Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2003 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure & problems with the stereo backlight failing. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

The stereo backlight problem has been an issue since these Accords were only a few years old. Honda eventually issued a recall which covered the repair for 7 years/100k miles, which was nice while it lasted but now that period is over. Honda initially was replacing the entire radio ($800) but eventually began replacing just the PCB which at ~$300 is much cheaper. That sounds like a deal, but keep in mind we're talking about a backlight bulb that costs $2 to fix in most other cars.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
47 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,544 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #145

May 272014

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact's client owned a 2003 Honda Accord. While the client was driving approximately 50 mph, another vehicle crashed head on into the front driver side. The air bags failed to deploy. The client sustained a broken hip, broken knee, broken leg, cracked ribs, and injuries to the face that required medical attention. The occupant in the other vehicle was also injured. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V370000 (air bags). The failure mileage was not available.

- Round Mountain, TX, USA

problem #144

Jun 122015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V37000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #143

Aug 132015

Accord

  • miles
Pursuant to recall notice issued by american Honda motor co., Inc. (dated July 2015) regarding driver's front air bag inflator, the referenced vehicle was taken to an authorized Honda dealer where at the replacement driver's front air bag inflator was installed. Following replacement, the air bag system warning light remains on most of the time. Sometimes it goes off after starting but then comes on while driving. It's not only distracting, but frightening not knowing whether the inflator will detonate. It's also unnerving having to drive without an airbag system as a result of the recall. Can we have the old inflator put back in, at least there would be a functioning air bag system.

- Newton, NJ, USA

problem #142

Sep 292006

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was completely stopped at red light, in my safety belt as noted in police report. Subsequent details are noted police report. My vehicle air bag burned me very severely, and caused subsequent damage to my left elbow to which I sustained a fracture and calcium deposit and arthritis at age 30. I am a single mother and was put in a cast due to the air bag burn. I still have the scar from the air bag burn, and the emotional reminder from the burn of that air bag knowing there could have been something done is a just horrible!

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #141

Aug 202015

Accord

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. While driving 55 mph, the front passenger side curtain air bag deployed without warning. The air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #140

Aug 222015

Accord

  • 105,147 miles
I took the vehicle to get the airbag safety recall done. When the dealer (autonation Honda 2999 West 104th ave. Westminster, co 80234) advised me the car was ready to pick up and the safety recall was complete...the airbag light was still illuminated on the dash. I pointed this out to the dealer and he told me they made the repair, but they will charge me to turn the light off (an additional $99 for an alleged no charge safety recall). The warning light advises the driver the vehicle is safe, or not safe. Right now the light advises the drive the repair is not complete. I do not believe the repair was done to safety standard with the light still illuminated.

- Superior, CO, USA

problem #139

May 012015

Accord

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 7/21/15 I took my Honda to the dealer at 9213 harford road, 21234, for safety recall 15V-320 & 370, and it was repaired. The SRS light came on intermittently and they scanned for code and said that the SRS unit was malfunctioning and was not covered under the recall. A repair price was quoted of $735. After further investigation, I found out that many other Honda owners had the same problem and were quite upset over this safety malfunction. I wrote a letter to Honda customer service asking for their assistance in covering the cost of repair or "lifetime" warranty coverage. This is definitely a safety issue and nothing to do with the maintenance of my vehicle which has only 64,000 miles. A rep responded by phone and said there was nothing they could do because the car was "old." Whether the car is older or new, this is still a "safety" problem that many owners are experiencing and should be addressed by the Honda company or the NHTSA. The dealer did not give me a code number after the scan so I don't even know if it was correct. I request your assistance in checking out the safety issue on the SRS units in the Honda Accord. I don't know if anyone has been hurt because of this malfunction, but it could happen. I would appreciate a recall and assistance in replacing the unit, if that is the cause. I purchased this vehicle new and have not had many problems outside of a few recalls. I plan to keep it as it is not in my budget to acquire a new vehicle at this time. Safety of Honda vehicle or any vehicle is of utmost importance in their marketing.

- Perry Hall, MD, USA

problem #138

Jan 022015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V370000 (air bags) was received in January of 2015. After notifying the dealer, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #137

Mar 022015

Accord

  • 90,000 miles
A safety recall has been initiated on both of my front air bags. Honda of nc refuses to replace. Leith Honda on capital blvd. Set an appointment for me. When I arrived they informed they did not have the part. Autopark Honda in cary I have attempted to contact three times. Each time they tell me they will order the parts and call me. They have not called. It has been over four months, several phone calls and one trip to the dealership and Honda of nc refuses to replace my defective air bags.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #136

Feb 192015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to do the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #135

Jan 012015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete driver front airbag inflator recall notice.

- Pacifica, CA, USA

problem #134

Jun 152015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V370000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #133

Jun 022014

Accord

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while operating the vehicle, the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the driver side seat belt and the passenger side air bag were faulty and would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Washington , DC, USA

problem #132

Jun 252015

Accord

  • miles
I was driving 40 mph when I hit the truck. My car was not drivable front hood is bent down to the engine and my air bag did not deploy. My chest and my face hit the steering wheels good thing I have my two hand on the steering wheels.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #131

Jan 262015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags); however, the parts needed were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Waterbury , CT, USA

problem #130

Jan 152015

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. When the vehicle was started, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000. Updated 7/16/15 the consumer believes the failure may be due to weight on the seat. Updated 9/22/2015

- Notasulga, AL, USA

problem #129

May 282015

Accord

  • miles
Checking on air bag recall

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #128

May 012015

Accord

  • 168,100 miles
Purchased 2003 Honda Accord from a local car dealer for $5,000 on 4/8/15. Picked up tags, title and registration on 4/20 and was planning on taking vehicle to inspection on 5/2. on 5/1/15 as I was pulling out of a wawa parking lot at 20mph and the passenger air bag deployed without any type of impact to the vehicle. I had the car towed home and took it to the dealer the next day. The dealer pulled up Honda recalls for 2003 Honda Accord and advised us to take the car to a Honda dealer. We then had the car towed to Honda of turnersville. They informed us that Honda did have a recall but it did not pertain to this VIN#. seriously"??? I got an estimate from them to repair which was $3890 but they said they would not fix it due the liability. We contacted Honda corporate and they sent an inspector out 8 days later. The inspector sent his report to corporate and they informed us that the air bag was not defective. Really" since the date of purchase we have travelled a total 0F 429 miles and now it appears that we are out the $5,000.oo that we spent for this vehicle and have no car. We asked for a copy of the report from the Honda inspector but were told that we could not have one because they came out as a courtesy.

- Deptford, NJ, USA

problem #127

Dec 312014

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) through social media. The contact reached out to the dealer and was informed that the VIN was not included. A few months later, the contact took the vehicle back to the dealer for routine maintenance and was informed that the vehicle was associated with the recall; however, the parts were not available for repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was specifically associated with the recall since June 19, 2014. The manufacturer was not made aware. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/21/15 the dealer informed the consumer, the part had to be ordered. Updated 07/28/15

- Union, NJ, USA

problem #126

Apr 202015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the vehicle was not permanently registered in the state of Florida as mentioned in the recall. The manufacturer was notified and refused to honor the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Scandinavia, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?