Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
55,565 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jun 052016


  • miles


I have no seat belt light and my SRS light will not go off

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #22

Apr 032016


  • miles
Passengers side seatbelt is locked and will not allow passengers to buckle

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #21

Dec 102015


  • 74,965 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving 15 mph, the contact noticed an abnormal noise coming from the front driver side air bag. The air bag deployed inadvertently. The contact swerved, lost control of the vehicle, and drove over a curb. The front driver side seat belt pretensioner activated. The driver sustained minor cuts, and head and neck injuries that did not require medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the driver side air bag, both seat belts and buckles, and a sos unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and sent out a field representative to inspect the vehicle. The failure mileage was 74,965.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #20

May 022015


  • 194,511 miles


I took my vehicle in for an airbag recall recently and as I was driving back home and stopped at a traffic light the red light SRS appeared. It stayed on for a few seconds and went out as I was driving. It did this a couple of times and finally it just stayed on. Since I've had this vehicle I've never had this happen. I called the dealership when I got home and they told me they didn't do anything other than replace the airbag and that it was the seatbelt restraint system. Light is still on now. The only seatbelt that is used is mine as I am the only driver of my vehicle. I don't know what caused the light. Please let me know the outcome so I will know how to proceed. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #19

Jul 162015

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles
I started my car one morning and the SRS light came on. I had I T tested via computer and it showed drivers side seat belt buckle sensor, Honda on 500 yonkers ave, yonkers will not repair at no cost, american Honda explained that as well to me on case # N012015-07-2000208, I do not understand as it is a safety problem, my Honda book reads seat belts and components have a lifetime warranty and the buckle with sensor is a component and therefore my SRS stays lit, it also reads that if it does stay lit my airbags will not deploy, can you do anything to help me with this problem MA 10/25/15

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #18

Jul 312014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 71,663 miles
I slowed down at a traffic light and my car was rear ended by another car who failed to apply the brakes and/or may have hit the gas pedal instead of the brakes. The car has been deemed a total loss as the car chassis seems to be crumpled. What I find very surprising is that neither the seat belts tighten nor the air bags were deployed despite being hit so hard. I was wondering what may have been the reason and what needs to be done so that it doesn't happen with anyone else.

- Wynnewood, PA, USA

problem #17

Jun 162014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 108,201 miles


Car was headed West in the left lane of a four lane highway. A big SUV headed in the opposite direction was turning to the left. He didn't have time to go and stopped right in my lane. My car hit hers on the passenger side. When we crashed, both of my air bags exploded. I thought my car was on fire because smoke was coming from the bags. My right arm and hand swelled up so big and is still painful. I think there must be medal embedded in my arm. Blood was gushing from my arm and right knee. The inch gash in my right knee was on top of my total knee replacement. This had to be stitched up. I had contusions on my chest, arm and left knee. My ribs and sternum were bruised badly. My right ankle was fractured. My car was totaled. I was taken by ambulance to emergency and stayed until June 26, 2014. I was ordered to put no weight on my right leg and was transported by ambulance to a medical rehabilitation center. Before my release from there, I developed pneumonia and could not leave until July 14, 2014. I still have to have surgery on my left knee for torn meniscus. That surgery is scheduled for September 9, 2014. My back was fractured also; however, I have not scheduled that surgery as of yet.......updated 09-03-14 updated 11/26/2014

- Tucker, GA, USA

problem #16

May 012013


  • 150,200 miles
SRS warning light came on while parked. Took vehicle to dealership, where diagnostic service showed the driver's side seat belt detection mechanism was failing to function properly. This safety system is connected to the airbags, but is not covered under warranty (per american Honda and local dealer). This malfunction is a known problem, but Honda will not repair/replace without charging customer, thereby putting lives and safety at risk in the name of profit.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #15

Sep 172006

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
My uncle was traveling on a state highway when his 02 Honda hydroplaned on a rainy afternoon and hit head on with another vehicle. My three month old daughter sustained severe head trauma and died at the hospital a little later. Eleven days later my uncle died from severe bleeding and brain damage. Honda said nothing was wrong with this car. My daughter who was 2 at the time was a passenger along with two other cousins, they all came out fine. Now 6 years later we received a recall notice about the airbags and I'm concerned that this vehicle was not safe enough and could have been the main result in my daughters death.

- Mt Pleasant , TX, USA

problem #14

Jul 212011

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord LX. The contact stated that she was involved in a crash while traveling 55 mph. The air bags failed to deploy and the seatbelt did not restrain the contact. The contact was not reported injured however. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic however, the failure could not be duplicated. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 11/9/12 the consumer stated due to the accident she had to have open heart surgery. Her chest hit the steering wheel and she broke her arm. The consumer also had an aneurysm that could have been caused by the accident. Updated 11/29/2012

- Sale City, GA, USA

problem #13

Jul 162012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 137,000 miles


I took my car for a NHTSA recall 11V-260 (driver's airbag inflator) to; hugh white Honda 1360 auto mall dr columbus, oh 43228-3662 (614)922-1111 on July 16, they fixed the issue, however now I have an SRS light on the dashboard that won't go away. I was told that it is related to the seat belt issue. If that is the case, then the seatbelts should have been part of recall as well. If it does not work then what is the point of having the recall. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hilliard, OH, USA

problem #12

Jul 062006

Accord 6-cyl

  • 36,500 miles
SRS light stays on. Seat belts were replaced and warning light reset, but came on after a couple of miles. Now there is a recall on the air bag inflators, but the seat belt control module, which activates the inflators is defective, and not covered under any update or recall program. I understand that the air bags will not deploy in a crash if the SRS light is on. This is a fairly common problem and in my opinion should be covered under a federally mandated safety recall with no charge to the consumer.

- Madison, MS, USA

problem #11

Jun 102010


  • 139,358 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the SRS warning light illuminated while driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they confirmed a seat belt malfunction. The manufacturer was contacted, but the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 139,358 and the current mileage was 157,000.

- St Joseph, MI, USA

problem #10

Jul 132011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
My 8 years old grandson became entangled in the seat trying to get out of the car. The seat belt locked and he was unable to move. He managed to squirm out but his foot got caught in the belt. The belt twisted and I was unable to loosen it working on it for 15 to 20 minutes. The belt became tighter each time I tried to release it. His foot became red as there was not any circulation to his right foot. I ended up returning home and cutting the seat belt in order to release him. The seat belt is on the passenger side in the back. I have not fixed the belt and feel like Honda should replace the belt free of charge. I have notified Honda. Hopefully they will replace the seat belt free of charge.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #9

May 052005

Accord 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
2002 Honda Accord V6 coupe -- SRS system light on the dash is on. This indicates that SRS system, including safety devices (seat belts and airbags) may not be working correctly. The problem was at first intermittent. I read that there was recall in regards to the seat belts and that was causing the problem. I took the car in to the Honda dealer for servicing. He did not acknowledge the safety recall and said they would troubleshoot it and I have to pay for it. The light is solid on for past couple of years.

- Granada Hills, CA, USA

problem #8

Mar 122008

Accord 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving at speeds of 5 mph and abruptly depressing the brake pedal, the seat belt failed to engage and lock the contact into position. The SRS air bag warning light also illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer replaced the seatbelts at the owners expense. They were unable to determine the failure in the air bags and advised that they would have to manually deploy the air bags in order to determine if they were fully operational. Although there was a recall for the air bags for his year, make and model, his VIN was not included with the recall campaign (NHTSA campaign id number: 10V041000: Air bags). There were no repairs made to the air bags. The VIN was not available at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 75,000 and current was 90,000. Updated 06/25/10. Updated 06/29/10.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #7

Jan 232010

Accord 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
My 2002 Honda Accord V6 coupe has a problem with the safety restraint system. I brought it to dealer, and I was told that it was a seat belt buckle switch failure, and it would cost $200+ to fix, even though the owners manual states that all seat belt problems have a lifetime warranty. I refused to pay to have it fixed, and they sent me away, informing me that the SRS system is shut down. This is a big safety concern for me, and I feel they should fix the problem. I have read online that there are many people with the same problem I have on their Accord. I would appreciate any help you could give me. Thank you

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #6

Nov 112009


  • miles
Transmission slipping and smoking, this has caused a hardship for our family due to the fact that this is our main mode of transportation. My wife is afraid to even drive the car and refuses to place our son in the car.

- Naashville, TN, USA

problem #5

Dec 022007

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The SRS light illuminated and is related to the air bag system and seat belt. The seat belts have a lifetime warranty. The dealer stated that there was a faulty sensor in the seat belt latch, which is not included in the extended warranty. The seat belt sensor costs $170 to repair. The current and failure mileages were 53,000. Updated 03-05-08 the consumer stated the dealer informed him if the seat belt latch is faulty the air bag sensor will be inoperable. Updated 03/05/08

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #4

Nov 162006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
SRS light came on and stayed on during a 500 mile trip after stopping and turning the engine back on. This meant the safety restraint systems such as seat belt tensioners and airbags would not function until SRS problem is corrected. Required a service call to dealer to order new SRS unit and replace. Not covered under any warranty. Replacement will be done Dec 1 so not sure if this will correct the problem. So must continue to drive car without safety restraint system functioning.

- Slidell, LA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?