Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2001 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 100,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure problems have been a huge problem for Honda Accords & other models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda eventually extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accords as settlement for a class action lawsuit, but that period is over & owners of Accords with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad. Also make sure your 2001 Accord has been checked for the airbag recall: excessive pressure may cause metal fragments during airbag deployment.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,114 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Honda Accord wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #18

Jan 272014

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tire failure Goodyear assurance P205-65-R15 the tires with about 20,000 miles developed sidewall cracks that resulted to flats.the same thing happened to two of the tires within one week.

- 40356, KY, USA

problem #17

Jun 152009

Accord

  • 135,000 miles
I bought 4 Bridgestone weatherforce plus tires for my 2001 Honda Accord, size P19565R15. They performed well until the past month when, as of today, 3 of them went flat within a month of each other. In each case, the problem was the valve stem that broke. And it wasn't a small leak. Every time, the valve stem was practically torn from the rest of the tire. I was lucky that two of them went flat as I was parking the car, but the last one went flat while I was driving on a highway. It seems a little strange that all 3 would go flat in the exact same way in such a short time span, so I believe it is a defect with the tires. The tires have about 30,000 miles on them, but they are supposed to go for longer than this. Now, I'm just wondering when the fourth one will go and I hope it's not when I'm not close to home.

- Sophia, NC, USA

problem #16

Dec 222006

Accord

  • 85,000 miles
I bought set of yokohama tires in December 06 from tire kingdom. Soon after installation I had a "flat tire" on trip from Florida to New Jersey (my home). I found a tire kingdom store in the carolinas, luckily. They replaced the tire valve. In 2 year+ since then I have had at least 4-5-6 flat tires, always the valve, rather than a puncture. I don't know why it took me so long to put 2 and 2 together, but when most recent failure occurred (last week, again valve failure) I did some research and discovered the re-call of dill valves. I called dill to see what kind of compensation I can get. Not much ($ 4.00/per incident !!! ) I don't know what I'm hoping to get. I am upset and disappointed about this, but I guess I'm lucky I didn't have serious accident during these many tire failures. Does NHTSA have any comment or recommendations?

- Atlantic Highlands , NJ, USA

problem #15

Nov 152008

Accord

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Two tires have gone flat, one in November 2008, the second January 30, 2009 due to failure of the rubber valve stems. In both cases the valve stem was split apart near the base at the entrance to the metal wheel rim. The split appeared to be separation of rubber parts, possibly at a seam, rather than a gross tear due to some kind of physical force. The split in the rubber was not visible until the plastic wheel cover was removed. The car was parked in a locked garage when tires lost pressure and there was no evidence of any vandalism or tampering. The valve stems were replaced with new tires purchased at national tire and battery store # 603, 2435 Maryland road, willow grove, pa on March 3, 2007.

- Maple Glen, PA, USA

problem #14

Sep 012006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord. The vehicle has B.F. goodrich tires. While the vehicle was being serviced for a routine inspection, the tire company discovered that all four replacement tires were cracking inbetween the tread. All four tires were replaced with the same make and brand of tire. Approximately 23,000 miles later, the failure recurred with all four replacement tires. The replacement tires need to be replaced at the contact's expense. The tire line and size were unknown. The current mileage was 90,000 and first failure mileage was 67,000. Updated 07/10/08. Updated 07/08/08

- Grayson, GA, USA

problem #13

Sep 092007

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,874 miles
In April 2001, I purchased new Honda Accord ex from its dealer, planethonda in union, NJ. The car had been sore for the last three years. The car was recalled because of faulty transmission. The faulty transmission affected the engine and brakes. Not only, Honda should have replaced the faulty transmission, but also the engine should have been replaced. The faulty transmission made the car run in the low gear, damaged the engine. My car engine is burning more motor oil and I have to add one quart of oil for every 700-800 miles. I also had to replace the brakes, rotor/drum, brake shoe pads every 6-8 months because of faulty transmission. My car has the side air bag and ABS lights on since 30000 miles. I was advised by NHTSA to send the complaint to NHTSA. Please forward the copy of the complaint to the appropriate department, so that they can look into the matter. Thanks....... ashok kumar

- Port Chester, NY, USA

problem #12

May 142006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Honda Accord with ling long 225/40-18 tires. He stated that he experienced a blow out on the passenger side front tire and noticed cracks on the tire walls of the other three tires. The dealer stated that the place where the tires were purchased was no longer in business. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 85,000.

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #11

May 032005

Accord

  • miles
Blowout on freeway

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #10

Sep 252004

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,341 miles
While driving 70 mph the rear driver side tire blew out without warning. As a result, the vehicle begin to skid and driver lost control, which resulted in the vehicle rolling over three times. The driver sustained multiple bruises and contusions and damage to her left arm.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #9

Nov 152002

Accord

  • Manual transmission
  • 0 miles
All of the above dates and mileage are approximate. I have the information on paper at home. I have also had the hardest time with Honda financial services with them calling me and saying that I never paid my monthly bill (last fall), which I did, and then finally they found the check and said "oh, our mistake, it has been here the whole time." and then now, I have them saying that I was in default of my lease because they never had information for my insurance, which my insurance was supposed to send them that information. I checked back with them a week later (today) and they said that they were going to impound my car because my insurance company never got back with them. Called my insurance company, and it took 5 mins. To have someone fax over proof of insurance. That was all - was it that difficult"?" this car had to have the back brakes replaced after 25000 miles (about a month ago - it was making this awful noise, like rattling chains underneath) - that should not have happened. The back window tinting lifted up after 1 year, the tire blew out on the freeway 1 month after getting it (leased the car Aug 2001). The service engine light has come on twice, for no apparent reason. And the SRS light was on 2 different times. Had it turned off the 1st time. Then 1 week later it was back on, brought back to my dealership and they said it was something wrong with the computer system, but they could not give me a good enough explanation. When I first was looking for a car at the dealership, this car was not on the lot where all the other cars for sale were, it was in the back, by the service department. Asked the sales rep if the car was in okay condition and he said it was, and there was nothing wrong with it because it only had 10 miles on it - I should have known then. This car is a pain in the behind and it is just a hassle for everything that keeps happening with it.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #8

Apr 192003

Accord 6-cyl

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving 60 mph the steering wheel locked up followed by a tire blowout on the rear driver side, causing the vehicle to roll over, as a result the airbags failed to deploy. The consumer suffered neck and back injuries. The cd player did not always work and experienced static.

- Beverly Hills, CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 102002

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,844 miles
When the brakes were applied the vehicle accelerated without warning. The vehicle suddenly accelerated from 0 K.M. to 80 K.M. within 15 feet and became stuck between two houses. The left tire blewout and the air bags deployed and cracked the windshield. The vehicle sustained damage.. engine reved high when taking foot off gas pedal. The dealer adjusted the base idle because it was too high.

- Canada, 00, USA

problem #6

May 242002

Accord

  • miles
I purchased a Michelin tire for a Honda Accord in December 2001. I did not realize at the time of purchase that the tire was 34 months old. Tire failed 4 weeks ago (5/24/02) with less than 10,000 miles on it. Dealer claims it was due to road hazard. The tire failed in a parking lot at less than 10 mph. There were no road hazards in sight. The dealer would not replace the tire. I had to buy another Michelin tire to match the other tires. The replacement tire they sold to me was manufactured at the same time as the original tire--making it 40 months old at time of purchase. I think it is highly unusual that Michelin can sell tires that are 3 1/2 years old as new tires. Are there any regulations in place that prevent tire manufacturers from selling stock as "new" when it was actually manufactured 2.5 - 3.5 years earlier? this appears to be a gross misrepresentation of a "new" product. Would appreciate your comments. Thank-you. Don bintz 702-656-8074 H.P.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #5

Nov 292001

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving and without warning, the front passenger side tire deflated instantly which blew out, consumers son pulled over and noticed several severe tears in the tire wall, consumer took vehicle to mechanic and explained what happened, after careful examination by the mechanic there were no signs of a puncture, nail or road hazard, nevertheless the repair shop rejected consumers request for a free tire replacement, and the tire was well within the warranty period, consumer is requesting reimbursement for the tire.(Michelin energy mxv4 plus 195/65 R15 rrbl91H).

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #4

Nov 292001

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving and without warning, the front passenger side tire deflated instantly which blew out, consumers son pulled over and noticed several severe tears in the tire wall, consumer took vehicle to mechanic and explained what happened, after careful examination by the mechanic there were no signs of a puncture, nail or road hazard, nevertheless the repair shop rejected consumers request for a free tire replacement, and the tire was well within the warranty period, consumer is requesting reimbursement for the tire.(Michelin energy mxv4 plus 195/65 R15 rrbl91H).

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #3

Jan 242002

Accord

  • miles
Both front tires bursted at the same time on freeway. (dot number: Frg690 tiresize: P185/65R15)

- Bellflower, CA, USA

problem #2

Dec 132001

(reported on)

Accord

  • miles
While driving on highway front right tire continuously loses air, took to dealer. Please provide any further information and identification number.

- Okemas, MI, USA

problem #1

Oct 292001

Accord

  • miles
Tire failed after 6000 miles (mostly low speed miles). There was no evidence of road hazard. No punctures in tire. Manufacturer was unable to provide a valid reason as to why the tire failed. Without a valid reason as to why the tire failed I cannot allow my wife to drive the car with bridgstone tires on it. I have paid for four replacment Goodyear tires. Manufacturer refuses to take the tires back saying that they will only give me one new tire. I have kept the tire in case anyone needed to look at it. (dot number: 4791oep130 tiresize: 205/65/R15)

- Covina, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?