Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2004 Honda Accord suffers from widespread transmission failure & problems with the stereo backlight failing. We recommend avoiding this model year like the plague.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000. Transmission failure has been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accord as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

The stereo backlight problem has been an issue ever since these Accords were only a few years old. Honda eventually issued a recall which covered the repair for 7 years/100k miles, which was nice while it lasted but now that period is over. Honda initially replaced the entire radio ($800) but eventually began replacing just the PCB which at ~$300 is much cheaper. That sounds like a deal, but keep in mind we're talking about a backlight bulb that costs $2 to fix in most other cars.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,517 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #14

Aug 172012

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact was alerted to a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 07V001000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module) and the dealer was notified but informed the contact that his VIN was not included in the recall campaign. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 84,000. Updated 11/14/12 updated 11/15/12

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #13

Jan 052012

Accord

  • 55,000 miles
The air bag warning indicator is illuminated spontaneously regardless if the vehicle was in motion or at start-up and whether the front passenger seat was occupied or unoccupied. The recall 07V001000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module) does not include my VIN.

- Germantwon, MD, USA

problem #12

Jan 012007

Accord 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. When the contact started the ignition, the SRS air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure occurred spontaneously regardless if the vehicle was in motion or at start- up and whether the front passenger seat was occupied or unoccupied. The contact stated there was a recall which could possibly be related to the SRS defect, recall 07V001000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module). The authorized dealer was notified of the failure and they informed the contact that her VIN was not included. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000. Updated 5/2/11 updated 05/19/11

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #11

Mar 012010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. (the events) moving the driver's seat forward for my 5¿ tall wife and moving the seat all the way back when I drive, I am 6¿ tall, the air bag warning light will come on. 2. (the failure) air bag warning light, happens all the time, from just minutes at a time to days at a time, a failure of the sps causes the air bag system to default to full inflation pressure, regardless of the seat position. 3. (corrections made) none. I noticed a recall for this car ¿NHTSA campaign id number: 07V001000¿ and contacted Honda motor co. For recall repair information, they checked my VIN number and said that there were no recalls for this car. I connected my obd2 scanner to the car and there were no codes. I am not alone, checking different Honda forums, there are many Honda owners with this same problem.

- Hacienda Heights, CA, USA

problem #10

Sep 282009

Accord

  • miles
The air bag sensor light for our 2004 Honda Accord is on almost all the time while driving. Sometimes goes off, sometimes just stay on the whole time we drive. I believe it's under the air bag recall (NHTSA campaign #07V001000), but when we call the dealership they said our VIN number is not in the recall list. I need to know why our VIN number is not on the list and we have the same problem that's.

- Fort Drum, NY, USA

problem #9

Aug 012009

Accord

  • 97,000 miles
Over the past 10 months, starting approximately August 2009, the air light in my 2004 Honda Accord exl would intermittently come on then go back off. More recently, it comes on a daily basis. When I buckle my seatbelt and start the car it may appear and stay on the entire time while driving. Then when I stop and turn off the car then turn it back on, the light may or may not show up again. I found that there was a NHTSA campaign number: 07V001000 for 2004 Honda Accord. "component: Air bags:frontal:sensor/control module summary: On certain vehicles, the seat position sensor (sps) detects the driver's seating position and adjusts the air bag inflation pressure accordingly. The wiring harness for the sps was attached to the seat frame in the wrong location and may have been over tightened. The sensor wire may break and cause the air bag warning light to be illuminated, and the sps to fail. Consequence: A failure of the sps causes the air bag system to default to full inflation pressure, regardless of the seat position. Full deployment of the driver's air bag can increase the risk of injury for smaller drivers in a frontal crash. Remedy: Dealers will replace the seat position sensor wiring subharness. The recall will begin on or about February 8, 2007. Owners may contact Honda at 1-800-999-1009." I contacted America Honda motor and they said that this recall was on the 2004 Accord LX and ex but not my exl model or my VIN number. I feel that my car is exhibiting the same issues and should have been included in the recall.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #8

May 012009

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact noticed that the air bag warning light would sporadically illuminate on the instrument panel, which indicated that the frontal air bags were inoperative. In the event of a crash, the air bags may not deploy. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 07V001000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module); therefore, the contact would be responsible for the repairs. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 39,000 and current mileage was 41,000. 8/7/09 updated 08/11/09.

- Walterboro, SC, USA

problem #7

Jul 222008

Accord

  • 38,620 miles
Air bags: Frontal:sensor/control module indicator light came on suddenly on July 22, 2008. Subsequent examination by Honda dealer service department revealed that the wiring harness for the sps which was attached to the seat frame was broken. Dealer denied any responsibility, as had Honda America, despite the fact that a recall announcement for this very problem was issued 1/2/2007 (NHTSA campaign number: 07V001000). They claim that my car's VIN # was not part of the recall which makes me responsible for fixing the problem.

- East Amherst, NY, USA

problem #6

May 142008

Accord 6-cyl

  • 100,112 miles
On May 14, 2008, I brought my 2004 Honda Accord ex to my local Honda dealer because the SRS (airbag) indicator came on and remained on during operation. The dealer charged me $263 for replacing the wiring harness under the driver's seat. I believe that the repair should have been completed at no charge because there is an outstanding NHTSA recall (07V001000) that specifically refers to the SRS indicator and problems with the wiring harness for 2004 Honda Accord models. My service rep at the dealership said that the VIN on my car did not fall in the VIN range for the recall, but the documentation for NHTSA recall 07V001000 does not specify a range of vins for 2004 models, only for 2005 models. I am asking that the NHTSA clarify and/or expand the VIN range for 2004 Honda Accord to include my vehicle and that the dealer reimburse me for the charges I have already paid.

- Prescott, WI, USA

problem #5

Feb 282008

(reported on)

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Honda Accord recall for seat position sensor. Consumer states that one dealer stated that they didn't have to do anything unless the warning light was on. But the other 2 dealers said they would have her car for a few hours. The consumer received a recall letter in the mail regarding a problem with the seat position sensor. Recall # 07V001000.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #4

Jul 072007

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Accord. While swerving to avoid a deer in the road, the contact crashed into the side of a tree at 30 mph. The vehicle spun twice into the same lane. The air bags deployed after the crash had already occurred. Both passengers were injured. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer and the insurance company stated that the vehicle was destroyed. The contact was unaware of the recall on the air bags at the time of the crash. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 52,000. The consumer provided photos of the vehicle, insurance information, and recall information pertaining to the vehicle. Updated 09/10/07

- Woodberry, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jun 232007

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,500 miles
I need some help with a recall problem, I own a 2004 Honda Accord, and the airbag light came on about a month ago, there was a recalled from Honda for this problem, but when I took it to the dealership, and I was told that this vehicle was not on the recall. They were refusing to fix it, they wanted me to pay for the sensor. Although it was the same sensor that was recalled by Honda, I didn't understand why this vehicle being the same model and same year was not on the recall.

- Clinton, UT, USA

problem #2

May 212006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
Vehicle air bag sensors are failing. My 2004 Honda Accord V-6 has had the air bag sensor fail twice within the first 36,000 miles. I'm told by Honda this is a common problem. When I asked if the air bag system would still work I was told no and that I should drive carefully and avoid accidents.

- Morton, IL, USA

problem #1

Mar 012005

Accord

  • miles
Re: faulty safety feature of the Honda Accord LX-G model. The consumer the side air bag off light did not signal an improper leaning of a passenger against the window. The safety feature is provided for the protection of the front seat passenger against facial injury during side air bag deployment.

- Washington, DC, USA

Not what you are looking for?