Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,795 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 GMC Yukon accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 GMC Yukon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 GMC Yukon Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Nov 012009

Yukon

  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 GMC Yukon. The contact stated he received an informational letter from the manufacturer in regards to the instrument cluster. He had not experienced a failure at the time. Six months later while driving approximately 25 mph the speedometer indicated he was traveling at 120 mph. The dealer advised the dealer had extended the warranty for repairs to vehicle with less than 70,000 accrued miles. The contact's vehicle had 79,000 miles. The repairs would be at the owner's expense. The manufacturer was later contacted and advised the warranty was extended past 70,000 to 80,000 miles however, the contact's vehicle had very recently passed 80,000 miles. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 79,000 and the current mileage was 110,000.

- Goodland , FL, USA

problem #30

Dec 052009

Yukon

  • 94,000 miles
While backing out of the garage, it was observed that I was traveling at a rate of 120mph. I took my 2004 Yukon to the garage only to find out that the instrument panel needs to be replaced (at a cost of $800). The mechanic stated that this is becoming a common occurrence with the 2004 Yukon and that this has not been recalled. My question to GMC is, how many deaths does it take to get a recall? this is a very serious safety concern and should be addressed as so. I bought my truck used, and the warranty is no longer valid. My sister owns a 2005 Yukon that she just purchased (still under warranty) and her instrument panel was just replaced last week.

- Westminster, MA, USA

problem #29

Dec 172009

Yukon

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Yukon. All of the gauges on the instrument control panel have failed. A technician from the dealer stated that since her vehicle has exceeded 80,00 miles she would have to pay $500 for the repair. The technician also acknowledged that this was a common failure for her model type. The failure and current mileages were 111,000.

- Owings , MD, USA

problem #28

Jul 312009

Yukon

  • 19,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2004 GMC Yukon speedometer (manual needle-type) just keeps increasing its speed reading until it "pegs-out" at the 130 mph mark. If you turn off the truck and restart the engine, the speedometer will jump-back about 5 mph. So if one does this 25 times, it will zero itself out. After only short amounts of driving, the speedometer will again start increasing its ready again. It appears to increase the reading as one increases in speed, but doesn't decrease the speed as one decreases their speed. Obviously this can be a safety issue if you do not know your actual speed. Fortunately my gps has speed readouts, but it is delayed by about 5-10 seconds. I only have about 21000 miles on my Yukon, so the speedometer should not have broken or "worn-out" this quickly.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #27

May 152008

Yukon

  • miles
I bought a used 2004 GMC Yukon in March of 2008, previously it had been a fleet vehicle. We purchased the vehicle in Colorado, and drove it to Washington state. Shortly after we arrived, the tachometer stopped working. It gets stuck at ether 25 rpms, or 75 rpms. The speedometer reads accurately, and only recently the fuel gauge has been sticking. I had gotten a notice that these parts had been "recalled" but only for a certain amount of time, for vehicles over 7,000 miles on it. At the time my vehicle only had about 6,500 miles. When I called a GMC office they told me there was nothing they could do.

- Fort Lewis, WA, USA

problem #26

Nov 202008

Yukon 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Yukon. The contact stated that the rpms, fuel gauge, speedometer, and oil gauge became inoperable. The dealer stated that the contact would have to pay over $800 to correct the failures. She received a letter that stated there was a defect in the vehicle. Both the dealer and manufacturer stated that they could not provide repairs under the "defect campaign" due to the mileage of her vehicle. Repairs were only being made to vehicles with less than 50,000 miles. The failure mileage was 70,000 and current mileage was less than 110,000. Updated 05/05/09 updated 05/07/09.

- Ceres, CA, USA

problem #25

Jul 012008

Yukon

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Instrument cluster giving false readings, speedometer stuck at 10 mph even when traveling anything over ten mph. Gas needle is no longer reading accurately under 1/4 tank, which has caused some embarrassing moments running out of gas when I thought I had fuel. I have a friend who has an Avalanche and her instrument panel is doing the same thing, her speedometer and tach are now malfunctioning. Has anyone managed to find out if we can get this replaced via recall?

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #24

Nov 272007

Yukon 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
The speedometer in my Yukon has stopped working and has been stuck @ 125mph since 37,000 miles.

- Trabuco Canyon , CA, USA

problem #23

Feb 132008

Yukon 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,450 miles
Was driving to work and looked at my speedometer and it was at 120mph. Stopped and turned the truck off and the speedometer stayed at 120mph. Now I have an inoperable speedometer in my truck.

- Silverhill, AL, USA

problem #22

Jan 112008

Yukon

  • miles
I am a single mother of one 11 year old son. I have just purchased a 2004 GMC Yukon and I have serious safety concerns. I have a loud popping noise in my steering column and my speedometer is operating very erratically. I have an extended warranty and have been told by my local GMC dealer that these problems are not covered. My concern is if I should be killed in an accident on the interstate because I can not tell how fast I am traveling when the front steering breaks due to a steering component failure who will raise my son the state or GMC? I have lost all respect for GMC and their products.

- Covington, LA, USA

problem #21

Nov 242007

Yukon 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving home on a three hour trip, I noticed my speedometer quit working, about 15 minutes after getting a ticket for speeding. I noticed the speedometer would either stick at the speed I was going at one point in time, then sometimes it would just fall to 0. GM has a tsb out for the issue, but only for 7 years 70,000 miles. I have contacted them since I bought my vehicle with 96,000 miles on it, they said there was nothing they could do. I contacted my local service center and was amazed at the 600$ fixing price. Nothing has been done to fix what I and everyone else would consider a recall that they don't.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #20

May 312007

Yukon 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Yukon. Approximately six months ago, the fuel gauge began to display inaccurate fuel readings. Beginning in November of 2007, the speedometer began malfunctioning and remains at 120 mph, even when the vehicle is not on. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer on four separate occasions for the steering wheel to be greased because it makes a popping noise every six months. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer concerning the fuel gauge or the speedometer at this time. There is an extended warranty on the fuel gauge and speedometer, which has been extended to 70,000 miles. The VIN, engine size, and purchase date were unknown. The current mileage was 123,000 and failure mileage was 118,000.

- Bridge City, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 012007

Yukon 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
Speedometer sticks at various readings while driving. This was first noticed about 4 months ago.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #18

Jul 012005

Yukon 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
I purchased 10/2/2004 a 2004 GMC Yukon which had about 1500 miles left before the factory warranty expired. The mileage on the speedometer read 31144. Since I paid for the vehicle cash I did not purchase an extended warranty. Sometime after the extended warranty expired and the safety belt recall in 8/2005 my speedometer stopped working properly and my gas gauge began to stick. When I was advised that this was because of a faulty cluster and the price it cost I've managed to make due and not incurring any more speeding tickets and running out of gas. Now that GM has taken responsibility for the faulty equipment where I am able to get this fixed at no charge to me, GM is stating that I have exceeded the 7 year or 70,000 mile limitation. I currently have 92,000 miles on the truck, however, I am not responsible for the 31144 that was there when it was purchased. I feel that the gauges on a vehicle are essential to the safety of that vehicle and other drivers. Now that GM has taken the responsibility for the faulty equipment, there definitely needs to be a recall on their vehicles that are noted to have the problem.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #17

Oct 202007

Yukon 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,400 miles
I was driving to dallas with my family on sat. Oct 20, 2007 in my 2004 GMC Yukon (49600 miles). While merging onto into traffic, I noticed that my speedometer was showing I was speeding in excess of 90 mph, but in fact, I was barely keeping up with the flow of traffic. I pulled off the free way and came to a dead stop at a gas station, and the speedometer needle reflected at 30 mph at a dead stop. I turned the key on and off several times, and each time the speedometer needle dropped by 5 to 10 mph, eventually resetting to 0. I continued on to my destination, again, the speedometer began acting the same way increasing and decreasing in jerky movement, but never completely going to zero. I never reset the speedometer again to zero, and now the speedometer shows 120 mph at a dead stop. There is no way to tell how fast I am actually traveling in the vehicle. I have read many, many complaints stating problems exactly like, or similar to mine regarding the speedometers on similar year/model GM trucks. There should be a recall on the speedometer gauges used in GM's late model trucks.

- Cleveland, TX, USA

problem #16

Jan 152007

Yukon

  • miles
The speedometer on my 2004 GMC Yukon is stuck beyond 120 mph.

- Breaux Bridge, LA, USA

problem #15

Sep 152007

Yukon 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,500 miles
Speedometer on my 2004 GMC Yukon became very erratic, displaying speeds that were obviously way too slow than what the vehicle was actually traveling. Very dangerous situation as I cannot tell how fast the vehicle is going. GM should conduct a recall as this is a safety hazard.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #14

Jun 202007

Yukon

  • miles
2004 GMC Yukon. Speedometer reads wrong speed at all times. Started on highway one day and hasn't been fixed since. Sometimes reads 0 mph while on highway and past 120 mph while sitting still.

- Twentynine Palms, CA, USA

problem #13

Jul 262007

Yukon 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
After driving at highway speeds for more than one-half of an hour, the speedometer starts to read slower than I am driving and sometimes goes to zero, while I am obviously traveling at 60 to 70 mph. If I get off the freeway or slow to a stop, it usually reads correctly for a while, then goes back to reading slowly again. This has been happening more and more frequently. This is a safety hazard, as well as my not knowing the true speed of my vehicle, I could get a speeding ticket. I have not repaired this yet as it is a GM problem and they should repair it.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #12

May 202007

Yukon 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
Speedometer in 2004 GMC Yukon was erratic at first intermittently, and was now permanently way off the mark. Personnel correspondence with two dealer service writers confirmed that this was common in at least 2003 and 2004 Yukon's. non warranty cluster replacement at $400 was fix.ed. GM should issue factory recall.

- Liberty, UT, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?