If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
132,068 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 GMC Yukon brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 GMC Yukon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 GMC Yukon Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Apr 052015

Yukon

  • 113,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving to the local supermarket and applied my brakes. Suddenly they went all the way to the floor. I could not stop and had to swerve out of the way of a vehicle in front of me to avoid a collision. I eventually stopped by applying the emergency brake.

- Floral Park, NY, USA

problem #26

Mar 272013

Yukon

  • 120,000 miles
On several occasions when appying brakes to stop the Yukon it fails to stop and then ABS kicks in causing brake pedal to vibrate and loss of pressure in brake pedal then truck does not stop it slides. I have replaced master cylinder did not help, truck needs all new brake lines due to rust. I have quickly move around cars to prevent a accident, due to this brake failure. Since I am in South Florida GM won't fix this known manufacture defect because sf is not a "salt belt" state, but I live on the beach and the salt water has started to have a major impact just like the northern states on these faulty brake lines. The break lines are covered in rust and this is a major safety concern and GM should fix all vehicles with this known defect not just some. This 2002 Yukon is sle with a 5.3L VIN Z.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #25

Feb 022015

Yukon

  • 246,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 GMC Yukon. The contact stated that while driving at 5 mph, the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to stop. The contact had to depress the brake pedal repeatedly in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 246,000.

- Mundelein , IL, USA

problem #24

Oct 062014

Yukon

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Without warning we experienced a total brake failure due to loss of brake fluid. Pedal went completely to the floor and it caused our vehicle to lose total speed control.

- Sussex, NJ, USA

problem #23

Jan 152014

Yukon

  • 240,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 GMC Yukon. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, the ABS and the brake warning lights illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the hub assemblies needed to be replaced. The driver side hub assembly was replaced but the passenger side was not replaced. The VIN was not included NHTSA campaign number: 07E106000 (wheels). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 240,000.

- Madison , MS, USA

problem #22

Nov 182014

Yukon 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 GMC Yukon. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph attempting to engage the brakes, the ABS would erroneously activate causing the braking distance to be extended. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 107,000. Updated 12/22/14 updated 05/26/2015

- Medford, MA, USA

problem #21

Sep 232013

Yukon

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 GMC Yukon. The contact stated while driving approximately 5 mph, the brakes failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The mechanic stated that the brake lines needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Fenton, MI, USA

problem #20

Sep 202014

Yukon 4WD 8-cyl

  • 143,750 miles
I completely lost the brakes. After further inspection, discovered that the brake lines are completely rusted.

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #19

Sep 132014

Yukon

  • 55,769 miles
Hit brakes to stop pedal went to floor truck did stop but took alt longer than usual went to garage rusted brake lines one had broke this is second time this has happened two years ago had one line repaired same problem.

- Hazlet, NJ, USA

problem #18

Aug 302014

Yukon 4WD 8-cyl

  • 128,000 miles
Today my wife took our very good condition well maintained garage kept 2002 GMC Yukon to dunkin donuts to get coffee. She was stopped in the drive thru line when she heard an air sound as her foot on the brake went to the floor, she was able to limp home, about a mile, by pumping the brakes and it was early so nobody was on the road. Indeed the brake line above the fuel tank was broken, I know because I dropped the fuel tank. We were lucky she didn't get in an accident and we weren't on vacation far away. I also flush out the brake lines with new fluid every time I change the brake pads. I know a lot of people with cars much older than ours and no brake line issues. We also had brake line issues with a 2003 GMC Yukon XL. Something needs to be done about this since this is not normal. And this happened when she was stopped in line, not after a hard emergency braking.

- North Wales, PA, USA

problem #17

Jul 182014

Yukon 8-cyl

  • 180,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While braking from a speed of 45 mph to stop for a traffic signal, the brakes failed. I was able to engage the parking brake to stop the vehicle several feet past the stop line. Fortunately, no accident resulted from this incident. The vehicle was taken to a local shop where they discovered that the brake line had failed at a 90 degree bend due to corrosion. Upon research, the shop said that a service bulletin had been issued stating that the entire brake line would need to be replaced because it is subject to corrosion at every point where there is a mounting bracket attaching it to the vehicle.

- Rockaway Beach, OR, USA

problem #16

Apr 122014

Yukon 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
After a morning of driving around town doing errands I returned home with groceries. While there I decided to swap out my reverse light bulbs before driving my son to baseball practice. While making this maintenance repair the brakes on my truck failed completely. The brakes sank all the way to the floor. Fortunately I was able to keep the truck from backing into the cars parked across the street behind me..and that I had not gone right out to drive my son to baseball. When I got out to inspect the brake lines had completely imploded and brake fluid was leaking everywhere. After having it towed to a repair shop I was told my brakes had completely rusted out.

- Spring Valley, NY, USA

problem #15

May 102014

Yukon 8-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Brakes failed as I tried to stop. All brake lines had to be replaced due to corrosion. The vehicle was purchased new and is always kept in a dry garage.

- Rockford , MI, USA

problem #14

May 072010

Yukon 8-cyl

  • 84,356 miles
ABS and brake light dashboard indicator light activates after any rain or underside of car becoming wet due to road moisture. Water, salt, and other environmental contaminants cause various components of the ABS to fail triggering the ABS and/or brake failure light on dashboard to turn on. Various GM dealer recommend replacement of the electronic brake control module and brake pressure valve in addition to associated connection hardware. Estimated cost of parts is in excess of $2K and labor is $500. No assurances are given this will fix problem. Previous recalls by GM, vehicle owner complaints, internet websites, and internet forums address ongoing ABS and brake light system problems due to exposure to water, moisture, and other environmental elements; indicates the life cycle of GM ABS and brake systems are severely reduced in comparison to all other makes and model cars/trucks with ABS systems. The number one NHTSA complaint issue remains the ABS brake system on GMC Yukon produced from 2000 to 2006. There have been various NHTSA/GMC recall notices that address partial fixes to the ABS but none requiring the recall of the complete ABS system itself. Failure of the ABS will result in brake lockup at any speed. The failure of the ABS system to function properly because GM did not design the system for it's operating environment has created a dangerous expensive problem for GMC Yukon owner/operators.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #13

Apr 132014

Yukon 8-cyl

  • 164,587 miles
I noticed some fluid under the middle of vehicle and thought it was water but as I was heading to church Sunday night my brake peddle went all the way to the floor, was very disturbing and scary to me but was able to stop and get home safely. Next day in the daylight I check out my fluid and the brake fluid box was completely empty! took to dealership and was informed that brake lines rusted and leaking per say $1500 job to fix. Also, informed that I needed a new water pump too. I just replaced the power steering pump 2 weeks before this occurred. GMC needs to make this a recall immediately before someone gets killed.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #12

Nov 282013

Yukon 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Driving on rt 22 in NJ at 55mph when traffic light changed to red and stepped on brakes and the pedal went all the way to the floor. The car only slowed slightly and ended up in the middle of the intersection before it stopped. Lucky that it was in the mid afternoon and the traffic was light because the distance to stop was about 5 times the normal distance and had to use emergency brake to stop the car. There was a sudden failure of the brake line due to corrosion, I had the car inspected by a mechanic, causing the pressure to drop in the system. After the incident I went online and found that this is a problem for years with this make and model. I am a surgeon and find it worrisome that this Agency has not recalled this defect and that GMC has not notified consumers of the possibility so they can have the brake lines changed.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #11

Oct 052013

Yukon 8-cyl

  • 137,813 miles
I have just submitted a first complaint # 10552595 for defective GMC Yukon brake lines. I am now submitting second complaint for a subsequent incident with the same vehicle. On Oct. 5, 2013 I was driving alone to the supermarket in Pennsylvania. As I was stopping for an upcoming stop sign, my brakes failed to operate, again! the brake pedal again went completely to the floor. As there was almost no stopping power left, I again pulled the emergency brake and downshifted to low, and partially slowed, and stopped just after the intersection. I was within sight of my auto shop, and I very slowly proceeded through one additional intersection to the shop. When I pulled into his parking lot, I could see the hydraulic brake fluid was running out of the rear brake line onto the pavement! my mechanic now told me that the rear brake lines were rusted to the point of causing a major brake fluid loss. He replaced the rear brake lines with stainless steel tubing and fittings. I had to pay $509.45 to make this additional brake line repair. Based upon the NHTSA is investigating these dangerous and defective GMC brake lines in the 'rust states' including my home in Pennsylvania, the us govt must now force GMC to recall these inferior corrosive brake lines to avoid the chance for fatal accidents. GMC should reimburse me for my costs, now totaling $ $994.80. This is now the second NHTSA incident complaint I have filed in 2013 for the total failure of my corroded and burst GMC Yukon brake lines. (please note the mileage of my vehicle on 4/19/13 was 132,593 and then on 10/5/13 it was 137,813.) -[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glen Mills, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 192013

Yukon 8-cyl

  • 137,813 miles
On April 19, 2013 I was driving with my daughter in wilmington de to the amtrak station. Approximately 3 blocks away from arriving, my brakes failed as I attempted to stop at a traffic light. The brake pedal went completely to the floor. As there was almost no stopping power left, I pulled the emergency brake and downshifted to low, and partially slowed, stopped in the last section of the intersection. I pulled to the side of the road and had the car towed to my auto shop. My mechanic told me the front brake lines were rusted to the point of causing a major brake fluid loss. He replaced the brake lines with stainless steel tubing and fittings. I had to pay $485.35 to make this repair. I now know NHTSA is investigating these dangerous and defective GMC brake lines in the 'rust states' including my home in Pennsylvania. The us govt should force GMC to recall these inferior corrosive brake lines to avoid the chance for fatal accidents, and GMC should reimburse me for my costs. I will now file a second NHTSA incident report for a second "rear" brake line failure in Oct 2013. -[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glen Mills, PA, USA

problem #9

Oct 202013

Yukon 8-cyl

  • 315,000 miles
Brake fluid leaking - brakes went out. Found a premature leak in a brake line about 12 inches below the master cylinder. All lines are severely corroded and must be replaced.

- Lebanon, OH, USA

problem #8

Sep 202013

Yukon 8-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
The rear main brake line broke right half into when I had to apply a very hard stop on interstate 64 I was traveling at 65 mph when a small car abruptly changed lanes there wasn't efficient enough space for the car to move in as he moved over I had to hit my brake rather hard to give this idiot enough room to merge in the ABS kicked in and the tires squealed I came very very close to rear ending this guy but I had just enough brake to slow my car up without incident after that my brakes went to the floor when I exited the interstate somehow it did stop lucky me. Soon as I saw a store I stopped and purchased 4 cans of brake fluid refilled the reservoir and made it home with that. I jacked my Yukon up and saw a very rusty steel line broke off at the fitting it didn't pull out of the fitting it actually broke into and of course fluid was everywhere. This incident could have been a bad disaster there was a lot of traffic on the interstate right at the peak of the day when everyone was leaving work trying to get home. I am thanking my lucky stars I made it home safe. Now I have to figure out the repair part of this whole thing.

- Newport News, VA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?