Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2005 Honda Accord suffers from transmission failure. It's not a huge widesperad problem like in prior years, but definitely still something to consider.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000.

Transmission failure problems have been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda eventually extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accords as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,256 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #10

Jan 112016


  • 82,000 miles


I did not finance my 2005 Honda; I paid cash upfront $18,000+. from the beginning I have been reporting to Honda that there is a "major" problem with the brakes! I bought the car in late September 2005;. when winter came, I noticed that my brakes would stall when it extreme weather(snow, heavy rain, extremely cold weather)! during these poor weather conditions, when I press on the brakes, the car will not stop right away. There is a heavy pulsating noise and feeling going on, and the car will not stop until I have pressed down on the brakes as far as I could and the car has continued moving for a distance. Over the years, I have reported it and have taken it back and forth to the dealership, and have been told each time that they can not find a problem! I feel as though they didn't take responsibility because I did not finance the car.there have been times when I thought that I was going to die, because of this critical brake problem. Today is Monday, January 11, 2016... the weather was extremely cold this morning (maybe around 32 degrees), and this situation with these Honda manufactured brakes occurred again. I was terrified when my I pressed down on the brakes to stop for a woman pushing a baby carriage at a school cross-walk! Honda has avoided taking responsibility for this highly dangerous problem for far too long, and many people have probably died or become greatly injured to problems such as this with their Honda vehicles! from this report I am hoping for an immediate response and action to this "highly critical" matter. Today, was the final straw! these brakes have to be recalled....I don't want to die and I certainly don't want anyone else to die because the brakes on my 2005 Honda would not stop!

- Long Branch, NJ, USA

problem #9

Jul 012013


  • 78,000 miles
I've owned my 4-dr., 6-cyl. Ex model since purchasing it from a Honda parts dept. Employee in Jan., 2007 with 24K miles on the engine. It has performed generally very well until it developed a safety-related, brake system problem that has gotten progressively worse since it first occurred-- namely, that the brake pedal has become progressively soft when applied, and recently has to be applied strenuously all the way to the floor to get even a minimal stopping response. When the problem first occurred, I began regularly checking the brake fluid level in my master cylinder. Only occasionally did the cylinder require some minimal, additional brake fluid--akin to a normal maintenance amount. Keeping my fluid to a maximum-level has not resolved the problem. This past March (2015), I requested my well-rated, independent mechanic to diagnose the problem. He first identified the same 3 earlier Honda service bulletins that I had (going all the way back to 2007) that addressed this brake problem, wherein Honda was mostly implicating a faulty ABS (control) module as the cause of the problem (note: I've never received a safety recall svc. Bulletin from Honda for this problem). My mechanic estimated that replacing my ABS module would cost over $2000, but that even then there would be no guarantee that my problem would be resolved. So, until I could decide what action to take, I had him do a front brake job to "buy" whatever extra stopping-power I could... which turned out to be minimal-to-none! not only does my problem remain, but it is getting rapidly worse... to the point that I'm reluctant make long, highway-speed trips, and am driving super-defensively so as to be able to stop the car in any kind of risky situation. I plan to appeal to the Honda America hierarchy, starting with my local dealership.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #8

May 042015


  • 150,548 miles
May 4, 2015, 2005 Honda Accord V6 stalled and all systems non-functional while driving. Accord rear-ended a car at rest at a stop sign. In November 2011, the transmission gave out on freeway. Vehicle stayed on and I was able to quickly coast off the freeway, but drive train was out and needed to be replaced (105K miles). This transmission failure seems to be consistent with other NHTSA reports. In April, 2011 the Accord began stalling and all systems failed while the car was in drive and moving. In may, 2012 the dch Honda of temecula found faulty throttle sensor and replaced the part. The vehicle has not experienced this problem again until this failure and accident. I see several reports of Accord stalling on this site. Is this a known problem? my daughter was fortunate this didn't happen when approaching oncoming traffic or the freeway. This seems like a serious safety issue.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 142014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles


Vehicle begins to shake (along with steering wheel) while braking at any speed over 45 mph. Happens during all different driving conditions and road conditions.

- Riverside, RI, USA

problem #6

Oct 012014


  • 140,320 miles
I was driving on the highway going about 75 mph. And the brakes randomly applied them self causing my car to go from 75 to 60 mph almost getting hit from behind. I have contacted Honda they said "scene they can not get the car to do it while they took it for a test drive there is nothing they can do.' I have done a ton of research on Honda. From 2003 to 2006 they have had a lot of complaints about brake problems and radio problems. The radio in my car does not work right in order for it to work right the want me to buy a new audio part. All of this on my budget. The brakes are a major safety concern and the just blow it off like nothing is wrong. I am hoping by sharing this with you guys something will be done to help make my car and other safer on the roads..

- Elizabethtown, PA, USA

problem #5

Jul 102012


  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord LX. The contact stated while at a stop light, the brake pedal was depressed but failed to respond. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle causing the air bags to deploy. The contact sustained a back injury that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer has not been made aware of the failure. The contact stated the VIN was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 11V395000 (power train). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 44,000.

- West Hempstead, NY, USA

problem #4

Jul 182013

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles


On several occasions I've experienced my car pulling itself to drive forward when I am at a complete stop.

- Sun Valley, CA, USA

problem #3

Jul 202013


  • 83,000 miles
Honda Accord 2005 seems like has faulty mechanical on the brake. I was driving down the downward the hill and my brake did not stop. I was suspicious now that my car has faulty mechanical brake because about less than 2 years ago where my car has problem did not brake properly on the freeway. Then, I replaced my brake less than 2 years ago at Honda dealer. The last time my car maintenance was April 2013 and they stated the brakes are still good.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #2

Nov 112012


  • 145,000 miles
We have had concerns about the brakes in this car since we purchased it from an individual six months ago. When you depress the brake pedal gently the car jerks forward practically sending the occupants in the vehicle through the windshield. On the other hand, when you really need to stop and apply the brakes quickly they do not respond, requiring a greater braking distance. We have taken our Honda to two Honda dealerships to register our complaints regarding our brakes and were told "this is just the way the 05 is". one individual actually laughed at the situation, which I find infuriating due to the safety factor. On Nov,11, 2012 we were on I-40 and had to stop quickly due to an accident ahead of us. The lady in front of us came to a dead stop. I was watching the situation in front of us and began slowing down and braking. I hit the brake pedal and the car slowed down, but did not come to a stop. I then applied the brakes again, pressing the pedal to the floor, the car still did not stop until it hit the car in front of us. We have shared our concerns with our insurance company and they do not seem interested. Together with a private investigator, we have found many complaints with the braking system in the Accord and other models as well. People have registered complaints just like ours, concerned for their safety..afraid to drive their car.

- Yulee, FL, USA

problem #1

Sep 192011

Accord 6-cyl

  • 81,690 miles
After investing $900 in non-wear brake component replacement since 2007 (calipers, rotors), the car began to require ever-increasing pedal effort to slow & stop. Dealer replaced brake fluid per maintenance schedule, restoring previous performance. 07november2011, pedal effort problem returned, worse than ever. $390 to replace master cylinder and problem was not corrected. 12dec2011 (84,000miles), $590 was "my half" (Honda split cost with me) to replace ABS modulator- a known problem with this model according to the dealer. This is an otherwise wonderful car but has enough siblings on the road to present a credible threat to public safety. Additionally, the @$1900 I've spent so far on brake system hardware does not include regular wear items (pads, fluid, misc) which are normal replacement cost items. I believe Honda should recall this model, inspect/replace brake components to ensure public safety, and reimburse owners who have already done the right thing in replacing defective parts that should not have ever been on the road in the first place.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?