Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.5

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,460 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #10

Aug 012006

Accord

  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brakes in this car have never worked properly since day 1. lots of vibration, very touchy, etc.. and I notice alot of break dust in the tires. Definitely a problem.

- Waterbury, VT, USA

problem #9

Apr 052008

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12 miles
Brakes are extremely sensitive. Applying the brakes while driving at slow speeds can often give the feeling that the occupants may hit the windshield...even though wearing seatbelts. Honda service tech's have acknowledged that they are that way but maintain "that is just the way they are" and "you're just going to have to get used to it." I've owned this car almost 2 years and it is the only one I ever drive...and I am not able to brake this car smoothly. When I offer to let others drive my car they comment on the touchy brakes and have mentioned that it is a safety hazard. Based on comments by Honda service tech's and other drivers, I feel that Honda is well aware of this poor brake design but refuse to do anything about it.

- St. Charles, MN, USA

problem #8

Oct 042006

Accord

  • miles
When various pressure is applied to the brakes the rpms increase and the car surges forward. This is a random occurrence that has happened about 5 or 6 times since I had the car new in September 2006.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #7

Aug 312006

Accord 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the brakes roared and vibrated when going down a steep incline. The dealership switched out the pads on 6-06. This corrected the problem for about a month. The problem persisted after the repair.

- Wilkesboro, NC, USA

problem #6

Mar 242006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,928 miles
The sixth incident took place on Friday, March 24, 2006. My vehicle had been driven approximately 3928 miles. The details of the incident were as follows: I parked my vehicle in the garage at approximately 4:30 pm on Thursday, March 23, 2006. I started my vehicle at approximately 11:49 am on Friday, March 24, 2006, and allowed the engine to idle for approximately 4 to 5 minutes. I increased the RPM to 1500 two times for one second each. I reversed and braked. My vehicle stopped. I drove forward up an incline and braked. The brake pedal became very hard. I was unable to push the brake pedal. My vehicle rolled into the street and eventually stopped. Fortunately, no pedestrians or cars were present in the street. Two district parts & service managers (dpsm) from american Honda motor co., Inc. Test drove my vehicle for 8 miles at my residence. They were unable to duplicate the problem. According to the dpsm, the braking system operated as designed. The mediation department of american Honda motor co., Inc. Has determined that no offers will be made. I have decided to proceed with arbitration via BBB auto line.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #5

Mar 092006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,591 miles
The fifth incident also took place on Thursday, March 9, 2006. My vehicle had been driven approximately 3591 miles. The details of the incident were as follows: The fifth incident occurred a few minutes after the fourth incident. I continued to drive after the fourth incident and turned right. I drove forward on a flat surface at no more than 15 mph. I approached a stop sign. I braked in advance of the stop sign. The brake pedal became very hard. I was unable to push the brake pedal. The car rolled into the intersection and eventually stopped. Fortunately, no pedestrians or cars were present at the intersection. I called american Honda motor co., Inc. My case is currently being reviewed. I have called american Honda motor co., Inc. Five times and I have written one letter. I have also opened a claim with BBB auto line.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #4

Mar 092006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,591 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The fourth incident took place on Thursday, March 9, 2006. My vehicle had been driven approximately 3591 miles. The details of the incident were as follows: I parked my vehicle in the garage at approximately 4:40 pm on Wednesday, March 8, 2006. I started my vehicle at approximately 5:40 am on Thursday, March 9, 2006, and allowed the engine to idle for approximately 4 to 5 minutes. I increased the RPM to 1500 two times for one second each. I reversed and braked. My vehicle stopped. I drove forward up an incline and braked. The brake pedal became very hard. I was unable to push the brake pedal. My vehicle rolled into the street and eventually stopped. Fortunately, no pedestrians or cars were present in the street. I called american Honda motor co., Inc. My case is currently being reviewed. I have called american Honda motor co., Inc. Five times and I have written one letter. I have also opened a claim with BBB auto line.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #3

Feb 242006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,175 miles
The third incident took place on Friday, February 24, 2006. My vehicle had been driven approximately 3175 miles. The details of the incident were as follows: I parked my vehicle in the garage at approximately 4:30 pm on Thursday, February 23, 2006. I started my vehicle at approximately 5:40 am on Friday, February 24, 2006, and allowed the engine to idle for approximately 4 to 5 minutes. I increased the RPM to 1500 two times for one second each. I reversed and braked. My vehicle stopped. I drove forward up an incline and braked. The brake pedal became very hard. I was unable to push the brake pedal. My vehicle rolled into the street. A few seconds later, the brake pedal lost pressure and suddenly dropped. My vehicle stopped shortly thereafter. Fortunately, no pedestrians or cars were present in the street. I called american Honda motor co., Inc. I was directed to contact the service department of the dealership to schedule a service appointment with the district parts & service manager (dpsm). I finally scheduled an appointment for today and the dpsm never showed up. Apparently, she had called in sick. It is very difficult to schedule an appointment with the dpsm because she does not have a set schedule. I have called american Honda motor co., Inc. Three times and I have written one letter. Since the dealership is unable to duplicate the problem, no parts have been repaired or replaced.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #2

Feb 192006

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Drove to work. Parked in garage at approximately 3:00 pm on Friday, February 17, 2006. Started engine at approximately 12:00 pm on Sunday, February 19, 2006. Idled engine for approximately 4 to 5 minutes. Increased RPM to 1500 two times for one second each. Reversed. Braked. Drove forward up an incline. Braked. Turned right. Drove forward on a flat surface at no more than 20 mph. Approached a stop sign. Braked in advance of the stop sign. The brake pedal became very hard. I was unable to push the brake pedal. The car rolled into the middle of the intersection. The car eventually stopped. Fortunately, no pedestrians or cars were present at the intersection. Approximately 15 minutes after the incident, I called the dealership and scheduled a service appointment. On Monday, February 20, 2006, the service department road tested the vehicle. The technician was unable to duplicate my complaint. All 4 wheels were removed and all 4 brake pads were inspected. The front pads were at 8.4 mm and the rear pads were at 5.3 mm. All front and rear pads were lubed. The problem remained unresolved.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #1

Dec 242005

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,800 miles
We experienced a problem in stopping at a red light on our trip back from an out of town trip last weekend. As a result of this experience my wife is now afraid to drive this car. After a few hours of highway driving, and decelerating through an exit ramp, then re-accelerating and attempting to stop at a stop light we experienced and an extremely resistant brake pedal requiring extremely hard pedal pressure and the engine seemed to continue to rev during braking. While stopped at the light the engine continued to rev abnormally. Our 30-year-old son was driving. He did not move his foot from the brake pedal for fear of what would happen. He switched into park and the engine stopped revving. While keeping his foot on the brake pedal he put the car back in drive. Then the engine seemed normal and the brake pedal pressure returned to normal. This was a disconcerting experience because it was abnormally difficult to stop, and we almost ran into a car in front of us. There were three adult witnesses to this frightening episode, my wife, our adult son, and me. We did not use the cruise control at any time during this trip. We took the vehicle to our Honda dealer. They examined the car thoroughly and could find no problems. They hypothesized that this may have been a computer error, but the systems test out fine now. Now our family is left with a car that we know has a serious safety defect, and we drive it in fear that this could happen again, hurting others or us. We also recognize the possibility that this stealth defect may be lurking to hurt others in other 2006 Honda Accord V6 cars.

- Burke, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?