Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure & problems with the stereo backlight failing. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

The stereo backlight problem has been an issue ever since these Accords were only a few years old. Honda eventually issued a recall which covered the repair for 7 years/100k miles, which was nice while it lasted but now that period is over. Honda initially replaced the entire radio ($800) but eventually began replacing just the PCB which at ~$300 is much cheaper. That sounds like a deal, but keep in mind we're talking about a backlight bulb that costs $2 to fix in most other cars.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 1
Average Mileage:
63,558 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Jul 092011

Accord

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph and making a right hand turn, the vehicle suddenly accelerated to 50 mph. The vehicle crashed into a pole and the airbags did not deploy upon impact. The driver was not injured during the crash. The police were not notified. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was pending an investigation. The manufacturer had not been notified. The failure mileage was approximately 62,000.

- Brook Haven, PA, USA

problem #27

Nov 152010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Loss of cruise control while driving, resulting in unexpected change in speed and operator distraction.

- Gloucester, MA, USA

problem #26

Nov 062010

Accord

  • 128,700 miles
Merging onto ct rt 8 South, I accelerated using passing gear. Unable to disengage the throttle, I put the transmission in neutral and shut off the ignition. Since I then had no power steering nor power brakes, it took almost 3 miles to stop. I reached speeds of 85-90 and had to weave in and out of traffic until I could get to the shoulder and eventually stop. After being towed to the Honda dealer, I was informed the cruise control cable wrapped around the throttle cable thus sticking it. I am having the car completely checked: Brakes, transmission, accelerator, etc. This was a Toyota moment that luckily ended with no accidents nor deaths.

- Seymour, CT, USA

problem #25

Sep 052010

Accord

  • 68,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just happened Sept.5th. No action taken thus far.; 2004 Honda Accord accelerated w/O my foot on gas and then w/I a few minutes, it wouldn't go at all. 3 women stuck on major 2 lane highway on the way back from beach on labor day week-end. Very dangerous and scary and unsafe. I would say that the transmission is faulty and that Honda is responsible for what could have been a major accident. I am concerned for the safety and well-being of other Honda Accord owners that are not aware of this safety issue. Police and tow truck were needed.

- Belmont, CA, USA

problem #24

Aug 132004

Accord

  • 93,236 miles
On 4 instances I have been in my 2004 Honda Accord where it has suddenly accelerated and the RPM's will jump up and then down, even with my foot off the gas. The car has also been in park and the rpms increased to above 4. twice at a stoplight the car was revving up and I was pressing down on the gas pedal with both feet to keep it stopped. In all instances, turning off the ignition and restarting fixed the problem. I have had it totally checked out by the Honda dealership and they have found nothing wrong with the car.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #23

Jan 042010

Accord

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact attempted to accelerate from a traffic stop when the pedal became stuck in the open throttle position. The contact applied the brakes but the brakes failed to operate and crashed into the rear of another vehicle. There was one reported injury. A police report was available. The vehicle was taken to a repair facility where the mechanic advised the contact that the failure potentially occurred because the contact's feet were too wide. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred and the contact was involved in a second crash. There were no injuries. A police report was available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted however, never responded. The failure mileage was approximately 80,000 and the current mileage was approximately 96,000.

- Merced, CA, USA

problem #22

Jul 302010

Accord

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. While driving 35 mph, with her foot on the brakes the vehicle accelerated up to 70 mph on its own. The contact then shifted into park while driving 5 mph when she was able to turn the vehicle off. The dealer was contacted and stated that the only thing they could do was a diagnostic test that would take two days. The failure and current mileages were 78000.

- Parkland, FL, USA

problem #21

Jul 122010

Accord

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph when he depressed the brake pedal. The speed rate increased to 65 mph unexpectedly. The brakes were engaged repeatedly. The vehicle continued to accelerate. When the emergency brake was engaged the vehicle came to a stop. The engine was turned off. The police was called to the scene and inspected the vehicle. The police informed that the accelerator pedal was stuck. He applied slight pressure to the accelerator pedal which immediately released from the stuck position. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician was unable to duplicate the problem. Also, he stated the failure could possibly be related to the driver side floor mat or the gps charger. The contact expressed significant concern that the accelerator pedal defect had contributed to the failure. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #20

Feb 082010

Accord

  • 20,000 miles
04 Honda Accord LX 4dr sdn silver. When braking at stop-light or other stops car suddenly accelerates and I have to quickly shove it neutral it revs to high rpms a finally returns to normal rpms, it has happened on dates 2-8-10 4-5-10 4-23-10 and 5-17-10 was towed to russell & smith Honda, in houston tx. I watched them do tests on car's computer. I didn't understand all the tech part but they said everything checked ok. I have the feeling they don' believe me. It's at the dealership as of this date 5-21-10 and I'm meeting with them today at above date. I'm really afraid of driving it !! incidents dates I just put the first of 4 below I left out one thing while I was in the office and the car went back to the service-bay the service manager told me they up-dating the software on the car's computor.quote "we don't tell that to Honda".

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #19

May 102010

Accord 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Honda Accord 2004. While pulling into a parking space, the car suddenly accelerated and jumped the curb. I could not stop the car by jamming the brake. The car went into the eastbound lane of the road and hit the rear bumper of a pickup truck. The air bag opened and hit my face and caused a bloody nose and a big bruise on my left wrist. Then the car jumped the median separating eastbound lane from the westbound. Then the car stopped, the engine was still on and the gear was in the park. The police was informed. The mileage is about 50,000. There are many complaints against the Honda Accord on internet under speed control complaints. Updated 06/23/10. Updated IVOQ 07/14/10. Updated IVOQ 08/31/10

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #18

May 072010

Accord 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2004 V6 Honda Accord with 62K miles on it. While driving on 5/7/10, the car suddenly accelerated by itself, my tachometer jumped up to 7 (red area), I used brakes and it slowed down some, then it sped up again, then it dropped down to no power. I almost had an accident and was very shaken up but managed to pull out of traffic and over. The car was towed to anderson Honda in baltimore city, Maryland. Something is very wrong with this car. Please investigate so that it will not happen to other people. I did call Honda headquarters, too and reported this.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #17

Jan 052010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
My Honda Accord 2004, V4, has unintended acceleration especially when after initial ignition, the brakes do not seem to hold the acceleration well. It has been happening on multiple days the most recent being on January 5th 2010.

- Laurence Harbor, NJ, USA

problem #16

Nov 032009

Accord

  • 72,000 miles
While driving on interstate, car accelerated without pressure of gas pedal. When brakes, applied car shock violently and was unable to stop. When safe to attempt to pull off the road, I had to :stand on the brakes, put the car in park, turned off the ignition and cruised until the car stop. The police came to my assistance and saw nothing was stuck on the gas pedal and also looked to see if my accelerator cable appeared to be stuck. It was not. When I tried to restart the car in park, the engine revived as though the gas pedal was completely depressed. Car was towed to dealership. I barely missed crashing into a pole. If there had been a vehicle in front of me, I would most like have struck it as my car accelerated to over 70 miles per hour.

- Drexel Hill, PA, USA

problem #15

Jan 102009

Accord

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. While driving less than 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated to 60 mph. The contact depressed the brake pedal with both feet, but the brakes failed to respond. He was finally able to stop the vehicle by pulling into a safe area and slamming the gear shifter into the park position. The vehicle continued to rev between 5,000-6,000 rpms. The dealer could not duplicate or determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle has not been repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure and current mileages were less than 70,000.

- Highland Heights, OH, USA

problem #14

Jan 162009

Accord

  • 114,000 miles
Driving on major highway during rush hour with my two children in the back seat, traveling at about 45 mph car suddenly accelerated to 60mph. I immediately applied the brakes but they had locked and were pushing up against my foot. I called 911 the officer told me to take my foot off brake. When I did the car immediately accelerated to 80 mph. It increased in increments of 10 to 120mph. Brakes and emergency brakes completely failed. I traveled for more than 6 miles dodging traffic before the car suddenly decelerated and the brakes re-engaged. I was able to pull to the side of the road and let police know where I was. Vehicle was towed to dealer where they found throttle body was stuck open due to soot and carbon build up. Dealer noted the throttle body looked like it had never been cleaned. Dealer suggested if I had brought the car to Honda for regular service this would not have happened. I service my car every 3000 miles my car had been serviced by Honda for tune ups and other problems in the past. I am extremely lucky to be alive. I have read 11 similar incidents on this website. Investigations need to happen before someone gets killed.

- Norton, MA, USA

problem #13

Apr 152008

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 17-year-old daughter was routinely driving to school on a rural road in our 2004 Honda Accord. She says the vehicle accelerated even as she applied brakes, and that she was unable to keep the vehicle on the road. It veered into a ditch, over large rocks placed to prevent erosion and swerved so that the front end was in the street as the remaining portion could not pull out of the ditch. The airbag also deployed.

- Toney, AL, USA

problem #12

Sep 172007

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. While pulling into a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and jumped over two curbs and a bush. The vehicle finally came to a stop when it crashed into a parked vehicle. The contact had her foot on the brake pedal during the acceleration. The air bags failed to deploy. The occupant seated in the passenger seat sustained lower back injuries because the seat belt failed to restrain the passenger and the contact. The vehicle is currently being repaired at a body shop and will be taken to the Honda dealer to be diagnosed. Police report number 07171505 was filed with the cochie county sheriff's department. The speed was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 39,000. The consumer stated the air bag light had illuminated, however there was no air bag deployment. Updated 10/10/07.

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

problem #11

Apr 212007

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. While driving 65 mph the vehicle automatically accelerated without warning. The contact depressed the brake pedal. However, the vehicle failed to stop. The vehicle automatically shifted into neutral. The Honda dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. T the current and failure mileages were 18,000.

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #10

Nov 262006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,908 miles
: the contact stated while the vehicle was placed in reverse with slight brake pressure applied, there was a pronounced vibration physically felt within the entire vehicle followed by the vehicle lurching backwards into a fence. There was minor damage to the rear fender area, and no injuries were sustained. The police were not alerted. The manufacturer was notified. Updated 12/18/2006 - the sudden acceleration failure occurred twice.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #9

Sep 202006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
: the contact stated while applying brake while traveling downhill, the brake pedal extended all the way to the floor board and the vehicle accelerated forward crashing into a tree. The contact was wearing a seat belt, and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle sustained minor damage. The police were not alerted. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem or find anything wrong. The manufacturer was alerted. Updated 11/30/2006 -

- Kailua Kona, HI, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?