Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure & problems with the stereo backlight failing. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

The stereo backlight problem has been an issue ever since these Accords were only a few years old. Honda eventually issued a recall which covered the repair for 7 years/100k miles, which was nice while it lasted but now that period is over. Honda initially replaced the entire radio ($800) but eventually began replacing just the PCB which at ~$300 is much cheaper. That sounds like a deal, but keep in mind we're talking about a backlight bulb that costs $2 to fix in most other cars.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 1
Average Mileage:
86,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Mar 022015

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a safety recall notice in March 2015. I immediately called Honda of santa cruz and made an appointment. I went to the appointment and was then told that the Honda dealership was out of parts and unable to address my airbags at that time. It is now the middle of June and nothing has been taken care of. I am worried for my life and my ten year old son's. I am fearful to drive my car and constantly anxious about this safety recall. I am very disappointed with the way that this recall was dealt with.. please let me know how this is going to be solved.

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #90

May 012015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2004 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to airbag replacement part not available to complete recall notice. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer stated the airbags were replaced by the dealer under recall. Updated 11/24/2015

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #89

May 302015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the driver side air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V353000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,000. Updated 06/15/15.

- Clovis, CA, USA

problem #88

Jun 032015

Accord

  • 86,072 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Unable to accomplish recalls 14V-351 and 14V-353 due to parts shortage. First contacted larry hopkins Honda of sunnyvale on March 27, 2015, 60+ days with no parts yet.

- Saratoga, CA, USA

problem #87

May 282015

Accord

  • 98,703 miles
Air bags replaced, after picking up car from Honda dealer; car will not start. Appears something is sucking all the juice so starter does not have enough power to start. Car worked great before (besides the kill people at low speeds thing), handed over to Honda, now wont start. Mind you this car was actually recalled in 2014 but only just now received new bags. Very un-pleased with the way Honda handled this very scary situation.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #86

Feb 242015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to air bag recall notice issues. The consumer was unable to get an appointment for three months.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #85

Nov 012014

Accord

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle shows the drivers side airbag is not working. This occurs every time I start my car.

- Marmet, WV, USA

problem #84

Jan 132015

Accord

  • miles
Letter from senator nelson on behalf of constituent re 2004 Honda Accord recall for defective airbag inflators (attn: Josiah manzo). The consumer stated part of the recall work was performed on April 9, 2015.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #83

May 222015

Accord

  • 165,000 miles
My vehicle is part of the takata airbag recall. I heard on the news this morning that it may take 2-5 years to complete this recall. In the meantime would it be safer to disconnect the airbag until it can be replaced? it seems to me that this would be the most logical solution since, even in a minor fender bender the airbag could possibly deploy and cause serious injury.

- Troutville, VA, USA

problem #82

May 132015

Accord

  • 144,489 miles
I been seeing the airbag come on and off while at a standstill and while the vehicle is in motion, yesterday while on the highway I unbuckled my seatbeat and the light came on and stayed on even after I rebuckled the belt I heard on the news about a issue with these type of cars having airbag issue

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #81

May 082014

Accord

  • 200,036 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,036.

- Castaic , CA, USA

problem #80

May 052015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #79

Mar 312015

Accord

  • 97,264 miles
Honda Accord was at a complete stop when rear ended by another vehicle. The air bag sensor did come on but the air bag did not deploy. The air bag sensor remains on after impact.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #78

Feb 192015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Americus , GA, USA

problem #77

Sep 182014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/11/15

- Ewa Beach, HI, USA

problem #76

Jan 202015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags) and stated that the dealer failed to provide a clear explanation of what parts were replaced for both recall repairs. The dealer indicated that the serpentine belt was cracked, the brake fluid was low and that the antifreeze was dirty. The dealer repaired the vehicle but did not complete both recall repairs and did not confirm if the parts were available to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the dealers repairs and the contact was waiting for a response from the manufacturer to remedy both recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Whigham, GA, USA

problem #75

Oct 282014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
On 10/27/14 I went to www.Honda.com/recalls and discovered a safety recall on the front airbags of my 2004 Honda Accord. On 10/28/14 I called jim mcnatt Honda of denton (4050 interstate 35 frontage rd, denton, tx 76210) at (888) 605-6932. They said the parts were back ordered but they would call and let me know when they were available. On 11/22/14 jim mcnatt replaced my driver side airbag but they told me the passenger side was still on back order. They said they would call me when it came in. On 2/6/15 I received the official safety recall notice in the mail and on 2/7/15 I received a voicemail from american Honda regarding the recall. On 2/6/15 I called jim mcnatt advising them of the notice I received and asked if the passenger airbag part, the one requested on 10/28/14, was available. I expressed my concerns that it?S been almost three months and no-one from jim mcnatt has contacted me regarding the back ordered part. The service adviser told me he scheduled an appointment for me on 2/25/15 to replace the passenger side airbag. This would at a minimum give him a reminder to call me before 2/25/15 if the part was still not available. As of 3/22/15 I still have not heard back from jim mcnatt and my passenger side airbag is still not repaired. The recall notice stated that if american Honda or the dealer has failed to repair the defect within 60 days from the time I first contacted the dealership (10/28/14) I may submit a complaint to the NHTSA (safecar.gov). American Honda/the dealership has failed to repair my safety defect within a reasonable amount of time and has failed at following through with what they said they were going to do.

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #74

Oct 012014

Accord

  • miles
2004 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to airbag recall notice issues. The consumer stated the vehicle has been sitting at the dealer for six weeks, because the mechanic accidentally stripped a nut on the wheel. The air bag recall was rectified.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #73

Feb 262015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #72

Nov 262011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The SRS light of my 04 Honda Accord has been on since late 2011. Since it's a long drive, I adjusted the position of my driver's seat to make myself comfortable. Somehow, the SRS light started to turn on and it has been on ever since, indicating the airbag might be deactivated. I researched online and realized it's a well-known issue related to driver's seat position sensor harness. Honda announced a safety recall back in January 2007 to fix this issue for some vehicles of certain models. The model I have was included in the recall but not the particular vehicle I have. I contacted Honda for explanation and they insisted it be my own responsibility to get this diagnosed and fixed. Many Honda owners including myself just never received any recall notice that we think we deserve. Relating this to the recent Honda scandal of under-reporting the number of people died in Honda vehicles, it could be a similar scheme of practice of under estimating the number of vehicles involved in the recall. I finally got a recall notice several weeks ago regarding the airbag inflator issue and I thought both the SRS and inflator issues would be fixed with a single service. I was wrong and the dealer only took care of the inflator not the SRS. I called Honda and they ignored my complaint once again. I hope federal regulators can investigate this case and I know I'm not alone. Life could have been lost due to non-opening Honda airbags.I believe it's a bigger problem. Please see the link below for more details of similar complaints. www.hondaproblems.com/trends/airbags/.

- Mountain Lakes, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?