service stabilitrak error message would come on several times during those car trips reducing power. I would pull over to the side of the road and turn the engine off, turn it back on, and most times the car resumed normal driving condition. One day in July 2014 the car just died, it wouldn't run. I had it towed to a GMC dealer and they said it was under warranty as I had under 36,000 miles on the vehicle. They replaced transmission, transaxle, tensioner, chain, chain package, gasket, water pump, and balance shaft replacement. They also reprogrammed ECM and performed more diagnostics on service engine soon warning light. From January 2015 thru July 2015 I've had horrible issues with service stabilitrak errors and the engine going into low power mode. It would go away long enough periods that I just didn't get it looked at but now it comes on reducing power every time I drive the car. I really hope this is covered under warranty somehow or able to be fixed through recall. I feel like I got a lemon from the beginning but didn't know until much later. I'm hesitant to take it into a dealer again now after reading so any horror stories about how the dealers are guessing on how to solve the issues and from my own experience of not getting my issues resolved by the dealer. I'm not blaming the dealer, but it seems there is a fundamental design flaw with this engine.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #17

Apr 302015

Terrain

  • 58,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the road when my 2010 GMC Terrain suddenly lost power and slowed down. The next morning my check engine light was on and stayed on. I took it to the dealership and they stated that I needed a new engine. Problems with the timing chain being stretched, camshaft and camshaft actuator, and oil leaking in the engine. How could I need a new engine, my car has 58,500 miles on it. GM had a recall due to the timing chain stretching. I had the recall taken care of in Nov 2013. 1 1/2 years later, 15,000 miles later and 2 1/2 months past my warranty and the engine goes. Wasn't the recall suppose to take care of this issue. The dealership stated that the engine would cost around $6,000. They supposedly called GM and GM stated they would cover roughly 60%. I still have to pay $2500 to have it repaired. Plus the engine is a rebuilt engine so I can run into the same issues. I was livid. I contacted GM and they wouldn't even help me. They stated they could only work with the dealership. I have to leave it to some dealership to negotiate on my behalf. I know I am getting taken to the cleaners on this but what can I do. I have to fix it in order to trade it in. GM knows there is a problem with the engines in the 2010 Terrain and they don't want to do a thing about it. I noticed a lot of other people were complaining of engine problem on their 2010 Terrain too. What makes the situation worse is on 5/17/2015 my husbands check engine light went on in his 2012 GMC Sierra.

- Dudley, MA, USA

problem #16

May 012015

Terrain

  • 64,000 miles
Sitting in car with key in cup holder and the engine tried to crank up all my itself. Car taken to dealership after the 3 rd time happening, dealership claims they can not find an issue with the car. Today car has done the same nhing three times already.

- Cantonment, FL, USA

problem #15

Sep 072013

Terrain 8-cyl

  • 74,941 miles
2010 GMC Terrain started making a rattling noise and shaking a stop, like a rough idle, took it to the dealership to get it fixed under warranty, had to replace water pump, balance shaft chain and tensioner replaced intake and exhaust. Camshaft position actuators and bolts replaced high pressure, fuel pump replaced V/C gasket timing chain tensioner and left timing chain guide. That was replaced 09/07/13 in warranty. Now it is 3/09/15 and the same problems have come up again and my car is currently in the shop at the dealership, that means there is a serious problem with this make of engine and it should be recalled before someone gets hurt because of it.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #14

Nov 242014

Terrain

  • 60,000 miles
Driving back from a two hour trip at aprox 55 mph our 2010 GMC started flashing "reduced engine power" with the check engine light, and "service stabilitrak" with the stabilitrak light. Speed dropped down to about 30 mph without control. The car was idling heaving with rmps jumping. We pulled over to the side of the road and restarted the car, the only light that remained on was the check engine light. Speed control was restored. By the time we made it home, aprox 20 miles, the check engine light turned off. Then a couple weeks later again, twice in one night, back to back. I called the dealer for an appointment because I assumed it would be covered by a GMC warranty, they did not have availability for 7+ days. The night before my appointment it happened again but did not correct itself and we had to drive it to the dealership at 30 mph. I just received the news, $800 later, it needs a new throttle body, exhaust cam solenoid and another repair to the camshaft. I do not have the paperwork back from the dealer yet for additional details, but am disappointed that this is a common problem with the 2010 GMC Terrains and they take no responsibility for the repairs. This should be a recall. There is a lot of potential danger to having your speed drop with no warning or control.

- Stanardsville, VA, USA

problem #13

Dec 182013

Terrain 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Driving on highway, 65 mph. Without warning the cars display said service stabilitrak and engine power reduced and immediately lost power. Cars coming up behind me fast, had to pull over, no power. Almost wrecked / died. Dealer says can't recreate issue and cleared codes. I'm afraid it will happen again.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #12

Jul 302010

Terrain 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
Noticed noise coming from engine, took too dealer and was advised nothing wrong. 2010. Took too another dealer, told nothing wrong and vehicle would soon be out of warranty at (36,000 miles) contacted GM, was advised warranty until (100,000 miles). Returned to dealer, cam actuators replaced was told "fixed". returned to dealer within a month or so, same problem. Cam actuators replaced, was told "fixed" contacted GM regarding lemon law, refused to replace advised them vehicle still making noise. Returned to dealer again, dealer claimed vehicle was fine. GM offered a $2,000 owner loyalty but refused any further repair or replacement of my vehicle. Recently received a letter from GMC (dated September 2014) advising of the problems that I have had since first month I owned vehicle, and I purchased brand new! October 23, 2014 sent letter to GMC (certified mail/return receipt requested) requesting they either respond and repair or replace vehicle or I would file complaints and do my best to get a class action suit started. As of today 11/21/2014, I have not received any response from GMC. I do not have the finances to just go buy vehicles, I have disabled people in the household and this was to be a long term "reliable" vehicle, instead it has been a joke! vehicle has stalled in traffic numerous times, decided to drop speed and have no power to barely move. This is one of the avenues I am taking, I will also be forwarding copies of all of the repairs and letters to senators, congressman etc.

- Kinard, FL, USA

problem #11

Aug 292014

Terrain

  • 58,236 miles
This is the second time that the vehicle has stalled at a stop. I am seriously concerned with the safety of my wife. What if this happens and she involved in a serious accident because her vehicle basically shuts off and leaves her very vulnerable" what if the vehicle stalls during driving" GMC is no help, I have called and all they say is there is no recall. I get on their website and it does not work. We have had trouble with the ignition, having to have it repaired and also the timing chain making horrible noise. The latest incident really concerns me as it may place my wife in serious danger. Please help!

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #10

Jan 232014

Terrain 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
While traveling down the highway, check engine light came on and display read power steering problem. After getting off the highway and coming to a stop at a redlight, the car would not drive when the light turned green. It had no power, even though it was running and engine was idling hard and making a terrible noise. Car was towed to dealer and the fixed the cam actuator. Car drove fine for another 2,000 miles and same issued occurred. It is currently being repaired...again. Will file another complaint when I know what the issue is.

- Parkton, MD, USA

problem #9

Nov 092013

Terrain 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
I was going about 40 mph about to get on the freeway, when my car begin a loud noise, shaking, and dropped speed to about 20 mph. The dashboard said something also about no power, no matter how much I pushed the gas pedal, car would not accelerate. Instead of getting on freeway I pulled over to a gas station. I cut the car off and left off for a minute. I cut it back on and was running normal. I immediately went to the dealership where I was told there was a recall on the throttle body and they would replace for me. The problem is that no one bother to notify me, and if I had not had this problem might not had known.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #8

Nov 042011

Terrain 4-cyl

  • 65,614 miles
Cam shaft position actuator & cylinoid & balance shaft chain malfunctioning four times between 65,000 & 97,111. Two dealerships stated that they weren't aware that this was a recurring problem, even though all dealerships have access to the GM global site that lists all repairs and this new model had excessive powertrain repair issues due to the 2.4 liter engine. GM customer care utilized stall tactics by insisting that an "oil consumption" test be done that caused wasted miles and time and stalled correction of the problem by pushing the statute of limitations past the 4 year limit because they knew the car should have been repaired with a new engine or new car. Neither dealership had the integrity to assist me as the consumer with this issue, in fact I had to seek assistance from external agencies to even learn that there was a complaint process higher than the dealership and customer care when there are repeated repairs for the same the issue.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?