Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,204 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Sep 092009

Accord 6-cyl

  • 26,288 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Having tires replaced tech noted rear brakes worn to need replacement. Work completed on 09 Sep 2011. Tires rotated on 29 January 2014. Tech advised brake replacement. Mileage 45,715. This is a known issue with this model/year Accord. Less than 20K on second brake job - both sets rear brake failure of "normal" mileage given reasonable use.

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #17

Dec 042013

Accord

  • 138,000 miles
I have been having problems with the brakes since it was purchased in March 2011. The brakes pads were replaced on the front and back twice since I bought the car. The rotors were turned this year. The car would not stop and constantly made noises. A week ago, I was involved in a car accident because my brakes failed.

- Covington, TN, USA

problem #16

Aug 242013

Accord

  • 70,000 miles
This was the second time my car accelerated for no reasons while I was driving. The first time I was only driving 35 miles an hour and no one was in front of me. The second time the car accelerated as I was stopping at a red light. I barely missed a car by one foot. Both times I went to the Honda dealership in sanford. Long story short...no one knows how to fix it. I am extremely upset over the idea that there are all car owners with these electronic systems that don't work. The second time my three year grandson was in the back seat. The dealership said the electronic system sent a message that designated that there was an acceleration or malfunction. Anyway I am sending this because I wanted my car fixed and because it is a paper trail if someone gets killed in this car. I will no longer own a Honda. This was my second Honda and until this I was very satisfied. I now have a car paid for that I cannot drive. I do want the public to be aware of this problem. [xxx] I don't have the VIN number. My car is parted outside the dealership in sanford, N.C. waiting for me to pick it back up. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sanford, NC, USA

problem #15

Jun 142012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this car pre owned at 15K the back brake went out on this car after 1year at 24K I replace brake myself I was curious why would a back brake wear out so fast on doing online lookup I found numerous owners had the same problem so I called Honda regional office and I given a refund for the expense. Now last year June I notice cold rattle start on my engine and now is progressively getting louder. I did a look up online and my mechanic said it vtc ( variable timing control ) actuator was found to be defective. I think Honda should replace this since my car now has 80K miles I might be out of warranty.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #14

Jul 122011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 53,096 miles
My wife and I purchased a 2008 Honda Accord (certified pre-owned) January 06, 2010. The mileage was 46,399. The Honda dealer said the brakes were new. (certified pre-owned) we had to replace the brakes July 2011 at 53,096 miles. (6697 miles later) August 2012 we had to replace brakes rotors and calipers 68007 miles. At this time we were advised of a defect in the braking system by just brakes.. we contacted Honda and they said since we were not the original owners and we did not take action sooner (prior 2010?) we would not be reimbursed for these repairs. (Honda settles lawsuit over this matter??) we also had to replace the tires in August 2012 as well. Since the repair of the brakes and calipers we have not had any issues and the gas mileage increased. We have spent hundreds of dollars trying to fix a problem that Honda has known about. A "certified pre-owned" Honda should qualify for the reimbursement that Honda has offered, even though we were not the original owners. Since we did not know about the "problem" until after 2010 (after the purchase of the vehicle) we could not had acted in time. It is my understanding there was a "safety bulletin" about this issue" if there was, why didn't Honda/dealer notify us of this issue? or shouldn't they have fixed this issue before selling the Honda as a "certified pre-owned" vehicle" I received a letter from Honda yesterday about a defect (control arm) in the 2006, 2007 & 2008 Honda civic and reimbursement available for this law suit. I would like Honda to remedy the situation on my 2008 Honda Accord.

- Granbury, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 162010

Accord

  • 42,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord purchased new at gary force Honda bowling green ky. First issue: Cold start rattle, dealer replaced atc actuator, problem corrected. Have replaced brakes on the car 4 times. Most recently replaced approximately 1 year ago and now when brakes are applied the steering wheel vibrates worse than a road wagon. At 70,000 miles oil light came on, checked oil and none was on the stick. Added oil, took the car to dealer, they replaced vtc actuator but it did not correct the problem. Complained again and they performed oil consumption analysis only to tell me it was using less than one quart per one thousand miles and that was the industry standard. A few months later I became more irritated about the problem and complained again. They performed another oil consumption analysis to tell me it was using more than it was previously but less than one quart per 1000 miles and wouldn't do anything. Currently the car has 100000 miles on it and yes, the warranty just expired and it's using one quart per 1200 miles. I wrote Honda of America a letter and complained. They called but other than kind words, they did nothing. Oh and have I mentioned the head lights.... they blink when the heat or air is on. I must not forget that the leather on both the arm rest and console has bubbled up but no signs of wear or damage around the bubbles. And let me not forget the most recent issue: Now often times while setting completely still at a stop light and/or going down the road I hear a clicking sound in the steering column. I am not turning the steering wheel when I hear this noise. It just starts clicking, kind of like an electronic click coming from the steering column. Oh what a piece of junk Honda made when it built the 2008 Accord. Paid 30,000 for it and I'm sadly disappointed.

- Morgantown, KY, USA

problem #12

Apr 152013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When applying the brakes - there is a really bad vibration/pulsing in the steering wheel and brake pedal. The car is a 2008 Honda Accord ex-L with 19,000 miles. Dealer wants to replace rotors.......... car is out of warranty !!!!! looks like a known problem online for the 2008-2010 Honda Accord. Class action law suit was settled for millions of dollars. But the dealer said they were not aware of any problems or complaints for brakes.... I am going to replace pads and rotors on front and back.... with top shelf parts not cheap ass Honda parts !!!!

- Hatfield, PA, USA

problem #11

Jan 112010

Accord 6-cyl

  • 25,111 miles
At 25,111 miles brakes were squeaking and wore down. Rear brake pads were replaced and cleaned rotors still squeaked. Paid $195. Had a couple of services and complained about brakes but they told me since they were new they will squeak for a while until they break in. Finally had enough of the squeaky brakes, went back in for service at 33,037 miles. Brakes still squeaking. Front pads 7.8mm rear pads 6.2mm. They recommended replace pads again!! and resurface rotors $249 special. Did not replace!! at 60,601 miles had to replace rear brakes again charge $257.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #10

Nov 092012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 25,910 miles
Rear brake pads wore out at 25910 miles.

- Patchogue, NY, USA

problem #9

Mar 162013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 21,286 miles
Rear brakes failed at 21,000 miles. We purchased the car new and have very low mileage. The rear brakes needed to be completely replaced.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #8

Mar 212010

Accord

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shoddy rear brakes. Purchased certified pre owned, and rear brakes were replaced through certification process at approx. 45,000 miles. 10/22/12 rear brakes, rotors and passenger rear caliper replaced at 62,000 miles. Rear brakes, rotors and caliper should have lasted many more miles. Front brakes fine.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #7

Oct 102012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 21,715 miles
I took my car in for an oil change and tire rotation and was told the rear brake pads needed to be replace. I found out that a lawsuit was settled in 2010 and people were informed of this. We never received any notice and when I contacted my local Honda dealer I was told there was nothing they could do about because there wasn't a recall notice. When I contacted corporate I was directed to the law firms website that informed me it was to late to file a claim. What can I do about this? thank you.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 312012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Early tear and wear of brakepads causing damage to drums.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #5

Feb 282012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
The brake pads are gone very rapidly on 56000miles only. Honda service centre is asking them to replace at my own cost I have Honda care plan as well but no luck. Brake pad should go as longer as 70,000 miles.

- Sunnyvalr, CA, USA

problem #4

Feb 282012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
The brake pads are gone very rapidly on 56000miles only. Honda service centre is asking them to replace at my own cost I have Honda care plan as well but no luck. Brake pad should go as longer as 70,000 miles.

- Sunnyvalr, CA, USA

problem #3

Aug 182012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
We had to have the brakes repaired again. We purchased the vehicle as a certified pre-owned Honda. We replaced the brakes last October 2011. 15,000 miles later, we had to replace them again? we took our Honda Accord to a Honda dealer in ft. Worth (frank kent Honda) for a recall repair and they said we needed new brakes. We took the Honda to just brakes in ft. Worth and the manager said our Honda has a caliper and brake problem associated with 2009 Honda Accord. The caliper causes the brakes to not "disengage" causing "friction" thus wearing the brakes down way too quickly"???? really?? this is news to us? nothing was said when we bought the Honda in January 2011. From huggins Honda in ft. Worth.? nothing was mentioned by frank kent Honda when they said we needed new brake pads? now I have read an article explaining a law suit over the brakes? why are Honda owners not being told or warned about this??"

- Granbury, TX, USA

problem #2

Jul 022012

Accord

  • 21,627 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact was reversing from a residential driveway when the rear brake began exhibiting a very loud scraping metal noise. The vehicle was taken to a personal mechanic for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the rear brakes would need replacing. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 21,627.

- Shakopee, MN, USA

problem #1

Apr 152009

Accord

  • 13,000 miles
If you are driving at any speed over 40 mph and begin to stop; the steering wheel vibrates and the front end has a knocking sound. Taking the car in for service multiple times and having this issue noted. I have been told on three different occasion that my rotors are wrapped and need to be turned down. Having the rotors turn, soon as I left the lot. The issue still remained. The most offensive remarks made by a Honda service rep. Is" I have poor driving habits." Thinking I was going crazy, I asked a total stranger at my local supermarket driving a 2008 Accord. They told me they also have been experiencing the same issue with the car and Honda's service dept. I have been dealing with this headache for now 71000 miles, and now refuse to purchase another Honda ever. They probably could not give the car to me for free.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?