Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,024 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 GMC Terrain body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 GMC Terrain:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 GMC Terrain Owner Comments

problem #2

Nov 112013

Terrain 4-cyl

  • 44,039 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 8/2/12 I purchased my GMC Terrain brand new in ashland city, tn. I moved to West palm beach in October 2012. The current miles on the vehicle are 44,039. I got an oil change, filter and multi-point inspection on 10/24/13 by the local GMC dealer. On 10/23/13 I took my vehicle in to have a recall repaired at schumacher Buick/GMC. The recall # is 12312. A month later the vehicle would lunge sharply forward while driving and a heavy shaking vibration (both while driving and at a stop) below my feet in the vehicle (floor board). I took the vehicle to schumacher Buick/GMC 3031 okeechobee blvd, on 11/11/13 and it remained until 11/15/14 and the problem was not identified. I returned the vehicle for the same problem on 12/21/13 (same dealer) and it was picked up on 12/31/13. The first service advisor was rob deal he told me that the vehicle shifts its drivability to the driver and nothing was wrong. I took my vehicle back a second time for the same problem this time (it was getting worst) my rep was "[xxx]". he said it was the "eco" button in the car, if pushed makes the car run rough." On March 7, 2014, I contacted GMC corporate office and spoke to sherry and requested a full analysis of my car. This time I went to another GMC dealer locally (lake park schumacher) and my service tech was [xxx]. per [xxx] it is a transmission issue -left on my voicemail and saved" specifically he said it was the "control pressure valve causing it to lunge forward and it was improper." He said it was "uncommon to see this issue." The reason I took the vehicle in is that I almost rear ended two people while driving due to the vehicles lunges and have my body jolted into the glass the force was so strong with the lunge. I fear for my safety and that of my 12 year old daughter in this car. I was contacted on 3/13/14 that the vehicle was ready for pick-up and it had been fixed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #1

Mar 202013

Terrain 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
The data I entered for "failure mileage" and "speed at time of incident" should not be used as concrete data because for the most part from rolling up very slow driving would be more accurate (without giving gas). I am 47, and driving since 18. I am a mechanic, worked telephone, data, presently a nurse. I have driven many cars. I have owned, or co-owned a least 15 cars. I am always on the road in all conditions. All my past professions required plenty driving. I have driven the above mentioned vehicle for little over 2 months. There is a significant blind spot to the front right- where the front mirror join the front right door structure. To turn right from a stop sign, or a stop light, is dangerous. The vertical shaft (right side edge of the wind-shield viewed from drivers seat) coupled with the large mirror make for a significant blind spot. I have had two occasions of near misses (I making a right turn from standing / pedestrian on sidewalk to my right attempting to cross street / pedestrian crossing drivers right to left). Finally it happened; she was 71 yrs old. I have tested my theory over and over. I am changing the car. It blocks too much mass. I can block-out the entire front tire of a city bus if it is to my right at a red light or stop sign; that is significant. As the driver scans from left to right before a right turn, and as the pedestrian moves to cross, the pedestrian can disappear out of view- now that is dangerous (meanwhile the pedestrian is thinking that the driver sees him/her and expects the driver to eventually stop). But, at the same time driver never sees pedestrian due to that front blind spot. Now, as driver lifts off brakes and rolls forward, the danger comes as both driver and pedestrian arch to perpendicular to each other. The blind spot travels with driver.

- Rockaway Beach, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?