Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2001 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 100,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure problems have been a huge problem for Honda Accords & other models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda eventually extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accords as settlement for a class action lawsuit, but that period is over & owners of Accords with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad. Also make sure your 2001 Accord has been checked for the airbag recall: excessive pressure may cause metal fragments during airbag deployment.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,323 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #14

Oct 262011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 234,117 miles


Vehicle developed leaks in brake line and fuel line in region below floor pan. This was due to rust-through. Service advisor informed me that this condition has been showing up lately, and showed me an assembly that had been recently replaced on a similar vehicle. Vehicle was impounded by dealer because of potential total failure of systems. Vehicle required almost two weeks to repair because Honda had a national backorder on the replacement parts. This suggests to me that there may be a sudden demand for these parts.

- Anchorville, MI, USA

problem #13

Nov 012010


  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact applied the brakes and noticed that the stopping distance increased which resulted in a crash. A police report was filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. Prior to the failure, the contact noticed intermittent problems with the brakes and its failure to immediately stop. The current and failure mileages were approximately 99,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 01/13/11 the consumer stated he had to stop suddenly because the vehicle in front of him had come to a stop. He applied the brakes, but his vehicle did not stop and consequently, the consumer hit the vehicle in front of him. The skid marks were seven car lengths long which was more than adequate distance to come to a stop. The vehicle was inspected, but no problem was found. Updated 01/24/11.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #12

Jun 222010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. Immediately after the vehicle was started, it suddenly accelerated. The vehicle failed to stop when the brakes were applied which caused it to crash into a fire hydrant. The air bag failed to deploy when the crash occurred. The contact sustained bruises to her ribs, back, and face. The vehicle was towed to the body shop. The leon county police department report number is 10-19139. The insurance company confirmed that the vehicle was destroyed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on April 20, 2010 for recall 10V041000, air bag. The failure and current mileages were 40,000. Updated 09/24/10. Updated 09/24/10

- Tallahassee , FL, USA

problem #11

Jun 022010

Accord 6-cyl

  • 106,900 miles


I own a 2001 Honda Accord ex V6. The brakes have been making a scrubbing sound when I stop. It is continuously doing this. I took it to the Honda place and they were to busy to check the brakes and rotors I paid 200$ dollars. What a ripe off. Going back again and they will check the problem or I am calling american Honda. I will not buy another Honda again.

- Decatur, AL, USA

problem #10

Jan 152009


  • 25,000 miles
Our 2001 Honda Accord had the same type of brake problem as the recent Honda Odyssey and elements recall problem. This occurred during cold weather and began about one year after we had extensive brake repairs done. One cold mornings the brakes had almost no "feel" and required us to try to jam the pedal to the floor to slow or stop the car. The local Honda dealer could never find the reason for the problem.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #9

May 082009


  • 163,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. While driving, the tcs light illuminated and the drive light began to blink. While driving between 35-40 mph, the transmission slipped and the brakes failed. The vehicle has not been inspected by a mechanic. The VIN was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 163,000.

- Hometown, IL, USA

problem #8

Aug 062004

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,813 miles


2001 Accord has had SRS light replaced and brakes. SRS light continued to illuminate after being replaced. The dealer replaced several parts on the vehicle. The air bag light has not illuminated since Feb 2006 since the front shoulder belt buckle was replaced.. the consumer was only reimbursed $248.40 of the $835.42 repairs made to vehicle. The consumer wanted to know how did the manufacturer come up with that figure for reimbursement. Updated 06/15/06.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #7

May 152003


  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
At 65 to 70 miles an hour on straight interstate car began to steer irradically to right. No response to wheel correction, fish tailing, struck one side concrete wall and crossed road to left guard rail. Brakes tried at least twice without response and correction of wheel after first hit did not correct direction. Airbags deployed front and right side after first hit and perhaps only on second. No significant injuries. Total front damage. Serpentine belt seen hanging upon removal of car. Tie rods and cv joint boots intact, but transmission just replaced under warrantee and cv joints on order for wear perhaps related to transmission being "very sloppy" creating front end vibration in floor at 50 miles an hour to 60 relieved by putting gear into neutral. Feel steering failure perhaps related to serpentine belt failure.

- Ocala, Florida, AL, USA

problem #6

Nov 152002


  • Manual transmission
  • 0 miles
All of the above dates and mileage are approximate. I have the information on paper at home. I have also had the hardest time with Honda financial services with them calling me and saying that I never paid my monthly bill (last fall), which I did, and then finally they found the check and said "oh, our mistake, it has been here the whole time." and then now, I have them saying that I was in default of my lease because they never had information for my insurance, which my insurance was supposed to send them that information. I checked back with them a week later (today) and they said that they were going to impound my car because my insurance company never got back with them. Called my insurance company, and it took 5 mins. To have someone fax over proof of insurance. That was all - was it that difficult"?" this car had to have the back brakes replaced after 25000 miles (about a month ago - it was making this awful noise, like rattling chains underneath) - that should not have happened. The back window tinting lifted up after 1 year, the tire blew out on the freeway 1 month after getting it (leased the car Aug 2001). The service engine light has come on twice, for no apparent reason. And the SRS light was on 2 different times. Had it turned off the 1st time. Then 1 week later it was back on, brought back to my dealership and they said it was something wrong with the computer system, but they could not give me a good enough explanation. When I first was looking for a car at the dealership, this car was not on the lot where all the other cars for sale were, it was in the back, by the service department. Asked the sales rep if the car was in okay condition and he said it was, and there was nothing wrong with it because it only had 10 miles on it - I should have known then. This car is a pain in the behind and it is just a hassle for everything that keeps happening with it.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #5

Apr 182003


  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,736 miles
Accelerator pedal sticks when applied. This was an intermittent problem. The throttle body was cleaned due to carbon on the throttle plate. The front pads were replaced.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #4

Jul 052001

Accord 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,512 miles


The customer contended the brakes were sometimes inoperative/noisy/rubbing and did not stop the car. The customer also had multiple complaints of service at the dealership. The transmission did not shift properly. Dealership was unable to duplicate abnormal shifting operations. The engine ran rough and the engine check light illuminated, engine had normal noise. Other complaints included the tcs light on, door ajar light, brake light and seat belt light all illuminated while driving. License plate bracket came off. Twisted seat belts, rear door, bumper and dash panel replacement.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #3

Feb 142003


  • 16,441 miles
The brakes failed to stop the vehicle, and the vehicle continued to accelerate.

- North Adams, MA, USA

problem #2

Feb 012003


  • miles
Car vibrates excessively when brakes are applied. Brakes and rotors have been replaced 4X since vehicle purchase. Dealer has been notified.

- Capitol Heights, MD, USA

problem #1

Jan 232003


  • miles
When applying brakes vehicle would pull to the left or right causing a distraction to the consumer dealer notified. Ts...

- Mesa, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?