If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Honda Accord suffers from transmission failure. It's not a huge widesperad problem like in prior years, but definitely still something to consider.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000.

Transmission failure problems have been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda eventually extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accords as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

9.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,872.00
Average Mileage:
94,752 miles
Total Complaints:
64 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace transmission (58 reports)
  2. not sure (3 reports)
  3. change torque converter (2 reports)
  4. rebuild transmission (1 reports)
2005 Honda Accord transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #64

Jan 162016

Accord EXL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Honda Accord Coupe EXL, bought Honda Certified, maintained by Honda Dealer

64,000 miles Transmission Failed

03, 000 miles Transmission Failed

Say NO to Honda’s TRANSMISSION failure!! No one should have to financially struggle through this.

- , Boston, USA

problem #63

Dec 302015

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

After this incidence, I don't trust HONDA cars anymore. Looking around in my friend circle, Nissan and Toyota's are giving good bucks for money.

I started experiencing some disturbance, I think, around 85k miles. I did replace transmission fluid to be on safe side.

For my well serviced and maintained car, at around 103 k mile a dashboard light came up. I showed it to garage and there was a problem with gears slipping. Within few days my transmission failed and now I have a huge dent on my pocket to cover this cost.

Looking at all these comments, looks like this is "going to be" a common problem as more and more owners will hit there 100k limit soon.

SHAME ON HONDA for manufacturing such low quality, but very essential component.

- , Princeton, NJ, USA

problem #62

Nov 022015

Accord DX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 245,000 miles

Yeah, bought this car for a university student who finally went to law school. Kind of parked at 200,000 miles then I figured I would drive it. Put hard miles on it, never gave it any quarter. Don't think the transmission was ever serviced. Something happened to the dang thing on the Interstate but it kept pulling. Can't get a good a car these days.

- , London, USA

problem #61

Jul 012013

Accord EXL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Same problems as mentioned for this model year. Transmission began to slip and then completely failed minutes latter. Maintenance on the vehicle was strictly followed, oil changes/transmission etc. Specifically bought this for the reputation of being able to pull several hundred k in use. Disappointing and costly repair!

- , Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #60

May 052015

Accord Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,500 miles

2005 Honda Accord with 58,500 miles had a transmission sensor failure in September 2013. Vehicle was towed to a authorized Honda dealership and sensor was replaced. I asked the service adviser the reasoning and hey indicated that because of the age of the vehicle sensors become faulty. The vehicle in question has had text book service performed by the local authorized Honda dealership.

On May 5, 2015 the engine light came on and the drive light on the dash was flashing. The vehicle was driven to the dealership that has performed the entirety of it's service. The initial call was made indicating 02 sensor, then a full day later the service adviser called to say that a drain & fill needed to be done on the transmission and that they recommended I have them replace the belts and plugs which is normally done before 70k miles. I asked what the drain & fill was for and they replied precautionary. Skip forward to the next day and after I had to call again, the service adviser called back indicating that the transmission needed to be replaced.

There has been no mention of any issues with the transmission by any of the dealerships although is you Google Honda Accord transmission you would think you Google LaBron James with the number of results, none good.

The dealership service manager has offered to see if there is any recourse and the representatives that I have spoken to at Honda said the transmission was faulty because the car is almost 11-years old. I do have a case number N012015-05-07-00-219 that I am sure is getting tossed into the circular file as I write this. I have never owned a Honda, this was my first. I have and currently own Toyota's and Chevy's. I have never had a catastrophic problem with any previous vehicle and most have served me well over 100k and some are in the 200k owned by others.

Honda has put forward a problematic transmission that has cost them a lot of customers. I find myself in a state of shock due to the level of maintenance that this vehicle has received. I also would expect a heads up by the dealership(s) as to the well documented issues surrounding this vehicle.

- , Peoria, IL, USA

problem #59

Jan 052015

Accord EX Coupe 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles

This is the 2nd transmission failure I have had in this car in less than 10 years. First failure was at 76,000 miles. 2nd was in half the time.

Honda acts as if this is normal behavior for their transmissions. How ridiculous is that??? Reliability is the last word I would use to describe their product. Transmission failure in 36,000 miles!!???!!!?!?!? Corporate was soooo smug when I called them (what a waste of a phone call). The service adviser where I had the replacement done was a liar.

Honda will do what it takes to cover their butts, knowing an issue still exists with these transmissions. What's the point in having it replaced? They will just rebuild the same inferior product, place it in your car, and send you on your way with their fingers crossed behind their backs. What a disgrace!!! Will never buy another Honda. You can be sure I'm going to blast this EVERYWHERE. When I am done, the world will know about this!!!

- , Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #58

Mar 302015

Accord LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Honda's transmission is horrible. I had the same thing happened to my 2001 Honda Civic at 110K miles. If you own a Honda, count on having a new transmission at around 100k. I contacted the dealer and they said they don't have any known problem with the transmission which is a big lie. My next car will not be a Honda.

- , Westminster, CA, USA

problem #57

Aug 012012

Accord EXL 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,748 miles

My post reflects that of sjosh28 almost to the letter. Substitute Honda Canada for Honda America & we have the identical story. Buying new every 4-5 years for over 30 years, every service interval complied with using OEM parts.

Honda had (has) an issue that should have been handled better. Countless long time returning customers walked away. We repaired ours out of pocket as it was due to start serving university student duty. We were currently in the market for a new Accord at the time.Yes it was out of warranty but my cash on hand certainly wasn't.

Long & short........I would have been happy with a complimentary oil change from Honda Canada, a ball, hat, a cup of coffee.............anything but the one-fingered wave I received.

"So sorry, yada, yada,,yada, we hope to be able to continue to provide better products to you in the future etc.."

Subsequent follow up was replied to stating we had changed brands & wouldn't be looking back.

- , Saint John, NB, canada

problem #56

Jan 152015

Accord 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 201,946 miles

GEAR SLIPS ON RUN,WHAT TO DO?MECHANIC SAYS REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION WHOLE.

- , Jeddah, S, Saudi Arabia

problem #55

Dec 242014

Accord SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,000 miles

click to see larger images

transmission failure transmission failure transmission failure

This Honda Accord SE v6 coupe is junk , bought it from a dealer and after 6 mo the transmission failed , it's at the Honda dealership getting a rebuilt transmission for $4,500. Where will I get this kind of money? Honda isn't as great as they say .

- , Greenville, TX, USA

problem #54

Oct 102014

Accord EX-L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 178,872 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Total sudden transmission failure merging onto Interstate 95 during Friday rush hour, afternoon traffic. No dash lights and no warning of a transmission problem prior to this event. Transmission fluid changed every 30K knowing that Honda likes to claim that this will prevent premature transmission failure. This is not the case, it is clear that a design issue is at play. This issue was poorly addressed by Honda in 2003 and seems to still persist into the 2005 model year.

- , Spring City, PA, USA

problem #53

Sep 232014

(reported on)

Accord 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 497,097 miles

Good old Honda have done it again. Bought this car a while ago got the car checked out before purchasing. Never thought to question the slight whine one could hear whilst driving at high speeds. Well that was a stupid decision. After much researching found out that the gearbox differential has a bearing issue. What a pain in the a.. Good old Honda screwed it up again the last thing someone wants to hear is an annoying high pitch whining sound whilst driving on the motorway. I regret buying this stupid car and would have touched it with a ten foot barge pole otherwise. Repairing the transmission is a costly expense and is not even guaranteed to outlast the car. Stupid piece if sh.. Last Honda I buy.

- , Auckland, N/A, New Zealand

problem #52

Sep 212014

Accord EXL 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

First of all I want to take this opportunity to mention that me and my family have been driving Honda for nearly 30 years and this is the first time I have experienced a transmission problem and this experience has certainly shaken my faith in the bullet-proof reputation of Hondas. I thank CAS and NHTSA for their ongoing efforts to provide consumers with information to ensure their safety and help them make informed decisions. Until this incident we have been taking pride in recommending your Honda to our friends and associates via word-of-mouth.

I have been advised by my auto service agent to notify Center for Auto Safety. I am reaching out to you after I have exhausted all the customer care channels and I do hope to receive a resolution of my issue. This incident is concerning my 2005 Honda Accord EXL V6 . I am the first owner and car has 80000 miles on it. On 21st September 2014 automatic transmission failed without any warning while I was driving on freeway . Check engine light never turned on .The car just stopped on a crowded interstate, which was very frightening. This vehicle has been properly maintained and I've never missed an oil change, timing belt, etc. I can't believe the transmission would just fail like that! I've never had any major problems with this car, no leaks, no engine issues and this leads me to believe there is some sort of defect with this automobile which needs to be recalled.

Now that I did a little research I see that it seems to be a common issue. My situation with the transmission is obviously NOT an isolated incident and Honda needs to step-up to the plate. The mechanic who looked at my car said that he has seen this same problem time and time again with Honda's especially with 2005 Accord V6 transmission failures. Apparently the transmission commonly overheats and Honda is aware of it as they have sent bulletins regarding the problem to repair shops. Why wasn't I, as a Honda owner, made aware of the problem? Why didn't Honda offer to have something put in the car that would prevent the transmission from overheating?

On further research on NHTSA website, I found NHTSA Campaign ID number : 11V395000 addressing similar problem and as of 23rd September 2014, 1.5 million (1512107) vehicles has been recalled for similar issue.The Honda recall number is R89 and the recall was placed on August 27th 2011, for Honda Accords 2005-2010 for the transmission.

I took my car to, Grossinger Honda, my local Honda Dealer who has confirmed the diagnosis and told us that the transmission had completely failed although fluid levels were normal. DTC codes were P0741, P0746, and P0777. Since most places do not rebuild Honda transmissions, so they would have to order a new one and will cost $4,300.00 to replace.

I contacted Honda and they opened a case and gave me a Case No:N012014-09-22-02450. However Honda Customer Service told me that my car is not part of the recall and it is out of warranty . Even though everything they described about what the car would be doing is exactly what happened with mine; the abnormal noises, shifting in and out of gear, etc. and the problem diagnosed by Honda Dealer is similar to the recall , still American Honda told me that it's not covered and they are not willing to help. Even though more than 1.5 million vehicles are affected from this recall and they tell me my car isn't one? Both the Honda agents refused to escalate my case for further review. Here are details of my interaction for your reference. Complaint No- N012014-09-22-02450 Talked to agent at 6.30 PM central time on 22nd September 2014. Talked to superviser at 6.44 PM central time on 22nd September 2014.

We purchased the Honda because of its reputation for reliability and dependability. I've followed the recommended maintenance verbatim. This is completely unacceptable and has this experience has certainly shaken my faith in the bullet-proof reputation of Hondas. I've done absolutely everything right that I've needed to and this happens? I just don't understand it, I don't. I know that Honda had previous transmission issues with the 2001-2004 Accords but did they not correct the issue for 2005? Even after getting the diagnostic done with dealer, the "Check Engine" light had not turned on.

Just the thought that what if I would have got into an accident on that day because of transmission failure! Thank God I didn't. We were lucky that nobody was hurt when the transmission gave out . Honda should own up to their transmission defects instead of continuing to sell a product they know is dangerous and hoping the warranty runs out before they have to foot the bill. I think Honda is greatly under estimating the value of a satisfied customer and the ability of a dissatisfied customer to "spread the word."

I strongly feel that my case is genuine and with refrence to NHTSA Campaign ID number : 11V395000, my vehicle should be considered for this recall by American Honda . I am hoping that my case is further reviewed by American Honda Customer Care Executive team for further review. On that note, I do hope to receive a resolution response , in a timely manner, from your executive team or someone else that is in a position to do the right thing and restore my faith in American Honda.

NHTSA’s safety complaint (ODI Number) is: 10638514

- , Chicago, IL, USA

problem #51

Jun 052014

Accord ES 3.0L V5 Vtech

  • Automatic transmission
  • 165,000 miles

I hate honda engine missfires after changing plugs every year oil changed every 2 months and car is always checked. The tranny failed today and i feel like beating everyone's ass in honda because they are going to run me 3-4 grand for something that shouldn't have failed. F*ck THIS ALL.

- , Monrovia, MD, USA

problem #50

Jun 142014

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

Had two Honda's in the last 14 years - 4 failed transmissions!

Will never buy Honda again.

- , San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #49

Nov 242013

Accord LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

I have an 05 Accord v6 w/110K on it and I just found out recently that my transmission is dead. I bought the car new. Judging from all the complaints, it looks like I am not alone. I bought a honda b/c of its good reputation and reliability. Guess I was wrong??!! I noticed the problem started occurring 2 days ago, where I would I give it some gas and it doesnt move but the speedometer moves to the appropriate mile. I had to turn the engine off and restart it in order for me to drive it. I was so scared I wasnt gonna make it home when I was driving home from work on the highway! But fortunately I made it home safely. I didnt want to take any chances to drive it myself to my mechanic so I had to get it towed there. Such a headache!

I was hoping this car would last me another 2 yrs at least, I have no idea how I am going to pay for this or just buy another car. And of course it has to happen around the holidays!!?? Thx alot!

- , Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #48

Jan 212014

Accord EX-L 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,500 miles

Problems shifting, no grinding noises, but literally 8+ seconds to shift gears. Leaking transmission (CAM, crank, all went bad).

No "get up and go" and a month prior to failure I had it inspected. Never showed any sign of problems.

I need my car for my job (real estate) and this was an absolute shock with a well-maintained vehicle at 98k miles.

Couple this with power steering system replacement, fuse problems, recall for power steering lines, possible recall for computer system, and I will never buy another Honda. We were going to purchase a new CR-V, but I think it's time for a Toyota or Subaru. This is ridiculous. Like people have $3000 lying around.

- , Portland, OR, USA

problem #47

Jan 082014

Accord EX 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 154,000 miles

puchased vehicle 7 montha ago from dealer & was a problem from jump where headlights were out, tail light, brake rotors. I also did a power steering flush * o ring replace.now the transmission is worn & torque converter needs to be replaced cost $3200.

- , bronx, NY, USA

problem #46

Jun 172013

Accord LX 3.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

I have a 2005 Honda Accord V6 brought it @ 29,000 it was running good and then about 55,000 ( almost 3 years) transmission just shut down no warnings it was under warranty so they had to fix it but now its again (almost 3 years later) and i have the same problem car will not move. I had refinanced and so i didn't put the warranty back on the car because transmission was done previously so i figured it would be no problem but was i so WRONG about that. Tried calling Honda Prime where i brought the car and the lady tells me that there's nothing they can do because i'm no longer under warranty which is BS. they fixed my transmission and now its not their problem but then tells me that there's a recall on the power steering which i put $700 into and i never received any paper work stating that there was a recall. so yes i do want my money back. My question is if all these compliants why in the HELL is nothing happening no one has $4000 laying to around to be fixing problems that have already been fixed. HELP I NEED ANSWERS!!!!!! They knew something was wrong with that transmission the 1st and 2nd time they're really ROBBING people. What do we need to do for them to realize its HONDA'S FAULT.

- , Boston, MA, USA

problem #45

May 272013

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

Honda is touted as the most reliable car and to have the transmission go out and need a complete replacement at 93,000 miles and around $3000 is ridiculous. I have had previous cars that were much less expensive where I didn't have to do anything but standard maintenance until well over 125,000 miles. I will not be buying a honda in the future. Buyer beware!!

- , Denver, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?