Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
38 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
39 / 2
Average Mileage:
80,509 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #136

Jul 162016


  • 130,000 miles


Takata recall. I brought my car in on 5/18/2015 for the recall on the driver's airbag at Honda redwood city, ca. I was in an accident on the freeway on 7/16/2016 with frontal impact going 35-50 mph and my air bag did not deploy. Based on the speed and location of impact I believe the airbags should have deployed.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #135

Nov 282014


  • 74,000 miles
My driver airbag was replaced by the local Honda dealer on 11/05/2014 but the airbag warning light still comes on.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #134

Jul 052016


  • miles
I have been trying for days to schedule an appointment for the air bags recall. Leaving messages with no abilities to speak with any one. No one returns my call. Called customer care of Honda with no much of the use

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #133

Jul 022016


  • miles


Trying to check a 2002 Honda airbag recall notice to see if the 2002 inflator on the VIN # of ours has been replaced. VIN # was hard to read. Now I've received on this site a notification that the VIN# is valid. What's next to get an answer re: The inflator replacement?

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #132

May 312014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving 45 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the contact was unsure about the diagnosis or what part needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags); however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #131

May 162016


  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While the vehicle was stationary, the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 86,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #130

Apr 182016


  • miles


Takada inflators. My 2002 Honda Accord has had 2 recalls on the driver side inflator or airbag. The SRS light is on all of the time. I explained that the light used to come on and go off when it was very humid or had rained. After several months of that, the light came on and never went off. I asked the dealer if they would contact Honda and ask if they could replace both airbags or inflators on the driver and passenger side. They said they wouldn't fix it since it hadn't been a part of the recall. They replaced the driver side inflator/bag and sent me on my way with the SRS light still on. Recently I had another recall for the driver side inflator. Once again I requested that they contact Honda to get authorization to fix the passenger side since the SRS light is still on. Once again I was told they wouldn't do so as it isn't part of the recall. Given the history of the injuries and deaths related to the SRS/inflators, why wouldn't they investigate to see what the problem was? I can't afford to do so myself. Then the dealership told me he'd note in the history that I "refused to fix it". I went ahead and scheduled a time to take it in for the recall for the driver side inflator. After I got off the phone, it really made me mad the way the dealer implied that this was my problem and note the history. So, I called the Honda recall number back and asked them to note on the history of my car that I informed Honda and the dealership that there was an issue with the SRS light and they chose to not even look into the problem. I'm writing this to put Honda on notice that I have notified them of the SRS problem and requested that they fix it under the recall and was told "no" twice! a quick search on the internet makes it obvious that this is a known problem that has been brought to Honda's attention and they chose to ignore it.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #129

Nov 182015


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Honda Accord. While the contact's vehicle was making a U-turn, it was struck head on by a truck. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the neck, shoulder, back, and feet. Medical attention was not required. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000. Updated 05/18/16

- Kirkland, WA, USA

problem #128

Mar 032016


  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owned a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the dealer performed a recall repair on the vehicle pertaining to the air bags; however, the air bags would not fully deploy after the repair. While driving approximately 25 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front driver side of the contact's vehicle. The contact's vehicle was pushed out into an intersection and was struck by another vehicle on the front passenger side. The vehicle was destroyed and only the right side curtain air bag deployed. A police report was filed. The driver sustained a broken neck that required intensive medical treatment. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The insurance company towed the vehicle to a yard and the contact was waiting to determine if the insurance company and the manufacturer would be able to investigate why the air bags did not fully deploy. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The failure mileage was not available.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #127

Dec 242010


  • miles
Takata recall, head on collision on highway, the airbag dash opened up, airbag canister/inflator shot out with airbag hitting me in chest fractured sternum. Re:10795239.

- Grafton, OH, USA

problem #126

Dec 102015


  • 74,965 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving 15 mph, the contact noticed an abnormal noise coming from the front driver side air bag. The air bag deployed inadvertently. The contact swerved, lost control of the vehicle, and drove over a curb. The front driver side seat belt pretensioner activated. The driver sustained minor cuts, and head and neck injuries that did not require medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the driver side air bag, both seat belts and buckles, and a sos unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and sent out a field representative to inspect the vehicle. The failure mileage was 74,965.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #125

Dec 012015


  • 47,000 miles
May have to do with takata recall. As long as I've had the car (I bought it new) the airbag light has gone on and off intermittently. I've had all recall work done. The light persists in coming on intermittently. Every time my car is at the dealership for service I ask them to check this matter to see why that's happening, and every time they tell me it's not a problem and the airbags and the light are functioning as they're supposed to. I can't believe that's true. Something must be wrong for that to happen. I notice that they never make mention of having checked this out on the service order. This happens at any time, moving, stationary, any type of street or highway, turning, etc. It can happen at any time and under any conditions. It has always been to the same dealership for service. I'm really becoming concerned about the safety factor and if I would have a failure of the airbags to deploy when needed. About a year ago I was rear-ended--hard--and the airbags didn't deploy. I don't know if they should in a rear-end collision, but they didn't. I couldn't give a date as per your format because this has occurred from 2002 until the present, 2015, so the date I entered below is today's date. I also could not give a mileage because this has occurred from 0 miles to the 47,000 miles the car now has on it.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #124

Dec 242010


  • miles
Takata recall, in 2010 we were in an accident, I was on the passenger side. We were hit head on. The dash came off and what looked like a small rocket came out and hit me in the chest breaking my sternum bone in half, then the air bag opened. Recently I saw on television the canister for the airbag and it was the same size. I believe what hit me, was first, the canister before the airbag opened. Police were called and I was transported to the hospital. The vehicle was moving on a highway. We are from Ohio and were visiting my son, using his car on Dec. 24th, 2010. I was taken to yavapai medical center in prescott valley Arizona. There are hospital records, police and insurance records. Car was totaled.

- Grafton, OH, USA

problem #123

Jul 302015


  • 219,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the vehicle shook and made an abnormal noise. The SRS and maintenance lights illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 219,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #122

May 022015


  • 194,511 miles
I took my vehicle in for an airbag recall recently and as I was driving back home and stopped at a traffic light the red light SRS appeared. It stayed on for a few seconds and went out as I was driving. It did this a couple of times and finally it just stayed on. Since I've had this vehicle I've never had this happen. I called the dealership when I got home and they told me they didn't do anything other than replace the airbag and that it was the seatbelt restraint system. Light is still on now. The only seatbelt that is used is mine as I am the only driver of my vehicle. I don't know what caused the light. Please let me know the outcome so I will know how to proceed. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #121

Mar 162015


  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a manufacturer's recall repair and the dealer replaced the air bag in the steering wheel. Months later, the side curtain air bag warning lights flashed randomly and the SRS warning light remained illuminated. The dealer was notified of the failures that happened after the recall repair and was to inspect and diagnose the vehicle to determine the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was not experiencing the failure before the recall repair was performed by the dealer. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #120

Nov 192014


  • 62,500 miles
Faulty SRS dash air-bag status lamp lights-up; malfunction of air-bag control module sensor system disabling air-bag deployment - code 723505----dealer diagnosis 7/15/15: "faulty / malfunctioning occupant (passenger) detection sensor in right front seat back----dealer solution: "replace entire occupant (passenger) right front seat back for $595"----the SRS light and code have been cleared twice and is now back and on again----please help and make Honda fix it properly so it doesn't recur----

- Oakland Gardens, NY, USA

problem #119

Mar 112008


  • miles
Was going home after a interview and got T-boned. Both airbags deployed and the driver side airbag with excessive force. Had to go to the emergency room because my arm had a huge knot on it and looked broke. Doctor said it wasn't broke but was bruised to the bone. Had to take theraphy for several months.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #118

Jul 182015


  • 168,500 miles
I was traveling on a three lane road on the morning of 7-18-15. A vehicle in front of me in the middle lane suddenly slowed down. To avoid hitting that vehicle I swerved to the right lane and into the bike lane. I went up the curb with the passenger side of the vehicle and continued on, while braking, and hit a light pole just behind the curb. I had 'help' going up the curb as a farmer (who farms the parcel adjacent to the accident site) had built an illegal 40 ft 'ramp' up the concrete curb with asphalt to allow access for his farm equipment. The driver's side of the vehicle stayed on the road traveling along the curb (in the gutter). The driver's airbag did not deploy. Estimated speed was 50mph per the county sheriff. The vehicle has been inspected by our insurance company and is a total loss. Had to go to the hospital for ct scan of the head as I hit the windshield. Suffered from temporary amnesia and slurred speech. We went to the town officials and reported the 'ramp' and it was removed almost immediately. We need Honda to inspect the vehicle (which was towed to our home) but after a week of leaving voice mails for the case manager we are still waiting a return call. The insurance company want to take the vehicle but we want it inspected to understand why the airbag did not deploy. Note: We received an airbag safety recall notice on 7-27-15 (after the accident) but I think this notice is for a different issue with the airbags (not a deployment issue).

- Queen Creek, AZ, USA

problem #117

May 282015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of nhsta campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New City, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?