Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,058 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 14 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #180

May 162009


  • 16,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The brakes made a squeaking noise when they were engaged. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and a technician concluded that the entire brake system needed to be replaced. No repairs were made. The failure mileage was 16000 and the current mileage was 19000.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #179

Aug 012009


  • 20,000 miles
I am writing about my 2008 Honda Accord and their rear brake premature wearing down of pads. Currently there are thousands of complaints on the internet. On there are 468 just on this issue alone. I am concerned for the safety of myself and others who are forced to drive around with faulty bake pads. I have spoken to Honda's corporate office, and they are refusing to acknowledge that they have issues with their vehicles. The service manager at our dealership had even said himself that there are so many complaints that he receives all the time and that they are all regarding the premature wearing of the brake pads.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #178

Sep 252009


  • 16,400 miles
While driving my vehicle it would make a loud screeching sound, the faster you drive the louder it would sound. It is very embarrassing on the highway, let alone when you drive very slow around your neighborhood to look for parking, the sound is alot lower but yet embarrassing and annoying. I never thought my brakes would need to be replaced with only a year and a half with the vehicle and I never thought my rear brakes would wear out at 16,400 miles. It cost me money that I did not have at the time.

- Garnerville, NY, USA

problem #177

Sep 112009


  • 23,000 miles


2008 Honda Accord had a problem with the rear brakes. The consumer was informed the rear brakes were completely worn down.

- South Elgin, IL, USA

problem #176

Sep 212009


  • 18,879 miles
Heard noise on left rear of car. Scheduled a service with dealer. Dealer found rear brake pad had worn away. Dealer resurfaced rotors and installed new pads. Car is a 2008 Honda Accord with 18,879 miles. Dealer stated this is a known problem with this car. Called Honda and filed a complaint, they also said the brake system on this car was changed and the rear pads do wear out sooner than expected. Believe Honda should step-up and cover this problem. Honda complaint # N012009-09-2401386.

- Burlington, NJ, USA

problem #175

Apr 132009


  • 16,000 miles
Was planning a long drive two days B/4 I heard a squealing. Had it checked by dealer who told me the rear brakes were worn out. What" after only 16,000 miles" there's only two times new rear brakes should wear out in that amount of time: Never and never ever! three thousand of those miles were highway on a previous trip to Florida and back. Dealer could not explain it. Said the car was engineered new for 2008. Bologna! the new car pads are too small for the car! new car rear brakes should last longer than the front brakes and both should last longer than 30K to 40K miles! if this is what one can expect from Honda, maybe one should consider other makers of cars!

- Verona, NJ, USA

problem #174

Sep 212009

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,600 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that during routine inspection, a technician concluded that the rear brake system needed to be replaced. He then added that brake failure is common with his model type and year. The vehicle was repaired at an expense of $ $251.18. The failure and the current mileages were 25,600. Updated 10/21/09 updated 10/22/09.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #173

Sep 152009


  • 22,257 miles
While having my 2008 on the Accord ES in for its annual inspection the dealer informed me that my rear brake pads had worn to the point where they needed to be replaced. The mileage of a vehicle at this time was 22,000 miles. When I commented to the dealer that this seemed like exorbitant wear considering the vehicle was driven 80% highway during non-rush-hour they replied that this type of wear was normal for this make model and year vehicle. After some quick research on the internet I discovered that my issue is not unique. Fortunately I have the knowledge and ability to deal with this issue. My concern stems from the many consumers who do not have the knowledge of the systems and thereby may be placing themselves at great risk.

- Jamison, PA, USA

problem #172

Sep 102009


  • 16,000 miles
Brand new Honda Accord 2008 needs brakes at 16,000 miles, my wife and my kids I feel they are not safe, if at 16,000 miles the brakes need to be changed, I don't know what other issues I may face later on. I think there is something wrong with the brake system, and as we know that brake system is safety number 1 in cars.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #171

Sep 192009


  • 17,800 miles
I have a 2008 Honda Accord LX with only 17,800 mi. I heard my brakes squeal and brought it in to the Honda dealership for inspection. I was informed my rear brake pads were worn and needed to be replaced. That is absurd since 90% of my driving is on the highway. This needs to be looked into because Honda should not be producing a car that needs brake replacement every 18K.

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #170

Sep 192009


  • 22,000 miles


I took my 2008 Honda Accord into the dealer for routine maintenance at 22K miles. I later received a call that the front brakes were fine at about 8mm, but the rear brakes are under 3mm and that they fall outside the Maryland requirement and thus need to be replaced. For most of the past year the brakes have squeaked. Somewhere between 10K and 14K miles they resurfaced the brake rotors at no cost to remove the squeak. The rear brake pads have to be replaced. I have never had to replace brake pads anywhere near that low mileage for any of the previous cars I have owned. Honda should recall this brake system.

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #169

Sep 162009


  • 44,000 miles
Rear brakes have worn severely and prematurely. Once at 20,000 miles and the second at 40,000 miles. Both times the brakes were close to total failure. Brakes had to be totally replaced twice. Driving was under normal conditions and there were no indications of wear or failure until the end. This is a very common occurrence with this model car ('08 Honda Accord).

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #168

Sep 142009


  • 20,000 miles
I purchased a 2008 Honda Accord coupe from Honda of superstition springs in phoenix, Arizona in January 2008. I have been very happy with the vehicle up until now. I recently moved to rock springs, Wyoming and started hearing a strange noise when I drove my vehicle, so I took it in to get looked at. I came to find, that my vehicle, with only 20,000 miles on it, needed a new rear brake job. Rotors and pads. This cost me $496. The service advisor told me he has seen other vehicles of the same year and model with the same issue.Honda would not cover this under warranty. I called my previous service advisor in phoenix, and he told me he has seen the same issue on newer Accord. Front brakes are supposed to go first, but there is obviously an issue if newer Accord owners have to drop this amount of money into their new vehicle for a complete rear brake job at such low mileage.

- Rock Springs, WY, USA

problem #167

Sep 122009


  • 27,500 miles
2008 Honda Accord ex: At 27,500 miles, the rear brake pads were worn completely down to the metal backing plate. The front pads showed normal wear, when inspected during a tire replacement. The car is used for commuting to work daily, 25 miles each way, over a mix of in town streets and freeway driving. This wear in the rear brakes is excessive and required replacement, but was not covered under warranty. A rear brake failure could cause an accident by causing an increase in stopping distance.

- Bartlett, TN, USA

problem #166

Sep 082009


  • 14,000 miles
Brake system wear premature at 14,000 miles. Front rotors warped and rear brake pads depleted.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #165

Sep 082008


  • 22,000 miles
I bought 2008 Honda 2008 in Feb 2008, replaced rear pads in Oct 2008 at 22,000 miles. I spoke w/ service department where I bought my car. He told me they are having alot of problems w/ the 2008 Accord's rear brakes and that it was not covered under warranty. Had to buy new pads from dealer (B/C no aftermarkets were available). In Sep 2009, squeaking from the rear brakes again, rear pads needed to be replaced at 41,000 miles. Went to dealership again to complain, service manager said that they were an independent franchise and that Honda would have to take care of my problem. He also stated that Honda was aware of the problem and they were researching the problem. Called Honda corporation and the case investigator said the exact same thing as the service manager. I went to the NHTSA web site and saw that I am not alone. It appears that Honda and its employees are towing the company line and stonewalling the consumer, because it will cost them money and hurt their reputation. The NHTSA needs to force Honda to do the right thing and fix the problem before someone is injured or even worse, killed. These are brakes, the most important safety device on any car.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #164

Sep 112009


  • 15,039 miles
Took my 2008 Honda Accord (15,039 miles) to be serviced for the second time since I purchased the car. I was told that the rear brakes were worn and needed to be replaced at a cost over $200 "for a one year old car, how are the front brakes!?" I was told that the front brakes seemed to be fine. I expressed to them that this was crazy and that there is definitely something wrong here. I asked if there were any complaints about this from others. Did not quite get a truthful answer so I decided to research online and sure enough. I am not the only one experiencing this problem. At the service shop I was also told that after this repair/change of rear brakes, I will have to repair them again at another 20,000 miles. I am very disgusted and think that Honda should step up and do something for all the loyal Honda buyers. Either fix the problem or refund the customer.

- Kailua, HI, USA

problem #163

Sep 092009


  • 31,400 miles
Premature rear brake wear. Potential safety hazard, manufacturer ignoring problem. Honda needs to recall these vehicles immediately before someone gets killed.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #162

Apr 052008


  • 19,800 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that she heard squeaking when applying pressure to the brake pedal, and then the vehicle began to shake. The break failure could lead to increased stopping distances, which increased the risk of a vehicle crash. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and a technician replaced the rear brake pads. The failure mileage was 19,800 and the current mileage was 20,700.

- Elk Grove , CA, USA

problem #161

Sep 042009


  • 29,108 miles
Brake pad failure.

- Flat Rock, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?