Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Honda Accord suffers from transmission failure. It's not a huge widesperad problem like in prior years, but definitely still something to consider.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000.

Transmission failure problems have been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda eventually extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accords as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
26 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,444 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #60

Jul 152014

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V353000 (air bags). However, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Indian Harbour Beach, FL, USA

problem #59

Jul 102012

Accord

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord LX. The contact stated while at a stop light, the brake pedal was depressed but failed to respond. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle causing the air bags to deploy. The contact sustained a back injury that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer has not been made aware of the failure. The contact stated the VIN was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 11V395000 (power train). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 44,000.

- West Hempstead, NY, USA

problem #58

Jun 042013

Accord

  • miles
Air bag red icon kept coming on on dash and have been trying to get this fixed for over a year. Don't understand why Honda does not consider long island, NY, a humid territory. Honda needs to visit long island to see how humid it is. This car must be used for a road test next week and I must now pay out of pocket to get the icon off permanently and the problem fixed, as well as have the air bags replaced to ensure they are good. I would like to get reimbursed. Thank you.

- Blue Point, NY, USA

problem #57

May 312014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter rear ended another car at very low speed causing minimal damage to the front bumper and a slight dent in the hood. The impact caused the airbag to deploy, or more accurately to "detonate" sending hot metal and plastic shrapnel into the cabin. As a result of this minor accident my daughter sustained severe burns, bruises and abrasions on her arms and legs. Honda admits that the airbag was not designed with this in mind but refuses to take any responsibility other than to present me with a bill for $3700. There is no denying that my daughter was at fault in the accident but her injuries and the excessive damage (the entire steering column was blown apart) were only due to Honda's faulty airbag and safety design for which they should be held accountable..... updated 08/05/14 updated 08/11/2014

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #56

Apr 072012

Accord

  • 147,000 miles
On the dash board, a red light of airbag with a passenger sign comes up and stays on while driving. Sometimes, it may come right after the engine start and stay. Sometimes, the light would not come. When the problem started in 2012, the red light appearance was infrequent. Now, it is almost constant. Only occasionally, it may disappear.

- Basking Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #55

Apr 172014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
SRS indicator on the instrument panel goes on and off intermittently.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #54

Sep 022013

Accord

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle the air bag sensor light illuminated. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 05V344000(air bags). The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #53

Dec 152013

Accord

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact stated while driving approximately 3 mph. The air bag deployed on low impact when she hit a lamp base pole on the driver's side bumper. The contact injured her right forearm which required surgery. The vehicle was not taken to an dealer or an independent mechanic to be repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 116,000...updated 04-10-14

- Abingdon, VA, USA

problem #52

Dec 152013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 116,408 miles
Car was parked in a large parking lot..(exp. Mall parking area) started to pull through the parking spot to exit. Noticed pedestrians to my right, sharply turned steering wheel to the left, causing the car's left front bumper to hit the base of a light pole. Mph less than 5. distance of travel 2 feet. Airbag deployed, breaking both the ulna and radial bones in my right forearm, bruising of my chin. Surgical intervention required to fix fractures. Placement of 3 plates with screws. Car has a small indention on the left bumper. This air bag should not have deployed.

- Abingdon, VA, USA

problem #51

Dec 022013

Accord

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 07V001000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 73,000.

- Avon, CT, USA

problem #50

Dec 032013

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The SRS light stays illuminated while the vehicle is on. Dealership tested the system and found 2 codes. First code read the driver side seat buckle switch fault. Second code read the driver side seat position sensor fault. Both codes are causing the SRS light to stay on. The driver side seat buckle switch is covered under warranty (at 143,000 miles). The driver side seat position sensor is not covered under warranty. There was a recall issued for the seat postion sensor but my VIN does not fall within the listed vins called out on the document. Why is it that a car with two different defective parts, that are causing the same issue, not both be covered by warranty on my car but is covered for other cars that are the same model and year? now I have a new driver side seat buckle switch with a SRS light that is still on.

- Purcellville, VA, USA

problem #49

Oct 122013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 75,500 miles
Accelerator jammed in cement garage causing car to hit the wall of the garage at very high speed and severely damaging the front of the car (essentially totaling the car).

- Merion, PA, USA

problem #48

Sep 162013

Accord

  • miles
My car dashboard showing up the airbag sign on and off. I make investigation thru motor trend that this car has a problem about seat belt/buckle front driver seat. I call up american Honda at torrance ca. They told me my vehicle VIN # is not affected by this problem. This is surprise for me. The car is made by Honda. All of this kind of model should be affected by this airbag problem. As per motor trend the recall date was Jan. 03, 2007. And most affected is 2005 Honda Accord. Please help me this is not safety anymore.

- Morton Grove, IL, USA

problem #47

Aug 272013

Accord

  • 68,424 miles
Airbag light would come on after car warms up intermittantly, and stays on permanently on colder days it takes longer to turn on but eventually it will.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #46

Aug 282013

Accord

  • 226,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving approximately 52 mph, the front and rear air bags inadvertently deployed with no impact to the vehicle. In addition, the passenger's side air bag deployed. The interior roof covering also became detached at the time of the failure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis but was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 226,000.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #45

Jul 282013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 134,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact stated the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into the contact's home. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the neck, back, arm and leg. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an auto body shop. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 134,000.

- Dallas, PA, USA

problem #44

Aug 222013

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
I took my Honda in for a power steering recall that was issued and asked the Honda dealership to look into the reason why the airbag warning light was on. They called me back and said there were two fault codes one being the driver seatbelt buckle and the other being the drivers seat position sensor. I know there is already a recall on the driver seat position sensor but they said that my vehicle's VIN was not affected by the recall. Therefore, in order to fix this sensor I would have to pay to repair the part. I called Honda America and they also told me it was my responsibility to repair the part since my vehicle did not have a VIN affected by the driver seat position sensor recall. I find this odd that my vehicle is of a make model and year with a known defective part but yet it is not involved in the recall. I feel that this should be investigated further to see if there are more models that are affected by the drivers seat position sensor for the air bag.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #43

Aug 012013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Air bag faulty light comes on and off randomly. Although there is a massive 2005 Accord airbag module recall based on the NHTSA investigation 07V001000. The 2005 Accord hybrid is not on the recall list. There seems to have quite a few 2005 hybrid owners had already file the similar complaint. (under the problem with the seat section) airbag malfunction is a very serious problem, however, the problem behavior is random and majority of the customer may sees it as "glitch" since it may go away by turning the key on and off again.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #42

Jul 202013

Accord

  • 83,000 miles
Honda Accord 2005 seems like has faulty mechanical on the brake. I was driving down the downward the hill and my brake did not stop. I was suspicious now that my car has faulty mechanical brake because about less than 2 years ago where my car has problem did not brake properly on the freeway. Then, I replaced my brake less than 2 years ago at Honda dealer. The last time my car maintenance was April 2013 and they stated the brakes are still good.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #41

Jun 272013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 30,149 miles
Our Honda Accord was crossing a 4-lane street from a stop sign. A car coming from the right struck the passenger side of our Honda, causing the side air bags to deploy. However, the side air bags did not inflate, causing the passenger to receive bruises and abrasions. Note: Although this Honda Accord was a 2005, it had low mileage (30,000) and was in excellent shape. The insurance co. Totaled the car.

- Iowa City, IA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?