Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure & problems with the stereo backlight failing. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

The stereo backlight problem has been an issue ever since these Accords were only a few years old. Honda eventually issued a recall which covered the repair for 7 years/100k miles, which was nice while it lasted but now that period is over. Honda initially replaced the entire radio ($800) but eventually began replacing just the PCB which at ~$300 is much cheaper. That sounds like a deal, but keep in mind we're talking about a backlight bulb that costs $2 to fix in most other cars.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 1
Average Mileage:
86,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #111

Aug 042015

Accord

  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag light remained illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V370000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 117,000.

- Hempstead, NY, USA

problem #110

Apr 062015

Accord

  • 88,000 miles
I noticed that the SRS light was intermittently illuminating on the dashboard of my 2004 Honda Accord. It turns out that the driver's side seat belt buckle switch is defective, according to the dealer. Honda states in their seat belt limited warranty: Time period: This warranty continues for the useful life of the vehicle warranty coverage: Honda will repair or replace, at its option, any Honda seat belt component that fails to function properly during normal use. This includes all parts and labor charges. My Honda dealer (fairfax Honda 703-934-8500) informed me that this wasn't under warranty because the component needing repair was an electrical component. However, the Honda warranty clearly states any Honda seat belt component, and does not differentiate between electrical and mechanical components. Furthermore, because of this defective component, the air bag system will fail to deploy properly in an accident. I feel that since Honda has instituted a lifetime warranty on any seat belt component failure, they should have to repair this defect without any charge to me. I would appreciate NHTSA looking into this matter.

- Oakton, VA, USA

problem #109

Mar 012013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 157,247 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. While driving 45 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated when the consumer hit a bump in the road. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags), but the remedy failed. The contact mentioned that the air bag warning light continued to illuminate after the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 157,247. Also, the battery was replaced and there was an issue with the driver's side seat belt buckle. Updated 10/26/15.....updated 11/02/15

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #108

Sep 222015

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V370000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Streamwood , IL, USA

problem #107

Jul 242015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V370000 (air bags) and 15V320000 (air bags); however, the parts needed for the repairs were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/18/15

- Y0nkers, NY, USA

problem #106

Aug 262015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. After the vehicle was started, the air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. MA 10/15/2015 updated 11/10/15.

- Needham, MA, USA

problem #105

Jul 012015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The VIN number in questions has 2 recalls and we tried going to sloane Honda dealership 9903 bustleton ave, philadelphia, pa 19115-2145 and the refused to complete the recall with always an excuse. Went times and had an appointment each time specifically for the recall and they finding some excuse. First they said that we are not the original owner(s) and my name did not appear on their system as the correct name for the vehicle even though we purchased it brand new from the same dealership back in 2004. The second time the stated that they finished the recall, however, the airbag light is still on and when I checked online as well as your website it is still listed as incomplete. The third and final time spoke to [xxx] (service manager) and made an appointment and he wouldn't even talk to me or honor the appointment. Then called Honda directly at 888-234-2138 for recall complaint and what to do about it and could never get anyone. Always busy or unavailable to take phone calls. Tried finding an email as contact info for Honda directly and there wasn't one. I do not know what else to do. The vehicle in question has a recall from the manufacturer and the dealership we originally bought it from refuses to fix the issue with always some sort of an excuse or lie to us stating that it was completed. The recall as of now is still incomplete. Please advise further. Sincerely, concerned vehicle owner information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #104

Jun 012015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) however, the parts needed to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Highland Park, IL, USA

problem #103

Jul 072015

Accord

  • 1,470,000 miles
Today's date: Tuesday, July 28, 2015. Takata air bag recall: Just rec'd a recall notice from Honda dating July 2015; I am being given conflicting information regarding the most recent consolidated recall for Honda. According to the above letter rec'd both the driver {ordered to be replaced a 2nd time even if already replaced = June 6, 2015} and the passenger side airbag. Made appointment with brewster Honda for July 7th to have both the driver side and the passenger side airbag replaced}. brewster Honda only replaced the passenger and not the driver per the newest July 2015 notice stating that this was a 'consolidated' recall and that both airbags needed replacement even if the driver's side was already replaced {which it was on June 6th). Brewster Honda said they would call me when it arrives ~ that was on July 7th and follow up 2 weeks later. I called today to find out status and I am now being told my car's recall is closed. According to the congressional June 6th meeting driver's airbags would very well need to be replaced 2xs ~ Honda is showing my car's recall as 'closed' yet they did not replace the driver side airbag the 2nd time as instructed; I do not feel safe! help!!!!!!! I would appreciate a phone call and not an email please.

- Carmel, NY, USA

problem #102

Jan 302015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V370000 (air bags) and 15V320000 (air bags); however, the parts needed for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #101

Jul 232010

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Camden, NJ, USA

problem #100

Jul 222015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V320000 (air bags) and 15V370000 (air bags); however, the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Pomona, NY, USA

problem #99

Feb 042015

Accord

  • miles
I got a safety recall notice in January 2015 and contacted colerain Honda dealer on 02/04/2015 for the replacement of the air bags. I did not hear from them until 03/10/2015 and called them back on 03/11/2015. I haven't so far heard from them to fix the recall issue. I received a second recall notice on July 2015 which reminded me to file a complain.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #98

May 052011

Accord

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V370000 (air bags) and 15V320000 (air bags); however, the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Sayreville, NJ, USA

problem #97

Jul 142015

Accord

  • 1,000,000 miles
I received a recall notice stating that the air bags needed to be replaced due to potential danger or death. I followed all Honda's directions to the letter and was given an appointment time and place for the work. When I showed up at the dealership, ourisman Honda bethesda md for the work to be done the dealer said Honda had set up a website, handed out appointments and promised customers that the work would take a half an hour, without their knowledge. That they had not agreed to participate in Honda's scheme and that I had no appointment and that they did not have the parts to do the work. Is this good service" is this what customers are to expect? how can such incompetence rebuild customer trust? is NHTSA aware of this situation"

- Wheaton, MD, USA

problem #96

May 272015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V320000 (air bags) and 15V370000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repair; however, the part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #95

Mar 262015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V32000 (air bags) and 15V370000 (air bags); however, the part do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clovis , CA, USA

problem #94

Apr 062015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part to repair the recall was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Morrobay, CA, USA

problem #93

Jan 152015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 and 14V700000 (air bags); however, the parts to remedy the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to repair the recall. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 02/01/16

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #92

May 242015

Accord

  • 127,000 miles
I was driving at a slower speed in a parking lot at wal-mart, and suddenly the side airbag curtains and passenger seat airbag were deployed. At this time there is no recall for this 2004 Honda Accord model for my VIN.

- Miamisburg, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?