Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,227 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #58

Apr 252011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Need assistance in a matter that has been settled through a class action suit filed against Honda in Sept/09, which I just found out about on 4/25/11. I never received a notification, but I was made aware of the class action after attempting to make a call to the company?S complaint hotline to verify if there had been other complaints about premature wearing of the rear brakes as this was my 3rd replacement. My replacement equaled out to around every 25,000 to 30,000 miles. If you know anything about brakes and how they work if driven appropriately typically your front breaks wear first and your rear can last anywhere between 50,000 and 70, 000 miles. Since I have owned this vehicle I have replaced the front brakes one time and changed my rear brakes 3 times (currently I have 94,000 highway miles) if you ask any mechanic they will tell you that the life expectancy of the rear brakes should last at least 2 to 3 times longer than the front brakes. I have proof that there were no significant changes in the life of the new brake pads Honda created to correct the problem. Not knowing of the class action I never submitted a claim for a reimbursement, but I found that Honda had already started using the new brakes stated in the claim. The defective brakes lasted 30,000, and new brakes lasted exactly the same. I then I am stuck paying maintenance fees for a defective electronic braking distribution system, for as long as I own the vehicle; new brakes and possible rotor damage every 30,000 miles. I have tried to resolve this with Honda and the attorneys who represented the customers, with no resolution. All I am asking is for 100% correction in the defective braking system.

- Midlothian , VA, USA

problem #57

Apr 182011

Accord

  • 13,000 miles
Our 2008 Honda Accord has needed new brake pads 3 times in 3 years. We had the new-improved brake pads added last year but one year later we are in need of new ones again. They are now paper thin. Honda will not pay the full amount even though the new pads were said to last longer than the old. Obviously this is not the case. We have a 4-year old daughter and purchased the Honda with the intent of having a safe car. This is not safe and is uncalled for. The settlement that exists is not enough and there should be a recall of these brake pads. We do not expect to purchase another Accord (or Honda for that matter) again if this is how things are handled. The safety of drivers is supposed to be the number one priority but this is obviously not the case.

- Farmington, CT, USA

problem #56

Apr 082011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 14,600 miles
I recently brought my car a 2008 Honda Accord to the Honda dealer for an oil change. The dealer told me my car needed rear brakes. I have less than 15,000 miles on the car please help not sure what to do to be a part of the class action lawsuit. It cost me almost $300 to replace the damage parts with resurfacing, labor and parts. I am very disappointed with Honda. Thank you

- Suffern, NY, USA

problem #55

Dec 032010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 24,555 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake pad replacement and rotars resurfaced at 24K miles.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #54

Sep 062010

Accord

  • 21,394 miles
My car is 2008 Honda Accord model and started making squeaking and grinding noise since Sept.2010 it comes on and off as I was driving and getting worst everyday. It was so loud noise so I took it to hondawest here in las vegas, nv and they said my rear brakes were gone. So I had it fix and paid $249.12 yesterday Oct.4 it only have 21,394 miles.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #53

Sep 092010

Accord

  • 21,138 miles
Premature brake wear on 2008 Honda Accord/mileage at time of repair in September 2010 was 21,138 miles. Car was in service since 12/08/09.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #52

Jun 122010

Accord

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Honda Accord ex/4-door sedan/4-cylinder: Bought new car 03/09; at considerably less than 10,000 miles rear brakes wore out prematurely, thereafter front brakes also wore out. Had to pay for replacements due to american Honda motor Corp refusing to cover under warranty. They refuse any assistance or resolution.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #51

Jul 262010

Accord

  • 26,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord coupe has completely worn rear brake pads at 26K miles. I strongly feel that Honda should recall and replace at no cost to owner, . I strongly disagree that a class action lawsuit is just and fair to the owners of these vehicles and does not adequately compensate the vehicle owners but merely unjustly enriches a lawfirm. Action by the nhsta is mandated here to protect the consumer from premature brake failure and undue economic loss.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #50

Jul 202010

Accord

  • 22,800 miles
Rear brakes going out at 22,800 miles on 2008 Honda Accord.

- Southaven, MS, USA

problem #49

Jun 232010

Accord

  • 24,580 miles
I went to rick case Honda with my '08 Accord, the service person showed me my rear brakes were worn. He stated I could have them replaced, due to a lawsuit and brake defect, then Honda would reimburse me for the cost. I had the brakes done, called Honda and they said that they are not reimbursing anybody. Now I'm out $160.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #48

May 082010

Accord

  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have 34,000 miles on my 2008 Honda Accord ex, the engine has been revving when I reach approx 2,000 RPM and the dealer tells me this is normal. The car began making this sound only a few months ago, so it is not normal. I am also told that my rear brakes are already worn and need replaced asap. The cost of the brakes to be replaced is over $500, which seems a little steep, especially with Honda already having settled the lawsuit over this models brake issues.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #47

Jun 012009

Accord

  • miles
I am a victim of premature rear brake pads and possible worn rotors. I first started experiencing a loud screeching noise coming from the rear brakes in the summer of 2009. I also heard that noise everytime I put the car in reverse and started reversing. I brought the car in for an oil change in October 2009 and advised them of the situation. They claimed they heard nothing and to wait for the next service to observe the brakes. I came in a month later for a different service and advised them I still hear the squeaking noise from the brakes. They wanted me to resurface my rear rotors and change my rear breaks. I didn't understand how my car needed to have my rotors resurfaced and brakes replaced so soon. I had the car for a year so my brakes or rotors shouldn't be serviced this early. After I declined and was upset, they said to wait for my next service to do both service. Then I went to many websites like carcomplaints.com and other sites where I seen many other owners were experiencing the same thing. I couldn't understand how the rear brakes needed to be replaced under 15000 miles before the front brakes. I keep checking if there is a recall but nothing yet.

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #46

May 202010

Accord

  • 29,000 miles
Inspection of brakes at 28,000 were noted to be good wear, 60% remaining at tire rotation service. At 29,000 miles, loud noise was found to be totally worn rear brakes (only on the inside portion) unevenly worn and not found previously. New brakes replaced but now I expect the same unsafe wearing of this brake. Not sure I am getting full braking control.

- Winter Haven, FM, USA

problem #45

Aug 012009

Accord

  • 19,000 miles
I purchased a brand new 2008 Honda Accord ex 2.4L in may of 2008. Since then I have had numerous brake problems including early wear of the rear brake pads and warping of the rotors(starting at about 19,000 miles). My vehicle currently has 35,000 miles and under normal circumstances I do not believe that brake pads or rotors should deteriorate at such low miles. According to the 2008 Honda Accord rear brake pad settlement, I believe that all brake related problems such as rotor warp should be included as well. The rotor warp causes the steering while/car to shake while applying the brakes and causes excessive noise and instability in braking when braking on a decline (ie. Hill or mountain).

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #44

May 202010

Accord

  • 20,000 miles
I have a 2008 Honda Accord and just rolled over 41,000 miles. I started to hear the metal on metal coming from my rear wheels. This is my 3rd Accord so I know it is brakes related. 41,000 mile would be ok except I also had the brakes replaced at 21,000 miles. I was luck that my dealership covered the 1st set under warranty but now that I am no longer covered under the warranty I am going to have to pay. On both of my previous Accord I only replaced the brakes once in over 100,000 miles. Something is not right.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #43

Feb 102009

Accord

  • 25,000 miles
Honda Accord ex-L 2008. I had to replace rear brakes and resurface rotors at 25,711 miles at a cost of $410.49. I now have read that many others have had the same issue. They replaced the brakes with the same defective pads, and now the squeaking has started so I know they will need to be replaced again at 45,000. I am so frustrated!

- Norfolk, MA, USA

problem #42

Apr 292010

Accord 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord V6. I took it in for pre-mature rear brake wear at 25,000. The next week the engine surged and I crashed into a concrete barrier while parking.

- Nanuet, NY, USA

problem #41

Nov 102009

Accord

  • 170,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord rear brake pads replaced at 17,000 miles. I had the rear breaks replaced at a cost of $197.

- Meadville, PA, USA

problem #40

Apr 122010

Accord

  • 29,000 miles
I have a 2008 Honda Accord ex-L I picked up new in the fall of 2007. To date I have just over 30,000 miles. Today, (4/12/10) I took my car to my local Honda dealership for an oil change. I was told that my rear brakes were at 5% and repair cost would be $330!!! I mentioned I paid an additional $2,200 for an "extended warranty "on top of the $28,000 sticker price back in 2007. Today I asked the Honda advisor what does my $2,200 "extended warranty" cover? he said nothing mechanical. By this point I did not want to argue, but rather I paid the $38.13 for my oil change and left. Also with my previous oil change maybe 3 months ago with about 29,000 miles I was also told my rear brakes were somewhere around 15% and I think the Honda dealership quoted me around $300. I am definitely a named party in the gibbs lawsuit as of 12/17/09. I have not paid to fix my rear brakes yet. Other problems I am having is my navigation freezes up, I have this rattling sound in my front drivers door, my front passenger door sounds like it is not closed all the way because I hear road noise, and twice now my wipers have continued to stay on even though I turned them off or the wipers will be "delayed" even though the wipers are off, my glove box is misaligned on the right hand side and at times when I am pulling into the garage with my foot off of the gas pedal, the car will accelerate forward a little. I am finished with this car!!!! my 2008 Accord is my 3rd Accord and by far the most obnoxious lemon I have ever owned. My 1986 and 2000 Accord were more "Honda" than my 2008 Accord. I am thoroughly disgusted with Honda's caring integrity.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #39

Mar 302010

Accord

  • 24,000 miles
My 2008 Honda Accord is having break problems. The back break pads have worn to 0 percent with only 24,000 miles of highway driving in 13 months. The Accord does not break evenly as indicated by the front pads being at 85%. Honda needs to fix this probelm.

- Napa, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?