Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
39 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
39 / 2
Average Mileage:
81,757 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #117

May 282015

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of nhsta campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New City, NY, USA

problem #116

Jul 182015

Accord

  • 162,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver and front passenger sustained head injuries. The passengers in the rear sustained neck and leg injuries. The vehicle sustained extensive front end damage. It was unknown if medical attention was required. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. Prior to the incident, the vehicle was taken to the dealer for an air bag inspection where the dealer stated that the air bags were functioning. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 162,000.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #115

Jun 012015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Submission from consumer re 2002 Honda Accord takata recall. The consumer wanted to know if the replacement air bag inflator was manufactured by takata. If takata did not manufacturer the replacement, was ammonium nitrate used as the propellant or a compound different from the ammonium nitrate used as the propellant.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #114

May 122015

Accord

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 25-30 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed with another vehicle while approaching an intersection. The air bags failed to deploy. Two occupants were injured and received medical attention. A police report was not filed. The air bags were replaced in October of 2014 by the manufacturer. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to the contact's residence. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 200,000...updated 06-16-15

- Monroe, GA, USA

problem #113

May 192015

Accord

  • miles
My takata air bag has been replaced twice by Honda recalls. Unfortunately, the replacement airbag is another takata airbag. Does that make sense" my question is: Why is Honda replacing defective takata airbags with takata airbags" since takata is continuing to manufacture defective airbags. I have no confidence in the airbag in my Honda. Shouldn't Honda use another airbag manufactured by another company to replace the takata airbag.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #112

Nov 202014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 116,825 miles
I did not have an accident. I am reporting Honda because they lied to me and said my car was not on the recall list. About 2 months after the airbag recall became public I called them to ask if my car was on the recall. I was instantly told it was not. I just today went to this site online and looked it up and find it is. I believe Honda was involved in a deliberate cover-up.

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #111

Mar 022015

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) was received in March of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #110

Mar 232015

Accord

  • 70,000 miles
Can not get Honda to replace my air bag which I got a federal recall notice for. Made an apt with hoehen Honda in carlsbad ca. 4 weeks ago. Was told parts would take about 1 to 1 1/2 weeks to arrive. They never called me to bring in my car. Called nat'L headquarters in torrance ca. They promised me a free rental until the car was repaired. Gave me a complaint number.. called again to speak to rep. Phone calls not returned. Honda acknowledges that these air bags could cause death if deployed.they are derrelect in not performing service in a timely manner and should be held accountable.

- Carlsbad , CA, USA

problem #109

Oct 202014

Accord

  • miles
The air bags on my 2002 Honda Accord were recalled 6 months ago because they apparently could explode and kill passengers with shrapnel if they go off in an accident. I have been waiting months for Honda to replace with air bags with no resolution in sight. Culver city Honda in los angeles, ca keeps telling me they aren't able to get the new parts shipped in because of the port strike in los angeles. There are other ways to mail things, and I can't believe they aren't trying harder to get the part for their customers when they've already had 6 months. 5 people have already died from this defect and they have no urgency to fix this at all. I don't want my wife driving the car with such a dangerous faulty part, but it's the only car we own. Who makes sure these companies actually follows through on the recall replacement? we need some help please.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #108

Mar 032015

Accord 6-cyl

  • 189,344 miles
Hi on 3/3/2015 I took my Honda in to breakaway Honda to do a recall on the airbags also had a few other things repaired. Mostly concerned about the airbags. Had to return 5 days later for a part.I asked the service dept representative why my SRS light was still on, he said something was still wrong with my airbags and if I had a wreck I still would not have airbag. But I could pay $89.95 to have it hooked up to a machine and if it was the seat belt I would not have to pay but if it was something else I would. Didn't make sense to me, should I pay again to have airbags repaired or is that something Honda should take care of. Something else is they never gave me a call on the service they had done.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #107

Mar 142015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 187,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on Y way to worked at 40 West around 9:30 am on 03/14/2015 Saturday morning, when one of the car start spinning ahead of me, so I merge to the left hand side to avoid but is too late he still got me...everything is on process tru other party insurance... my main concern is my car driver airbag it was'nt depolyed just the passenger side does, and now I got a mail today that they have a recall for airbag on my 2002 Honda civic, if U have any concern on this U may call me at 9808296611, michelle

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #106

Mar 102015

Accord

  • miles
Took myhonda in to a dealership last week and had a few repairs, main reason was to have the air bag recalled done.which they did.didnt say they don't work still! over the wk-end noticed SRS light on. Went to dealership today service rep said that's your airbag and if you have a wreck they will not work. $89.95 a we can hook it up and see whats wrong. I said no, as of now im riding around with no protection.should they have fixed this when the did the recall??

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #105

Sep 122014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owned a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving at approximately 25 mph under heavy rain, the vehicle slid and crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the head, neck, and back which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V251000 (air bags). The failure mileage was unknown.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #104

Dec 152014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 2,840,000 miles
I have an complaint in reference to the 2002 Honda Accord. I have been doing some research on this make and model, and have found that many owners are having the same issues with the SRS light on the Honda Accord. We are being charged to fix or replace this issue, after clearly seeing that this is another flaw produced by the Honda Motors company, if you may look into the SRS light issue on the 2002 Honda Accord please.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #103

Dec 062009

Accord

  • miles
SRS indicator keeps coming on. Had it repaired twice and it keeps coming back on. I do not remember the dates of repair. Not sure if the airbags will work or if they are defective in some way, since I could not afford to keep taking the car back in.

- Encinitas, CA, USA

problem #102

Nov 012005

Accord 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
I am on my second Honda - the first one was a 1987 Honda Accord that I had for 15 years. I loved that car and had no issues at all with its performance. The car listed with this complaint I bought new in 2002 and still have it today. I am not sure of the dates but within three to four years of having this Honda, the dash board lights stopped working and the driver side airbag returned an error light. I faithfully service this vehicle ( kirkwood auto center wilmington de) and when they investigated the issue, I was told that each of the repairs was not covered by warranty and would be several hundred dollars to repair. I was a single parent at the time and learned to live with no dashboard lighting at night and had the air bags disabled. I have also taken the car to a certified Honda dealer (union park Honda wilmington de) and they also confirmed that neither of those repairs was covered or the product of a recall. I always thought I would buy Honda forever but I am quite disappointed in the performance of this 2002 Accord and how it failed so soon after I purchased it with no recourse but to pay a huge amount of money to fix the issues. Equally upsetting is all of the issues with airbags that are being replaced yet my car, with the failed airbag, would have to be paid by me to be functional. What can Honda do for me to keep me in your Honda family?

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #101

Nov 252011

Accord

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving at a low speed, the driver and passenger side air bags deployed inadvertently. As a result, the contact crashed the vehicle into a cement wall. No injuries were reported and a police report was not filed. Three years later, the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The dealer informed the contact that they were unable to perform the recall repairs since the failure had already occurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #100

Nov 202014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
I was informed over a year ago my current auto received an air bag "fix" to the air bag activator during a normal service call and has no longer any air bag recalls. My car year and model is listed into the current takata air bag replacement recalls, but Honda refuses to tell me if my car has this air bag. The activator fix is not what the takata air bag issue is about! it's the metal fragments hitting the driver. I have no confidence in what Honda has told me and prefer to have my auto air bag be replaced, even though I am not in a high humidity zone, stated in the current takata recall. Philadelphia hits high humidity (>90%) every summer, so how/why will my car it know if it is in Florida or philly? please move forward to have all of the models, years, in the takata mess replaced, period! regards, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #99

Nov 182014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 66,960 miles
While visiting a dealer to catch up on recalls, its computer and website both show the 2001-2002 Accord driver airbag recall from 2011 as fixed; since the last time I was at a (original, different) dealer was 5/10 this is impossible. I am concerned that after a certain period customers who did not attend to the recall are automatically marked as fixed. Fwiw I had an accident in 2007 and the passenger airbag deployed but the driver's didn't.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #98

Nov 012010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Airbag warning light came on and persisted after reset. According to the dealer it is due to a faulty sensor in the seatbelt. Dealer/Honda refuses to replace.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?