Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure, subframe rust, & problems with the airbag system (SRS). We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

Subframe rust near the front passenger side wheel has become a problem recently, due to the poorly positioned A/C drain hose directly above that area. Repair cost to the subframe is over $2,000.

The SRS warning light likes to come on due to a defective seat belt sensor -- typically the driver's side. This sensor is covered under Honda's lifetime seat belt warranty, but some dealers charge a $100+ "diagnostic fee" or tell customers the entire SRS unit ($800) is bad.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,983 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda Accord transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 11 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #136

Feb 202009

Accord

  • 57,020 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving out of a local business the car began to act like it was going into neutral gear. The RPM's would rev up and the car would jerk into the next gear as the accelerator was pressed. This occurred after the car was driven for approx. 20 min. The car was taken to dealership where it was stated that it was in need of a new transmission. The car is getting a new transmission installed.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #135

Jul 152008

Accord

  • 55,000 miles
I own a 2002 Honda Accord ex-V6. However, at only 60,000 miles, the car's transmission is failing. While driving on the highway at approx. 55 mph, the car suddenly, without warning, downshifted from 4th gear to 3rd gear, then progressively came to a complete halt. Luckily for me, as well as the passengers in the car, I was able to pull over before the other cars on the highway could crash into me. I took the car to a mechanic who performed a diagnostics test, and informed me that the transmission was at fault. Now I'm told that I will have to replace the entire transmission, which may cost $3000+. when I purchased the car, I was unaware that this model had a persistent transmission problem. With so many complaints from other Honda owners both online and offline, I'm convinced that Honda is aware of the issue, but refuses to accommodate its loyal customers and expect us to pay, knowing they built their cars with faulty parts. They expect us to pay full price for the car, then pay extra down the line even though this is a potentially life threatening problem. This shows a complete disregard for the safety of it's customers. Ever since my frightening experience on the highway, I believe this is a potentially dangerous issue that deserves a recall, because one of the worst things that can happen to us drivers, is a vehicle that fails to perform, especially under risky conditions. I appreciate this forum, where I'm able to voice my complaint. I'm pleading with the NHTSA to investigate this problem and encourage Honda to recall the faulty vehicles. I'll be happy to answer any questions and willing to accommodate this investigation however possible. Thank you.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #134

Jan 312009

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,600 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the automatic transmission needed to be replaced. While attempting to accelerate from a stop, the engine suddenly revved. The check engine indicator and the D4 indicator illuminated. The dealer stated that there was an internal dark fluid in the transmission and it needed to be replaced. The repair would cost over $2,000. She called and faxed a letter to the manufacturer, but has not yet received a response. The current mileage was 73,605 and failure mileage was 73,600. Updated 03/23/09. Updated 03/23/09.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #133

Feb 062006

Accord

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Honda Accord transmission slippage, resulting in dangerous driving situation. Honda dealer denies there is a problem.

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #132

Jan 172009

Accord

  • 63,000 miles
No event led to the failure. My 2002 Honda Accord with 63000 miles started on a cold day and the check engine light and D4 light started to blink. After taking it to the Honda dealer "Liberty Honda" where all the servicing has been done including the 60K service they determined it needed a transmission. They called Honda America and they claim to have a deductible of $750. To replace the transmission and I would get a 3yr 36K/mile warranty. I plan to take it into the dealer to get it repaired, but feel I am being taken. From the sound of it Honda knows about the problem and are replacing the pats for free and making me pay for the labor. A recall is in order.

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #131

Dec 292008

Accord

  • 968,250 miles
Transmission on 2002 Honda Accord ex V-6 failed at just under 100,000K. Incident happened on busy highway and put myself and passengers in serious risk. Honda accepts no liability for an obvious defect in equipment.

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #130

Jan 052009

Accord

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Honda Accord with 115,000 miles; 15000 over warranty; check engine light came on last wk.; while on interstate car began to shake. Took in and Honda reports it needs new transmission. Reports no longer under warranty. Problem is: This problem is a recurring problem that puts those that continue to drive these cars in danger. Because of the high number of complaints; not to mention the fact that the 2000 and 2001 models have been recalled and have the same exact transmission as the 2002, this vehicle should be recalled. I am ashamed that Honda is not standing behind their product!!!

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #129

Jan 052008

Accord

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle began shifting from second to third gear, which caused the vehicle to jerk and the rpms to race. The vehicle showed no signs of failure prior to the transmission failing. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the vehicle has internal transmission failure. The repair would cost $3,000. The vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer stated that there were no current recalls on the transmission; therefore, they would not cover any expenses. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 100,000 and current mileage was 114,000.

- Whitehouse Station, NJ, USA

problem #128

May 072008

Accord

  • 101,929 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving 15 mph he noticed that the vehicle hesitated, shifted gears and caused the vehicle to pull forward with excessive force. The failure occurred intermittently and failed completely. A local technician stated that the vehicle had and internal transmission problem and the transmission would have to be rebuilt. The estimated cost of repairs would be $2,500. The vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was out of warranty and no repairs could be made. The failure mileage of the vehicle was 101,929.

- Los Vegas, NM, USA

problem #127

Nov 252008

Accord

  • 92,000 miles
I have a 2002 Honda Accord coupe with 92,000 miles on it. I just found out today that the transmission is bad and needs to be replaced. When I searched the internet, I found out this is a really common problem with Honda Accord - specifically 2002 models. I'm extremely disappointed as I have always had Honda based on their purported reliability. With all of the complaints, why hasn't Honda recalled or extended the warranty on the transmission?

- Bismarck, ND, USA

problem #126

Nov 202008

Accord

  • 70,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Honda needs to recall their terrible transmissions in the 2002 Accord ex V-6S. If these fail in traffic on an interstate it could cause serious issues. Luckily, mine did not fail on the interstate. The company offers no financial help to people when these trannys go out at 50, 60, 70,000 miles. Really unethical and dangerous.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #125

Aug 222008

Accord

  • 155,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. After starting the vehicle and shifting gears, the shift indicator illuminated and began flashing on the instrument panel. The driver was able to shift into first, second, and third gears; however, it would remain in second gear, which was the default gear. As a result, the contact was unable to drive over 40 mph. If the gears were shifted manually, the vehicle would operate normally. The vehicle was not diagnosed by a Honda dealer; however, an original Honda transmission control module was purchased and installed by an independent mechanic. The vehicle operated normally for approximately one month. The vehicle can only be driven at 30 mph, which could cause the transmission to fail. When attempting to drive forward after approaching a stop sign or traffic light, it took 25 seconds or more for the vehicle to accelerate. The manufacturer stated that there was a recall, but then later stated that there was only a service bulletin related to the tcm. The failure mileage was 155,000 and current mileage was approximately 162,000.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #124

Feb 012008

Accord 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I have a 2002 Honda Accord ex-L V6 purchased in 2004 with 20,000 miles. At about 90,000 miles, the transmission has started slipping and jerking. I am very unhappy and it is going to cost a lot of money to repair.

- Collins, GA, USA

problem #123

Nov 102008

Accord

  • 89,387 miles
On 10/17/06, took 2002 Honda Accord (automatic transmission) mileage 65,460 to Honda dealer "transmission slipping". recommended/performed transmission flush (even though maintenance schedule according to owners manual recommends 120K or 6 yrs). On 11/9/08, noticing slipping & jerking again when car shifted gears. On 11/10/08, car failed to move forward while at stop sign, check engine light immediately came on. Turned car off, then back on drove fine to Honda dealer. Again mentioned the transmission problem to dealer - this time out come "needs a new transmission". not sure why in 2006, they could perform a transmission flush to fix the problem and when same problem occurs again 2 years later, this time needs a new transmission? it is common knowledge that there have been many failed and replaced transmission in the 2002 Honda Accord.

- La Mirada, CA, USA

problem #122

May 012008

Accord

  • 75,000 miles
The transmission in my 2002 Honda has failed causing jerking and hesitation while making turns and or starting and stopping in traffic. This is the same transmission that was recalled on the 2001 Honda and given an extended warranty but nothing is being done for the 2002 Honda. Thousands of 2002 are having transmission failures between 50,000 and 80,000 miles on them. Honda is charging between $2500 and $4000 for transmission replacements.

- Taft,, CA, USA

problem #121

May 092008

Accord

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the vehicle would slip and jerk when he shifted or attempted to shift. Occasionally, the vehicle jerked forward after accelerating from a traffic light. The failure has worsened and is occurring more frequently. His wife also stated that the vehicle would become stuck in the turn when turning the steering wheel. The manufacturer was unable to assist because the vehicle was out of warranty. The dealer has not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 80,000 and failure mileage was approximately 75,000.

- Taft, CA, USA

problem #120

Feb 102008

Accord

  • 150,000 miles
My 2002 Honda Accord was purchased brand new with 50 miles on it in November 2001. I am currently at 150,000 miles. Scheduled routine maintenances have always been completed, and I have had no problems with the car until recently. I started noticing a slight hesitation upon starting off several months ago. The check engine light came on. I thought I might have gotten bad gas and put in gas treatments for several trips. The check engine light would not turn off and the hesitation continued. I had a diagnostic done and it reported that the egr valve needed to be checked or replaced. I had the valve replaced. The car appeared to work fine for the next several months. Earlier last week as I started off to work, the car would not shift into the next gear. The check engine light came on and the drive gear on the dashboard started blinking. I immediately stopped, put the car in gear and shut the engine off. I turned it back on and the car hesitated for a few seconds before going into the correct gears. The check engine light remained on. I went to have a diagnostic done and 2 reports ran -- one for an egr valve and one about possible transmission failure. The egr valve had already been replaced so I took it back to see what the problem was this past Saturday. The valve was flushed/cleaned and the light went off. I also had my battery replaced. There was no leak in my transmission and the fluid level/color was ok. Everything went fine. This morning, the car hesitated again and would not shift into the next gear. The check engine light came on and the drive gear on the dashboard was blinking. Several cars were behind me. I tried to accelerate to keep from getting hit, but the car went slower and slower. I had another diagnostic run this morning -- possible transmission failure or low transmission fluid. The attendant checked my levels. Everything was ok. It's the transmission. Autobeef.com reports this with 2002 Honda. A recall needs to be done.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #119

Oct 302008

Accord

  • 31,000 miles
2002 Honda Accord was diagnosed by jerry damson Honda in huntsville al. As needing a new transmission due to internal transmission issues. Vehicle only has 31,000 miles. Dealer said this was a common problem with this model. Contacted Honda customer service and they said they had complaints but offered no help in repairing the vehicle. Obviously everyone is aware of the transmission problems based on my conversation with the dealer and Honda. Not to mention it's all over the internet. Why has there not been a recall or some type of investigation into this issue? the consumer certainly deserves better. Thanks in advance for any help in this matter. Best regards, robert english

- Bluefield, WV, USA

problem #118

Sep 012008

Accord

  • 95,000 miles
2002 Honda Accord transmission slipping, dealer quoted around $3-4K.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #117

Oct 292008

Accord 4-cyl

  • 138,750 miles
I purchased a brand new 02 Honda Accord SE 4-cycl for approximately $22,000. In 2007 I began to notice a severe jerking when shifting from 2nd to 1st gear. I took it into the Honda dealer to get the transmission fluid replaced and mentioned that it was jerky. They replaced the transmission fluid and stated that everything else was fine. The jerking continued to occur. Approximately 1 year later I notice my car revving while in first gear. Today my car has indicated transmission failure and is no longer usable. I am currently without my vehicle for transportation to work and I now must pay for a new transmission. The automatic transmission design is faulty as it should not have failed at 138,000 miles; especially as a Honda. The transmission should be recalled because now I must pay thousands of dollars to replace a component that should not have failed prematurely when properly maintained.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?